Background

Project MEGADESIGN

Today the numerical flow simulation is established - apart from wind tunnel and flight test - as an indispensable tool for the development of new and for the improvement of existing airplanes. During the last years in particular one succeeded in making the comparatively very costly Navier Stokes procedures industrially usable for various developments.

In Germany the national project MEGAFLOW brought forward the development and quality of the numerical computation of complex flow problems significantly. MEGAFLOW (1995-1998) was initiated by the first aviation research program of the Federal Government under the leadership of the DLR. A network from aircraft industry, the DLR and several universities was created with the goal of concentrating the development activities for numerical flow simulation on a central program system. Based on MEGAFLOW the Navier Stokes procedures FLOWer and TAU have been introduced into the aerodynamic design process at Airbus Germany and became standard tools. Also at EADS-M, EUROCOPTER and DLR the MEGAFLOW software is used intensively for various aerodynamic problems. The internationally recognized high efficiency and quality of those procedures contributed largely to this broad usage.

The MEGAFLOW network was established as an efficient open group of very closely co-operating partners and worked satisfactorily. The supplementing expertises and experiences of the different partners contributed substantially to the world-wide recognized success of the MEGAFLOW codes. Beside the concentration of the substantial national activities in particular a drastic reduction of the time between the production of new basic results and their application in the industrial environment could be achieved by the group. For many universities the MEGAFLOW software represents a platform for the advancement of physical models and for the investigation of complex flow processes.

Due to the constantly growing requirements, which result from both the development of future airplanes and the competitive position of the German aircraft industry, substantial need of specific improvements and advancements of the methods exists despite the high stage of maturity of the MEGAFLOW methods. Particularly in the areas of the numerical shape optimization and the multidiscipline simulation further activities are necessary, in order to be able to keep pace with the progressing developments in particular in the US. New, innovative methods of the optimization (among other things adjoint, one shot, genetic and evolutionary methods, neural networks), the numerical solution algorithms (among other things implicit procedures and adaptation techniques), the physical modelling (among other things 3D transition prediction and advanced turbulence models) and the multidisciplinary coupling must be developed, tested in the industrial practice and adapted if necessary. In the future typically applications with more than 10-15 million mesh points are to be treated. Thus a specific importance meaning is attached to the efficient utilization of low-priced parallel computers. In particular with the numerical optimization and the multidisciplinary time-exact simulation for the examination of critical flight conditions with extreme flight attitudes a constant parallelism of the numerical process chain is necessary. This sphere of activity is at present world-wide the subject of intensive research work.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-606/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
MEGADESIGN (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-605/usetemplate-print/)
Objectives (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-607/usetemplate-print/)
Partners (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-608/usetemplate-print/)
Contributions (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-609/usetemplate-print/)
Results (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-3219/usetemplate-print/)
Ergebnisse Meilenstein M6.1 (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-6456/usetemplate-print/)
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Ongoing Activities in Flow Simulation and Shape Optimization within the German MEGADESIGN project (http://www.dlr.de/as/en/Portaldata/5/Resources/dokumente/projekte/megadesign/ICAS2006_megadesign_overview.pdf)

Hintergrund

Projekt MEGADESIGN

Die numerische Strömungssimulation hat sich heute neben Windkanal und Flugversuch als unverzichtbares Werkzeug für die Entwicklung neuer bzw. bei der Verbesserung bestehender Flugzeuge etabliert. Insbesondere ist es in den letzten Jahren gelungen, auch die vergleichsweise sehr aufwändigen Navier-Stokes-Verfahren für vielfältige Entwicklungsarbeiten industriell nutzbar zu machen.

In Deutschland hat das Vorhaben MEGAFLOW die Entwicklung und Qualität der numerischen Berechnung komplexer Strömungsprobleme entscheidend vorangebracht. Initiiert durch das erste Luftfahrtforschungsprogramm (Lufo I) der Bundesregierung (1995-1998) wurde unter der Federführung des DLR ein Verbund aus Luftfahrtindustrie, dem DLR und mehreren Hochschulen geschaffen mit dem Ziel, die Entwicklungsaktivitäten zur numerischen Strömungssimulation auf ein zentrales Programmsystem zu konzentrieren. Durch MEGAFLOW ist die Nutzung der Navier-Stokes-Verfahren FLOWer und TAU im aerodynamischen Entwurf bei Airbus Deutschland eingeführt und zu einem Standardwerkzeug ausgebaut worden. Auch bei EADS-M, EUROCOPTER und im DLR wird die MEGAFLOW-Software für vielfältige Problemstellungen in der Aerodynamik intensiv genutzt. Hierzu hat nicht zuletzt die international anerkannt hohe Effizienz und Qualität der Verfahren beigetragen.

Der MEGAFLOW-Verbund hat sich als effizienter offener Verbund sehr eng zusammenarbeitender Partner etabliert und bewährt. Die sich ergänzenden Kompetenzen und Erfahrungen der verschiedenen Partner haben erheblich zum weltweit anerkannten Erfolg der MEGAFLOW-Verfahren beigetragen. Neben der Konzentration der wesentlichen nationalen Aktivitäten konnte durch den Verbund insbesondere eine drastische Verkürzung der Zeit zwischen der Gewinnung neuer Grundlagenergebnisse und deren Anwendung im industriellen Umfeld erreicht werden. Für viele Hochschulen stellt die MEGAFLOW-Software eine Plattform für die Weiterentwicklung von physikalischen Modellen und die Untersuchung komplexer Strömungsvorgänge dar.

Aufgrund der stetig wachsenden Anforderungen, die sich sowohl aus der Entwicklung zukünftiger Flugzeuge als auch aus der Wettbewerbssituation der deutschen Luftfahrtindustrie ergeben, besteht trotz des hohen Reifegrades der MEGAFLOW-Verfahren erheblicher Bedarf an spezifischen Verbesserungen und Weiterentwicklungen der Methoden. Speziell auf den Gebieten der numerischen Formoptimierung und der multidisziplinären Simulation sind weitergehende Aktivitäten notwendig, um mit den insbesondere in den USA fortschreitenden Entwicklungen Schritt halten zu können. Es müssen neue, innovative Methoden der Optimierung (u.a. Adjungierte, one-shot, genetische und evolutionäre Methoden, Neuronale Netze), der numerischen Lösungsalgorithmen (u.a. implizite Verfahren, verbesserte Mehrgitter- und Adaptionstechniken), der physikalischen Modellierung (u.a. 3D-Transitionsvorhersage, höherwertige Turbulenzmodelle) und der Kopplung mit fachübergreifenden Disziplinen entwickelt und in der industriellen Praxis erprobt und gegebenenfalls angepasst werden. Da zukünftig typischerweise Anwendungsfälle mit mehr als 10-15 Millionen Netzpunkten zu behandeln sind, kommt der effizienten Ausnutzung von preisgünstigen Parallelrechnern eine besondere Bedeutung zu. Insbesondere bei der numerischen Optimierung und der disziplinübergreifenden, zeitgenauen Simulation zur Überprüfung kritischer Flugzustände bei extremen Fluglagen ist eine durchgängige Parallelisierung der numerischen Prozesskette erforderlich. Dieses Arbeitsgebiet ist derzeit weltweit Gegenstand intensiver Forschungsarbeiten.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-606/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
MEGADESIGN (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-605/usetemplate-print/)
Ziele (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-607/usetemplate-print/)
Partner (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-608/usetemplate-print/)
Beiträge (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-609/usetemplate-print/)
Ergebnisse Meilenstein M4 (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-3219/usetemplate-print/)
Ergebnisse Meilenstein M6.1 (http://www.dlr.de/as/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-369/439_read-6456/usetemplate-print/)
Downloads zu diesem Artikel
Ongoing Activities in Flow Simulation and Shape Optimization within the German MEGADESIGN project (http://www.dlr.de/as/Portaldata/5/Resources/dokumente/projekte/megadesign/ICAS2006_megadesign_overview.pdf)