Aerodynamics of space transportation systems

Supersonic and Hypersonic Technology Department (HY)

Visualization of the flow around the X-38 wind tunnel model at Mach 1.75.
.
Separation of a 4-stage booster at Mach 1.8.
.
Flow around the wind tunnel model of the re-usable LFBB booster for ARIANE in TMK at Mach 1.6.
.
Investigation into the flow at the angles of yaw of an air inlet for an air-breathing engine, using IR-thermography.
Based on innovative technologies, low cost and/or re-usable space transportation systems are currently being developed. In the following working areas the department makes a major contribution with experimental investigations its wind tunnels:

Aerodynamics of entry configurations

This work is aimed at the determination of the aerodynamic characteristics and the load distribution for capsules and winged re-entry configurations. Due to their compact shape which has been optimised for the re-entry phase, the latter show an unfavourable aerodynamic behaviour during descent and landing. The “instationary derivatives” which contribute to the aerodynamic characteristics are therefore determined with special test methods for which the model has to carry out a free or forced oscillation. For example, investigations on the aerodynamic stability and efficiency of the control surfaces for the demonstrator for the X-38 crew return vehicle for the International Space Station were carried out.

Aerodynamics of rocket ascent

Aerodynamic investigations on conventional rocket configurations, e.g. of aerodynamic stability, pressure distribution and staging are also carried out in our ground testing facilities. One of the projects in the frame of the German program ASTRA (Ausgewählte Systeme und Technologien für zukünftige Raumtransport-Anwendungen) was the experimental study of  re-usable Liquid Fly-Back Boosters (LFBB) for their possible application for the ARIANE 5 launcher.

Atmospheric high speed flight

Here, the emphasis is on spacecraft with „air-breathing“ propulsion (LAPCAT). In comparison to rockets, air-propelled vehicles have the advantage that the oxygen required for combustion does not need to be carried. The ratio of payload to take-off-weight is therefore improved.  This work also has the objective of utilising this type of propulsion for more economical space transportation.Im Vordergrund stehen hier Raumflugzeuge mit „luftatmendem“ Antrieb (LAPCAT).




URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5438/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Supersonic and Hypersonic Technology Department (AS-HYP) (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-576/usetemplate-print/)
Facilities (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5431/usetemplate-print/)
Customers and cooperating partners (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5432/usetemplate-print/)
DLR Research projects (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5434/usetemplate-print/)
Advanced missile technologies (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5437/usetemplate-print/)
Qualification of thermal protection systems (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5439/usetemplate-print/)
Experimental study of flow-structure coupling (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5440/usetemplate-print/)
Super and hypersonic flight measurement technique (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5442/usetemplate-print/)

Aerodynamik von Raumtransportsystemen

Einrichtung „Über- und Hyperschalltechnologien“ (HY)

Sichtbarmachung der Strömung um das Windkanalmodell der X-38-Konfiguration bei Mach 1,75.
.
Trennungsvorgang eines 4-fach-Boosters bei Mach 1,8.
.
Strömung um das Windkanalmodell der wiederverwendbaren Startrakete LFBB für ARIANE im TMK bei Mach 1,6.
.
Untersuchung der Strömung bei Schiebewinkeln auf den Rampen eines Lufteinlaufs für ein Staustrahltriebwerk durch IR-Thermographie.
Auf Basis innovativer Technologien werden z.Zt. kostengünstigere bzw. wiederverwendbare Raumtransportsysteme entwickelt. In folgenden Punkten trägt die Einrichtung durch Windkanalmessungen wesentlich dazu bei:

Aerodynamik von Eintritts-Konfigurationen

Diese Arbeiten zielen auf die Bestimmung der aerodynamischen Eigenschaften und der Thermallastverteilung bei Kapseln und rückkehrfähigen, geflügelten Konfigurationen. Letztere verfügen aufgrund ihrer gedrungenen, für die Wiedereintrittsphase optimierten Form über schlechte natürliche Flugeigenschaften im Landeanflug. Die „instationären Derivativa“, die hier mitbestimmend für die Flugeigenschaften sind, werden daher mittels spezieller Messverfahren, bei denen das Modell eine Bewegung ausführen muss, ermittelt. Zum Beispiel erfolgten für den Erprobungsträger des Rettungsfahrzeugs X-38 für die Internationale Raumstation ISS Untersuchungen zur Flugstabilität und Ruderwirksamkeit.

Aerodynamik des Raketenaufstiegs

Aerodynamische Untersuchungen an konventionellen Raketenkonfigurationen z.B. zur Flugstabilität, Druckverteilung und Stufentrennung erfolgen ebenfalls in hier betriebenen Anlagen. So galt es, im Rahmen des deutschen Programms ASTRA (Ausgewählte Systeme und Technologien für zukünftige Raumtransport-Anwendungen) u.a. durch Windkanalsimulationen zu überprüfen, ob die ARIANE 5-Rakete auf zwei seitlich angebrachte geflügelte und wiederverwendbare Startraketen mit Flüssigkeits-Triebwerken (Liquid Fly-Back Booster, LFBB) umzurüsten ist.

Atmosphärischer Hochgeschwindigkeitsflug

Im Vordergrund stehen hier Raumflugzeuge mit „luftatmendem“ Antrieb (LAPCAT). Derartige Staustrahlantriebe haben gegenüber Raketenantrieben den Vorteil, dass der für die Verbrennung notwendige Sauerstoff nicht mitgeführt werden muss. Das Verhältnis Nutzlast zu Abflugmasse verbessert sich. Derzeitige Arbeiten zielen u.a. darauf ab, diese Antriebe auch für einen wirtschaftlichen Raumtransport einsetzbar zu machen.




URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5438/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Abteilung „Über- und Hyperschalltechnologien“ (AS-HYP) (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-576/usetemplate-print/)
Anlagen (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5431/usetemplate-print/)
Auftraggeber und Kooperations-Partner (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5432/usetemplate-print/)
Projekte (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5434/usetemplate-print/)
Fortschrittliche Flugkörper-Technologien (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5437/usetemplate-print/)
Qualifizierung von Wärmeschutzsystemen (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5439/usetemplate-print/)
Experimentelle Untersuchungen zur Strömungs- / Struktur - Kopplung (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5440/usetemplate-print/)
Über- und Hyperschallflugmesstechnik (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-194/407_read-5442/usetemplate-print/)