DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Missions and more:Undergraduate & more
News Archive: Undergraduate

BEXUS 8: stratospheric balloon experiment launched successfully by Rostock University students

10 October 2009

Highlight of the second campaign in the German-Swedish BEXUS student programme

 Start of BEXUS 8
zum Bild Start of BEXUS 8

At 14:00 on Saturday, 10 October, the BEXUS 8 research balloon was launched from the Esrange European rocket and balloon launch site near the Swedish town of Kiruna. Its gondola contained experimental equipment assembled by students at the University of Rostock for the measurement of atmospheric turbulence. BEXUS 8 is the first of two balloons in this year's BEXUS Student Campaign linking the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and SNSB, the Swedish National Space Board, in collaboration with ESA, the European Space Agency. The launch of BEXUS 9 is also scheduled for 10 October.

These two balloon flights are the highpoints of the BEXUS (Balloon EXperiments for University Students) student research programme, towards which participating students have been working for almost a year. Following a flight lasting almost three and a half hours, BEXUS 8 landed 153 kilometres away in Finland, having reached an altitude of about 27 600 metres. BEXUS 9 is expected to achieve a similar flight profile.

Via telemetry, almost all the student teams were able to monitor their experiments during the flight, giving them instantaneous access to the initial data. After the parachute landing, the balloon gondolas containing the experiments were retrieved and brought back to the launch pad and the waiting students. Only then were they able to establish whether or not the devices and equipment they needed for evaluation purposes had been able to withstand the impact of landing.

 Final adjustments to the MATI experiment
zum Bild Final adjustments to the MATI experiment

For this year's BEXUS research campaign, six teams of students from seven European universities made it through the qualifying rounds. They are investigating atmospheric phenomena or conducting technology tests. Throughout the entire project, they receive technical and organisational support from experts at the Swedish Space Corporation (SSC), DLR and ESA.

MATI: An experiment on BEXUS 8 conducted by the University of Rostock

Weighing 32 kilograms, MATI (Measurement of Atmospheric Turbulence with combined Instruments), an experiment by the Leibniz-Institute of Atmospheric Physics at the University of Rostock (IAP), almost completely fills the BEXUS gondola. This experiment employs three different methods to examine minute levels of turbulence in the upper atmosphere during the balloon’s ascent. This involves continuous measurement of even the slightest differences in temperature and wind speed.

Turbulence is caused by wind shear, it occurs right up into the stratosphere and it influences the energy balance of Earth. The measuring fixture and its sensors are mounted on delicate structures on the outside surface of the gondola. The electronics for controlling the experiment and for recording data are located inside the gondola, safely insulated against the low exterior temperatures.

Alongside MATI, the balloon gondola, capable of carrying a total of about ninety pounds (40 kg), still had space for two of DLR's technology experiments; one for antenna development in the gigahertz range and another for examining the influence of high-energy radiation on the quality of optical fibres.

 The balloon gains altitude
zum Bild The balloon gains altitude

The reel.SMRT, COMPASS, CRIndIons, NAVIS and SO-hIgh experiments on BEXUS 9

The larger BEXUS-9 gondola is home to five experiments by students from Belgian, Czech, Danish, Italian and Swedish universities The most complex of these experiments is reel.SMRT (Space Masters Robotic Team). This tests the scope for conducting weightlessness experiments on balloon flights. It involves an experimental capsule attached to a reel and cable being dropped from the gondola. It examines the adverse influences on 'free fall' caused by air resistance and by cable friction.

COMPASS (Calculating and Observing Magnetic Polar field intensities At StratoSphere) measures the direction and strength of the Earth's magnetic field while the balloon is ascending. A comparison with the most familiar theoretical model enables conclusions to be drawn about the accuracy of altitude readings obtained from magnetic measurements. With the image-capable 3D detector of the CRIndIons (Cosmic Ray Induced Ionisation) experiment, the extent of ionisation caused by cosmic radiation can be measured as a function of altitude.

With NAVIS (North Atlantic Vessel Identification System), a receiver developed in-house is being tested for use on tiny satellites for the automatic identification of ships. The SO-hIgh team (SOI: Silicon On Insulator) is testing a miniature weather measuring system, also developed in-house, which can be used on balloons like BEXUS.

 The gondola is suspended from the launch vehicle
zum Bild The gondola is suspended from the launch vehicle

REXUS/BEXUS - a programme for fresh scientific talent

In June 2007, DLR and SNSB inaugurated the REXUS/BEXUS programme. On an annual basis, this programme provides students with two research balloons and two research rockets, which they can use to conduct their own experiments. The students gain first-hand practical experience in the preparation and delivery of aerospace projects. Through collaboration between SNSB and ESA, students from all ESA member states are eligible to apply for this programme. EuroLaunch, a collaborative venture between DLR and SSC, performs the balloon and rocket launches.

This year's Ideas Competition for proposed experiments on the REXUS/BEXUS student programme has been running since September 2009. The final submission deadline is 16 November 2009 for proposed experiments in balloons in September 2010 and rockets in March 2011. Participants can find all the organisational and technical information and forms they require for their application on the DLR 'Information for participants in the REXUS/BEXUS programmes' page.


Last update: 21/10/2009 12:12:56

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Missionen und mehr:Studenten
News-Archiv: Informationen für Studierende

BEXUS 8: Stratosphärenballon mit Rostocker Studenten-Experiment erfolgreich gestartet

10. Oktober 2009

Highlight der zweiten Kampagne des deutsch-schwedischen BEXUS-Studentenprogramms

 Start von BEXUS 8
zum Bild Start von BEXUS 8

Am Samstag, den 10. Oktober 2009, um 10.04 Uhr ist der Forschungsballon BEXUS 8 vom europäischen Raketen- und Ballonstartplatz Esrange bei Kiruna in Schweden gestartet. In seiner Gondel befindet sich ein Experiment von Studenten der Universität Rostock zur Messung atmosphärischer Turbulenzen. BEXUS 8 ist der erste von zwei Ballons der diesjährigen BEXUS-Studentenkampagne des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und der Schwedischen Nationalen Raumfahrt-Behörde SNSB (Swedish National Space Board) in Zusammenarbeit mit der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA. Der Start von BEXUS 9 ist ebenfalls für den 10. Oktober geplant.

Die beiden Ballonflüge sind die Höhepunkte des Studenten-Forschungsprogramms BEXUS (Ballon-EXperimente für Universitäts-Studenten), auf die die teilnehmenden Studenten seit fast einem Jahr hingearbeitet haben. BEXUS 8 landete nach fast dreieinhalbstündigem Flug 153 Kilometer entfernt in Finnland und erreichte eine Flughöhe von etwa 27.600 Metern. Für BEXUS 9 wird ein ähnliches Flugprofil erwartet.

Via Telemetrie überwachen fast alle Studententeams ihre Experimente während des Flugs und erhalten so umgehend die ersten Daten. Nach der Landung am Fallschirm werden die Ballongondeln mit den Experimenten geborgen und zurück zum Startplatz und den Studenten gebracht. Erst jetzt können sie herausfinden, ob Geräte und Ausrüstung, die sie für die Auswertung benötigen, die Landung gut überstanden haben.

 Letzte Handgriffe am Experiment MATI
zum Bild Letzte Handgriffe am Experiment MATI

Für die diesjährige BEXUS-Forschungskampagne haben sich sechs Studententeams von sieben europäischen Universitäten qualifiziert. Sie untersuchen Atmosphären-Phänomene oder führen Technologietests durch. Während des gesamten Projekts erhalten sie technische und organisatorische Unterstützung durch Experten der Swedish Space Corporation (SSC), des DLR und der ESA.

MATI: ein Experiment der Universität Rostock auf BEXUS 8

MATI (Measurement of Atmospheric Turbulence with combined Instruments), ein Experiment des Leibniz-Instituts für Atmosphärenphysik an der Universität Rostock (IAP), füllt mit seinen 32 Kilogramm fast die gesamte BEXUS-Gondel aus. In dem Experiment werden drei unterschiedliche Methoden verwendet, um während des Ballonaufstiegs kleinsträumige Turbulenzen der oberen Atmosphäre zu untersuchen. Dazu werden kontinuierlich kleinste Unterschiede in der Temperatur sowie die Windgeschwindigkeit gemessen.

Turbulenzen werden durch Scherwinde erzeugt, reichen bis weit in die Stratosphäre und beeinflussen den Energiehaushalt der Erde. Die Messvorrichtung und die Sensoren sind an filigranen Strukturen an der Außenseite der Gondel montiert. In ihrem Innern befindet sich die vor der Außenkälte isolierte Elektronik für Experimentsteuerung und Datenaufzeichnung.

Neben MATI blieb auf der Ballongondel, die insgesamt ungefähr 40 Kilogramm tragen kann, zusätzlich noch Platz für zwei Technologieexperimente des DLR zur Antennenentwicklung im Gigahertz-Bereich und zur Untersuchung des Einflusses von energiereicher Höhenstrahlung auf die Qualität optischer Fasern.


 Der Ballon gewinnt an Höhe
zum Bild Der Ballon gewinnt an Höhe

Die Experimente reel.SMRT, COMPASS, CRIndIons, NAVIS und SO-hIgh auf BEXUS 9

Auf der größeren BEXUS-9-Gondel befinden sich fünf Experimente von Studenten aus schwedischen, belgischen, dänischen, italienischen und tschechischen Universitäten. Das komplizierteste Experiment ist reel.SMRT (Space Masters Robotic Team). Es testet die Möglichkeit, auf Ballonflügen Experimente in Schwerelosigkeit durchzuführen. Eine Experimentkapsel fällt dazu mehrfach an einem Seil über eine Angelrolle (englisch: reel) aus der Gondel. Untersucht werden die durch Luftwiderstand und Reibung des Seils auftretenden Störungen des "freien Falls".

COMPASS (Calculating and Observing Magnetic Polar field intensities At StratoSphere) vermisst Richtung und Stärke des Erdmagnetfelds während des Ballonaufstiegs. Ein Vergleich mit dem gängigsten theoretischen Modell ermöglicht Aussagen zur Genauigkeit der Höhenbestimmung durch magnetische Messungen. Mit dem bildgebenden 3D-Detektor des CRIndIons (Cosmic Ray induced Ionization) Experiments lässt sich die Ionisation durch kosmische Strahlung in Abhängigkeit von der Flughöhe bestimmen.

Mit NAVIS (North Atlantic Vessel Identification System) wird ein selbst entwickelter Empfänger zur automatischen Identifizierung von Schiffen für den Einsatz auf Kleinstsatelliten getestet. Das SO-hIgh-Team (SOI: Silicon On Insulator) erprobt ein selbstentwickeltes Miniatur-Wettermessystem, das auf Ballonen wie BEXUS einsetzbar ist.

 Die Gondel hängt am Start-Wagen
zum Bild Die Gondel hängt am Start-Wagen

REXUS/BEXUS - ein Programm für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs

Im Juni 2007 riefen DLR und SNSB das Programm REXUS/BEXUS ins Leben. Sie stellen darin Studenten jährlich zwei Forschungsballons und zwei Forschungsraketen für die Durchführung eigener Experimente zur Verfügung. Die Studenten sollen dabei eigene praktische Erfahrungen in der Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Raumfahrtprojekten gewinnen. Durch die Kooperation von SNSB mit der ESA ist das Programm für Studenten aller ESA-Mitgliedsstaaten offen. Die Ballon- und Raketenstarts werden von EuroLaunch, einer Kooperation zwischen DLR und SSC, ausgeführt.

Der diesjährige Ideenwettbewerb des REXUS/BEXUS-Studentenprogramms für Experimentvorschläge läuft seit Anfang September 2009. Bis zum 16. November 2009 können noch Experimentorschläge für Ballons im September 2010 und Raketen im März 2011 eingereicht werden. Die für die Bewerbung notwendigen organisatorischen und technischen Informationen und Formulare sind auf der DLR-Infoseite für Teilnehmer zu finden.


Kontakt
Harald Hellmann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)
Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme

Tel.: +49 421 24420-1111

Fax: +49 421 24420-1120


Zuletzt geändert am: 19.10.2009 16:13:44 Uhr