DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Missions and more:Webcasts
Webcast Archive 2010

DLR Webcast: TanDEM-X - Earth observation in 3D

16 June 2010

At the Baikonur Cosmodrome in Kazakhstan, the final preparations for the launch of the German Earth observation satellite TanDEM-X (TerraSAR-X add-on for Digital Elevation Measurement) are under way. The launch is scheduled for Monday 21 June 2010, 04:14 CEST. In this webcast, TanDEM-X Project Manager Manfred Zink, from the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) Microwaves and Radar Institute, explains the different applications and scientific benefits of the mission.

 DLR-Webcast: TanDEM-X - Earth monitoring in 3D

TanDEM-X will fly in close formation with its sister satellite, TerraSAR-X, which has been in orbit since 2007. This formation flying will allow the acquisition of simultaneous radar images of Earth from different angles.

Over the next three years, the satellite duo TanDEM-X and TerraSAR-X will capture the entire land surface of Earth in 3D and provide data for a unique digital elevation model. Dr Zink explains the different applications of digital elevation models and their scientific benefits in the webcast.


Contact
Andrea Schaub
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2837

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Last update: 21/06/2010 05:18:58

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Missionen und mehr:Webcasts
Webcast Archive 2010

DLR-Webcast: TanDEM-X - Erdbeobachtung in 3D

16. Juni 2010

Am Weltraumbahnhof Baikonur in Kasachstan laufen die letzten Vorbereitungen zum Start des deutschen Erdbeobachtungssatelliten TanDEM-X (TerraSAR-X add-on for Digital Elevation Measurement). Der Start ins All ist für Montag, 21. Juni 2010, 04.14 Uhr (Mitteleuropäischer Sommerzeit) vorgesehen. TanDEM-X wird zusammen mit dem seit 2007 im All arbeitenden Satelliten TerraSAR-X in enger Formation fliegen. Dieser Formationsflug ermöglicht zeitgleiche Radaraufnahmen der Erde aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln.

 DLR-Webcast: TanDEM-X - Erdbeobachtung in 3D

Das Satelliten-Duo TanDEM-X und TerraSAR-X soll innerhalb der nächsten drei Jahre die komplette Landoberfläche der Erde (150 Millionen Quadratkilometer) in 3D erfassen und Daten für ein bislang weltweit einzigartiges digitales Höhenmodell liefern.

Wissenschaftler des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) steuern die Zwillingssatelliten und ihr Bodensegment. TanDEM-X-Projektleiter Dr. Manfred Zink erläutert im DLR-Webcast die unterschiedlichen Anwendungsbereiche des Digitalen Höhenmodells und den wissenschaftliche Nutzen der Mission.


Kontakt
Andrea Schaub
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2837

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Zuletzt geändert am: 21.06.2010 05:18:02 Uhr