DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Sites:Bremen
News Archive Bremen

REXUS 7 and 8 student research rockets launched successfully

4 March 2010

 Launch of REXUS 8
zum Bild Launch of REXUS 8

On Thursday, 4 March 2010 at 11:15 CET, the research rocket Rexus 8 (Rocket EXperiment for University Students), a joint project of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and the Swedish Space Corporation (SSC), launched from SSC's Esrange Space Center near Kiruna, in Sweden. Students from the Technical Universities of Berlin (Technische Universität Berlin; TUB) and Munich (Technische Universität München; TUM) and from the Royal Institute of Technology (Kungliga Tekniska Högskolan; KTH) in Stockholm used the flight to conduct satellite communication experiments and also tested a newly-developed descent probe. The rocket reached an altitude of 88 kilometres during its flight. Rexus 7 was launched just two days earlier, on 2 March.

The flights lasted about five minutes each. They followed a year of intensive preparation, during which students from Germany, Sweden and Italy developed and built the experiments. While still in flight, most of the data were transmitted to the ground station at Esrange. They will be evaluated over the next few weeks. The scientific payloads landed by parachute, were retrieved by helicopter and the experiments were handed back to the students.

TUPEX-3, VECTOR and LAPLander test satellite communication and descent probe

During the REXUS-8 flight, students from TUB tested the TUPEX-3 experiment, which is a new communications system. Their intention is to deploy several CubeSat satellites and one ground station. In this experiment, four identical radio modules simulated a multi-satellite system. During the flight, the module on board REXUS exchanged data with the other three 'satellites' on the ground. In addition, new Sun sensors were tested. The energy consumption, mass and volume, of these units were optimised for use on CubeSats.

 Bench test for REXUS 8
zum Bild Bench test for REXUS 8

The VECTOR experiment conducted by the teams of students from TUM consisted of two parts. On REXUS-8, an onboard computer developed by the students was tested; the computer's telemetry system transmitted live data. An S-band antenna on the ground, designed for use in space applications, was used to track the flight paths of both rockets. The aim was for it to demonstrate the high accuracy of a new alignment mechanism for an autonomous and highly accurate inter-satellite communication system.

The LAPLander (Light Airbag Protected Lander) is a prototype descent probe developed by students at KTH. It was deployed from the rocket and returned to Earth independently. The intention was to enable testing of its airbraking, impact protection and recovery systems. To prepare for landing, at an altitude of about five kilometres it inflated four tubes with air and these were used to brace the parachute. These inflated tubes are also designed to cushion the impact of landing. To enable LAPLander to be rescued by the helicopter crew, the tiny disk-shaped descender has a GPS receiver and a radio beacon on board. A satellite transponder sends the latest position to the student team. Descenders like LAPLander are needed to carry out extended scientific examinations of regions of Earth's atmosphere beyond reach of balloons.

Atmospheric research and technology tests on REXUS 7

Rexus 7 launched on 2 March at 08:25 CET. On board were the experiments MONDARO, Vibra-Damp and BUGS. The rocket reached an altitude of 82.5 kilometres. The MONDARO experiment on REXUS 7, developed by students from the University of Rostock and the Leibniz Institute for Atmospheric Physics (Leibniz-Institut für Atmosphärenphysik) in Kühlungsborn, measured atmospheric pressure and calibrated pressure sensors for a very specific measurement configuration as the rocket rose above an altitude of 50 kilometres. The students used three low-cost and commercially available measuring devices. One pressure sensor was located on the central axis, directly below the tip of the rocket; the tip was jettisoned before the experiment began. With the help of the data obtained, it was possible to calibrate the other two sensors, which were located slightly further back and in less favourable aerodynamic locations. In future experiments, the central pressure sensor will not be necessary.

The team from Aachen University of Applied Sciences (Fachhochschule Aachen) developed a REXUS module by the name of Vibra-Damp, in the interior of which interference factors such as the residual rotation of the rocket or vibration can be damped. This creates better conditions for experiments in weightless conditions. It was tested for the first time on this flight. In a standard REXUS module, a container was suspended on springs. As soon as this container starts to move relative to the module, it is constrained by eddies generated between the containers.

Joint work on the module
zum Bild Joint work on the module

Undergraduates and doctoral students at the universities of Rome and Bologna used the BUGS experiment to test the deployment of a new kind of sensor arm under realistic space conditions – that is, in zero gravity and in a vacuum. In this process, they also examined the vibration characteristics of the arm. At a later date, the arm will be used to stabilise UniSat-5, an Italian microsatellite.

REXUS and BEXUS – programmes for the scientific talent of the future

The German-Swedish programme REXUS/BEXUS enables students to gain practical experience in the preparation and delivery of space projects. Their proposals for experiments in the capsule of a balloon (BEXUS - Balloon-borne EXperiments for University Students) or on high-altitude research rockets (REXUS - Rocket EXperiments for University Students) can be submitted on an annual basis every autumn. Half of these rocket and balloon payloads are available for students at German universities and other higher education institutions to use. The Swedish National Space Board has opened up the Swedish half to students from all the Member States of the European Space Agency (ESA).

Management of the programme and the invitation to German students to tender bids are handled by the DLR Space Management team in Bonn. The organisation, support of students and integration of German experiments are performed by the DLR Institute of Space Systems (Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme; IfR) in Bremen, in collaboration with experts from DLR, SSC and ESA. In turn, IfR reports to DLR's in-house project management team. The flight campaigns are carried out by EuroLaunch, a joint venture between DLR's mobile rocket base (Mobile Raketen Basis; MoRaBa) and the Esrange Space Center operated by SSC.

Proposals for new experiments for balloons in September 2011 and rockets in March 2012 can be submitted in the autumn of 2010.


Contact
Diana Gonzalez
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Communication
Tel.: +49 228 447-388

Fax: +49 228 447-386


Maria Roth
German Aerospace Center

Space-Agency

Tel.: +49 228 447-324

Fax: +49 228 447-735


Last update: 11/03/2010 14:30:39

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Standorte:Bremen
News-Archiv Bremen

REXUS 7 und 8: Studenten-Forschungsraketen erfolgreich gestartet

4. März 2010

 Start von REXUS 8
zum Bild Start von REXUS 8

Am Donnerstag, den 4. März 2010 um 11.15 Uhr, startete die Forschungsrakete REXUS 8 (Raketen-Experimente für Universitäts-Studenten) des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und des schwedischen Raumfahrtunternehmens SSC vom Raumfahrtzentrum Esrange bei Kiruna in Schweden. Studenten der Technischen Universitäten Berlin und München sowie der KTH Stockholm führten darauf Experimente zur Satellitenkommunikation durch und testeten einen neu entwickelten Messflugkörper. Die Rakete erreichte bei ihrem Flug eine Höhe von 88 Kilometern. Bereits zwei Tage zuvor, am 2. März, hatte REXUS 7 abgehoben.

Auf den etwa fünfminütigen Flügen haben sechs Studentengruppen aus Deutschland, Schweden und Italien nach gut einem Jahr intensiver Vorbereitung, die Entwicklung und Bau der Experimente einschließt, ihre Untersuchungen durchgeführt. Noch im Flug wurden die meisten Daten zur Bodenstation auf Esrange übertragen. Ihre endgültige Auswertung wird noch einige Wochen in Anspruch nehmen. Die wissenschaftlichen Nutzlasten, die am Fallschirm landen, wurden durch Hubschrauber geborgen und die Experimente an die Studenten zurückgegeben.

TUPEX-3, VECTOR und LAPLander testen Satellitenkommunikation und Flugkörper

Auf dem Flug von REXUS-8 testen Studenten der TU Berlin das TUPEX-3 Experiment, ein neues Kommunikationssystem. Es soll zwischen mehreren Kleinstsatelliten vom Typ CubeSat und einer Bodenstation eingesetzt werden. Im Experiment simulieren vier identische Radio-Module ein Multi-Satelliten-System. Während des Fluges tauscht das Modul an Bord von REXUS mit den anderen drei "Satelliten" am Boden Daten aus. Außerdem werden neue Sonnensensoren geprüft, die für den Einsatz auf CubeSats in Energieverbrauch, Masse und Volumen optimiert wurden.

 Benchtest für REXUS 8
zum Bild Benchtest für REXUS 8

Das VECTOR-Experiment des Studenten-Teams der TU München besteht aus zwei Teilen. Auf REXUS-8 wird ein selbst entwickelter On-board-Computer getestet, dessen eigenes Telemetrie-System live Daten überträgt. Am Boden befindet sich eine für den Weltraumeinsatz ausgelegte S-Band-Antenne, die die Flüge beider Rakete verfolgt. Sie soll die hohe Genauigkeit ihres neuen Ausrichtungsmechanismus für ein autonomes und hochgenaues Inter-Satellitenkommunikationssystem demonstrieren.

LAPLander heißt der von Studenten der KTH Stockholm entwickelte Prototyp eines Messflugkörpers, der aus der Rakete ausgesetzt wird und selbständig zur Erde zurückkehrt. Dabei sollen seine Service- und Bergungssysteme getestet werden. Für die Landung blasen sich in etwa fünf Kilometern Höhe vier Schläuche mit Luft auf und spannen einen Bremsschirm auf. Die Schläuche sollen auch den Aufprall bei der Landung abfedern. Damit LAPLander anschließend von der Hubschrauber-Crew geborgen werden kann, befinden sich GPS-Empfänger und ein Funkfeuer-Sender an Bord des kleinen diskusförmigen Flugkörpers. Ein Satellitentransmitter sendet die letzte Position über Satellit an das Studententeam. Flugkörper wie LAPLander werden benötigt, um längere wissenschaftliche Untersuchungen in der mittleren Erdatmosphäre vornehmen zu können, oberhalb der Grenze, die durch Ballons erreicht werden kann.

Atmosphärenforschung und Technologietests auf REXUS 7

Am 2. März um 8:25 Uhr startete REXUS 7. Mit an Bord waren die Experimente MONDARO, Vibra-Damp und BUGS. Die Rakete erreichte eine Höhe von 82,5 Kilometern. Das Experiment MONDARO auf REXUS 7 von Studenten der Universität Rostock und des Leibniz-Instituts für Atmosphärenphysik in Kühlungsborn hat beim Aufstieg der Rakete ab 50 Kilometern Höhe den Druck der Atmosphäre gemessen und Drucksensoren für eine ganz spezielle Messanordnung geeicht. Die Studenten verwendeten dafür drei kostengünstige, im Handel erhältliche Messgeräte. Ein Drucksensor befand sich in der Mittelachse direkt unter der Raketenspitze, die vor Experimentbeginn abgesprengt wurde. Mit Hilfe der von ihm gewonnenen Daten ließen sich die beiden anderen Sensoren eichen, die weiter hinten und außen in ungünstigeren aerodynamischen Positionen saßen. Bei zukünftigen Experimenten kann dann anstelle des zentralen Drucksensors ein anderes Messgerät eingebaut werden.

Das Team der FH Aachen hat unter dem Namen Vibra-Damp ein REXUS-Modul entwickelt, in dessen Innerem Störungen wie Restrotation der Rakete oder Vibrationen gedämpft werden, so dass noch bessere Bedingungen für Experimente in Schwerelosigkeit geschaffen werden können. Er wurde bei diesem Flug erstmals getestet. In einem Standard-REXUS-Modul war dafür ein Behälter mittels Federn eingehängt. Sobald dieser anfängt, sich gegen das Modul zu bewegen, wird er durch zwischen den Behältern erzeugte Wirbelströme gebremst.

Gemeinsame Arbeit am Modul
zum Bild Gemeinsame Arbeit am Modul

Studenten und Doktoranden der Universitäten Rom und Bologna testeten mit dem BUGS-Experiment das Entfalten eines neuartigen Sensorarms unter realen Weltraumbedingungen, das heißt in Schwerelosigkeit und Vakuum. Dabei untersuchten sie auch das Schwingungsverhalten des Arms. Er soll später einen italienischen Kleinstsatelliten, UNISAT-5, stabilisieren.

REXUS und BEXUS - ein Programm für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs

Das Deutsch-Schwedische Programm REXUS/BEXUS ermöglicht Studenten, eigene praktische Erfahrungen bei der Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Raumfahrtprojekten zu gewinnen. Ihre Vorschläge für Experimente in der Gondel eines Ballons oder auf Höhenforschungsraketen (REXUS - Raketen-EXperimente für Universitäts-Studenten) können jährlich im Herbst eingereicht werden. Jeweils die Hälfte der Raketen- und Ballon-Nutzlasten stehen Studenten deutscher Universitäten und Hochschulen zur Verfügung. Die schwedische Raumfahrtagentur SNSB hat den schwedischen Anteil für Studenten der übrigen ESA-Mitgliedsstaaten geöffnet.

Die programmatische Leitung und die Ausschreibung für die deutschen Studenten erfolgt durch das DLR-Raumfahrt-Management in Bonn. Die Organisation, Betreuung der Studenten und Integration der deutschen Experimente erfolgt durch das DLR-Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme in Bremen in Zusammenarbeit mit den Experten von DLR, SSC und ESA. Ihm obliegt die DLR-interne Projektleitung. Die Flugkampagnen werden von EuroLaunch, einem Joint Venture der Mobilen Raketenbasis des DLR (MoRaBa) und dem Esrange Space Center des schwedischen Raumfahrtunternehmens SSC (Swedish Space Corporation), durchgeführt.

Neue Experimentvorschläge für Ballons im September 2011 und Raketen im März 2012 können wieder im Herbst 2010 eingereicht werden.


Kontakt
Diana Gonzalez
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Kommunikation
Tel.: +49 228 447-388

Fax: +49 228 447-386


Maria Roth
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement

Tel.: +49 228 447-324

Fax: +49 228 447-735


Zuletzt geändert am: 09.03.2010 20:00:27 Uhr