DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Sites:Bremen
News Archive Bremen

Further development of ATV technology - contract on study signed

7 July 2009

 Advanced Re-entry Vehicle (ARV)
zum Bild Advanced Re-entry Vehicle (ARV)

ATV-2 bears the name 'Johannes Kepler'

In Bremen on Tuesday 7 July 2009, the second European space transporter, ATV-2 - developed in association with, and with the support of, the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) – was presented to the public. It was officially given the name of the German astronomer and scholar Johannes Kepler.

In connection with the naming ceremony, the European Space Agency (ESA) and Astrium GmbH signed a contract for studying the further development of ATV technology.  The Advanced Re-entry Vehicle (ARV) will have, in contrast to the ATV, the capability of performing a controlled re-entry into Earth's atmosphere. The goal is that ARV should enable the return of freight and experiments from the ISS to Earth.

The European ATV space vehicles are carried into space by Ariane 5 ES launch vehicles and give the European spaceflight programme increased independence.  The development of ARV would secure the operation and provisioning of the ISS. This will become important after the cessation of the NASA Space Shuttle program in 2010, when provisioning of the ISS will become dependent on the Russian Cosmodrome at Baikonur.

European contribution to the provisioning of the space station

 Insight into the ATV-2 assembly
zum Bild Insight into the ATV-2 assembly

Among others, the event was attended by the Chairman of the DLR Executive Board, Prof. Dr-Ing Johann-Dietrich Wörner, the Director General of the European Space Agency, Jean-Jacques Dordain, ESA Director of Human Spaceflight, Simonetta Di Pippo, the Mayor of Bremen, Jens Böhrnsen, and the head of the space transport division at EADS Astrium, Alain Charmeau. Frank de Winne, the first European commander of the International Space Station (ISS), was also involved in the event.

The ATV-2 'Johannes Kepler' is currently being completed at Astrium in Bremen and is scheduled to lift off in November 2010 from Kourou, French Guiana, en route to the ISS. These ATV flights are the European contribution towards keeping the ISS provisioned. The bulk of Europe's share of the ISS operating costs is being met through these practical contributions rather than through foreign currency payments to NASA. Following the successful and spectacular premiere of the ATV-1 'Jules Verne' on 9 March 2008, a further four ATV flights are scheduled between now and 2013.


Contact
Michel Winand
German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Cologne

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2144

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Volker Schmid
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Human Spaceflight, ISS and Exploration
Tel.: +49 228 447-305

Fax: +49 228 447-737


Last update: 09/07/2009 15:42:34
Related links

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Standorte:Bremen
News-Archiv Bremen

Weiterentwicklung des europäischen Raumtransporters ATV: Vertrag über Studie unterzeichnet

7. Juli 2009

 Advanced Re-entry Vehicle (ARV)
zum Bild Advanced Re-entry Vehicle (ARV)

ATV-2 trägt den Namen Johannes Kepler

Am Dienstag, den 7. Juli 2009, wurde der - unter Beteiligung und mit Unterstützung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) entwickelte - zweite europäische Raumtransporter ATV-2 bei der Astrium GmbH in Bremen der Öffentlichkeit vorgestellt. ATV-2 (Automated Transfer Vehicle) trägt den Namen des deutschen Astronomen und Gelehrten Johannes Kepler.

Im Rahmen der Veranstaltung unterzeichneten die Europäische Weltraumorganisation ESA und die Astrium GmbH einen Vertrag über eine Studie zur Weiterentwicklung der ATV-Technik. Das so genannte Advanced Re-entry Vehicle (ARV) soll im Gegensatz zum ATV über die Fähigkeit zum Wiedereintritt in die Erdatmosphäre verfügen. Ziel ist es, den Rücktransport von Fracht und Experimenten von der Internationalen Raumstation ISS zur Erde zu ermöglichen.

Die europäischen ATV-Raumtransporter werden mit einer Ariane 5ES-Trägerrakete gestartet und geben der europäischen Raumfahrt eine größere Unabhängigkeit. Zudem kann die ARV-Entwicklung den Betrieb und die Versorgung der ISS sichern, die nach dem Einstellen des Space Shuttle-Programms der NASA im Jahr 2010 alleinig von der Versorgung über den russischen Weltraumbahnhof Baikonur abhängen wird.

Europäischer Beitrag zur Versorgung der Raumstation

 Einblick in die Fertigung von ATV-2
zum Bild Einblick in die Fertigung von ATV-2

An der Veranstaltung in Bremen nahmen unter anderem der Vorstandsvorsitzende des DLR, Prof. Dr. Johann-Dietrich Wörner, der Generaldirektor der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA, Jean-Jacques Dordain, die ESA-Direktorin für bemannte Raumfahrt, Simonetta Di Pippo, der Bremer Bürgermeister Jens Böhrnsen und der Leiter des Bereichs Raumtransport bei EADS Astrium, Alain Charmeau teil. Mit einem so genannten "Inflight Call" wurde Frank de Winne, der erste europäische Kommandant der ISS, von der Raumstation aus live zugeschaltet.

Die ATV-Flüge sind bereits jetzt ein bedeutender europäischer Beitrag zur Versorgung der ISS. Der größte Teil der für Europa anteilig zu tragenden ISS-Betriebskosten wird durch diese Sachleistungen anstelle von Devisenzahlungen an die NASA abgegolten. Nach der erfolgreichen und spektakulären Premiere des ATV-1 "Jules Verne" am 9. März 2008 sind bis 2013 noch vier weitere ATV-Flüge vorgesehen.

 


Kontakt
Michel Winand
Kommunikation, Köln

Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V.

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2144

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Volker Schmid
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Bemannte Raumfahrt, ISS und Exploration
Tel.: +49 228 447-305

Fax: +49 228 447-737


Zuletzt geändert am: 22.07.2009 13:34:50 Uhr