DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:Oberpfaffenhofen
Presse-Informationen des DLR Oberpfaffenhofen 2007

Dr Johann-Dietrich Wörner becomes the new Chairman of DLR

1 March 2007

Wörner: "A particular honour and a demanding challenge"

 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann-Dietrich Wörner
zum Bild Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann-Dietrich Wörner

As of 1 March 2007, the German Aerospace Center (DLR) has had a new chairman in the person of Dr Johann-Dietrich Wörner. In his acceptance speech, Wörner said, “This new position presents a particular honour and a demanding challenge, both of which I readily accept. In studying air and space travel, transportation, and energy, we explore the very zenith of science. Here we have the opportunity to proactively shape the future; today we are already creating the jobs of tomorrow, so that we will be able to compete internationally,” Wörner went on to explain.

“As an engineer, I would like to infuse the great research institution that is the DLR with fresh energy and represent its mission as Germany’s space agency on an international scale.”

Wörner, who was president of the Technical University of Darmstadt for nearly 12 years, was elected to this position by the governing board of DLR on 22 November 2006. He succeeds Dr Sigmar Wittig, who led DLR for five years and has retired.

Born in 1954, Wörner became Professor for Heavy Construction at the Technical University of Darmstadt in 1990 and leader of the Examination and Testing Centre. Since 1995 he has also been the Professor for Statistics and Dynamics. Since 2002 he has been a member of the governing board of DLR. Originally from Kassel, Wörner is married and has three children.

The tenure of previous DLR Chairman Wittig concluded after five years on 28 February 2007. Wittig continues to hold his position as Chair of the Advisory Panel for the European Space Agency (ESA). He will also continue to dedicate his time to his duties as the Ordinarius for Thermal Electrical Generation at the University of Karlsruhe (Technical College), where he was Rector until he assumed his post at DLR.

On the appointment of his successor, Professor Wittig commented: "As a member of the college council for the Technical University of Darmstadt, I have known Professor Wörner for many years, and I am extraordinarily pleased with his appointment. In Professor Wörner, the governing board of DLR has found someone who knows the business profoundly well. On behalf on all my colleagues at DLR, I wish him great success and much happiness, which is also necessary element in science and research."


Contact
Eduard Müller
German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Editor Printings

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2805

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Created: 01/03/2007 14:10:00

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:Oberpfaffenhofen
Presse-Informationen des DLR Oberpfaffenhofen 2007

Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann-Dietrich Wörner neuer Vorstandsvorsitzender des DLR

1. März 2007

Wörner: "Besondere Ehre und anspruchsvolle Herausforderung"

 Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann-Dietrich Wörner
zum Bild Prof. Dr.-Ing. Johann-Dietrich Wörner

Seit dem 1. März 2007 hat das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) mit Professor Dr.-Ing. Johann-Dietrich Wörner einen neuen Vorstandsvorsitzenden. Bei seinem Amtsantritt sagte Wörner: "Die neue Aufgabe ist eine besondere Ehre und eine anspruchsvolle Herausforderung, der ich mich gerne stelle: Bei Luft- und Raumfahrt, Verkehr und Energie trifft sich die Spitze der Wissenschaft. Hier gestalten wir aktiv die Zukunft und sichern heute schon die Arbeitsplätze von morgen, um im internationalen Wettbewerb bestehen zu können", erklärte Wörner. "Als Ingenieur möchte ich der Großforschungseinrichtung DLR neue Impulse geben und ihre Aufgabe als nationale Raumfahrtagentur Deutschlands international vertreten", fügte er hinzu.

Wörner, der nahezu zwölf Jahre lang Präsident der Technischen Universität Darmstadt war, war am 22. November 2006 vom Senat des DLR gewählt worden. Er folgt Professor Dr. Sigmar Wittig, der das DLR fünf Jahre geführt hat und aus Altersgründen ausscheidet.

Wörner, Jahrgang 1954, war seit 1995 Präsident der TU Darmstadt. Der promovierte Bauingenieur wurde dort 1990 zum Professor für Massivbau und Leiter der dortigen Prüf- und Versuchsanstalt berufen. Seit 1995 ist er zudem Professor für Statik und Dynamik. Seit 2002 ist er Mitglied des Senats des DLR. Wörner stammt aus Kassel; er ist verheiratet und hat drei Kinder.

Die Amtszeit des ehemaligen DLR-Vorstandsvorsitzenden Wittig endete nach fünfjähriger Amtszeit am 28. Februar 2007. Wittig ist weiterhin Vorsitzender des Rates der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA. Bis zu seiner Emeritierung wird er sich in seinem letzten beruflichen Wirkungsjahr nochmals seinen Aufgaben als Ordinarius für Thermische Strömungsmaschinen an der Universität Karlsruhe (TH) widmen, deren Rektor er bis zu seinem Dienstantritt im DLR war.

Professor Wittig, sagte zur Berufung seines Nachfolgers: "Als Mitglied des Hochschulrates der TU Darmstadt kenne ich Professor Wörner seit vielen Jahren und freue mich außerordentlich über seine Berufung. Der DLR-Senat hat mit Professor Wörner einen profunden Kenner der Geschäftsfelder des DLR gefunden. Ich wünsche ihm - auch im Namen aller Mitarbeiterinnen und Mitarbeiter des DLR - viel Erfolg und das Glück, das auch in Forschung und Wissenschaft notwendig ist."


Kontakt
Eduard Müller
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Print

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2805

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Erstellt am: 01.03.2007 14:10:00 Uhr