News Archive Student Programmes

School in Space - pupils perform experiment with Thomas Reiter

5 July 2006

Plexiglass cube containing water-oil mixture
zum Bild Plexiglass cube containing water-oil mixture

Water/oil mixture on Earth and in microgravity

In September 2006, school pupils will have the opportunity to conduct scientific research with ESA astronaut Thomas Reiter. Reiter is carrying out the same experiment in space as pupils are performing in class. DLR's Space Agency developed a special instrument for this educational experience as part of ESA's Astrolab mission.

The experiment centres around a double-walled Plexiglass cube containing a water/oil mixture (emulsion) and is easy to reproduce in the classroom. After the emulsion has been shaken up, the children can observe how the water and oil first mix together and then separate again. They then have to formulate a hypothesis as to how the emulsion would behave in zero gravity and give a reason for their theory.

The Plexiglass cube was transported to the International Space Station on 24 June 2006 by the Russian cargo ship Progress M-57, along with other supplies. The US Space Shuttle Discovery, which carried Thomas Reiter to the ISS to take up his role as the third permanent crew member, docked yesterday at 16:52 CEST, barely two days after launching, bringing the experimenter safely to the experiment.

 A view of ISS from Discovery as the Shuttle approaches for docking
zum Bild A view of ISS from Discovery as the Shuttle approaches for docking

During September 2006, the 'Oil Emulsion' experiment will be carried out in schools throughout Germany. ZDF tivi, a show for kids and teenagers broadcast by German channel and official media partner Zweite Deutsche Fernsehen, will broadcast coverage of the experiment. ZDF tivi will report on programmes like the kids' news programme logo! Viewers can watch the result of the experiment, including Thomas Reiter's own video recordings in space, on ZDF tivi on 23 September 2006. Then all the school pupils involved can see whether their hypothesis was right.

If you would like to take part in the experiment, you can find more information at http://www.school-in-space.de/. Back in June, teachers at all secondary schools in Germany received the necessary material for carrying out the experiment in class and a unique code for each school to access the teachers' pages at http://www.school-in-space.de/.


Related Contacts
Dr. Hartmut Ripken
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Human Spaceflight, ISS and Exploration
Tel: +49 228 447-203

Fax: +49 228 447-737

E-Mail: Hartmut.Ripken@dlr.de
Dr. Niklas Reinke
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Space Strategy and Program
Tel: +49 228 447-394

Fax: +49 228 447-386

E-Mail: Niklas.Reinke@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4745/7889_read-3915/7889_page-3/
Related Links
http://www.school-in-space.de/
http://www.tivi.de/
http://www.esa.int/SPECIALS/Astrolab/index.html
http://www.dlr.de/rd/fachprog/raumstation/;internal&action=_setlanguage.action?LANGUAGE=en
http://www.esa.int/esaHS/iss.html
Related News
Space Shuttle Discovery successfully launched (German language) (http://www.dlr.de/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-11/129_read-1676/7889_page-3/usetemplate-print/)

News-Archiv Schülerprogramme

School in Space - Thomas Reiter und Schüler forschen gemeinsam

5. Juli 2006

Plexiglaswürfel mit dem Wasser-Öl-Gemisch
zum Bild Plexiglaswürfel mit dem Wasser-Öl-Gemisch

Wasser-Öl-Gemisch auf der Erde und in Schwerelosigkeit

Im September 2006 können Schüler mit dem deutschen ESA-Astronauten Thomas Reiter forschen: Reiter führt dann im Weltall das gleiche Experiment durch, wie die Schülerinnen und Schüler in ihren Klassen. Die Raumfahrt-Agentur des DLR hat für diesen Schulversuch im Rahmen der ESA-Mission Astrolab ein besonderes Arbeitsinstrument entwickelt.

In einem doppelten Plexiglasquader befindet sich ein Wasser-Öl-Gemisch (Emulsion). In den Schulklassen kann der Versuch leicht nachgebaut werden. Mit ihm können die Schüler nach dem Schütteln der Emulsion beobachten, wie sich Wasser und Öl zunächst vermischen und dann wieder entmischen. Sie sollen daraufhin eine Hypothese aufstellen, wie sich die Emulsion in der Schwerelosigkeit verhalten wird und diese Vermutung begründen.

Der Plexiglasquader wurde am 24. Juni 2006 mit anderen Versorgungsgütern vom russischen Frachtraumschiff Progress M-57 zur Internationalen Raumstation ISS gebracht. Der amerikanische Spaceshuttle Discovery, der Thomas Reiter als drittes, ständiges Besatzungsmitglied zur ISS bringt, dockte knapp zwei Tage nach seinem Start gestern um 16.52 (MESZ) an. So treffen sich Experiment und Experimentator im Weltall.

 Kurz vor dem Andocken: Die ISS aus dem Blickwinkel der Discovery
zum Bild Kurz vor dem Andocken: Die ISS aus dem Blickwinkel der Discovery

Im September 2006 findet dann bundesweit in den Schulen das Schülerexperiment "Öl Emulsion" statt. ZDF tivi, das Kinder- und Jugendprogramm des Zweiten Deutschen Fernsehens, wird das Experiment als Medienpartner begleiten. ZDF tivi berichtet unter anderem in den Kindernachrichten "logo!". Die Auflösung des Experimentes mit Originalvideoaufnahmen von Thomas Reiter aus dem All wird am 23. September 2006 im ZDF tivi zu sehen sein. Dann können alle Schüler überprüfen, ob ihre Hypothese richtig war.

Wer an dem Versuch teilnehmen will, findet Informationen unter http://www.school-in-space.de/. Die Lehrkräfte in allen weiterführenden Schulen Deutschlands haben im Juni entsprechendes Begleitmaterial zur Durchführung des Experiments im Unterricht sowie einen für jede Schule eigens zugeteilten Zugangscode zu den Lehrerseiten von http://www.school-in-space.de/ erhalten.


Kontakt
Dr. Hartmut Ripken
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Human Spaceflight, ISS and Exploration
Tel: +49 228 447-203

Fax: +49 228 447-737

E-Mail: Hartmut.Ripken@dlr.de
Dr. Niklas Reinke
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Raumfahrt-Strategie und Programmatik
Tel: +49 228 447-394

Fax: +49 228 447-386

E-Mail: Niklas.Reinke@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4745/7889_read-3915/7889_page-3/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.school-in-space.de/
http://www.tivi.de/
http://www.esa.int/SPECIALS/Astrolab_German/index.html
http://www.dlr.de/rd/fachprog/raumstation/;internal&action=_setlanguage.action?LANGUAGE=ge
http://www.esa.int/esaHS/iss.html
http://www.phoenix.de/mission_zur_iss/81940.26419,76704.htm
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Space Shuttle Discovery erfolgreich gestartet (http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-11/129_read-1676/7889_page-3/usetemplate-print/)