News Archive Bremen

DLR founds the Institute of Aerospace Systems in Bremen – the ninth DLR location in Germany

25 January 2007

Wittig: “Germany is now in a position to develop its own complete aerospace systems.”

 The small BIRD satellite
zum Bild The small BIRD satellite

The German Aerospace Center (DLR) founded the new DLR Institute of Aerospace Systems in Bremen on 26 January 2007. The Lord Mayor of Bremen, Jens Böhrnsen, and the Chairman of the Executive Board of DLR, Prof. Sigmar Wittig invited guests from the political, scientific and economic sectors to a joint ceremony in Bremen’s Town Hall. "The new Institute in Bremen is proof of DLR’s commitment to one of the most significant aerospace locations in Germany. German space research has taken another step towards developing complete systems", confirmed the DLR Chairman. "This commitment would not have been possible without government assistance at a federal and regional (Bremen) level", Wittig added enthusiastically.

Key topics for the new institute are spaceflight system analyses and systems technology and design for space travel applications.

Lord Mayor Böhrnsen welcomed DLR’s decision: "The establishment of the DLR Institute in our city is more firm confirmation that Bremen is assuming a leading position in the European aerospace industry. I am convinced that this institute will be one of the most significant DLR establishments in a few years’ time."

 SHEFEX, artist's impression
zum Bild SHEFEX, artist's impression

The Bremen institute has the task of evaluating and analysing complex aerospace systems in technical, economic and socio-political terms. In this way, concepts for innovative space missions and space–based applications for scientific, commercial and security requirements are being developed. These should be done in close collaboration with research and industry sectors. The DLR Institute will be working closely with the aerospace industry based in Bremen and with institutes and bodies from the University of Bremen, such as the Centre for Applied Space Technology and Microgravity (ZARM).

Solid financial backing for the Bremen DLR Institute

Approximately 80 scientists and engineers will be employed at the Institute. In addition, up to 50 scientists will be doing research in what are referred to as projects involving third party funding. Along with funding for equipment for the Institute, funds stand at approximately €8.9 million in 2007 with about €17.8 million in future years. 90 percent is federal funding with the region (Bremen) providing the other 10 percent. A further €9.5 million come in the form of special funds, which the Bremen region has allocated for the construction of a new Institute building. This is already at the planning stage and will take three years to build. This initiative reached the development stage through the committed support of Volker Kröning, member of the federal government, and Prof. Hans J. Rath, Head of ZARM.

Compact satellites from Bremen

 Rosetta's Philae lander on a comet
zum Bild Rosetta's Philae lander on a comet

The first actual tasks were specified and tackled even before the official establishment. The Institute in Bremen will play the leading role in the DLR compact satellite programme and in researching an experimental platform capable of returning to Earth. It aims to examine, in the field of space exploration, which concepts a German or European lunar mission should employ for optimum success. Other tasks are in areas concerning propulsion research for upper stages in spacecraft and systems technology for safety-related applications in space travel.

Provisional Institute Heads appointed

Josef Kind and Prof. Berndt Feuerbacher have been appointed to head the new Institute in Bremen on a provisional basis.

Former president of the EADS Space Transportation, Josef Kind (59) is widely recognised for his many years of experience within the industry. In particular, he will ensure that the technical orientation of the Institute will also work on issues which are relevant to industry.

Prof. Berndt Feuerbacher (66) is a distinguished specialist in the field of aerospace science. He headed the DLR’s Institute for Space Simulation in Cologne from 1981 to 2006. Feuerbacher will ensure the Institute’s scientific orientation.



Related Contacts
Andreas Schütz
German Aerospace Center (DLR)
, Corporate Communications, Spokesman
Tel: +49 2203 601-2474

Mobile: +49 171 3126466

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249

E-Mail: andreas.schuetz@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4826/8010_read-7163/

News-Archiv Bremen

DLR gründet Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme in Bremen – nun neun DLR-Standorte in Deutschland

25. Januar 2007

Wittig: "Deutschland kann jetzt selbst komplette Raumfahrtsysteme entwickeln"

 Kleinsatellit BIRD
zum Bild Kleinsatellit BIRD

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) gründet am 26. Januar 2007 das neue DLR-Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme in Bremen. Zu einem gemeinsamen Festakt im Bremer Rathaus haben Bremens Bürgermeister, Jens Böhrnsen, und der Vorstandsvorsitzende des DLR, Prof. Sigmar Wittig, Gäste aus Politik, Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft eingeladen. "Mit dem neuen Institut in Bremen engagiert sich das DLR an einem der bedeutendsten Raumfahrtstandorte in Deutschland. Die deutsche Weltraumforschung macht einen weiteren Schritt auf dem Weg zur Entwicklung kompletter Systeme", bekräftigte der DLR-Vorstandsvorsitzende. "Ohne die Unterstützung von Bund und Land Bremen wäre dieses Engagement nicht möglich gewesen", fügte Wittig erfreut hinzu.

Thematische Schwerpunkte des neuen Instituts sind die Raumfahrt-Systemanalyse und –Systemtechnik sowie Systemtechnik und -auslegung für die Raumfahrtnutzung.

Bürgermeister Böhrnsen begrüßt die Entscheidung des DLR: "Für unsere Stadt ist die Gründung des DLR-Instituts eine weitere kraftvolle Bestätigung, dass Bremen eine Spitzenstellung in der europäischen Luft- und Raumfahrt einnimmt. Ich bin mir sicher, dass dieses Institut in wenigen Jahren eine der bedeutendsten Einrichtungen des DLR sein wird."

 Projekt SHEFEX
zum Bild Projekt SHEFEX

Aufgabe des Bremer Instituts ist die Bewertung und Analyse komplexer Systeme der Raumfahrt in technischer, wirtschaftlicher und gesellschaftspolitischer Hinsicht. Dabei werden auch Konzepte für innovative Raumfahrtmissionen sowie raumfahrtgestützte Anwendungen für den wissenschaftlichen, kommerziellen und sicherheitsrelevanten Bedarf entwickelt. Diese sollen in enger Zusammenarbeit von Forschung und Industrie umgesetzt werden. Dazu wird das DLR-Institut eng mit der in Bremen ansässigen Raumfahrtindustrie kooperieren, ebenso  mit Instituten und Einrichtungen der Universität Bremen, wie dem Zentrum für angewandte Raumfahrttechnologie und Mikrogravitation (ZARM).

Solider Finanzrahmen für das Bremer DLR-Institut

Im Institut werden rund 80 Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure arbeiten. Darüber hinaus sollen bis zu 50 Wissenschaftler in so genannten Drittmittel-Projekten forschen. Zusammen mit den Mitteln für die Ausstattung des Instituts stehen dafür im Jahr 2007 rund 8,9 Millionen Euro bereit, in den Folgejahren rund 17,8 Millionen Euro. Die Mittel werden zu 90 Prozent vom Bund und zu 10 Prozent vom Land Bremen aufgebracht. Hinzukommen 9,5 Millionen Euro an Sondermitteln, die das Land Bremen für den bereits in Planung befindlichen Neubau eines Institutsgebäudes in den kommenden drei Jahren bereitstellen wird. Die Umsetzung dieser Initiative wurde stark unterstützt von Volker Kröning, Mitglied des Bundestages, und von Prof. Hans J. Rath, Leiter des ZARM.

Kompakte Satelliten aus Bremen

 Rosetta-Landegerät Philae auf dem Kometen
zum Bild Rosetta-Landegerät Philae auf dem Kometen

Schon vor der offiziellen Gründung sind die ersten konkreten Aufgaben  benannt und in Angriff genommen worden. So wird das Institut in Bremen die Führung des Kompakt-Satellitenprogramms des DLR übernehmen und an einer rückkehrfähigen Experimentalplattform forschen. Auf dem Gebiet der Exploration des Weltraums soll untersucht werden, mit welchem Konzept eine deutsche oder europäische Mondmission zum größtmöglichen Erfolg geführt werden kann. Weitere Aufgaben liegen in den Bereichen der Antriebsforschung von Oberstufen für Raumfahrzeuge und Raumfahrt-Systemtechnik für sicherheitsrelevante Anwendungen.

Kommissarische Institutsleiter benannt

Als kommissarische Institutsleiter des neuen Instituts in Bremen wurden Josef Kind und Prof. Berndt Feuerbacher ernannt.
Als ehemaliger Präsident der EADS Space Transportation ist Josef Kind (59) auf Grund seiner langjährigen Industrieerfahrung weithin anerkannt. Er wird sicherstellen, dass insbesondere die systemtechnische Ausrichtung des Instituts auch industrienahe Fragestellungen bearbeiten wird.

Prof. Berndt Feuerbacher (66) ist ein angesehener Spezialist auf dem Gebiet der Weltraum-Wissenschaften. Von 1981 bis 2006 war er Institutsdirektor des DLR-Instituts für Raumsimulation in Köln. Feuerbacher wird die wissenschaftliche Orientierung des Institutes sicherstellen.



Kontakt
Andreas Schütz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)
, Kommunikation
Tel: +49 2203 601-2474

Mobil: +49 171 3126466

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249

E-Mail: andreas.schuetz@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4826/8010_read-7163/