DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:International Year of Astronomy - IYA2009
Astronomy Question of the Week

Why does a week have seven days?

Week 1

 The correlation between the seven celestial bodies and the seven days of the week
zum Bild The correlation between the seven celestial bodies and the seven days of the week

Even though it would be perfectly possible to imagine a week having five, six or even eleven days, most cultures in the world have seven-day weeks. The reason for this is that seven celestial bodies were known to the ancients: the Sun, the Moon, Mars, Mercury, Jupiter, Venus and Saturn. These celestial bodies are visible to the human eye and people in ancient times were able to observe how they moved across the sky. This is also where the term 'planet' comes from - it is derived from a Greek word meaning 'wanderer'.

The names that we use for the days of the week originated from different cultures and mostly refer to one of the seven celestial bodies or to the planet-god watching over a particular day.

The names for the days of the week are derived from celestial bodies

Sunday and Monday are quite simply the day of the Sun and the day of the Moon. Only the English name for Tuesday still provides us with a clue as to the planet this day is named after: Mars, the Roman God of War, was known as Tiu to the Germanic peoples. 'Day of Tiu' or 'Tiu's day' eventually became 'Tuesday'.

The next day of the week, Wednesday, also has a connection with the planets. In Italian, this day is called 'mercoledì', a word in which the name of the planet Mercury can be recognised. Donar, the Germanic god of thunder (Thor, in English), watches over Thursday. In this case, Donar represents the planet-god Jupiter.

The planet Venus appears in the word ‘venerdì’, the Italian name for Friday. In English and German ('Freitag'), Friday was named after the Germanic goddess Freya. The German name for Saturday ('Samstag' or 'Sonnabend', the latter meaning 'the day before Sunday') derives from the Sabbath, the Jewish day of rest; only in the English word 'Saturday' can the name of the planet Saturn still be recognised.


Contact
Dr. Manfred Gaida
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Space Science
Tel.: +49 228 447-417

Fax: +49 228 447-745


Last update: 13/01/2009 14:21:34

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:Internationales Jahr der Astronomie - IYA2009
Astronomische Frage der Woche

Wieso hat die Woche eigentlich sieben Tage?

Woche 1

 Die Zuordnung der sieben Himmelskörper zu den sieben Wochentagen
zum Bild Die Zuordnung der sieben Himmelskörper zu den sieben Wochentagen

Obwohl eine Woche mit fünf, sechs oder gar elf Tagen genauso vorstellbar ist, besteht die Woche in den meisten Kulturen aus sieben Tagen. Das liegt daran, dass im Altertum sieben bewegliche Himmelskörper bekannt waren: Sonne, Mond, Mars, Merkur, Jupiter, Venus und Saturn. Diese Himmelskörper sind mit bloßem Auge sichtbar und schon die Menschen des Altertums konnten beobachten, wie sie sich am Himmel bewegten. Daher stammt auch die Bezeichnung Planet - sie kommt aus dem Griechischen und bedeutet soviel wie "Wanderer".

Die Namen unserer Wochentage stammen aus verschiedenen Kulturen und beziehen sich meist auf einen der sieben Himmelskörper oder den entsprechenden Planetengott, der über diesen Tag wacht.

Die Namen der Wochentage leiten sich von Himmelskörpern ab

Sonntag und Montag sind ganz einfach der Tag der Sonne und der Tag des Mondes. Beim Dienstag lässt nur noch die englische Bezeichnung "Tuesday" auf den Planeten schließen: Der römische Kriegsgott Mars hieß bei den Germanen Tiu. Aus Tag des Tius beziehungsweise Tius Tag wurde "Tuesday" – der Dienstag.

Auch der deutsche Mittwoch hat etwas mit den Planeten zu tun. Im Italienischen heißt er "Mercoledì", worin noch der Planet Merkur zu erkennen ist. Über den Donnerstag wacht Donar, der germanische Gott des Donners, der in diesem Fall für den Planetengott Jupiter steht.

Der Planet Venus findet sich wieder in "Venerdì", italienisch für Freitag. Im Deutschen wurde der Freitag nach der germanischen Göttin Freya benannt. Samstag beziehungsweise Sonnabend hat sich aus dem jüdischen Feiertag Sabbat entwickelt; nur der englische "Saturday" lässt noch auf den Saturn schließen.


Kontakt
Dr. Manfred Gaida
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Extraterrestrik
Tel.: +49 228 447-417

Fax: +49 228 447-745


Zuletzt geändert am: 05.01.2009 13:24:40 Uhr