DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:International Year of Astronomy - IYA2009:Archive
Archive Astronomy Questions of the Week - International Year of Astronomy 2009

How was the Moon created?

Week 28

 A gigantic collision led to the formation of Earth's Moon
zum Bild A gigantic collision led to the formation of Earth's Moon

Forty years ago, on 21 July 1969 at 03:56:20 (Central European Time), Neil Armstrong became the first man to set foot on the Moon. All (six to date) Moon landings took place between 1969 and 1972 and a total of 12 people, all of them American astronauts, have walked on the Moon's surface. They brought rock samples from the Moon back to Earth with them. The analysis of this rock was supposed to resolve the question of how the Earth’s relatively large Moon was formed.

In fact, the rock analyses revealed weaknesses in the three competing theories existing at the time with regard to how the Moon was formed. The 'sibling' theory postulated that the Moon and the Earth were created at almost the same time and in proximity to each other. According to the 'capture’ theory, the Moon was formed far from Earth and, while passing by, was bound to the Earth due to its gravity. The 'fission; theory assumed that there was a hot, viscous and rapidly rotating primordial Earth, from which a giant 'drop' broke off and which was later to become the Moon.

The Moon – a "heap of rubble"

The current preferred hypothesis regarding the Moon's formation is the 'collision' theory. It is, so far, the best at explaining how compositions of rock from the Earth and rock from the Moon differ. According to the collision theory, at the dawn of the Solar System a heavenly body the size of Mars hit the young Earth. As a result, material from the rocky mantle of the heavenly body and of the Earth was hurled into space. This collected in the shape of a ring on a path closely orbiting the Earth where it then gradually ‘clumped together’ to form the Moon.


Contact
Dr. Manfred Gaida
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Space Science
Tel.: +49 228 447-417

Fax: +49 228 447-745


Last update: 31/07/2009 14:56:33

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:Internationales Jahr der Astronomie - IYA2009:Archiv Astronomische Frage der Woche
Archiv Astronomische Fragen der Woche - Internationales Jahr der Astronomie 2009

Wie entstand der Mond?

Woche 28

 Eine gigantische Kollision führt zur Entstehung des Erdmondes
zum Bild Eine gigantische Kollision führt zur Entstehung des Erdmondes

Vor 40 Jahren, am 21. Juli 1969 um 3 Uhr 56 Minuten und 20 Sekunden Mitteleuropäischer Zeit setzte Neil Armstrong als erster Mensch seinen Fuß auf den Mond - in den USA zeigte das Kalenderblatt noch den 20. Juli 1969. Alle bis heute sechs bemannten Mondlandungen fanden von 1969 bis 1972 statt und insgesamt zwölf Menschen, allesamt amerikanische Astronauten, betraten die Mondoberfläche. Von dort brachten sie Mondgestein zur Erde mit. Die Analyse dieses Gesteins sollte vor allem klären, wie der relativ große Erdmond entstanden ist.

Tatsächlich offenbarten die Gesteinsanalysen Schwächen der drei bis dahin konkurrierenden Theorien zur Entstehung des Mondes. Die "Geschwistertheorie" forderte, dass Mond und Erde fast gleichzeitig und in räumlicher Nähe zueinander entstanden. Nach der "Einfangtheorie" bildete sich der Mond fern der Erde und wurde bei einer nahen Begegnung mit der Erde von ihrer Anziehungskraft gebunden. Die "Abspaltungstheorie" ging von einer heißen, zähflüssigen und schnell rotierenden Urerde aus, von der sich ein riesiger "Tropfen" abschnürte, der später zum Mond wurde.

Der Mond – ein "Trümmerhaufen"

Die heute favorisierte Entstehungshypothese ist die "Kollisionstheorie". Sie erklärt bislang am besten, worin sich die Zusammensetzungen von Erdgestein und von Mondgestein gleichen und unterscheiden. Der Kollisionstheorie zufolge streifte in der Frühzeit des Sonnensystems ein marsgroßer Himmelskörper die junge Erde. Dabei wurde Material aus dem Himmelskörper und aus dem Gesteinsmantel der Erde ins All geschleudert. Dieses sammelte sich dann ringförmig in einer nahen Erdumlaufbahn und verdichtete sich dort zum Mond.


Kontakt
Dr. Manfred Gaida
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Extraterrestrik
Tel.: +49 228 447-417

Fax: +49 228 447-745


Zuletzt geändert am: 24.07.2009 14:04:21 Uhr