DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Sites:Bremen
News Archive Bremen

Successful first flight of the DLR Mapheus research rocket

22 May 2009

 Successful first flight of the DLR Mapheus research rocket
zum Bild Successful first flight of the DLR Mapheus research rocket

Three minutes of weightlessness for materials physics experiments

On Friday 22 May 2009 at 12:32, the Mapheus research rocket of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) lifted off from the Esrange launch facility near Kiruna in northern Sweden. Mapheus is an acronym for Materialphysikalische Experimente unter Schwerelosigkeit – Materials Physics Experiments under Weightlessness. Scientists from the DLR Institute for Materials Physics in Space, located in Cologne, used this flight to investigate how liquids behave in conditions of weightlessness. The focus was on the characteristics of liquids – particularly solidification and separation. Under conditions of weightlessness, the absence of perturbing forces allows for precise measurements under controlled and defined experimental conditions – in contrast to experiments on Earth.

 DLR scientists working on Mapheus
zum Bild DLR scientists working on Mapheus

The scientists and engineers from the Mobile Rocket Base (MORABA) of DLR Space Operations in Oberpfaffenhofen developed and built the Mapheus rocket for this purpose. The project is managed by the DLR Institute of Space Systems in Bremen. The 113 kilogram scientific payload on the maiden flight of Mapheus consisted of three experiment modules and a battery module, developed and built at DLR in Cologne. There was also a measurement platform from Aachen University of Applied Sciences – Department of Aerospace Technology and the DLR Microgravity User Support Center, Cologne.

The heart of the rocket is the service module, which takes care of data transmission and the timing of the scientific experiments and contains all the sensors required for measuring acceleration, yaw rate and position – needed to guide the rocket. Using compressed gas and jet systems, the rate control system (RCS module) is able to minimise all rotational movement during the ballistic (coasting) flight phase above the dense atmosphere and thus create ideal conditions for microgravity, a state of minimal gravity.

 Mapheus being prepared
zum Bild Mapheus being prepared

Three minutes for experiments under conditions of weightlessness – with 20-fold gravitational acceleration into space

The Mapheus experiments were transported to a height of 140 kilometres by a two-stage solid-fuel rocket motor. The first stage took the rocket to a speed of 1940 kilometres per hour. The second stage fired about nine seconds after lift-off. Following the separation of the second rocket stage, a device known as a 'mechanical Yo-Yo system' reduced the spin around the longitudinal axis of the rocket to low levels at a height of 70 kilometres. Ice skaters use a similar principle when they extend their arms during a pirouette to slow down their spin. The normal spin around the longitudinal axis during rocket launches and flights stabilises the trajectory of the rocket during its ascent but for these experiments it had to be neutralised to achieve weightlessness.

 The inside of the ATLAS-M experiment module
zum Bild The inside of the ATLAS-M experiment module

Then, at a height of more than 100 kilometres, the experiment phase of about three minutes – the key stage for the scientists – began. Once that was completed, the rocket section with the experiments re-entered Earth's atmosphere. The stabilising parachute of the recovery system opened at a height of about five kilometres. Finally, the payload with the experiments landed safely in an uninhabited area in northern Sweden with a rate of descent of about eight metres per second (about 29 kilometres per hour).

The Mobile Rocket Base of DLR Space Operations in Oberpfaffenhofen was responsible for preparing the flight and executing it. The Mapheus research rocket is financed by the DLR's 'Weltraum' (Space) research and development programme. Following Mapheus’ successful maiden flight, the aim is to launch it in a regular annual program to enable a systematic study of materials physics.


Contact
Andreas Schütz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Spokesman

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2474

Mobile: +49 171 3126466

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Dipl.-Ing. Axel Griesche
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Materials Physics in Space

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3206


Last update: 04/06/2009 10:41:19

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Standorte:Bremen
News-Archiv Bremen

Erfolgreicher Erstflug der DLR-Forschungsrakete Mapheus

22. Mai 2009

 Erfolgreicher Erstflug der DLR-Forschungsrakete Mapheus
zum Bild Erfolgreicher Erstflug der DLR-Forschungsrakete Mapheus

Drei Minuten Schwerelosigkeit für materialphysikalische Experimente

Am Freitag, den 22. Mai 2009 startete um 12.32 Uhr die Forschungsrakete Mapheus (Materialphysikalische Experimente unter Schwerelosigkeit) des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) vom Raketenstartplatz Esrange bei Kiruna in Nordschweden. Wissenschaftler des Kölner DLR-Instituts für Materialphysik im Weltraum wollen mit diesem Flug untersuchen, wie sich Flüssigkeiten in der Schwerelosigkeit verhalten. Dabei stehen die Eigenschaften von Flüssigkeiten und insbesondere die Erstarrung und die Entmischung im Mittelpunkt. In der Schwerelosigkeit ermöglicht das Fehlen der Auftriebskraft - anders als bei irdischen Versuchen - die exakte Messung unter kontrollierten und definierten Versuchsbedingungen.

 DLR-Wissenschaftler arbeiten an Mapheus
zum Bild DLR-Wissenschaftler arbeiten an Mapheus

Dafür haben die Kölner Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure der Mobilen Raketen Basis (MORABA) des DLR-Raumflugbetriebs in Oberpfaffenhofen die Rakete Mapheus entwickelt und gebaut. Die Projektleitung erfolgte durch das DLR-Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme in Bremen. Die 113 Kilogramm schwere wissenschaftliche Nutzlast auf dem Jungfernflug von Mapheus besteht aus drei Experiment-Modulen und einem Batterie-Modul, entwickelt und gebaut im DLR Köln. Hinzu kommt eine Messplattform der Fachhochschule Aachen, Fachbereich Luft- und Raumfahrttechnik, und des DLR-Nutzerzentrums für Weltraumexperimente aus Köln.

Das Kernstück der Rakete ist das Servicemodul, welches die Datenübertragung und Zeitsteuerung der wissenschaftlichen Experimente sicherstellt und alle nötigen Sensoren für Beschleunigungs-, Drehraten- und Positionsmessung enthält, um die Rakete zu führen. Mittels Druckgas und Düsensystemen kann das so genannte Rate-Control-System (RCS-Modul) jede Drehbewegung während der ballistischen (antriebslosen) Flugphase oberhalb der dichten Atmosphäre minimieren und damit hervorragende Bedingungen für die Mikrogravitation, einen Zustand der minimalen Schwerkraft, schaffen.

 Mapheus wird vorbereitet
zum Bild Mapheus wird vorbereitet

Drei Minuten für Experimente in der Schwerelosigkeit - Mit 20-facher Erdbeschleunigung ins All

Die Mapheus-Experimente wurden von einem zweistufigen Feststoff-Raketenmotor auf eine Höhe von 140,8 Kilometer transportiert. Die erste Stufe brachte die Rakete auf eine Geschwindigkeit von 1940 Kilometer pro Stunde. Etwa neun Sekunden nach dem Abheben zündete die zweite Stufe. Nach dem Abtrennen der zweiten Raketenstufe verringerte in einer Höhe von 70 Kilometern ein so genanntes mechanisches Jo-Jo-System den größten Teil der Rotation um die Längsachse der Rakete. Ein ähnliches Prinzip benutzen auch Eiskunstläufer, wenn sie bei einer Pirouette die Arme ausstrecken, um sich langsamer zu drehen. Die sonst bei Raketenstarts und -flügen übliche Drehung um die Längsachse stabilisiert während des Aufstiegs die Flugbahn der Rakete, aber für diese Experimente musste diese neutralisiert werden, um die Schwerelosigkeit zu erreichen.

 Das Innere des Experimentmoduls ATLAS-M
zum Bild Das Innere des Experimentmoduls ATLAS-M

Danach begann in einer Höhe von mehr als 100 Kilometern die für die Wissenschaftler so wichtige Experimentierphase von rund drei Minuten. Nach deren Ende trat der Raketenteil mit den Experimenten wieder in die Erdatmosphäre ein. In etwa fünf Kilometern Höhe öffnete sich der Stabilisierungsschirm des Bergungssystems. Schließlich landete die Nutzlast mit den Experimenten mit etwa acht Metern pro Sekunde Sinkgeschwindigkeit (etwa 29 Kilometer pro Stunde) sicher in einem unbewohnten Gebiet in Nordschweden.

Für die Vorbereitung des Flugs sowie dessen Durchführung war die Mobile Raketen Basis des DLR-Raumflugbetrieb in Oberpfaffenhofen verantwortlich. Die Forschungsrakete Mapheus wird aus dem DLR-Forschungs- und Entwicklungsprogramm "Weltraum" finanziert und soll nach dem erfolgreichen Jungfernflug im jährlichen Rhythmus starten, um systematische materialphysikalische Untersuchungen zu ermöglichen.


Kontakt
Andreas Schütz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Pressesprecher

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2474

Mobil: +49 171 3126466

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Dr. Axel Griesche
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Materialphysik im Weltraum

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3206


Josef Ettl
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumflugbetrieb und Astronautentraining
, Mobile Raketen Basis MORABA
Tel.: +49 8153 28-2715

Fax: +49 8153 28-1344


Zuletzt geändert am: 22.05.2009 13:49:34 Uhr