DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Portal News:News Archive 2006
News Archive 2006

Successful launch for Space Shuttle Discovery - Thomas Reiter enroute to ISS

4 July 2006

Successful launch: Space Shuttle Discovery underway to the International Space Station (ISS)
zum Bild Successful launch: Space Shuttle Discovery underway to the International Space Station (ISS)

With today's successful launch of the Space Shuttle Discovery, NASA has recommenced regular shuttle flights to the International Space Station (ISS). Onboard the Discovery today is ESA astronaut Thomas Reiter, from Germany, who will work alongside the ISS crew for six or seven months as part of Europe's 'Astrolab' mission, conducting research and other crew activities.

Professor Sigmar Wittig, Chairman of the Executive Board of the German Aerospace Center (DLR), congratulated NASA Administrator Michael Griffin on the successful launch of the Discovery, stating: "Today's shuttle launch marks an important step in the scientific use of the ISS and in further developing the station's future. As Thomas Reiter undertakes Europe's first long-duration mission on the ISS, the station's regular crew returns to three and the focus of activity re-centres on scientific research. Furthermore, deployment of Europe's Columbus lab module, scheduled for 2007, comes closer to realisation."

Discovery's mission, STS-121, is set to last 11 days. During this time, new technologies for the shuttle will be tested and the flight programme includes two spacewalks and the delivery of supplies and equipment to the ISS.


Contact
Eduard Müller
German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Editor Printings

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2805

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Dr. Niklas Reinke
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Space Strategy and Program
Tel.: +49 228 447-394

Fax: +49 228 447-386


Dr. Volker Sobick
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Human Spaceflight, ISS and Exploration
Tel.: +49 228 447-495

Fax: +49 228 447-737


Created: 04/07/2006 21:10:00
All topics: News Archives

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Webnews:News-Archiv 2006
News-Archiv 2006

Space Shuttle Discovery erfolgreich gestartet - Thomas Reiter fliegt als erster Deutscher zur ISS

4. Juli 2006

Erfolgreicher Start: Space Shuttle Discovery auf dem Weg zur Internationalen Raumstation (ISS)
zum Bild Erfolgreicher Start: Space Shuttle Discovery auf dem Weg zur Internationalen Raumstation (ISS)

Köln - Mit dem heute erfolgten Start der Discovery hat die amerikanische Weltraumbehörde NASA die Flüge mit der Shuttle-Flotte zum weiteren Aufbau der Internationalen Raumstation ISS wieder aufgenommen. An Bord ist auch der deutsche ESA-Astronaut Thomas Reiter, der für sechs bis sieben Monate auf der Raumstation im Rahmen der europäischen Astrolab-Mission forschen und arbeiten wird.

Professor Sigmar Wittig, Vorstandsvorsitzender des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), beglückwünschte Michael Griffin, den Chef der amerikanischen Raumfahrtbehörde NASA, zum erfolgreichen Start der Discovery: "Dieser Shuttle-Start ist eine wichtige Voraussetzung für die wissenschaftliche Nutzung der ISS sowie für deren weiteren Ausbau. Gleichzeitig wird mit der Langzeitmission von Thomas Reiter die Crew der ISS wieder auf drei Mann erhöht und die Forschung an Bord weiter in den Mittelpunkt gerückt. Ebenso kommt der Einsatz des europäischen Forschungslabors Columbus, das 2007 an der ISS andocken soll, näher", erklärte Wittig.

Die Mission STS-121 soll elf Tage dauern. Während dieser Zeit werden neue Technologien für das Shuttle erprobt. Auf dem Flugprogramm stehen zwei sogenannte Weltraumspaziergänge und das Umladen von Gütern und Nahrungsmitteln auf die ISS.


Kontakt
Eduard Müller
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Presse- und Öffentlichkeitsarbeit

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2805

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Dr. Niklas Reinke
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Raumfahrt-Strategie und Programmatik
Tel.: +49 228 447-394

Fax: +49 228 447-386


Dr. Volker Sobick
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Bemannte Raumfahrt, ISS und Exploration
Tel.: +49 228 447-495

Fax: +49 228 447-737


Erstellt am: 04.07.2006 21:10:00 Uhr