DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Portal News:News Archive 2006
News Archive 2006

Successful launch of Space Shuttle Discovery - relief crewmember on the way for Thomas Reiter

10 December 2006

 Launch of Space Shuttle Discovery
zum Bild Launch of Space Shuttle Discovery

Cologne – Space Shuttle Discovery (STS-116) lifted off on 9 December 2006 at 20:47 local time (10 December at 02:47 CET), continuing NASA’s series of shuttle flights to upgrade the International Space Station (ISS). One of the on-board crew is American NASA astronaut Sunita Williams, who will relieve permanent crewmember and flight engineer Thomas Reiter after his extended stay on the station as a member of the Expedition 14 crew

Professor Sigmar Wittig, Chairman of the German Aerospace Center (DLR), congratulated NASA Administrator Michael Griffin on the successful launch of Discovery: “The successful launch of Discovery is yet another step in the scientific exploitation and upgrading of the ISS. Mission STS-116 represents a successful conclusion to the European Astrolab mission,” said Wittig. “Over the last six months, the Columbus Control Center, in particular, has had a real chance to prove its expertise and capabilities.”

German-Canadian scientific collaboration onboard ISS

The STS-116 mission marks the beginning of the PMDIS/TRAC experiment (Perceptual Motor Deficits in Space/Test of Reaction and Adaptation Capabilities). This experiment is part of a collaboration between Germany and Canada and continues the scientific use of the ISS by German researchers.

 NASA astronaut Sunita Williams during training for the PMDIS/TRAC experiment
zum Bild NASA astronaut Sunita Williams during training for the PMDIS/TRAC experiment

The experiment is a joint project between York University in Toronto (represented by Prof. B. Fowler) and the German Sports University in Cologne (Prof. O. Bock), with the participation of NASA (Dr J. Bloomberg).

The project was brought to fruition by the Canadian Space Agency and DLR in its capacity as Germany’s space agency. DLR supported the development of the experimental equipment by Kayser-Threde in Munich, and research carried out at the Sports University. Canada, as an ISS partner, is providing the necessary resources onboard the ISS. The experiment is designed to answer questions about the human coordination of movement, particularly in relation to the process of adjustment in zero gravity and after returning to Earth from space. Specifically, the experiment will study the changes in the astronauts’ manual dexterity during the course of a mission.

Other tests will measure alertness, spatial awareness and other cognitive functions. The STS-116 mission, the Discovery’s 33rd mission and the 20th Space Shuttle assembly mission to the ISS, is scheduled to last twelve days. After one crewmember has been relieved, a new structural element (the P5 truss) will be installed and the temporary electrical and cooling systems reconfigured. The mission will involve three EVAs (spacewalks). After undocking from the ISS, the Discovery crew will also launch three small satellites into Earth orbit.


Contact
Dr. Niklas Reinke
Corporate Communications

Tel.: +49 228 447-394

Mobile: +49 174 1955114

Fax: +49 228 447-386


Andreas Schütz
German Aerospace Center (DLR)
, Corporate Communications, Spokesman
Tel.: +49 2203 601-2474

Mobile: +49 171 3126466

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Dr. Volker Sobick
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Human Spaceflight, ISS and Exploration
Tel.: +49 228 447-495

Fax: +49 228 447-737


Created: 10/12/2006 03:50:00
All topics: News Archives

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Webnews:News-Archiv 2006
News-Archiv 2006

Space Shuttle Discovery erfolgreich gestartet - Ablösung für Thomas Reiter unterwegs

10. Dezember 2006

 Start des Space Shuttle Discovery
zum Bild Start des Space Shuttle Discovery

Köln – Mit dem erfolgreichen Start der Discovery (STS-116) am 09. Dezember 2006, 20:47 Uhr Ortszeit (= MEZ 02:47 Uhr, 10. Dezember) setzt die NASA die Flüge mit der Shuttle-Flotte zum weiteren Aufbau der Internationalen Raumstation ISS fort. An Bord ist auch die amerikanische NASA-Astronautin Sunita Williams, die Thomas Reiter nach seinem Langzeitaufenthalt (als Mitglied der ISS-Expedition 14) als Mitglied der Stammbesatzung und Flugingenieur ablösen wird.

Professor Sigmar Wittig, Vorstandsvorsitzender des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR), beglückwünschte Michael Griffin, den Chef der amerikanischen Raumfahrtbehörde NASA, zum erfolgreichen Start der Discovery: "Der gelungene Start der Discovery ist ein weiterer Baustein in der wissenschaftlichen Nutzung der ISS sowie für deren weiteren Ausbau. Mit der Mission STS-116 findet die europäische Astrolab-Mission ihren erfolgreichen Abschluss", erklärte Wittig. "Insbesondere das Columbus-Kontrollzentrum im Deutschen Raumfahrt-Kontrollzentrum konnte in den letzten sechs Monaten seine Kompetenz und Leistungsfähigkeit unter Beweis stellen", so Wittig weiter.

Deutsch-Kanadische Wissenschaftskooperation an Bord der ISS

Die Mission STS-116 markiert den Beginn des in deutsch-kanadischer Kooperation stattfindenden Experiments PMDIS/TRAC (Perceptual Motor Deficits in Space/Test of Reaction and Adaptation Capabilities) und setzt damit die ISS-Nutzung durch deutsche Wissenschaftler fort.

 NASA-Astronautin Sunita Williams beim Training für das Experiment PMDIS/TRAC
zum Bild NASA-Astronautin Sunita Williams beim Training für das Experiment PMDIS/TRAC

Bei diesem Experiment handelt es sich um ein gemeinsames Projekt der York-University Toronto (Prof. B. Fowler) und der Deutschen Sporthochschule Köln (Prof. O. Bock) unter Beteiligung von NASA (Dr. J. Bloomberg). Die kanadische Raumfahrtagentur CSA und das DLR in seiner Rolle als Deutsche Raumfahrtagentur haben die Realisierung dieses Projekts ermöglicht: Das DLR hat im Wesentlichen die Entwicklung der Experimentanlage durch die Firma Kayser-Threde in München sowie die Forschung an der Sporthochschule unterstützt, Kanada als ISS-Partner stellt die notwendigen ISS-Ressourcen bereit.

Bei diesem Experiment sollen Fragen beantwortet werden zur Koordination von Bewegungen, insbesondere zu den Anpassungsprozessen in Schwerelosigkeit und nach der Rückkehr zur Erde. Im Detail wird untersucht, wie sich die manuelle Geschicklichkeit von Astronauten im Laufe einer Weltraummission verändert. Weitere Tests werden zur Messung von Aufmerksamkeit, des räumlichen Wahrnehmungsvermögens und anderer kognitiver Funktionen verwendet.

Die Mission STS-116, der 33. Flug der Discovery und der 20. ISS-Aufbauflug eines Space-Shuttle, soll zwöf Tage dauern. Neben dem Austausch eines Crewmitglieds wird während der Mission die Installation eines weiteren Strukturelements (P5) stattfinden und das bisher provisorische elektrische System sowie das Kühlungssystem der ISS rekonfiguriert. Im Verlauf des Fluges sind drei Außenbordaktivitäten geplant. Zudem wird die Besatzung der Discovery nach dem Abdocken von der ISS drei Kleinsatelliten in eine Erdumlaufbahn aussetzen.


Kontakt
Dr. Niklas Reinke
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)
, Kommunikation
Tel.: +49 228 447-394

Mobil: +49 174 1955114

Fax: +49 228 447-386


Andreas Schütz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)
, Kommunikation
Tel.: +49 2203 601-2474

Mobil: +49 171 3126466

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Dr. Volker Sobick
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Bemannte Raumfahrt, ISS und Exploration
Tel.: +49 228 447-495

Fax: +49 228 447-737


Erstellt am: 10.12.2006 03:50:00 Uhr