DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Portal News:News Archive 2009
News Archive 2009

Is there a photograph of the universe?

Week 48

If the question means "Has anyone stepped outside of the universe with a camera and taken a picture of it?" then the answer is, of course, no. The concept of 'universe' means the totality of all things, including space and time. So logically, there can be no 'outside' to the universe. (Although speculative cosmological theories propose other concepts.)

One of the most famous scientific images

One – very abstract – representation of the universe is the map of the cosmic background radiation (see the astronomy question from week 10: Where is the coldest place in the universe?). A more graphic image is the picture of a small region of the sky taken by the Hubble Space Telescope: the Hubble Ultra Deep Field (HUDF). The HUDF is composed of 800 individual frames, acquired by the Hubble Space Telescope between 3 September 2003 and 16 January 2004.

 The Hubble Ultra Deep Field – a small section of the sky is made enormous
zum Bild The Hubble Ultra Deep Field – a small section of the sky is made enormous

The region of space observed by the Hubble in the HUDF is very small – about as much of the sky as would be visible through a two and a half meter long drinking straw. But the HUDF is by far the most detailed astronomical image ever created. It shows the most distant structures and gives the deepest view of the visible universe that has so far been obtained. The HUDF gives an idea of the size of the universe. It zooms in on an apparently uninteresting area of the sky and, where other telescopes would have shown us at most a couple of stars, it shows almost 10,000 galaxies. Astronomers have found among them the darkest and most distant galaxies so far discovered – light from these objects takes over 13 billion years to reach Earth (and hence the lens of the Hubble).


Contact
Henning Krause
German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2502

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Last update: 21/12/2009 10:52:05
All topics: News Archives

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Webnews:News-Archiv 2009
News-Archiv 2009

Gibt es ein Foto vom Universum?

Woche 48

Wenn mit dieser Frage gemeint ist, ob jemand außerhalb des Universums die Kamera gezückt und einen Schnappschuss vom gesamten Universum gemacht hat - dann lautet die Antwort natürlich: Nein. Der Begriff Universum bedeutet die Gesamtheit aller Dinge, inklusive Raum und Zeit. Deshalb gibt es gar kein "außerhalb des Universums". In spekulativen kosmologischen Theorien werden allerdings auch andere Vorstellungen vertreten.

Eines der berühmtesten wissenschaftlichen Bilder

Eine - allerdings eher abstrakte - Abbildung des Universums ist die Karte der kosmischen Hintergrundstrahlung (siehe die astronomische Frage aus Woche 10: Wo ist es im Universum am kältesten?). Anschaulich ist dagegen das Bild einer kleinen Himmelsregion, die vom Hubble-Weltraumteleskop aufgenommen wurde: Das Hubble Ultra Deep Field (HUDF). Das HUDF entstand aus 800 Einzelaufnahmen, die das Hubble-Weltraumteleskop zwischen dem 3. September 2003 und dem 16. Januar 2004 machte.

 Das Hubble Ultra Deep Field - ein kleiner Ausschnitt des Himmels ganz groß
zum Bild Das Hubble Ultra Deep Field - ein kleiner Ausschnitt des Himmels ganz groß

Der vom Hubble-Teleskop beobachtete Himmelsauschnitt ist zwar sehr klein - etwa so viel Himmel, wie man durch einen zweieinhalb Meter langen Strohhalm sieht. Das HUDF gehört aber zu den astronomischen Bildern mit der bislang höchsten Auflösung. Es zeigt noch die entferntesten Strukturen und ermöglicht einen so tiefen Blick ins sichtbare Universum wie kein Bild zuvor. Das HUDF gibt uns eine Ahnung von der Größe des Universums. Es "zoomt" in eine bislang uninteressante Himmelsregion und zeigt dort, wo mit anderen Teleskopen bloß ein paar Sterne zu sehen waren, fast 10.000 Galaxien. Unter ihnen entdeckten Astronomen die lichtschwächsten und am weitesten entfernten Galaxien, die bisher beobachtet wurden - ihr Licht brauchte mehr als 13 Milliarden Jahre, um zur Erde beziehungsweise zum Hubble-Teleskop zu gelangen.


Kontakt
Henning Krause
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2502

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Zuletzt geändert am: 15.12.2009 10:49:02 Uhr