SAMURAI

Synergy of Advanced Measurement Techniques for Unsteady and High Reynolds Number Aerodynamic Investigations

The challenges addressed in the "ACARE Vision 2020" refer to the securing of the potential of technological innovation to build safer, greener and smarter aircraft. This is a key function within international competition and needs the support from scientific research establishments on national and European level. One essential goal of ACARE Vision 2020 is the reduction of noise- and exhaust- emissions during air traffic. This reduction can only be achieved by technical improvements, which need an extended knowledge about the basic physical processes e.g. in aircraft engine flows and in the aerodynamics of wings in high-lift-configuration. For the understanding of such flows with intrinsically unsteady behaviour (flow separation, transition, turbulence, vortex development and dynamics) with related flow-structure-interaction and flow induced noise sources and at high Reynolds numbers imaged based measurement methods are an indispensable tool for the determination of fluid mechanical significant measures in whole fields and on surfaces of (model-)parts in the flow. Nowadays, numerical methods are in a phase of rapid development enabling more and more the prediction of flows in the fields of unsteady and high Reynolds number aerodynamics by applying adapted turbulence- and transition- models or advanced simulation methods (Hybrid RANS-LES / DES). For being accepted as reliable tools for the design process of innovative aircraft concepts, which requires a coupling of these CFD codes with CSM and CAA methods for an integrated approach, extensive validation experiments by using image based measurement methods are necessary, because only they can deliver the needed spatially high resolved (unsteady) data in fields and volumes.

Uniquely in the world various and complementary non-intrusive and image based measurement techniques (PSP, TSP, IRT, PIV, BOS, IPCT, Acoustic  Array) for mobile use in wind tunnels and free flight experiments have been developed in the institutes of AS and AT. Common practice was the selective application of these measurement techniques for the characterisation of flow conditions around wind tunnel models or their acoustical respectively elastical effects. The combined application of optical and acoustical measurement techniques enables the quantification of different fluid mechanically, aero-acoustically and -elastically relevant measurement categories like pressure, velocity vectors, density, model deformation and noise sources in fields, on surfaces or even in whole volumes successively and parallel for a given wind tunnel model. By this as much as possible unsteady field data can be achieved, which cannot be determined otherwise. Such measurement data are of high importance for the development, validation and combination of complex simulation tools, like CFD (URANS, DES, LES, DNS), CSM or CAA. Furthermore, the combined application of these measurement techniques enables (partly for the first time) the investigation of physical interrelations (e.g. the noise source mechanisms of vortical flows or the elastic effects of (dynamical) forces and moments on model parts.)

 Application of image based measurement techniques at the high-lift- wing BNF ('community friendly aircraft ') at DNW-NWB
zum Bild Application of image based measurement techniques at the high-lift- wing BNF ("community friendly aircraft ") at DNW-NWB
For two central experimental fields of aerodynamic investigation: the high-lift-configuration wing, represented by the F16- and "community friendly aircraft (BNF)" model, and jet engine flows, represented by the UHBR and the ATRA-V2527 engine, combined image-based experimental measurement systems will be applied within SAMURAI in order to achieve a large field-dataset for the extension of the aero-dynamic, - elastic and -acoustic knowledge of these two complex flow regimes and for the validation of and combination with accompanying advanced numerical simulations. Therefore, within SAMURAI several core-competencies of the institutes of AS, AE, BK and AT will be connected in a way that their potential can be proven at concrete challenges and the analysis of complex flow systems.


Contact
Dr.rer.nat. Andreas Schröder
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Aerodynamics and Flow Technology
, Experimental Methods
Tel: +49 551 709-2190

Fax: +49 551 709-2830

E-Mail: Andreas.Schroeder@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-183/251_read-33607/

SAMURAI

Synergy of Advanced Measurement Techniques for Unsteady and High Reynolds Number Aerodynamic Investigations

Die in der "ACARE Vision 2020" genannten Herausforderungen beziehen sich auf die Sicherstellung des technischen Innovationspotentials bei der Entwicklung von ressourcenschonenden und umweltfreundlichen Flugzeugen und den dafür erforderlichen Technologien. Dies ist eine Schlüsselfunktion im internationalen Wettbewerb und bedarf der Unterstützung der wissenschaftlichen Forschung auf nationaler und europäischer Ebene. Das Ziel von ACARE Vision 2020 ist die Reduzierung der Lärm- und Abgasemissionen im Flugverkehr. Diese können nur über technische Änderungen erzielt werden, die auf ein erweitertes Verständnis der physikalischen Prozesse z.B. in Triebwerksströmungen und in der Aerodynamik von Hochauftriebskonfigurationen zurückgreifen müssen. Für das Verständnis von solchen Strömungen mit intrinsisch instationärem Verhalten (Ablösung, Transition, Turbulenz, Wirbelbildung und -dynamik) samt zugehöriger Effekte der Strömungs-Struktur-Kopplung und strömungsinduzierter Schallquellen, sowie bei hohen Reynoldszahlen sind bildgebende Messverfahren ein unverzichtbares Werkzeug zur Erfassung von strömungsphysikalisch relevanten Messgrößen in ganzen Feldern und auf Oberflächen umströmter Bauteile bzw. Flügel(-segmente). Zudem befinden sich numerische Verfahren zurzeit in einer Phase rapider Entwicklung, um Strömungen in der instationären- und Hochreynoldszahl-Aerodynamik mit entsprechend angepassten Turbulenz- und Transitionsmodellen oder fortschrittlichen Verfahren (DES/ Hybride RANS-LES) in Simulationen vorherzusagen. Um letztlich als verlässliche Werkzeuge im Designprozess neuartiger Flugzeugentwürfe eingesetzt werden zu können und für eine integrierte Entwurfsplanung eine Kopplung der CFD Verfahren mit CSM und CAA Methoden zu ermöglichen, bedarf es umfangreicher Validierungsexperimente mittels bildgebender Messtechniken, mit denen allein die dafür nötigen räumlich aufgelösten (instationären) Daten in Feldern oder Volumina geliefert werden können.

Weltweit einmalig sind in den Instituten AS und AT viele verschiedene und sich ergänzende berührungsfreie und bildgebende Messverfahren (PSP, TSP, IRT, PIV, BOS, IPCT, Acoustic Array) zur mobilen Anwendung in Windkanälen und im Flugversuch entwickelt worden. Die bisherige Praxis ist der punktuelle Einsatz jeweils eines dieser Messverfahren zur Charakterisierung von Strömungszuständen um Windkanalmodelle oder deren akustische bzw. elastische Effekte. Die kombinierte Anwendung dieser optischen und akustischen Messverfahren ermöglicht es, verschiedene strömungsmechanisch, aero-akustisch und -elastisch relevante Messgrößen wie Druck, Geschwindigkeitsvektoren, Dichte, Modelldeformationen und Schallquellen in ganzen Feldern, auf Oberflächen bzw. in Volumina für ein gegebenes Modell in einem Windkanalversuch sukzessive oder sogar parallel zu erfassen, um eine möglichst umfassende Datenbasis für die experimentell nicht auf anderen Wegen zu erzielenden (instationären) Größen zu bestimmen. Solche Messdaten sind für die Weiterentwicklung, Validierung und Kombination komplexer Simulationstechniken, wie CFD (URANS, DES, LES, DNS), CSM oder CAA von großer Bedeutung. Des Weiteren ermöglicht der kombinierte Einsatz dieser Techniken teilweise erstmalige Untersuchungen von physikalischen Zusammenhängen (z.B. der Schallentstehung in wirbelbehafteter Strömung oder der elastischen Wirkung von (dynamischen) Kräften und Momenten auf Modellflächen, etc.).

 Einsatz bildgebender Messverfahren am Hochauftriebsflügel BNF ('Bürgernahes Flugzeug') im DNW-NWB
zum Bild Einsatz bildgebender Messverfahren am Hochauftriebsflügel BNF ("Bürgernahes Flugzeug") im DNW-NWB
Für zwei zentrale experimentelle Untersuchungsgebiete der Aerodynamik, dem Hochauftriebsflügel, repräsentiert durch das F16- und das "Bürgernahe Flugzeug (BNF)"-Modell, und der Triebwerksströmung, repräsentiert durch den UHBR und das ATRA-V2527 Triebwerk, werden im Rahmen von SAMURAI umfassende Felddaten mit den verschiedenen bildgebenden Messverfahren zur Erweiterung des aero-dynamischen, -elastischen und -akustischen Verständnisses dieser beiden komplexen Strömungssysteme ermittelt und für die Validierung von und Kombination mit begleitenden numerischen Verfahren bereitgestellt. Damit werden im Projekt SAMURAI mehrere Kernkompetenzen der Institute AS, AE, BK und AT in einer Weise verbunden, die ihr Potential an konkreten Herausforderungen und bei der Analyse komplexer Strömungssysteme unter Beweis stellen können.


Kontakt
Dr.rer.nat. Andreas Schröder
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Aerodynamik und Strömungstechnik
, Experimentelle Verfahren
Tel: +49 551 709-2190

Fax: +49 551 709-2830

E-Mail: Andreas.Schroeder@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-183/251_read-33607/