DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Sites:Oberpfaffenhofen
News Archive Oberpfaffenhofen

Fresh talent for remote sensing: Prof. Dech invites the next generation of young scientists to Oberpfaffenhofen

4 February 2011

For over ten years Prof. Stefan Dech, Director of the German Remote Sensing Data Center (DFD) in Oberpfaffenhofen and Professor of Remote Sensing at the Department of Geography and Geology at Würzburg University, has regularly been inviting his students to visit Oberpfaffenhofen as part of his lecture course in Würzburg.

 Fresh talent for remote sensing: Prof. Dech invites the next generation of young scientists to Oberpfaffenhofen
zum Bild Fresh talent for remote sensing: Prof. Dech invites the next generation of young scientists to Oberpfaffenhofen

On January 21, 2011, 130 students from Würzburg and Bayreuth universities visited the German Aerospace Center (DLR) in Oberpfaffenhofen and were informed about current research topics and projects. During this visit, Prof. Dech gave us an impression of his field of work:

Professor Dech, how important is it for you to promote young talent?

Prof. Dech: It means a great deal to me. First of all, it’s really enjoyable to work with young people and to do what I can to help them. And secondly, it’s easy to do that, because our field is so fascinating. Remote sensing has meanwhile become one of the most important subdisciplines of geography for obtaining parameters to describe System Earth. And, it is all the more important to motivate committed young people and acquaint them at an early date with DLR—and of course also with DFD.

Today you gave your guests an impression of the activities being undertaken at your institute. What particularly interested the students?

 Satellite map of the Mekong Delta
zum Bild Satellite map of the Mekong Delta

Prof. Dech: In the lecture course, the fundamentals of remote sensing are taught: the physical laws, technologies, and applications of optical and radar systems, data processing methodologies and other such topics. For the visit to Oberpfaffenhofen I put the emphasis on projects where this basic knowledge is applied. This time, for example, they were shown how we are setting up a geoinformation system in the Mekong Delta of Vietnam, and they got acquainted with our projects to monitor urban areas and investigate climate issues. They were especially interested in the discussions about the melting of inland ice fields, the question of global climate warming, and future energy supplies.

How many diploma and doctoral candidates are now at work either at DFD or in your group at the university?

Prof. Dech: There are about 30 in Würzburg who work closely with DFD in projects. Most of them write their dissertations based on this project work, but they are also engaged in teaching. And at DFD there are over 20 scientists working on their doctoral dissertations. In addition, we have about 30-40 diploma candidates and trainees. That’s quite a number to take care of, but we’re glad to invest our time and energy in the next generation. For one thing, it keeps the older staff on their toes

Do your students also contribute to ongoing project in the course of their studies?

Prof. Dech: Yes, either at the university as assistants or as trainees at DFD "on the job." In this way they gain an early impression of the tasks and challenges connected with the job of a scientist working in the field of remote sensing.

Does this make you aware of talents and potentials you would like to recruit and retain at your institute?

 Prof. Stefan Dech
zum Bild Prof. Stefan Dech

Prof. Dech: For sure. That is one of the goals. One soon finds out which students are especially interested and talented. We observe them closely and speak with the best of them, motivating them, while they are still busy with their diploma or master’s theses, to think about continuing their studies in order to earn a doctorate, or to continue working in a project. And a few of them do go on to get a doctorate and launch their professional careers at DFD or elsewhere in DLR.

How many of the students who completed their studies in remote sensing at Wurzburg have been employed at DFD?

Prof. Dech: About 20 scientists. Three of them are already today successful team leaders at DFD with responsibilities for projects and staff. And that’s a development I’m very happy about, of course.

You enthuse your students about the academic subject of remote sensing. Are they also particularly motivated by the humanitarian topics dealt with in your institute (for example, using satellites to provide assistance with environmental and natural hazards) to work in remote sensing and perhaps even become DFD staff members?

Prof. Dech: That is certainly the case. That we can also help people in need with our methodologies is a big recruiting asset —for example at ZKI (Center for Satellite-based Crisis Information) by providing emergency mapping after natural disasters—or by developing environmental and disaster information systems. But research on the consequences of Global Change also fascinates young people.  

You are not only a scientist and the director of an institute, you also teach. What do you want to convey to your students, both as to specialist knowledge as well as beyond?

 Remote sensing: valuable information about the surface of the earth
zum Bild Remote sensing: valuable information about the surface of the earth

Prof. Dech: As far as the academic subject is concerned, I want to convey the knowledge that remote sensing as a quantitative geoinformation technology is an essential tool for monitoring the earth, either as a whole, or on a regional scale. And also for determining what happens, what the causes are, and the consequences, if no appropriate countermeasures are taken. Only because of remote sensing have people become aware of our Earth as one system. And now we have to manage to transfer the insights gained from individual science pilot projects to sustainable applications which respond to specific needs. As to what else beyond that: Be open, curious and critical. Take a good look at what is all around you and then start doing something you really care about. Then you will not only have a successful career, you will also have a lot of fun, and inspire others at the same time.

Professor Dech, thank you very much for this conversation!

 

The excursion to Oberpfaffenhofen was part of a course of instruction in the current winter semester. There has been institutional cooperation between the Endowed Chair in Remote Sensing at the Department of Geography and Geology of Würzburg University and DFD since 2001. Students of geography at Würzburg University and students in the "Global Change Ecology" course of study which is part of the Bavarian Elite Network at Bayreuth University have an opportunity to have an early look at the methodologies, technologies and working procedures of remote sensing at DFD.


Contact
Ulrike Markwitz
German Aerospace Center (DLR)
, Corporate Communications, Oberpfaffenhofen
Tel.: +49 8153 28-1851


Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
German Remote Sensing Data Center
, Director DFD
Tel.: +49 8153 28-2885

Fax: +49 8153 28-3444


Last update: 28/01/2011 10:25:02

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Standorte:Oberpfaffenhofen
News-Archiv Oberpfaffenhofen

Nachwuchs für die Fernerkundung: Prof. Dech lädt wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs nach Oberpfaffenhofen ein

4. Februar 2011

Seit mehr als zehn Jahren lädt Prof. Stefan Dech, Direktor des Deutschen Fernerkundungsdatenzentrums (DFD) in Oberpfaffenhofen und Ordinarius des Lehrstuhls für Fernerkundung am Institut für Geographie und Geologie der Universität Würzburg, im Rahmen seiner Vorlesungsreihe an der Würzburger Universität regelmäßig Studenten nach Oberpfaffenhofen ein.

 Nachwuchs für die Fernerkundung: Studierende der Universitäten Würzburg und Bayreuth
zum Bild Nachwuchs für die Fernerkundung: Studierende der Universitäten Würzburg und Bayreuth

130 Studierende der Universitäten Würzburg und Bayreuth besuchten am 21. Januar 2011 das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Oberpfaffenhofen und informierten sich dort über aktuelle Forschungsthemen und -projekte. Im Rahmen dieser Veranstaltung gab uns Prof. Dech einen Einblick in seinen Arbeitsbereich:

Herr Professor Dech, was bedeutet für Sie Nachwuchsförderung?

Prof. Dech: Sehr viel. Erstens macht es mir einen Riesenspaß, mit jungen Leuten zu arbeiten und mich für sie einzusetzen. Und zweitens macht es mir unser faszinierendes Fach leicht. Denn die Fernerkundung ist in der Geographie mittlerweile eine der wichtigsten Teildisziplinen zur Erfassung von flächendeckenden Parametern des Systems Erde. Und umso wichtiger ist es, engagierte junge Menschen zu begeistern und frühzeitig mit dem DLR – und natürlich mit dem DFD – bekannt zu machen.

Sie haben Ihren Gästen heute einen Einblick in die Aktivitäten Ihres Instituts gegeben. Welche Themen haben die Studenten besonders interessiert?

 Satellitenkarte des Mekong-Deltas
zum Bild Satellitenkarte des Mekong-Deltas

Prof. Dech: In der Vorlesung werden alle Grundlagen der Fernerkundung vermittelt: Physikalische Gesetze, Technologien und Anwendungen von optischen und Radar-Systemen, Techniken der Datenverarbeitung und Vieles mehr. Beim Besuch in Oberpfaffenhofen lege ich dann den Schwerpunkt auf anwendungsnahe Projekte. Diesmal zum Beispiel wurde die Entwicklung eines Geoinformationssystems im Mekong-Delta in Vietnam und Projekte zum Monitoring des urbanen Raums sowie zu Klimafragestellungen vorgestellt. Das Interesse war besonders hoch bei der Diskussion zum Abschmelzen des Inlandeises, zur Frage der globalen Klimaerwärmung und zur zukünftigen Energieversorgung.

Wie viele Diplomanden und Doktoranden sind aktuell am DFD bzw. an Ihrem Lehrstuhl beschäftigt?

Prof. Dech: Alleine am Lehrstuhl in Würzburg arbeiten ca. 30 Mitarbeiter, die eng mit dem DFD in Projekten zusammenarbeiten. Die meisten Kollegen promovieren im Rahmen der Projekte, engagieren sich aber auch in der Lehre. Und im DFD sind weitere gut 20 Wissenschaftler mit ihrer Promotion betraut. Parallel haben wir pro Jahr sicher 30-40 Diplomanden und Praktikanten. Das ist schon eine Menge. Aber wir investieren sehr gerne Zeit und Energie in den Nachwuchs. Das hält auch die erfahrenen Mitarbeiter jung.

Leisten die Studenten schon während ihres Studiums Beiträge zu laufenden Projekten?

Prof. Dech: Am Lehrstuhl als wissenschaftliche Hilfskräfte oder als Praktikant im DFD "on the job". So kann man früh Einblick bekommen in die Aufgaben und Herausforderungen des späteren Berufsfelds als Wissenschaftler in der Fernerkundung.

Wird hier bereits Talent und Potential deutlich, das man dann auch gerne für das Institut gewinnen und behalten möchte?

 Prof. Stefan Dech
zum Bild Prof. Stefan Dech

Prof. Dech: Ja sicher. Das ist ja unser Ziel. Man merkt recht schnell, welche Studenten besonders interessiert und talentiert sind. Wir schauen schon genau hin und sprechen die Besten an, motivieren sie schon während der Diplom- oder Masterarbeit, an eine Promotion zu denken oder in einem Projekt weiterzuarbeiten. Und einige werden schließlich Doktorand und machen auch Karriere im DFD oder anderswo im DLR.

Wie viele Fernerkundungsabsolventen aus Würzburg wurden bisher im DFD eingestellt?

Prof. Dech: Sicher um die 20 Wissenschaftler. Drei davon sind heute bereits erfolgreiche Arbeitsgruppenleiter im DFD und tragen Projekt- und Personalverantwortung. Eine Entwicklung, die ich natürlich mit großer Freude beobachte.

Sie begeistern Ihre Studenten mit dem Studienfach Fernerkundung. Motivieren die zum Teil humanitären Themen Ihres Instituts (z. B. satellitengestützte Hilfe bei Umwelt- und Naturgefahren) die Studenten besonders, sich mit dem Thema Fernerkundung zu beschäftigen und eventuell einmal DFD-Mitarbeiter zu werden?

Prof. Dech: Ja, das kann man sicher sagen. Es ist einfach eine große Trumpfkarte, dass wir mit unseren Verfahren auch Menschen in Not helfen können – zum Beispiel im ZKI (Zentrum für satellitengestützte Kriseninformation) mit der Notfallkartierung nach Naturkatastrophen – oder durch die Entwicklung von Umwelt- und Kriseninformationssystemen. Aber auch das Erforschen der Konsequenzen des Globalen Wandels fasziniert die jungen Leute. 

Sie sind nicht nur Wissenschaftler und Institutsdirektor, sondern auch Dozent. Was möchten Sie Ihren Studenten mitgeben: fachlich und auch darüber hinaus?

 Fernerkundung: wertvolle Informationen über die Erdoberfläche
zum Bild Fernerkundung: wertvolle Informationen über die Erdoberfläche

Prof. Dech: Fachlich geht es mir darum, zu vermitteln, dass die Fernerkundung als quantitative Geoinformationstechnik unverzichtbar ist, wenn es gilt, die Erde in Ihrer Gänze oder auch auf regionaler Ebene zu beobachten. Festzustellen, was passiert, was die Ursachen sind und was die Folgen sein werden, wenn keine adäquaten Handlungen erfolgen. Nur durch die Fernerkundung ist die Erde als Ganzes in das Bewusstsein der Menschen gerückt. Heute müssen wir aber den Transfer von singulären wissenschaftlichen Pilotprojekten in eine nachfragegestützte und nachhaltige Anwendung bewerkstelligen. Über das Fachliche hinaus würde ich sagen: Seid offen, neugierig und kritisch. Schaut nach links und rechts und macht das, was Euch eine Herzensangelegenheit ist. Dann werdet ihr nicht nur erfolgreich im Beruf sein, sondern auch Spaß haben und andere faszinieren können.

Herr Prof. Dech, herzlichen Dank für das Gespräch!

 

Die Exkursion nach Oberpfaffenhofen fand im Rahmen von Lehrveranstaltungen im laufenden Wintersemester statt. Zwischen dem Lehrstuhl für Fernerkundung am Institut für Geographie und Geologie der Universität Würzburg und dem DFD besteht seit 2001 eine institutionelle Kooperation: Studierende des Fachbereichs Geographie an der Universität Würzburg und des Studiengangs "Global Change Ecology" im Rahmen des bayerischen Elitenetzwerkes an der Universität Bayreuth haben die Möglichkeit, schon frühzeitig Einblicke in die Verfahren, Techniken und Arbeitsabläufe der Fernerkundung am DFD zu bekommen.


Kontakt
Ulrike Markwitz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Oberpfaffenhofen

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1851


Prof. Dr. Stefan Dech
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Earth Observation Center (EOC)
Deutsches Fernerkundungsdatenzentrum
, Leitung DFD
Tel.: +49 8153 28-2885

Fax: +49 8153 28-3444


Zuletzt geändert am: 04.02.2011 10:23:17 Uhr