DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Transport
News Archive Transportation 2009

SuperLIGHT-CAR: lightly towards the car of the future

17 July 2009

 

 The SLC prototype
zum Bild The SLC prototype

DLR front-end concept enables 32% weight saving

For four years, 37 leading partners in research and in the vehicle and component supply industries – from nine European countries – have been working on lightweight car frames for the clean cars of the future in the EU 'SuperLIGHT-CAR' (SLC) project. Recently, the participants presented their results at the concluding conference and, at the same time, unveiled a prototype of the new lightweight frame. With the front-end structure, which achieves a weight saving of more than 30%, the German Aerospace Centre (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) made a significant contribution to the overall concept.

Lower fuel consumption, reduced carbon dioxide emissions

 Video: SuperLIGHT-CAR
zum Bild Video: SuperLIGHT-CAR

In order to make a contribution to fuel consumption and carbon dioxide reductions in the future, the European project partners, led by Volkswagen AG, had set themselves the target in 2005 of achieving a weight saving of at least 30% in the body shell – related to the VW Golf V as the reference structure. This was to be done without any reduction in safety while maintaining the various vehicle-specific requirements, such as a high level of crash safety and stiffness, as well as keeping the additional costs for production volumes of 1000 vehicles per day to a reasonable level.

The focus was on what is referred to as multi-material design: the challenge was to use the correct lightweight building material – magnesium, aluminium, steel, fibre reinforced composites – in the right place. With a weight saving of 35%, – that is, 180 kilograms related to the reference structure – the SLC team has managed to surpass its ambitious target at the end of four years' work.

DLR Institute of Vehicle Concepts develops front-end concept

 Development of the SLC front-end model
zum Bild Development of the SLC front-end model

The DLR Institute of Vehicle Concepts (Institut für Fahrzeugkonzepte; FK) in Stuttgart developed the front-end structure from magnesium and aluminium as part of the EU SLC project, saving 32% (24 kilograms) of the original weight. This result was made possible by the intelligent use of different materials in a composite design.

Lightweight through magnesium

A key part in reducing the weight of the front-end was played by a highly-integrated magnesium cast component: more than 60% of the original weight was saved in the magnesium strut tower, while at the same time integrating about 12 steel components in a single cast component. Here, the great weight saving arose first from the 'conceptual lightweight construction', in which a highly-integrated cast component combines several functions and parts; second, from the 'lightweight material construction' through the use of magnesium; and, third, from the 'design for lightweight construction' and the resulting geometrical optimisation. This methodical procedure provided the basis for the great reduction in weight. Furthermore, the aluminium longitudinal rails in the front-end have been fabricated with what are known as 'tailored welded blanks' – sheet metal profiles in various wall thicknesses from 2.6 to 3.8 millimetres – giving the advantage of improved mechanical characteristics with a lower component weight.

 Deployment of magnesium and aluminium
zum Bild Deployment of magnesium and aluminium

The high demands with regard to the crash behaviour of the front-end required several rounds of  optimisation in the design calculations. Despite the weight saving in the front-end, the DLR engineers were able to achieve excellent crash behaviour. The simulation results show that all the prescribed static and dynamic load conditions were met. Indeed, the crash behaviour improved in several respects. For example, the footwell intrusion in the DLR concept was 51 millimetres, in comparison to 100 millimetres in the reference design.

Potential for future electric vehicles

In line with the motto 'Let's get on the road', the SLC consortium did not present its forward-looking concept only on paper. The results are accessible to the public in a real prototype and provide authoritative inputs for future car body structures. Lightweight construction is a key technology for cars of the future, not just in regard to conventional means of propulsion but also for electric vehicles.


Contact
Julia Duwe
German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Stuttgart

Tel.: +49 711 6862-480

Fax: +49 711 6862-636


Dipl.-Ing. Gundolf Kopp
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Vehicle Concepts
, Leichtbau und Hybridbauweisen, Lightweight and Hybrid Design Methods
Tel.: +49 711 6862 593

Fax: +49 711 6862-258


Last update: 22/07/2009 09:49:14
All topics: News Archives

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Verkehr
News-Archiv Verkehr 2009

SuperLIGHT-CAR: Mit Leichtigkeit zum Automobil der Zukunft

17. Juli 2009

 

 Der SLC-Prototyp
zum Bild Der SLC-Prototyp

DLR-Vorderwagenkonzept ermöglicht 32 Prozent Gewichtseinsparung

Vier Jahre lang arbeiteten 37 führende Partner aus Forschung, Fahrzeug- und Zulieferindustrie aus neun europäischen Ländern im EU-Projekt "SuperLIGHT-CAR" (SLC) an leichten Karosserien für saubere Automobile der Zukunft. Jetzt stellten die Teilnehmer bei der Abschlusskonferenz die Ergebnisse vor und enthüllten zugleich einen Prototyp der neuen Leichtbaukarosserie. Mit der Vorderwagenstruktur, die eine Gewichtseinsparung von mehr als 30 Prozent erreicht, hat das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) einen maßgeblichen Anteil zum Gesamtkonzept beigesteuert.

Weniger Kraftstoffverbrauch, geringerer CO2-Ausstoß

 Video: SuperLIGHT-Car
zum Bild Video: SuperLIGHT-Car

Um in der Zukunft einen Beitrag zur Verbrauchs- und CO2-Reduzierung zu leisten, hatten sich die europäischen Projektpartner unter der Führung der Volkswagen AG im Jahr 2005 zum Ziel gesetzt, eine Gewichtsreduzierung in der Rohkarosserie von mindestens 30 Prozent zu erreichen – bezogen auf die Referenzstruktur des VW Golf V. Dies sollte bei gleich bleibender Sicherheit, unter Berücksichtigung der unterschiedlichen fahrzeugspezifischen Anforderungen wie zum Beispiel hoher Crashsicherheit und Steifigkeit sowie unter vertretbaren Mehrkosten für Produktionsstückzahlen von 1000 Fahrzeugen pro Tag erreicht werden.

Im Fokus stand dabei das so genannte Multi Material Design: Das richtige Leichtbaumaterial – Magnesium, Aluminium, Stahl, Faserverbundkunststoff – an der richtigen Stelle einzusetzen, war die Herausforderung. Mit einer Gewichtseinsparung von 35 Prozent beziehungsweise 180 Kilogramm bezogen auf die Referenzstruktur hat das SLC-Team nach vierjähriger Arbeit das ehrgeizige Ziel sogar übertroffen.

DLR-Institut für Fahrzeugkonzepte entwickelt Vorderwagenstruktur

 Entwicklung des SLC-Vorderwagenmodells
zum Bild Entwicklung des SLC-Vorderwagenmodells

Das Stuttgarter DLR-Institut für Fahrzeugkonzepte hat im EU-Projekt SLC die Vorderwagenstruktur aus Magnesium und Aluminium entwickelt und konnte damit 32 Prozent (24 Kilogramm) des Gewichts einsparen. Möglich wurde dieses Ergebnis durch den intelligenten Einsatz unterschiedlicher Werkstoffe in Mischbauweise.

Leicht durch Magnesium

Maßgeblichen Anteil an der Gewichtsreduzierung des Vorderwagens hat dabei ein hochintegriertes Magnesiumgussbauteil: Beim Federbeindom aus Magnesium werden mehr als 60 Prozent des Gewichts eingespart und zugleich etwa 12 Stahlbauteile in einem einzigen Gussbauteil vereint. Die hohe Gewichtseinsparung ergibt sich hierbei erstens aus dem "Konzeptleichtbau", bei dem in einem hochintegrierten Gussbauteil mehrere Funktionen und Teile integriert werden, zweitens aus dem "Stoffleichtbau" durch den Einsatz von Magnesium und drittens aus dem "Formleichtbau" und den daraus resultierenden geometrischen Optimierungen. Diese methodische Vorgehensweise legte die Basis der hohen Gewichtsreduzierung. Des Weiteren werden im Vorderwagen die vorderen Längsträger aus Aluminium mit so genannten Tailored Welded Blanks, Blechprofile in unterschiedlicher Wandstärke von 2,6 bis 3,8 Millimeter, ausgeführt, ein Vorteil für bessere mechanische Eigenschaften bei geringerem Bauteilgewicht.

 Magnesium und Aluminium im Einsatz
zum Bild Magnesium und Aluminium im Einsatz

Hohe Ansprüche an das Crashverhalten des Vorderwagens erforderten gleich mehrere Optimierungsrunden in der Berechnung. Trotz der Gewichtseinsparung im Vorderwagen konnten die DLR-Ingenieure ein exzellentes Crashverhalten erreichen. Die Ergebnisse der Simulationen zeigen, dass alle vorgegebenen statischen und dynamischen Lastfälle erfüllt werden. Das Crashverhalten verbesserte sich dabei gleich in mehreren Punkten, beispielsweise erreichte die Fußraum-Intrusion im DLR-Konzept 51 Millimeter im Vergleich zu 100 Millimetern bei der Referenz.

Potenzial für künftige Elektrofahrzeuge

Das SLC-Konsortium hat nach dem Motto "Wir wollen auf die Straße" das zukunftweisende Konzept nicht nur auf dem Papier dargestellt. Die Ergebnisse sind zugleich an einem realen Prototyp für die Öffentlichkeit zugänglich und geben maßgebliche Impulse für künftige Karosseriestrukturen. Leichtbau ist eine Schlüsseltechnologie für die Zukunft im Automobil, nicht nur bei konventionellen Antrieben, sondern auch bei künftigen Elektrofahrzeugen.


Kontakt
Julia Duwe
German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Stuttgart

Tel.: +49 711 6862-480

Fax: +49 711 6862-636


Dipl.-Ing. Gundolf Kopp
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Fahrzeugkonzepte

Tel.: +49 711 6862 593

Fax: +49 711 6862-258


Zuletzt geändert am: 21.07.2009 21:42:13 Uhr