DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:International Year of Astronomy - IYA2009
IYA

DLR's contributions to the International Year of Astronomy 2009


2009 is the International Year of Astronomy, or IYA for short. The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt) is participating in the IYA celebrations. DLR experts will be answering the 'Astronomy Question of the Week' on the IYA minisite. If you have a question about astronomy, please submit it to us using the contact form below. The answers to the latest questions will then be published on this IYA minisite every week.
Astronomy Question of the Week

How old is the Universe?


Week 52
The International Year of Astronomy 2009 (IYA) is coming to an end. The German Aerospace Center (DLR) celebrated IYA with exhibition 'Out of this World – Wonders of the Solar System' in the Gasometer Oberhausen and the 'Astronomy Question of the Week'. Once a week, DLR experts answered a question. Many interested parties took the opportunity to use the special IYA website to ask questions. The final Astronomy Question of the Week is: "How old is the universe?"
Full article
Nachthimmel

Why is it dark at night?


Week 51
Just like being in a large forest, where in every direction and in our entire field of vision we can see trees that are either somewhat closer or further away, in a Universe that is infinite and filled evenly with stars or galaxies, we would have to see a star in every direction, sooner or later. The night sky should actually gleam as brightly as the surface of the Sun. But why doesn't this happen?
Full article

Where are the nearest islands of stars?


Week 50
Earth's home galaxy, the Milky Way, consists of more than 100 billion stars and its spiral arms extend across 100,000 light-years. As if these were not already virtually inconceivable numbers for humans, the Milky Way is only one galaxy among billions that can be seen in the visible Universe using modern telescopes.
Full article
Week 49 How is a black hole discovered?
Week 48 Is there a photograph of the universe?
Week 47 What happens on the Moon during a lunar eclipse?

Exhibition "Out of this World"


From Thursday, 2 April 2009 the new exhibition 'Out of this World - Wonders of the Solar System' will be open to visitors at the Oberhausen Gasometer. It shows our Solar System as a huge process of growth and decay and takes visitors on a journey into the cosmos. Spectacular reproductions of our planetary system, fascinating images of alien worlds, precious historical instruments and modern space research technology all form part of this multifaceted exhibition. The 'largest moon on Earth' can be seen under the Gasometer's 100-metre high roof.
Read more

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:Internationales Jahr der Astronomie - IYA2009
IYA-Banner

Das Internationale Jahr der Astronomie 2009


2009 ist das Internationale Jahr der Astronomie (International Year of Astronomy, kurz IYA). Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) beteiligt sich am IYA. Auf der IYA-Sonderseite beantworten DLR-Experten die "Astronomische Frage der Woche". Falls Sie eine Frage zur Astronomie haben, können Sie diese über das unten stehende Kontaktformular an uns senden. Die neuen Antworten erscheinen dann wöchentlich auf dieser Seite.
Astronomische Frage der Woche
Kugelsternhaufen

Wie alt ist das Universum?


Woche 52
Das Internationale Jahr der Astronomie 2009 geht zu Ende. Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) beteiligte sich daran auch mit der "Astronomischen Frage der Woche". DLR-Experten beantworteten einmal pro Woche eine Frage. Viele Interessierte nutzten die Gelegenheit, auf der DLR-Sonderseite Fragen zu stellen. Die abschließende Astronomische Frage der Woche lautet: "Wie alt ist das Universum?"
Vollständiger Artikel
Nachthimmel

Warum ist es nachts dunkel?


Woche 51
So wie man in einem großen Wald in jeder Richtung und im gesamten Blickfeld auf einen mehr oder weniger weit entfernten Baum schaut, so müsste man in einem unendlichen und gleichmäßig mit Sternen oder Galaxien gefüllten Universum in jeder Richtung irgendwann einen Stern erblicken. Der Nachthimmel müsste also eigentlich so hell wie die Sonnenoberfläche erstrahlen. Warum ist das aber offensichtlich nicht der Fall?
Vollständiger Artikel

Wo sind die nächsten Sterneninseln?


Woche 50
Unsere Heimatgalaxie, die Milchstraße, besteht aus mehr als 100 Milliarden Sternen und erstreckt sich mit ihren Spiralarmen über 100.000 Lichtjahre. Schon das sind für Menschen beinahe unvorstellbare Dimensionen - zudem ist die Milchstraße nur eine Galaxie unter wahrscheinlich Milliarden Galaxien. Doch unsere kosmische Nachbarschaft ist noch vielfälltiger.
Vollständiger Artikel
Woche 49 Wie entdeckt man ein Schwarzes Loch?
Woche 48 Gibt es ein Foto vom Universum?
Woche 47 Was passiert während einer Mondfinsternis auf dem Mond?

Ausstellung "Sternstunden - Wunder des Sonnensystems"


Seit Donnerstag, 2. April 2009, ist die neue Ausstellung "Sternstunden - Wunder des Sonnensystems" im Gasometer Oberhausen für Besucher geöffnet. Sie zeigt unser Sonnensystem als gewaltigen Prozess des Werdens und Vergehens und nimmt die Besucher mit auf eine Reise in den Kosmos. Spektakuläre Nachbildungen des Planetensystems, faszinierende Aufnahmen fremder Welten, kostbare historische Instrumente sowie moderne Technologie der Weltraumforschung gehören zu den Exponaten dieser vielfältigen Ausstellung. Unter dem 100 Meter hohen Dach des Gasometers ist "der größte Mond auf Erden" zu sehen.
Mehr