DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Portal News:News Archive 2008
News Archive 2008

Cars talk to the road: Live demonstration at the DLR test track in Berlin

9 December 2008

 DLR's 'Ernst-Ruska-Ufer' test track in Berlin
zum Bild DLR's "Ernst-Ruska-Ufer" test track in Berlin

Vehicle-to-infrastructure communication prototype tested

In the future, road vehicles will be able to exchange information about the traffic situation and any potential dangers with each other, both directly and via transmitter and receiver modules at traffic lights, crossroads and other infrastructure facilities. By creating the first universal platform for vehicle-to-infrastructure communication, the European CVIS project (Cooperative Vehicle Infrastructure Systems) provides the basis for a wide variety of applications of this technology of the future. The "Ernst-Ruska-Ufer" test track of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is the ideal test environment for this project. On 11 December 2008, this future standard for communication between car and street was presented to the public for the first time.

During the live demonstration at Ernst-Ruska-Ufer in Berlin, experts and journalists were able to see with their own eyes how in the future motorists will be able to benefit from communication between vehicles and infrastructure facilities. In the CVIS project, WLAN (Wireless Local Area Network), infrared and UMTS (Universal Mobile Telecommunications System) communication technologies are integrated into a single platform. Standardised interfaces, innovative positioning and a customised software design are key elements in the development of CVIS. By providing location-specific warnings, individual route recommendations and up-to-date traffic information, vehicle-to-infrastructure communication can improve the flow of traffic as well as road safety. CVIS is coordinated by ERTICO (European Road Transport Telematic Implementation Coordination Organization), a multi-sector public/private partnership for intelligent transport systems and services in Europe.

Highly accurate vehicle location for improved road safety

 Communication between vehicles and the road
zum Bild Communication between vehicles and the road

As part of a subproject led by geographic data provider Navteq Europe, the German Aerospace Center and its partners are developing an innovative location platform for the new communication system of the CVIS project. The focus is on developing new, highly accurate vehicle location technologies and creating dynamic digital maps. The new location system combines several different technologies, including the European Galileo satellite navigation system and GPS (Global Positioning System), as well as vehicle sensors and infrastructure-based techniques. The objective is to develop a standardised, cost-efficient location platform capable of providing reliable location information and exchanging this information through vehicle-to-vehicle or vehicle-to-infrastructure communication. The interaction of the prototype location platform with CVIS is being tested at DLR’s test track in Berlin.

The CVIS project is a collaborative effort of 64 partners, including a large number of European car manufacturers, suppliers, research institutions and public authorities. CVIS is funded by the European Union and will continue until 2010.


Contact
Cordula Tegen
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3876

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


PD Dr. Frank Köster
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Transportation Systems
, Automotive
Tel.: +49 531 295-3523

Fax: +49 531 295-3402


Last update: 21/07/2009 21:26:18
All topics: News Archives

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Webnews:News-Archiv 2008
News-Archiv 2008

Autos sprechen mit der Straße: Live-Demonstration an DLR-Messstrecke in Berlin

9. Dezember 2008

 DLR-Messstrecke 'Ernst-Ruska-Ufer' in Berlin
zum Bild DLR-Messstrecke "Ernst-Ruska-Ufer" in Berlin

Prototyp für Fahrzeug-Infrastruktur-Kommunikation im Test

Straßenfahrzeuge werden sich zukünftig miteinander und über Sende- und Empfangsmodule an Ampeln, Kreuzungen oder ähnlichen Infrastruktureinrichtungen Informationen über Verkehrslage und Gefahren austauschen können. Das europäische Projekt CVIS (Cooperative Vehicle Infrastructure Systems) legt mit der ersten universellen Plattform für Fahrzeug-Infrastruktur-Kommunikation die Basis für vielfältige Anwendungen dieser Zukunftstechnologie. Mit seiner Messstrecke "Ernst-Rusker-Ufer" in Berlin bietet das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) dafür eine ausgezeichnete Testumgebung. Am 11. Dezember 2008 wird die zukünftig standardisierte Kommunikation zwischen Fahrzeugen und Straße erstmals der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt.

Die Live-Demonstration am Berliner Ernst-Ruska-Ufer zeigt Experten und Journalisten, wie Autofahrer zukünftig von der Kommunikation zwischen Fahrzeugen und Infrastruktureinrichtungen profitieren können. Das Projekt CVIS kombiniert hierbei die Kommunikationstechnologien WLAN (Wireless Local Area Network), Infrarot und UMTS (Universal Mobile Telecommunications System) in einer Plattform. Kernstücke der Entwicklung von CVIS sind standardisierte Schnittstellen, innovative Positionsbestimmung und ein adäquates Softwarekonzept. Mit ortsbezogenen Warnungen, individuellen Steckenempfehlungen und aktuellen Verkehrsinformationen kann die Fahrzeug-Infrastruktur-Kommunikation den Verkehrsfluss verbessern und die Sicherheit im Verkehr erhöhen. Koordiniert wird CVIS von ERTICO (European Road Transport Telematic Implementation Coordination Organization), einer branchenübergreifenden öffentlich-privaten Partnerschaft für intelligente Transportsysteme und Dienste in Europa.

Hochgenaue Fahrzeugortung für mehr Sicherheit im Verkehr

 Fahrzeuge und Straße reden miteinander
zum Bild Fahrzeuge und Straße reden miteinander

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt entwickelt mit seinen Partnern in einem Teilprojekt unter Leitung des Geodaten-Anbieters Navteq Europe eine innovative Ortungsplattform für das neue Kommunikationssystem im Projekt CVIS. Im Mittelpunkt stehen dabei neue Technologien für eine hochgenaue Fahrzeugortung und die Erstellung dynamischer, digitaler Karten. Zur Positionsbestimmung werden verschiedene Technologien integriert, darunter das europäische Satellitennavigationssystem Galileo und GPS (Global Positioning System) sowie Fahrzeugsensoren oder infrastrukturbasierte Verfahren. Ziel ist die Entwicklung einer standardisierten, kostengünstigen Ortungsplattform, die zuverlässige Ortsinformationen liefert und diese über Fahrzeug-zu-Fahrzeug- oder Fahrzeug-zu-Infrastruktur-Kommunikation austauschen kann. Der Prototyp der Ortungsplattform wird im Zusammenspiel mit CVIS an der Messstrecke des DLR in Berlin getestet.

Im Projekt CVIS arbeiten 64 Partner zusammen, darunter viele europäische Automobilhersteller, Zulieferer, Forschungseinrichtungen und Behörden. CVIS wird von der Europäischen Union gefördert und läuft noch bis 2010.


Kontakt
Cordula Tegen
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3876

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


PD Dr. Frank Köster
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Verkehrssystemtechnik
, Automotive Systeme
Tel.: +49 531 295-3523

Fax: +49 531 295-3402


Zuletzt geändert am: 09.12.2008 09:58:38 Uhr