DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:International Year of Astronomy - IYA2009
Astronomy Question of the Week

Why wasn't it nice and warm on 4 January?

Week 2

Or: When is Earth closest to the Sun?

 Earth's orbit around the Sun
zum Bild Earth's orbit around the Sun

Every year, the Earth actually makes its closest approach to the Sun in early January, when it is winter here in the northern hemisphere. This year, it happened at 16:23 Central European Time on 4 January - at that time the Earth and the Sun were "just" 147 million kilometres apart (at the top right of the image). In early July, the Earth reaches the most distant point in its orbit around the Sun (at the bottom left of the image). The distance between the Earth and the Sun is then about 152 million kilometres, while at the same time it is midsummer in these latitudes. This means that the seasonal differences in temperatures cannot be caused by the separation between the Earth and the Sun.

The tilt of the Earth's axis, rather than the distance between Earth and Sun, causes the seasons

The seasons are caused by the tilt of the Earth’s axis. The Earth’s axis, which connects the geographic North Pole and the geographic South Pole, is not perpendicular to its orbit but instead is tilted by 23.4 degrees. This means that during the year it takes for the Earth to orbit around the Sun, either the northern or the southern hemisphere is titled towards the Sun.

On 21 June (summer solstice, on the left of the image), the northern hemisphere is most tilted towards the Sun. This means that the rays of the Sun fall more directly on the northern hemisphere, causing it to heat up - it is summer in this part of the world. At the same time it is winter in the southern hemisphere because the rays of the Sun strike it at a smaller angle, causing the heat radiation from the Sun to be spread over a larger area. On 21 December (winter solstice, on the right of the image) the situation is exactly reversed - it is winter in our part of the world while it is summer in the southern hemisphere.


Contact
Dr. Manfred Gaida
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Space Science
Tel.: +49 228 447-417

Fax: +49 228 447-745


Last update: 19/01/2009 13:06:25

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:Internationales Jahr der Astronomie - IYA2009
Astronomische Frage der Woche

Warum war es am 4. Januar nicht kuschelig warm?

Woche 2

Oder: Wann kommt die Erde der Sonne am nächsten?

 Die Bahn der Erde um die Sonne
zum Bild Die Bahn der Erde um die Sonne

Tatsächlich kommt die Erde jedes Jahr Anfang Januar der Sonne am nächsten, wenn bei uns auf der Nordhalbkugel Winter ist. In diesem Jahr war es am 4. Januar um 16:23 Uhr Mitteleuropäischer Zeit soweit - zwischen Erde und Sonne lagen "nur noch" rund 147 Millionen Kilometer (im Bild oben rechts). Den sonnenfernsten Punkt durchläuft die Erde auf ihrer Bahn um die Sonne Anfang Juli (unten links im Bild). Dann beträgt der Abstand etwa 152 Millionen Kilometer und in unseren Breiten ist Hochsommer. Die jahreszeitlichen Temperaturunterschiede haben folglich gar nichts mit der Entfernung zwischen Erde und Sonne zu tun.

Nicht der Abstand Erde - Sonne, sondern die Stellung der Erdachse bedingt die Jahreszeiten.

Ursache der Jahreszeiten ist die schiefe Stellung der Erdachse: Die durch Nord- und Südpol verlaufende Erdachse steht nämlich nicht senkrecht auf der Erdumlaufbahn, sondern weicht um 23,4 Grad vom rechten Winkel ab. Deshalb ist entweder die Nordhalbkugel oder die Südhalbkugel in Richtung Sonne gekippt, während die Erde innerhalb eines Jahres um die Sonne wandert.

Am 21. Juni (Sommersonnenwende, im Bild links) ist die Nordhalbkugel der Sonne maximal zugeneigt. Die Sonnenstrahlen fallen steiler auf die nördlichen Regionen der Erde und heizen sie auf - bei uns ist Sommer. Zur gleichen Zeit ist auf der Südhalbkugel Winter, weil die Sonnenstrahlen dort flacher einfallen und sich die Wärmeeinstrahlung auf eine größere Fläche verteilt. Am 21. Dezember (Wintersonnenwende, rechts im Bild) ist es genau umgekehrt - bei uns herrscht Winter und auf der Südhalbkugel Sommer.


Kontakt
Dr. Manfred Gaida
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Extraterrestrik
Tel.: +49 228 447-417

Fax: +49 228 447-745


Zuletzt geändert am: 14.01.2009 09:40:08 Uhr