High temperature lightweight structures for space applications



 

 Milestones of the Development
zum Bild Milestones of the Development

The system-oriented development work in the department of space travel system integration concentrates on the two groups thermal safety systems and hot primary structures of re-entry vehicles, as well as on thrust chamber technology for effusion cooled, cryogenic rocket engines in a new hybrid construction using polymere and ceramic composite materials. Both domains are important key technologies for the development of future space transportation systems.
 
Beside basic research the work is predominantly project oriented and shall lead to proven and applicable structures. This system oriented approach leads to the integration of different disciplines during the development process and covers for example the system design of hot fiber ceramic panel structures on the outer side up to the design of a metallic sub structure and necessary interfaces of a TPS. Within the department all necessary disciplines are covered from the preliminary draft up to qualification testing. In terms of design and analysis special simulation tools for the coupled structure-flow analysis or for the structural thrust chamber simulation are available beside commercial FEM and CAD software.

Due to these applications the following development tasks result for instance:

  • Behaviour of fiber ceramic high temperature materials under re-entry conditions (high temperatures, low pressures, oxygen and nitrogen dissociation)
  • Protective layers for fiber-ceramics
  • Insulation, seal, assembly and load transmission concepts for hot external structures on cold sub structures
  • Numeric calculation of the interaction between hot gas flow and structures (calculation and development of numerical tools)
  • Development of effusion-cooled structures on the basis of porous materials
  • Quality assurance methods

Production of fiber-ceramic primary components from C/C-SiC happens within the Institute in the department Ceramic Composite Structures by means of the liquid siliconization process developed by DLR. For qualification purposes of the systems own hot testing facilities and different non-destructive testing methods are available and also other means such as plasma wind tunnels and rocket engine test facilities of other DLR Institutes can be used. Structures in testing facilities can however only be pre-qualified. Their use under close-to-reality conditions, such as in flight tests, is indispensable. This experimental testing takes place almost exclusively within joint projects on national and European level and in co-operation with other research establishments as well as the industry.


Contact
Dr.-Ing. Hermann Hald
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Structures and Design 

Tel: +49 711 6862-473

Fax: +49 711 6862-227

E-Mail: Hermann.Hald@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/bt/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4303/3752_read-10084/
Links zu diesem Artikel
desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2500/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Return Technology - hot structures and Thermal Protection Systems (http://www.dlr.de/bt/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4303/3752_read-10083/usetemplate-print/)
Components for space propulsion systems (http://www.dlr.de/bt/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4303/3752_read-10082/usetemplate-print/)
Coupled Numeric Structure Analysis (http://www.dlr.de/bt/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4303/3752_read-10081/usetemplate-print/)
Functional Verification (http://www.dlr.de/bt/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4303/3752_read-10080/usetemplate-print/)

Hochtemperatur Leichtbaustrukturen für Raumfahrtanwendungen



 

 Meilensteine der Entwicklung
zum Bild Meilensteine der Entwicklung

Die systemorientierten Entwicklungsarbeiten konzentrieren sich auf die beiden Bereiche Thermalschutzsysteme (TPS) und heiße Primärstrukturen von Wiedereintrittsfahrzeugen, sowie auf Schubkammertechnologie für effusiv gekühlte, kryogene Raketentriebwerke in neuer Hybridbauweise unter Verwendung polymerer und keramischer Verbundwerkstoffe. Beide Themenfelder sind wichtige Schlüsseltechnologien für die Entwicklung zukünftiger Raumtransportsysteme.

Neben Grundlagenforschung sind die Arbeiten vorwiegend projektorientiert ausgerichtet und  sollen zu erprobten und einsatzfähigen Strukturen führen. Dieser systemorientierte Ansatz führt zur Integration verschiedener Bereiche während des Entwicklungsprozesses und umfasst beispielsweise bei einem TPS die Systemauslegung von heißen faserkeramischen Paneelstrukturen auf der Außenseite bis hin zur Gestaltung einer metallischen Unterstruktur und notwendigen Interfaces. Innerhalb der Abteilung werden dabei vom Vorentwurf bis hin zum Qualifikationstest alle notwendigen Disziplinen abgedeckt. Im Bereich der Konstruktion und Berechnung stehen neben kommerzieller FEM und CAD Software auch spezielle Simulationstools für die gekoppelte Struktur- Strömungsberechnung oder die strukturelle Brennkammersimulation zur Verfügung.

Aufgrund dieser Anwendungen ergeben sich beispielsweise die folgenden Entwicklungsaufgaben:

  • Verhalten von faserkeramischen Hochtemperaturwerkstoffe unter Wiedereintrittsbedingungen (hohe Temperaturen, geringe Drücke, Sauerstoff- und Stickstoffdissoziation)
  • Schutzschichten für Faserkeramiken
  • Isolations-, Dichtungs-, Montage- und Krafteinleitungskonzepte für heiße Aussenstrukturen auf kalter Unterstruktur 
  • Numerische Berechnung der Interaktion Heissgasströmung-Struktur (Berechnung und Entwicklung numerischer Werkzeuge)
  • Entwicklung effusionsgekühlter Strukturen auf der Basis von porösen Werkstoffen 
  • Qualitätssicherungsmethoden

Die Herstellung der faserkeramischen Primärbauteile aus C/C-SiC erfolgt innerhalb des Instituts in der Abteilung „Keramische Verbundstrukturen“ mittels des vom DLR entwickelten Flüssigsilizierverfahrens. Zur Qualifikation der Systeme stehen eigene Heißprüfeinrichtungen und verschiedene zerstörungsfreie Prüfmethoden zur Verfügung, außerdem können zum Beispiel Plasmawindkanäle und Triebwerksprüfstände in anderen DLR-Instituten mit einbezogen werden. Strukturen können in Testeinrichtungen allerdings nur vorqualifiziert werden; letztendlich ist ihr Einsatz unter realitätsnahen Bedingungen, wie zum Beispiel in Flugversuchen, unverzichtbar. Diese experimentelle Erprobung erfolgt fast ausschließlich innerhalb Verbundprojekten auf nationaler und europäischer Ebene und in Kooperation mit anderen Forschungseinrichtungen sowie der Industrie.


Kontakt
Dr.-Ing. Hermann Hald
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Bauweisen und Strukturtechnologie

Tel: +49 711 6862-473

Fax: +49 711 6862-227

E-Mail: Hermann.Hald@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/bt/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4303/3752_read-10084/
Links zu diesem Artikel
desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2500/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Rückkehrtechnologie – Heiße Strukturen und Thermalschutzsysteme (http://www.dlr.de/bt/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4303/3752_read-10083/usetemplate-print/)
Keramische Schubkammer für Raketentriebwerke (http://www.dlr.de/bt/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4303/3752_read-10082/usetemplate-print/)
Gekoppelte numerische Strukturanalyse (http://www.dlr.de/bt/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4303/3752_read-10081/usetemplate-print/)
Funktionale Verifikation (http://www.dlr.de/bt/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4303/3752_read-10080/usetemplate-print/)