News Archive Bremen

GEMS – a mole to explore the interior of Mars

26 May 2011

Mission proposal involving DLR on the NASA short list

The final contenders in NASA’s Discovery programme, which invites scientists to propose unmanned planetary missions, have been announced. The Geophysical Monitoring Station (GEMS) for Mars mission proposal has made it to the final round of decision-making. The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is significantly involved with the geophysical experiment, which will explore the interior of Mars. The main objective of the mission, which could launch in early 2016, is to obtain a unique impression of the 'interior life' of Mars through a series of direct measurements.

 Artist’s impression of the Geophysical Monitoring Station (GEMS)
zum Bild Artist’s impression of the Geophysical Monitoring Station (GEMS)

An instrumented mole system equipped with temperature sensors, the Heat Flow and Physical Properties Package or ‘HP Cube’ (HP3), will penetrate up to five metres into the surface of Mars to measure the heat flow from the Martian interior. “HP3 will give us new insights into the thermal development of Mars, and to water reserves that could be concealed beneath its surface. This experiment has been carefully planned, and its outcomes could drive Mars research significantly forward,” states Tilman Spohn, scientific lead for HP3 and Head of the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin-Adlershof. “DLR is proud at the fact that its HP3 experiment is one of the successful mission proposals and could be a part of the next NASA Discovery mission. The involvement in the GEMS mission proposal falls within DLR’s strategy of building on international collaboration in the exploration of space.” Following the Mars Pathfinder mission back in 1997, DLR is currently a partner on two current missions in the NASA Discovery programme. DLR is contributing cameras, spectrometers and image processing expertise on the MESSENGER spacecraft to Mercury and on the Dawn spacecraft, which will be exploring the asteroids Vesta and Ceres. The aim of the Discovery missions is to explore the Solar System with a limited budget of 500 million US dollars.

Three million US dollars to develop the project further

The GEMS science team, led by Bruce Banerdt at NASA’s Jet Propulsion Laboratory in Pasadena, California, will receive three million US dollars to develop this project further.  “The experiment has already reached a high level of technological maturity – which is why our HP3 proposal is ahead in development terms compared to similar experiments,” explains Tilman Spohn. In the course of the last year, 28 mission proposals have been submitted to NASA. Besides GEMS only two other mission proposals are left in the race for this Discovery mission. The Titan Mare Explorer (TiME) is intended to explore a hydrocarbon lake on Saturn’s moon Titan. The Comet Hopper is designed to conduct detailed investigations of comet 46P/Wirtanen. The final decision will be taken in 2012, with a launch most likely be in 2016..

 Signs of water on the Martian surface
zum Bild Signs of water on the Martian surface

A fully automated journey to the interior of Mars

The HP3 experiment uses an electromechanical impact mechanism capable of driving an instrument container into the Martian surface to a depth of up to five metres. “Until now, a fully-automatic mole of this kind has never been used on any planetary body in our Solar System,” states Tim van Zoest, a physicist at the DLR Institute of Space Systems in Bremen, where the impact mechanism was developed. “Comparable experiments to analyse material below the planet’s surface have only been conducted manually on the Moon during the US Apollo missions 15 and 17 in the early seventies. But the tools used then were similar to conventional drills, drilled into the Moon’s surface by muscular power, much like a corkscrew.”

The sensors on HP3 were developed at the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in collaboration with the Space Research Institute of the Austrian Academy of Science in Graz. In particular, the mole will monitor the heat flow inside the Martian surface. “The precise and direct measurement of heat flow under the surface will enable us to determine the heat produced deep inside Mars. This will give us insights into the composition of the Red Planet and its ongoing cooling process, which is related to the present volcanic activity,” explains Matthias Grott from the DLR Institute of Planetary Research. “In addition, HP3 will study the geological stratification of the first five metres below the surface of Mars – especially the presence of ice – through measurement of the geoelectrical properties of the ground,” adds the physicist.

Further European involvement in the GEMS mission proposal involves the seismometer, under French management control at the Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris (IPGP).  The Max-Planck Institute for Solar System Research in Katlenburg-Lindau, in the German Harz region, is developing a system that will be able to install on the seismometer on Mars, under the leadership of Ulrich Christensen. The seismometer will record Marsquakes and asteroid impacts. These seismic vibrations - similar to those on Earth – pass through the entire body of the planet. Seismometer measurements can therefore be used to infer the size and properties of the crust, mantle and planetary core of Mars. The third scientific payload in the GEMS mission proposal is an experiment developed under the management of the US company Lockheed Martin, and is intended to increase our understanding of the internal structure of Mars.


Related Contacts
Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications

Tel: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249

E-Mail: manuela.braun@dlr.de
Prof.Dr. Tilman Spohn
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Planetary Research
, Management and Infrastructure
Tel: +49 30 67055-300

Fax: +49 30 67055-303

E-Mail: Tilman.Spohn@dlr.de
Dr. Tim van Zoest
German Aerospace Center
, Institute of Space Systems
Tel: +49 421 24420-239

Fax: +49 421 24420-120

E-Mail: Tim.Zoest@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4826/8010_read-30905/
Related Links
http://www.dlr.de/pf/en/desktopdefault.aspx

News-Archiv Bremen

GEMS: "Maulwurf" soll das Marsinnere erforschen

26. Mai 2011

Missionsvorschlag unter Beteiligung des DLR in der engeren Auswahl bei der NASA

Im Wettbewerb um die nächste Raumsonde im "Discovery"-Programm der NASA wurde der Missionsentwurf einer "Geophysical Monitoring Station" (GEMS) für den Mars in die entscheidende letzte Runde gewählt. Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ist mit einem geophysikalischen Experiment zur Untersuchung des Marsinneren maßgeblich beteiligt. Ziel der Mission, deren Start 2016 erfolgen könnte, ist es, zum ersten Mal überhaupt durch direkte Messungen einen Einblick in das "Innenleben" des Mars zu gewinnen.

 Künstlerische Darstellung der 'Geophysical Monitoring Station'
zum Bild Künstlerische Darstellung der "Geophysical Monitoring Station"

Ein vollautomatischer "Maulwurf" mit der Bezeichnung "HP3" (Heat Flow and Physical Properties Package, oder "HP Cube") soll mit seinen Sensoren bis zu fünf Meter tief in den Marsboden eindringen, um den Wärmefluss aus dem tiefsten Innern des Mars zu vermessen. "Unser Beitrag HP3 würde neue Einblicke zur thermischen Entwicklung des Mars und zu verborgenen Wasservorkommen unter der Marsoberfläche liefern. Es ist ein ausgereiftes Experiment, dessen Ergebnisse wichtige Impulse für die Marsforschung liefern könnte", sagt Prof. Tilman Spohn, wissenschaftlicher Leiter von HP3 und Direktor des DLR-Instituts für Planetenforschung in Berlin-Adlershof. "Das DLR ist stolz, an einem der erfolgreichen Missionsvorschläge für die nächste NASA-Discovery-Mission mit seinem Experiment HP3 beteiligt zu sein. Die Beteiligung an dem Missionsvorschlag GEMS passt hervorragend zur Strategie des DLR, die internationale Zusammenarbeit in der Exploration des Weltraums langfristig auszubauen." Nach der Mars-Landemission Pathfinder im Jahre 1997 ist das DLR gegenwärtig an zwei aktuellen Missionen im Discovery-Programm der NASA als Partner beteiligt: Auf der Merkur-Sonde MESSENGER sowie der Sonde Dawn, die die Asteroiden Vesta und Ceres erkunden wird, trägt das DLR mit Kameras, Spektrometern und der Bildverarbeitung bei. Ziel der Discovery-Missionen ist die Erkundung des Sonnensystems mit einem begrenzten Missionsvolumen von jeweils 500 Millionen US-Dollar.

Drei Millionen US-Dollar für Weiterentwicklung des Projekts

Das GEMS-Wissenschaftsteam unter der Leitung von Dr. Bruce Banerdt am Jet Propulsion Laboratory der NASA in Pasadena (Kalifornien) erhält nun drei Millionen US-Dollar zur weiteren Entwicklung des Projekts. "Das Experiment hat bereits jetzt schon einen hohen technischen Reifegrad - deshalb haben wir bei HP3 einen Entwicklungsvorsprung vor ähnlichen Experimenten, beispielsweise aus den USA", erklärt Prof. Tilman Spohn. Insgesamt waren im vergangenen Jahr 28 Missionsvorschläge bei der NASA eingereicht worden. Neben GEMS sind zurzeit nur noch zwei weitere Missionen im Rennen für diese Discovery-Mission: Der "Titan Mare Explorer" (TiME) soll einen Kohlenwasserstoffsee auf dem Saturnmond Titan erforschen. Der "Comet Hopper" ist auf die detaillierte Untersuchung eines Kometenkerns ausgerichtet. Die endgültige Entscheidung, welcher Vorschlag für die nächste Discovery-Mission ausgewählt wird, fällt 2012. Der Start soll dann 2016 erfolgen.

 Spuren von Wasser auf der Marsoberfläche
zum Bild Spuren von Wasser auf der Marsoberfläche

Vollautomatisch ins Innere des Mars

Das HP3-Experiment des DLR nutzt einen elektromechanischen Schlagmechanismus, der einen Instrumentenbehälter bis zu fünf Meter tief in den Marsboden einbringen kann. "Bisher ist solch ein vollautomatischer Maulwurf noch auf keinem Körper des Sonnensystems zum Einsatz gekommen", sagt Dr. Tim van Zoest, Physiker am DLR-Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme in Bremen, wo der Schlagmechanismus entwickelt wurde. "Vergleichbare Experimente zur Analyse des Untergrunds gab es bisher nur von Hand auf dem Mond bei den amerikanischen Apollomissionen 15 und 17 zu Beginn der 1970er Jahre, das waren damals aber eher konventionelle Bohrer, die wie ein Korkenzieher von Muskelkraft in den Mondboden gebohrt wurden."

Die Sensoren von HP3 wurden am DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Weltraumforschung der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften in Graz entwickelt. Insbesondere soll der Wärmefluss unter der Marsoberfläche erfasst werden. "Die Vermessung des Wärmeflusses direkt unter der Oberfläche erlaubt es uns, auf die Wärmeproduktion im Marsinneren zu schließen. Damit erhalten wir Hinweise auf die Zusammensetzung des Roten Planeten und seine fortwährende Abkühlung, die im Zusammenhang mit dem noch heute stattfindenden Vulkanismus steht", erklärt Dr. Matthias Grott vom DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung. "Zudem soll HP3 die geologische Schichtung in den ersten fünf Metern unter der Marsoberfläche - insbesondere Eisvorkommen - durch die Vermessung der geoelektrischen Eigenschaften des Bodens erfassen", ergänzt der Physiker, der an der Entwicklung von HP3 beteiligt ist.

Eine weitere europäische Beteiligung im GEMS-Missionsvorschlag ist das Seismometer unter französischer Federführung des Institut de Physique du Globe de Paris (IPGP). Das Max-Planck-Institut für Sonnensystemforschung in Katlenburg-Lindau/Harz baut unter der Leitung von Prof. Ulrich Christensen ein System, mit dem das Seismometer auf dem Mars installiert werden kann. Mit dem Seismometer sollen Marsbeben und Asteroideneinschläge erfasst werden. Da Erschütterungen - ähnlich wie auf der Erde - den gesamten Planetenkörper durchlaufen, kann anhand seismischer Messungen auf die Größe und Beschaffenheit der Kruste, des Mantels und des Planetenkerns des Mars geschlossen werden. Die dritte wissenschaftliche Nutzlast im GEMS-Missionsvorschlag ist ein Experiment, das federführend bei der amerikanischen Firma Lockheed Martin entwickelt wird und weitere Hinweise auf den Aufbau des Marsinnern liefern soll.


Kontakt
Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Weltraum

Tel: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249

E-Mail: manuela.braun@dlr.de
Prof.Dr. Tilman Spohn
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung
, Leitung und Infrastruktur
Tel: +49 30 67055-300

Fax: +49 30 67055-303

E-Mail: Tilman.Spohn@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4826/8010_read-30905/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/pf/
http://discovery.nasa.gov/index.cfml