DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Portal News:News Archive 2008
News Archive 2008

Gulf State builds on renewable energy sources - DLR surveys the options for a combined solar/natural gas power station

12 February 2008

 Solar power tower at the Plataforma Solar de Almería (Almeria Parabolic Trough Solar Energy Collector) in Spain
zum Bild Solar power tower at the Plataforma Solar de Almería (Almeria Parabolic Trough Solar Energy Collector) in Spain

A vision which promises much for the future: Electricity and temperature control from solar power and natural gas. Scientists at the Institute of Technical Thermodynamics at the German Aerospace Center (DLR) are now taking control of the development of a hybrid solar-powered gas turbine system with combined heat and power for Abu Dhabi. The project will be supported by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety.

In the first phase of the joint project with the Masdar Research Network (Abu Dhabi), the DLR Institute of Technical Thermodynamics is working on a feasibility study. This will form the basis for a 5-MW gas-fired demonstration plant, also using solar power, to generate not only electricity, but also cooling for climate control.

Good commercial prospects for hybrid solar-powered gas turbine systems

In addition to increasing demand for electricity, countries with a higher-than-average proportion of sunny days need cooling and climate-control due to the high ambient temperatures. This need is, naturally, a function of the available solar radiation to a large extent, and thus offers ideal conditions for the use of solar power. Hybrid solar-powered gas turbine systems combine solar radiation (sunshine) and fossil fuels such as natural gas. In this way, if the sunshine is intermittent or insufficient, the shortfall can be made up by burning fossil fuels. The service is thus largely available on demand. Hybrid solar-powered gas turbine systems are therefore said to have good commercial potential.

The Emirate of Abu Dhabi on the Persian Gulf, with its sizable oil and gas deposits coupled with high solar radiation, offers ideal conditions for deployment of this environmentally-friendly power station technology. DLR scientists were able to demonstrate a similar hybrid solar-powered gas turbine system (230kW) at the Almeria Parabolic Trough Solar Energy Collector.

Increase in energy efficiency of 10 – 25% due to combined heat and power

 Masdar City – The template for a carbon-neutral city
zum Bild Masdar City – The template for a carbon-neutral city

Combined heat and power is what makes this project so innovative: The ensuing process heat (temperatures of up to 370°C) generated in the gas turbine will be used for cooling in absorption coolers. The cooling effect achieved can then be used for climate control or for other industrial processes. This means an increase in energy efficiency of 10 – 25%: remember, until recently this energy would have been discharged into the environment and not otherwise used.

In the context of the feasibility study, DLR is going to draw up a matrix comparing the need for cooling and climate control relative to sunshine in the Abu Dhabi region, and simulate the operational behaviour. This will form the basis for the economic evaluation and market analysis.

The USHYNE (Upscaling of Solar-Hybrid Gas Turbine Cogeneration Units) project brings DLR into Abu Dhabi’s Masdar Research Network, a research network founded in the past twelve months to develop alternative energy and environmental technologies. The Masdar Research Network is, in turn, one of the building blocks of the ‘Masdar Initiative’. Other pillars supporting this initiative include the ‘Clean Tech Fund’ for clean technologies, a special economic zone for ‘progressive’ energy, a university, and the development of a carbon-neutral city for up to 47 000 people.


Contact
Hans-Leo Richter
German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Editor, Aeronautics Research

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2425

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Dr.-Ing. Reiner Buck
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Solar Research
, Point Focus Systems
Tel.: +49 711 6862-602

Fax: +49 711 6862-747


Created: 12/02/2008 11:10:00
All topics: News Archives

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Webnews:News-Archiv 2008
News-Archiv 2008

Golfstaat setzt auf Erneuerbare Energien - DLR untersucht Chancen für ein kombiniertes Solar-Erdgas-Kraftwerk

12. Februar 2008

 Solares Turmkraftwerk auf der Plataforma Solar de Almería in Spanien
zum Bild Solares Turmkraftwerk auf der Plataforma Solar de Almería in Spanien

Eine viel versprechende Vision: Strom und Kälte aus Sonnenenergie und Erdgas. Wissenschaftler des Instituts für Technische Thermodynamik vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) übernehmen jetzt die Federführung bei der Entwicklung eines solar-hybriden Gasturbinensystems mit Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung für Abu Dhabi. Gefördert wird das Projekt vom Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz und Reaktorsicherheit (BMU).

In der ersten Phase des Gemeinschaftsprojekts mit dem Masdar Research Network (Abu Dhabi) erarbeitet das DLR-Institut für Technische Thermodynamik eine Machbarkeitsstudie. Diese dient als Grundlage für eine 5 Megawatt-Demonstrationsanlage, bei der mittels Sonnenenergie und Gasbefeuerung nicht nur Strom sondern auch Kälte zur Gebäudeklimatisierung erzeugt wird.

Gute Marktchancen für solar-hybride Gasturbinensysteme

Neben zunehmendem Stromverbrauch steigt in sonnenreichen Ländern aufgrund der hohen Umgebungstemperaturen auch der Bedarf an Kühlung und Klimatisierung. Dieser Bedarf verläuft naturgemäß weitgehend parallel zur Sonneneinstrahlung und bietet damit ideale Voraussetzungen zur Nutzung der Sonnenenergie. Solar-hybride Gasturbinensysteme kombinieren zur Stromerzeugung Sonnenstrahlung und fossile Energieträger wie beispielsweise Erdgas. Somit kann auch bei schwankender oder unzureichender Sonneneinstrahlung Energie durch die zusätzliche Verbrennung von fossilen Brennstoffen bereitgestellt werden. Die Leistung ist damit weitgehend bedarfsgerecht abrufbar. Solar-hybriden Gasturbinensystemen werden deshalb sehr gute Marktchancen eingeräumt.

Das Emirat Abu Dhabi am persischen Golf mit seinen großen Öl- und Gasvorkommen und der gleichzeitig hohen Sonneneinstrahlung bietet ideale Voraussetzungen für den Einsatz dieser umweltfreundlichen Kraftwerkstechnologie. Wissenschaftler des DLR konnten ein derartiges solar-hybrides Gasturbinen-System mit 230 Kilowatt auf der Plataforma Solar de Almería bereits erfolgreich demonstrieren.

Effizienzsteigerung von 10 bis 25 Prozent durch Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung

 Masdar City - Modell einer emissionsfreien Stadt
zum Bild Masdar City - Modell einer emissionsfreien Stadt

Neu ist bei diesem Projekt die Kraft-Wärme-Kopplung: Die Prozesswärme (Temperaturen von bis zu 370 Grad Celsius), die bei der Energiegewinnung in der Gasturbine entsteht, wird zur Kälteerzeugung in Absorptionskältemaschinen genutzt. Die erzeugte Kälte kann dann zur Gebäudeklimatisierung oder für andere industrielle Prozesse verwendet werden. Dies bedeutet eine Effizienzsteigerung von 10 bis 25 Prozent - Energie, die bislang an die Umwelt abgegeben wird und ungenutzt blieb.

Im Rahmen der Machbarkeitsstudie wird das DLR auf Basis der solaren Einstrahlung und des Kühlungs- beziehungsweise Klimatisierungsbedarfs in der Region Abu Dhabi exemplarisch ein Gesamtsystem erstellen und das Betriebsverhalten simulieren. Dies bildet die Grundlage für die wirtschaftliche Bewertung und Marktanalyse.

Das DLR ist mit dem Projekt USHYNE (Upscaling of Solar-Hybrid Gas Turbine Cogeneration Units) in das Masdar Research Network von Abu Dhabi eingebunden, einem im vergangenen Jahr gegründeten Forschungsnetzwerk zur Entwicklung alternativer Energie- und Umwelttechnologien. Das Masdar Research Network ist wiederum Baustein der gesamten Masdar Initiative. Weitere Säulen dieser Initiative sind unter anderem der "Clean Tech Fund" für so genannte saubere Technologien, eine Sonderwirtschaftszone für fortschrittliche Energie, eine Universität und die Entwicklung einer völlig CO2-freien Stadt für bis zu 47.000 Menschen.  


Kontakt
Dr. Dietmar Heyland
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Technology Marketing

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2769


Dr.-Ing. Reiner Buck
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Solarforschung

Tel.: +49 711 6862-602

Fax: +49 711 6862-747


Erstellt am: 12.02.2008 11:10:00 Uhr