Structural Dynamics and Aeroelastic System Identification



The department of Structural Dynamics and Aeroelastic System Identification works in the field of the dynamics and vibrations of structures in aeronautics and space technology. Included are, for example, the primary structures (load-carrying structures) of fixed wing aircraft, rotorcraft, and satellites. This involves the experimental and

.
numerical analysis of structural vibrations as well as the development and assessment of efficient means of vibration reduction.

In experimental mechanics, the department of Structural Dynamics and Aeroelastic System Identification has been working for many years in the field of ground vibration testing of large aircraft and the modal survey testing of aircraft components and wind tunnel models. The aim of a ground vibration test is the identification of the modal parameters of structures, i.e. eigenfrequencies, damping ratios, mode shapes, and generalized masses. The Institute of Aeroelasticity is outstandingly equipped with hardware and software to efficiently perform ground vibration tests contracted by industry partners.

The Institute of Aeroelasticity operates a multi-axis shaking table for the experimental analysis of spacecraft structures. This test facility is used to investigate the dynamic behaviour of structures when exposed to base accelerations. This is typically required in spacecraft engineering for the acceptance or qualification of flight hardware. In addition to the spacecraft applications, the multi-axis shaking table is also used for comfort analysis and for identification of the inertia properties of the tested structures.

The field of analytical or numerical mechanics is essentially concerned with the combined usage of experimental modal data with finite element models. Application of commercial finite element software is the foundation upon which the different scientific topics are based. Most important is the development of interfaces between commercial finite element software and in-house analysis codes, which are available for different scientific applications in structural dynamics and aeroelasticity.

The following list is a summary of the scientific focal points of the department of Structural Dynamics and Aeroelastic System Identification at the Institute of Aeroelasticity:

  • Application and development of ground vibration test techniques (experimental modal analysis, phase resonance testing, efficient vibration excitation, etc.)
  • Development and examination of output-only modal analysis methods in aerospace engineering and for the aeroelastic certification of aircraft in particular
  • Significant methods for the correlation of experimental modal data with finite element predictions
  • Application and development of model updating techniques for the validation of finite element models, also in terms of non-linear structures and structures with stochastic properties
  • Vibro-acoustic simulations and experiments for improving the understanding of transfer paths for sound transmission in aerospace structures
  • Pre-test analysis methods for the optimization of sensor and exciter positions to streamline modal survey testing efforts in terms of data acquisition and data analysis
  • Dynamic analysis (experimental and analytical) of non-linear structures in the time domain and in the frequency domain
  • Efficient interfaces between structural dynamics and aeroelastic analysis to support the generation of aerodynamic models to be used for flutter analysis
  • Uncertainty propagation in flutter analysis to assess flutter stability for structures with scattered experimental modal data
  • Structural modification and modal coupling techniques for the dynamic analysis of assembled structures or, respectively, for the assessment of structural modifications in the absence of analytical models

Contact
Dr.-Ing. Marc Böswald
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Aeroelasticity
, Structural Dynamics and Aeroelastic System Identification
Tel: +49 551 709-2857

Fax: +49 551 709-2862

E-Mail: Marc.Boeswald@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/ae/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8349/6542_read-9291/

Strukturdynamik und aeroelastische Systemidentifikation



Standschwingungsversuch am Airbus A380-800 durchgeführt von DLR und ONERA
.
Finite Elemente Rechenmodell eines viermotorigen Passagierflugzeugs


Die Abteilung Strukturdynamik und aeroelastische Systemidentifikation befasst sich mit der Dynamik und den Schwingungsvorgängen von Konstruktionen der Luft- und Raumfahrt, wie z.B. den tragenden Strukturen von Flugzeugen, Hubschraubern und Satelliten. Die Aufgabenstellung der Strukturdynamik besteht in der experimentellen und rechnerischen Analyse des Schwingungsverhaltens solcher Strukturen, sowie der Entwicklung von geeigneten Abhilfemaßnahmen bei dem Auftreten von dynamischen Problemen.

Im experimentellen Bereich ist die Abteilung Strukturdynamik und aeroelastische Systemidentifikation des Instituts für Aeroelastik seit vielen Jahren auf dem Gebiet der Standschwingungsversuche tätig. Das sind Modaltests an großen Strukturen der Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik, deren Zielsetzung die Identifikation von modalen Eigenschaften der getesteten Strukturen ist. Die modalen Eigenschaften umfassen dabei die Eigenfrequenzen, Dämpfungsmaße, Eigenschwingungsformen und generalisierte Massen. Das Institut für Aeroelastik besitzt eine hervorragende Ausstattung mit Hardware und Software, um solche Versuche in einem industriellen Umfeld professionell und effizient durchführen zu können.

Für experimentelle Untersuchungen von Raumfahrtstrukturen betreibt das Institut für Aeroelastik einen Mehr-Achsen-Vibrationstisch. Mit dieser Einrichtung können Strukturen einer Basisbeschleunigung ausgesetzt werden, wie sie z.B. für die Abnahme und Qualifikation von Raumfahrtstrukturen gefordert wird. Des Weiteren wird der Mehr-Achsen-Vibrationstisch für Komfortuntersuchen genutzt, sowie zur Identifikation von Trägheitseigenschaften der getesteten Strukturen.

Auf dem numerisch-analytischen Gebiet steht die kombinierte Verwendung von Finite Elemente Modellen und experimentellen Modaldaten im Vordergrund. Die Verwendung kommerzieller Software für Finite Elemente Analysen ist hierbei der Grundstein auf dem die Forschungsthemen der Abteilung aufsetzen. Die Bearbeitung der Forschungsthemen umfasst auch die Entwicklung von Schnittstellen zwischen kommerzieller Finite Elemente Software und hausinternen Analyseprogrammen, welche für die Behandlung unterschiedlicher Problemstellungen in der Aeroelastik und Strukturdynamik entwickelt wurden.

Die Forschungsthemen der Abteilung Strukturdynamik und aeroelastische Systemidentifikation sind im nahen Umfeld zur modalen Identifikation von Strukturen der Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik zu finden und sind unten stehend aufgeführt:

  • Anwendung und Weiterentwicklung von Methoden der Standschwingungstechnik (experimentelle Modalanalyse, Phasenresonanzverfahren, effiziente Methoden der Schwingungsanregung, etc.)
  • Entwicklung, Erprobung und Anwendung von Output-Only Modalanalyse in der Luftfahrt
  • Aussagekräftige Methoden für die Korrelation von experimentellen Modaldaten mit Ergebnissen von Finite Elemente Analysen
  • Anwendung und Weiterentwicklung von Model Updating Verfahren zur Validierung von Finite Elemente Modellen, auch im Hinblick auf nichtlineare FE Modelle und FE Modelle mit stochastischen Eigenschaften
  • Vibro-akustische Simulationen und Experimente zum besseren Verständnis von Körperschall-Transferpfaden in Strukturen der Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik
  • Pre-Test Analysen zur Optimierung von Sensorpositionen und Erregerorten für effiziente Modaltests
  • Dynamische Analyse (numerisch und experimentell) nichtlinearer Strukturen im Zeit- und Frequenzbereich
  • Effiziente Schnittstellen zwischen strukturdynamischen- und aeroelastischen Analysen (z. B. Flatteranalyse) zur Unterstützung des Aufbaus von Luftkraftmodellen.
  • Flatteranalysen mit unsicheren, stochastischen Modaldaten der Struktur
  • Modale Korrekturverfahren und modale Kopplung zur Analyse des dynamischen Verhaltens zusammengesetzter Strukturen bzw. zur Abschätzung der Auswirkung von Strukturmodifikationen wenn Finite Elemente Modelle nicht verfügbar sind.

Kontakt
Dr.-Ing. Marc Böswald
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Aeroelastik
, Strukturdynamik und Systemidentifikation
Tel: +49 551 709-2857

Fax: +49 551 709-2862

E-Mail: Marc.Boeswald@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/ae/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-8349/6542_read-9291/