News Archive 2006

Professor Dr Johann-Dietrich Wörner to head DLR from March 2007

22 November 2006

Cologne/Stuttgart - Professor Dr Johann-Dietrich Wörner, currently the President of the Technical University (TU) of Darmstadt, is to become Chairman of the German Aerospace Center (DLR) as of 1 March 2007. This appointment was decided today by the Senate of DLR, chaired by the State Secretary from the Federal Ministry of Economics, Dr Joachim Wuermeling. The Senate met at DLR's annual general meeting in Stuttgart. Professor Wörner will succeed Professor Dr Sigmar Wittig (b. 1940), who is now retiring. At the end of February 2007, he will have been Chairman of DLR for five years. The Senate also extended the period of office of board member Dr Ludwig Baumgarten by another 22 months, until he, too, reaches retirement age.

 Dr Joachim Wuermeling, Professor Dr Johann-Dietrich Wörner and Professor Dr Sigmar Wittig after the Senate meeting
zum Bild Dr Joachim Wuermeling, Professor Dr Johann-Dietrich Wörner and Professor Dr Sigmar Wittig after the Senate meeting

Professor Wörner (b. 1954) has been President of TU Darmstadt since 1995. Professor Wörner, who has a doctorate in civil engineering, became a professor of solid structure engineering and manager of the university's testing and experiment facility in 1990. In 1995, he also became a professor of statics. He has been a member of the Senate of DLR since 2002. Professor Wörner originally comes from Kassel; he is married with three children.

Dr Joachim Wuermeling, State Secretary at the Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology and Chairman of the Senate of DLR, commented: "As an engineer, Professor Wörner is ideally qualified to give a fresh stimulus to DLR as a major research organisation and to represent its role as Germany's national space agency on an international level."

The period of office of the current chairman, Professor Wittig, will end on 28 February 2007. Professor Wittig is also Chairman of the Council of the European Space Agency (ESA). Until he retires from his formal duties, he will devote the summer of 2007, in the last year of his official appointment, to his duties as lecturer in thermal fluid flow engines at the University of Karlsruhe (TH). He was Rector of the University until he joined DLR.

The Chairman of the Board of DLR, Professor Wittig, said of his successor: "As a member of the University Council at TU Darmstadt, I have known Professor Wörner for many years and I am absolutely delighted at the news of his appointment. In Professor Wörner the DLR Senate has found an individual with a profound understanding of the fields in which DLR operates. On behalf of all the staff at DLR, I would like to wish him every success and the necessary good luck that even scientists and researchers need."

DLR is the Federal Republic of Germany's national research centre for aerospace, energy and transport. It carries out research and development in a wide range of fields and is involved in national and international joint ventures. In addition to carrying out its own research, DLR, as the national space agency, is also responsible for planning and implementing Germany's space activities on behalf of the federal government.


URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-24/82_read-6118/
Related Links
http://www.bmwi.de/English/Navigation/root.html
http://www.tu-darmstadt.de/index.en.html
Related News
Johann-Dietrich Wörner - Chairman of the Executive Board (http://www.dlr.de/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-624/1045_read-7827/usetemplate-print/)

News-Archiv 2006

Professor Dr. Johann-Dietrich Wörner führt das DLR von März 2007 an

22. November 2006

Köln/Stuttgart – Professor Dr. Johann-Dietrich Wörner, zurzeit Präsident der Technischen Universität Darmstadt, wird vom 1. März 2007 an Vorsitzender des Vorstands des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR). Dies hat heute der Senat des DLR unter dem Vorsitz des Staatssekretärs im Bundeswirtschaftsministerium, Dr. Joachim Wuermeling, entschieden. Die Senatssitzung fand im Rahmen der Jahreshauptversammlung des DLR in Stuttgart statt. Professor Wörner wird Professor Dr. Sigmar Wittig nachfolgen, der das DLR Ende Februar 2007 fünf Jahre geführt haben wird und die Altersgrenze erreicht (Jahrgang 1940). Zudem wurde die Amtszeit des Vorstandsmitglieds Dr. Ludwig Baumgarten um weitere 22 Monate – bis zum Erreichen der Altersgrenze – vom Senat verlängert.

 Dr. Joachim Wuermeling, Professor Dr. Johann-Dietrich Wörner und Professor Dr. Sigmar Wittig nach der Senatssitzung
zum Bild Dr. Joachim Wuermeling, Professor Dr. Johann-Dietrich Wörner und Professor Dr. Sigmar Wittig nach der Senatssitzung

Professor Wörner, Jahrgang 1954, ist seit 1995 Präsident der TU Darmstadt. Der promovierte Bauingenieur wurde dort 1990 zum Professor für Massivbau und Leiter der dortigen Prüf- und Versuchsanstalt berufen. Seit 1995 ist er zudem Professor für Statik. Seit 2002 ist er Mitglied des Senats des DLR. Professor Wörner stammt ursprünglich aus Kassel; er ist verheiratet und hat drei Kinder.

Dr. Joachim Wuermeling, Staatssekretär im Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie und Vorsitzender des Senats des DLR, sagte zur Berufung von Herrn Prof. Wörner: "Als Ingenieur ist er besonders qualifiziert, der Großforschungseinrichtung DLR neue Impulse zu geben und ihre Aufgabe als nationale Raumfahrtagentur Deutschlands international zu vertreten."

Die Amtszeit des derzeitigen Vorstandsvorsitzenden Professor Wittig endet am 28. Februar 2007. Wittig ist Vorsitzender des Rates der Europäischen Raumfahrtbehörde ESA. Bis zu seiner Emeritierung wird er sich in seinem letzten beruflichen Wirkungsjahr von Sommer 2007 an nochmals seinen Aufgaben als Ordinarius für Thermische Strömungsmaschinen an der Universität Karlsruhe (TH) widmen, deren Rektor er bis zu seinem Dienstantritt im DLR war.

Der Vorsitzende des Vorstandes des DLR, Professor Wittig, sagte zur Berufung seines Nachfolgers: "Als Mitglied des Hochschulrates der TU Darmstadt kenne ich Professor Wörner seit vielen Jahren und freue mich außerordentlich über seine Berufung. Der DLR-Senat hat mit Professor Wörner einen profunden Kenner der Geschäftsfelder des DLR gefunden. Ich wünsche ihm - auch im Namen aller Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des DLR – viel Erfolg und das Glück, das auch in Forschung und Wissenschaft notwendig ist."

Das DLR ist das Forschungszentrum der Bundesrepublik Deutschland für Luft- und Raumfahrt, Energie und Verkehr. Seine umfangreichen Forschungs- und Entwicklungsarbeiten sind in nationale und internationale Kooperationen eingebunden. Über die eigene Forschung hinaus ist das DLR als Raumfahrtagentur im Auftrag der Bundesregierung für die Planung und Umsetzung der deutschen Raumfahrtaktivitäten zuständig.


URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-24/82_read-6118/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.bmwi.de/
http://www.tu-darmstadt.de/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann-Dietrich Wörner - Vorsitzender des Vorstands (http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-624/1045_read-7827/usetemplate-print/)