DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Sites:Weilheim
News Archive Weilheim

DLR scientists receive next-generation GPS signal for the first time

16 April 2009

 DLR's 30m parabolic antenna at Weilheim
zum Bild DLR's 30m parabolic antenna at Weilheim

The Global Positioning System (GPS) is to be modernised and will provide a navigation service that is even more reliable and accurate in the future. On 24 March, a GPS satellite carrying a special test payload for transmitting a new navigation signal in the L5 frequency band was launched. Shortly after the switching on of the test payload, scientists from the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) succeeded for the first time in receiving this navigation signal, using the 30-metre antenna at the German Space Operations Center (GSOC) in Weilheim. The scientists conducted a high precision analysis of the signal and proved, independently of the US operator, the additional benefits of the L5 signal.

A signal that will enable even more precise and robust navigation

 Signal analysis equipment
zum Bild Signal analysis equipment

In future, the L5 signal will play a central role in satellite navigation and in areas of application where safety is critical, such as aviation. This is the second signal transmitted by GPS in the Aeronautical Radionavigation Services frequency band. In combination with the navigation signals already in use, it will allow ionospheric propagation errors to be corrected significantly more robustly and accurately than would be possible with the current signals alone.

The signals received on Earth from satellite navigation satellites have an extremely low power level and are masked by noise when received using conventional GPS antennas. GPS navigation receivers can, however, filter out signals buried in noise and use them for the purpose of navigation, as they are able to exploit the properties of the GPS signals. If the characteristics of a new navigation signal need to be examined, it is not possible to do so with a normal antenna. For this reason, the scientists at DLR's Institute of Communications and Navigation used the 30-metre parabolic antenna in Weilheim to enhance reception of the L5 signal, raising it above the noise. The analyses, conducted by DLR in cooperation with University of New Brunswick in Canada, prove that the new GPS signal possesses improved signal characteristics, in particular with regard to its bandwidth, and therefore will allow locations to be determined even more reliably and accurately.

 The new GPS L5 signal
zum Bild The new GPS L5 signal

L5 signals will be transmitted as standard by the next generation of GPS satellites (IIF), which will begin entering service at the end of 2009. The European satellite navigation system –Galileo – transmits a similar signal as part of its Safety-of-Life service; the two systems will complement each other in this area.

The methods developed by the DLR researchers for the highly accurate measurement and analysis of satellite navigation signals deliver evaluation results that are some of the most accurate of their type in the world. The expertise that was developed in DLR will be also be used in cooperation with the European Space Agency (ESA) for the verification and optimisation of the navigation signals used in the Galileo satellite navigation system.


Contact
Andreas Schütz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Spokesman

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2474

Mobile: +49 171 3126466

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Prof. Dr.-Ing.habil. Michael Meurer
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Communications and Navigation
, Navigation
Tel.: +49 8153 28-3065

Fax: +49 8153 28-2328


Friedrich Exter
German Aerospace Center

Space Operations and Astronaut Training

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1641

Fax: +49 8153 28-1456


Last update: 16/04/2009 11:33:24
Related articles

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Standorte:Weilheim
News Archive Weilheim

DLR-Wissenschaftler empfangen erstmals ein GPS-Signal der nächsten Generation

16. April 2009

 30-Meter-Parabolantenne des DLR in Weilheim
zum Bild 30-Meter-Parabolantenne des DLR in Weilheim

Das Global Positioning System (GPS) soll in Zukunft einen noch zuverlässigeren und genaueren Navigationsdienst anbieten. Am 24. März 2009 wurde zum ersten Mal ein GPS-Satellit in den Orbit gebracht, der eine spezielle Testnutzlast trägt, um ein neues Navigationssignal im so genannten L5-Frequenzband abzustrahlen. Wissenschaftlern des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ist es kurz nach Einschalten der Testnutzlast erstmalig gelungen, dieses Navigationssignal mit der 30-Meter-Antenne des Deutschen Raumfahrtkontrollzentrums (GSOC) in Weilheim zu empfangen, hochgenau zu analysieren und somit unabhängig vom US-amerikanischen Betreiber den Mehrwert des L5-Signals nachzuweisen.

Signal für eine noch präzisere und robustere Navigation

 Signalanalyseeinrichtung
zum Bild Signalanalyseeinrichtung

Das L5-Signal wird zukünftig eine zentrale Rolle in der Satellitennavigation und im Bereich sicherheitskritischer Anwendungen wie der Luftfahrt spielen. Dieses Signal ist das zweite von GPS abgestrahlte Signal im wichtigen, für die Luftfahrt zugelassenen aeronautischen Frequenzband. In Kombination mit bisherigen Navigationssignalen wird es damit möglich, ionosphärische Ausbreitungsfehler deutlich robuster und präziser zu korrigieren als mit den heutigen Signalen alleine.

Die Signale der Satellitennavigationssysteme verschwinden beim Empfang mit klassischen GPS-Antennen auf der Erde im so genannten Rauschen, da ihre Leistung nur gering ist. GPS-Navigationsempfänger können die im Rauschen verborgenen Signale jedoch herausfiltern und zur Navigation nutzen, weil sie die Feinstruktur der GPS-Signale kennen. Sollen die Feinstruktur und weitere Eigenschaften des neuen L5-Navigationssignals untersucht werden, ist dieses Vorgehen nicht möglich. Daher nutzten die Wissenschaftler des DLR-Instituts für Kommunikation und Navigation die leistungsstarke 30-Meter-Parabolantenne in Weilheim, um das L5-Signal ausreichend zu verstärken und somit aus dem Rauschen herauszuheben. Die Analysen, die das DLR in Kooperation mit der University of New Brunswick (Kanada) durchführt, belegen, dass das neue GPS-Signal verbesserte Signaleigenschaften insbesondere hinsichtlich seiner Bandbreite aufweist und somit genauere Standortbestimmungen zulässt.

 Das neue GPS-L5-Signal im Diagramm
zum Bild Das neue GPS-L5-Signal im Diagramm

L5-Signale sollen von der nächsten Generation der GPS-Satelliten "IIF", die ab Ende 2009 in den Orbit gebracht werden, standardmäßig bereitgestellt werden. Das europäische Satellitennavigationssystem Galileo strahlt als Bestandteil seines Safety-of-Life-Dienstes ein ähnliches Signal ab; beide Systeme werden sich in diesem Bereich ergänzen.

Die von den DLR-Forschern entwickelten Methoden zur hochgenauen Messung und Analyse von Satellitennavigationssignalen liefern Bewertungsergebnisse, die weltweit zu den genauesten ihrer Art gehören. Diese im DLR entwickelte Expertise wird in Kooperation mit der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation (ESA) auch zur Verifikation und zur Optimierung der Navigationssignale des europäischen Satellitennavigationssystems Galileo eingesetzt.


Kontakt
Andreas Schütz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Pressesprecher

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2474

Mobil: +49 171 3126466

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Prof. Dr.-Ing.habil. Michael Meurer
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation
, Navigation
Tel.: +49 8153 28-3065

Fax: +49 8153 28-2328


Friedrich Exter
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumflugbetrieb und Astronautentraining

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1641

Fax: +49 8153 28-1456


Zuletzt geändert am: 16.04.2009 10:34:10 Uhr