Tomographic Particle Imaging Velocimetry (Tomo-PIV)

Abteilung Experimentelle Verfahren

 Tomo-PIV set-up for the investigation of a turbulent spot in the 1m-windtunnel of DLR Göttingen
zum Bild Tomo-PIV set-up for the investigation of a turbulent spot in the 1m-windtunnel of DLR Göttingen
.
 Essential steps for Tomo-PIV: Exposure of double-frame particle images, tomographic reconstruction of intensities and three-dimensional cross-correlation
zum Bild Essential steps for Tomo-PIV: Exposure of double-frame particle images, tomographic reconstruction of intensities and three-dimensional cross-correlation
.
 Transitional flow structures behind a  Backward-Facing-Step with 6 mm height at U=6.6 m/s visualized by 3D-vorticity iso-contour surfaces (blue) and one horizontal vector plane at 3.5 mm height with instantaneous 3C-velocity vectors colour coded by the wall-normal component (flow from left)
zum Bild Transitional flow structures behind a Backward-Facing-Step with 6 mm height at U=6.6 m/s visualized by 3D-vorticity iso-contour surfaces (blue) and one horizontal vector plane at 3.5 mm height with instantaneous 3C-velocity vectors colour coded by the wall-normal component (flow from left)

The Tomographic Particle Image Velocimetry method is a relatively new extension of the PIV measurement technique with the specific ability to determine three-dimensional velocity vector fields [1]. Analogous to the planar PIV technique the principle of Tomo-PIV is based on the calculation of the velocity vector field in a flow from the displacement of imaged tracer particles (s.c. seeding) on two subsequently captured images of the region of interest. With a planar stereoscopic PIV set-up it is possible to determine instantaneous velocity vector fields with all three components in a two dimensional plane (2D-3C). Furthermorer, Tomo-PIV enables the determination of an instantaneous velocity vector volume (3D-3C).

The method is making use of the tomographic reconstruction of an instantaneous particle distribution based on the projections of this distribution onto several cameras: tiny tracer particles are added to the flow of interest and illuminated with a short laser light pulse in a volume with a rectangular base area. The light scattered by the particles is captured by several (ca. 3 to 6, typically 4) cameras applying the Scheimpflug condition. In that way weighted projections of the instantaneous particle distribution are received by the camera sensors from different viewing directions (see Fig. 1 [3]). The information about the lines of sight of each camera pixel through the investigated volume is described by a polynomial approximation achieved from a 3D-calibration procedure.

In a second step the original three-dimensional particle distribution has to be (re-)calculated from the projections to the cameras. Therefore the MART (Multiplicative Algebraic Reconstruction Technique) method is used, introduced by Herman und Lent [2]. The problem of reconstruction is converted into an under-determined system of equations, which can be solved in a converged approximation using algebraic methods. At the end of the reconstruction process a digital representation of the volume in the shape of a voxel space (deduced from pixel = picture elements -> volume elements) is obtained, in which intensity values virtually describe the original particle distribution.

The illumination and imaging of the volume within the flow is carried out at two subsequent time steps and a tomographic reconstruction for both time steps is performed. By calculating the three-dimensional cross-correlation of the obtained voxel-spaces locally on a regular grid a displacement vector field of the reconstructed particle distributions can be achieved analogous to the 2D-PIV evaluation process. A sketch summarizing the Tomo-PIV method is shown in Fig. 2 (after F. Scarano, TU Delft).

Applications

Tomo-PIV can be applied in air as well as in water. Like for planar PIV time-resolved experiments can be performed using high speed-cameras and –lasers (e.g. turbulent boundary layers flows). The fluid structure distributions are visualized e.g. by selected vector planes and 3D-iso-contour surfaces of the vorticity.

In case a time-resolved measurement is not necessary or higher spatial resolution is desired the application of high resolution double-frame cameras enables a measurement of instantaneous velocity distributions containing several scales within a complex flow simultaneously. Fig. 3 shows a result from an experiment in which four 16-Megapixel-cameras have been used for the imaging of a volume of 100 x 70 x 8 mm³ size in a transitional shear flow behind a Backward-Facing-Step. Vector fields with a spatial resolution of 1.1 independent vectors per mm³ have been achieved (resulting in a total number of more than 3.5 mio vectors per measurement point at 75 % overlap).  

Future applications of Tomo-PIV in industrial wind tunnels will most likely be restricted to so called Fat-Sheet Tomo-PIV due to the influences of long viewing distances and vibrations of the cameras. With such a set-up it is possible to correct for the line-of-sight variations between the cameras by volume self-calibration [4] from single simultaneous images of each camera. The light sheet thickness is only slightly increased compared to a Stereo-PIV set-up, but results of a Fat-sheet Tomo-PIV measurement can deliver the complete instantaneous velocity gradient tensor in a “thick plane”.

Reference

[1] Elsinga G.E., Scarano F., Wieneke B. and van Oudheusden B.W. (2006); Tomographic particle image velocimetry. Exp Fluids 41:933-947(15)
[2] Herman G.T., Lent A.; Iterative reconstruction algorithms. Comput Biol Med 6:273–294, 1976
[3] Schröder A., Geisler R., Elsinga G.E.,  Scarano F., Dierksheide U. (2008); Investigation of a turbulent spot and a tripped turbulent boundary layer flow using time-resolved tomographic PIV. Exp Fluids 44:305–316
[4] Wieneke B. (2008); Volume self-calibration for 3D particle image velocimetry. 549-556, Exp Fluids 45:549–556


Contact
Dr.rer.nat. Andreas Schröder
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology
, Experimental Methods
Tel: +49 551 709-2190

Fax: +49 551 709-2830

E-Mail: Andreas.Schroeder@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-183/251_read-24245/

Tomographic Particle Imaging Velocimetry (Tomo-PIV)

Abteilung Experimentelle Verfahren

 Tomo-PIV-Aufbau zur Untersuchung eines turbulenten Spots im 1-Meter-Kanal im DLR Göttingen
zum Bild Tomo-PIV-Aufbau zur Untersuchung eines turbulenten Spots im 1-Meter-Kanal im DLR Göttingen
.
 Relevante Schritte für Tomo-PIV: Doppelbildaufnahmen mehrerer Kameras, tomographische Rekonstruktion der Partikelintensitäten, dreidimensionale Kreuzkorrelation
zum Bild Relevante Schritte für Tomo-PIV: Doppelbildaufnahmen mehrerer Kameras, tomographische Rekonstruktion der Partikelintensitäten, dreidimensionale Kreuzkorrelation
.
 Transitionelle Strömungsstrukturen hinter einer rückwärts gewandten Stufe von 6 mm Höhe bei U=6,6 m/s mit 3D-Wirbelstärke Iso-Kontur-Flächen (blau) und einer horizontalen Mittelschnittebene bei ca. 3,5 mm Höhe mit momentanen 3C-Geschwindigkeitsvektoren farbkodiert mit der wandnormalen Geschwindigkeit  (Strömung von links)
zum Bild Transitionelle Strömungsstrukturen hinter einer rückwärts gewandten Stufe von 6 mm Höhe bei U=6,6 m/s mit 3D-Wirbelstärke Iso-Kontur-Flächen (blau) und einer horizontalen Mittelschnittebene bei ca. 3,5 mm Höhe mit momentanen 3C-Geschwindigkeitsvektoren farbkodiert mit der wandnormalen Geschwindigkeit (Strömung von links)
Bei der Methode des tomographischen PIV handelt es sich um eine relativ neue Erweiterung der PIV-Messtechnik mit der Fähigkeit, dreidimensionale Geschwindigkeitsvektorfelder zu bestimmen [1]. Wie beim planaren PIV basiert diese auf dem Prinzip der Berechnung des Geschwindigkeitsfeldes einer Strömung aus dem Versatz von abgebildeten Streupartikeln (sog. Seeding) in zwei aufeinander folgenden Aufnahmen des Untersuchungsgebietes.  Mittels eines planaren Stereo-PIV-Aufbaus ist es möglich, die momentanen Geschwindigkeitsvektoren mit allen drei Komponenten in einer zweidimensionalen Ebene zu ermitteln (2D-3C). Tomo-PIV ermöglicht es nun darüber hinaus, ein momentanes dreidimensionales Geschwindigkeitsvektorfeld in einem Volumen zu bestimmen (3D-3C).

Das Verfahren bedient sich dabei der tomographischen Rekonstruktion einer momentanen Teilchenverteilung aus den Projektionen dieser Verteilung auf mehrere Kameras: Die interessierende Strömung wird mit winzigen Streupartikeln versetzt. Nun wird das Untersuchungsgebiet durch einen Volumenlichtschnitt mit rechteckiger Grundfläche mit einem kurzen Laser-Lichtpuls beleuchtet. Das an den Partikeln gestreute Licht wird durch mehrere (ca. 3 bis 6, typischerweise 4) Kameras unter Einhaltung der Scheimpflugbedingung aufgenommen, wodurch man gewichtete Projektionen der momentanen Teilchenverteilung aus verschiedenen Richtungen erhält (siehe Abb. 1 [3]). Die Information über die Sichtlinien der einzelnen Kamerapixel im untersuchten Volumen wird mit einer Polynomapproximation beschrieben, die aus einem 3D-Kalibrierverfahren ermittelt wird.

Nun muss aus den Projektionen auf die Kameras die ursprüngliche dreidimensionale Teilchenverteilung (zurück-) berechnet werden. Dazu bedient man sich des Verfahrens der MART (Multiplicative Algebraic Reconstruction Technique), wie es von Herman und Lent eingeführt wurde [2]. Hierbei wird das Rekonstruktionsproblem auf ein unterbestimmtes Gleichungssystem zurückgeführt, welches sich durch algebraische Methoden näherungsweise lösen lässt. Am Ende dieses Rekonstruktionsprozesses erhält man eine digitale Repräsentation des Volumens in Form eines sog. Voxelraumes (abgeleitet von Pixel = picture elements -> volume elements), dessen Intensitätswerte virtuell die ursprüngliche Partikelverteilung annähernd darstellen.

Die Beleuchtung und Aufnahme des Volumens in der Strömung erfolgt zweimal zu kurz aufeinander folgenden Zeitpunkten; eine tomographische Rekonstruktion wird für beide Zeitpunkte durchgeführt. Nun kann mittels der lokalen dreidimensionalen Kreuzkorrelation der beiden erhaltenen Voxelräume das Verschiebungsvektorfeld der rekonstruierten Partikelverteilungen auf einem regelmäßigen Gitter analog zur 2D-PIV-Auswertung berechnet werden. Ein zusammenfassendes Schaubild der Tomo-PIV-Methode findet sich in Abb. 2 (nach F. Scarano, TU Delft).

Anwendungen

Tomo-PIV kann sowohl in Luft, wie auch in Wasser eingesetzt werden. Genau wie bei planarem PIV lassen sich zeitaufgelöste Experimente durch den Einsatz von Hochgeschwindigkeits-Kameras und –Lasern durchführen (z.B. turbulente Grenzschichtströmungen). Die Strömungsstrukturverteilungen können z.B. durch ausgesuchte Vektorebenen und 3D-Iso-Konturflächen der Wirbelstärke wiedergegeben werden.

Ist eine zeitaufgelöste Messung nicht erforderlich oder eine höhere Auflösung der Strömungsstrukturen von Interesse, lassen sich durch die Verwendung von hochauflösenden Doppelbild-Kameras momentane Geschwindigkeitsverteilungen erfassen, die mehrere Größenskalen in einer komplexen Strömung gleichzeitig enthalten können. Abb. 3 zeigt ein Ergebnis aus einem Experiment, bei dem vier 16-Megapixel-Kameras zur Aufnahme eines 100 x 70 x 8 mm³ großen Volumens in der transitionellen Scherströmung hinter einer rückwärts-gewandten Stufe (Backward-Facing-Step) verwendet wurden. Hier konnten Vektorfelder mit einer Auflösung von knapp 1,1 unabhängigen Vektoren pro mm³ (bei 75 % Überlappung der lokalen Auswertevolumina insgesamt mehr als 3,5 Millionen Vektoren pro Messpunkt) realisiert werden.

Die zukünftige Anwendung von Tomo-PIV in industriellen Windkanälen wird sich aufgrund der größeren Beobachtungsentfernungen unter dem zusätzlichen Einfluss der Vibrationen von Kameras wohl zunächst auf sogenanntes Fat-Sheet Tomo-PIV beschränken, bei der sich die Fehler der Sichtlinienvariationen zwischen den Kameras durch Selbstkalibration [4] von Bild zu Bild korrigieren lassen. Hierbei ist der Lichtschnitt nur wenig breiter als bei der Stereo-PIV-Technik, wobei allerdings bei der Fat-Sheet Tomo-PIV der vollständige momentane Geschwindigkeitsgradiententensor in dieser „dicken Ebene“ erfasst werden kann.

Literatur

[1] Elsinga G.E., Scarano F., Wieneke B. and van Oudheusden B.W. (2006); Tomographic particle image velocimetry. Exp Fluids 41:933-947(15)
[2] Herman G.T., Lent A.; Iterative reconstruction algorithms. Comput Biol Med 6:273–294, 1976
[3] Schröder A., Geisler R., Elsinga G.E.,  Scarano F., Dierksheide U. (2008); Investigation of a turbulent spot and a tripped turbulent boundary layer flow using time-resolved tomographic PIV. Exp Fluids 44:305–316
[4] Wieneke B. (2008); Volume self-calibration for 3D particle image velocimetry. 549-556, Exp Fluids 45:549–556


Kontakt
Dr.rer.nat. Andreas Schröder
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik
, Experimentelle Verfahren
Tel: +49 551 709-2190

Fax: +49 551 709-2830

E-Mail: Andreas.Schroeder@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-183/251_read-24245/