DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Portal News
News Archive 2010

TerraSAR-X image of the month: Mexico City

21 May 2010

Mexico City is one of the most densely populated cities in the world. Water is in short supply there and increasing amounts of groundwater are being extracted to meet the needs. For the last four months, the German Aerospace Center's (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) radar satellite, TerraSAR-X, has been imaging the city from space. Amongst other things, the images show that even within this imaging period, the ground has sunk by as much as 10 centimetres in some places as a result of the water extraction.

The areas of the Mexican capital in which TerraSAR-X has recorded the greatest changes in ground level are coloured dark red. The green areas are those in which no change has been detected via the superposition of the radar images between 20 September 2009 and 30 January 2010. "What is particularly noticeable even to anyone on a short visit is the subsidence in the city centre, where two of its most famous landmarks, the Bellas Artes Opera House and the cathedral in the main square, are sinking rapidly," says Michael Schmidt, coordinator at Conobio, the National Commission for the Exploration and Use of Biodiversity, in Mexico City. "When you look at the cathedral from the front, you can immediately spot that it is leaning."

 TerraSAR-X image of the month: Mexico City
zum Bild TerraSAR-X image of the month: Mexico City

Built on fine-grained sediment

One of the triggers of extreme subsidence is the extraction of  groundwater. The city stands on the fine-grained sediment of a former lake. When water is extracted from the soil via a well, the subterranean volume is reduced. "Even if pumping stopped and the sedimentary layers absorbed moisture again, they would not return to their original thickness," says geologist Christian Minet of the DLR Institute for Remote Sensing Methodology. Instead, steep and deep  groundwater funnels would be formed in the Mexican capital - with the result that various districts in the city would subside. This means that at its front, over the fine-grained marine sediment, the cathedral is sinking, but, on the other hand, the rear part is standing on parts of a former Aztec temple.

 Cathedral in Mexico City
zum Bild Cathedral in Mexico City

Few alternatives are available to the nearly 17.6 million inhabitants of the metropolitan area. The city is situated on a plateau at an altitude of 2300 metres and is encircled by mountains such as Popocatepetl. So water has to be pumped across the high volcanic chain into the valleys. Seventy percent of the inhabitants of the capital city are supplied with water from under the ground. Not everyone, however, suffers from a water shortage. "The rich parts of the city are supplied as a matter of priority, so that any districts containing embassies, businesses and select residential areas hardly ever experience any water shortages," says Michael Schmidt. "The upper-middle class and the upper class often experience water shortages only indirectly, such as when their staff do not turn up, because they have no water for washing themselves in the morning." Some parts of the city are still being supplied with water only four days a week on average.

Radar image in 'wide-angle mode'

Particularly in built-up areas, TerraSAR-X is able to obtain good measurement results. For example, the non-coloured areas on the radar image are open spaces that change over time as a result of vegetation or movement. To create this an image, the TerraSAR-X radar equipment was operated in a special ‘wide-angle mode’, the 'ScanSAR mode', in which a strip of land 100 kilometres wide can be depicted in one piece. As the radar is usually capable of 'illuminating' a significantly smaller area of land – about 30 kilometres across, a special trick has to be used in order to obtain a greater strip width. For this purpose, the radar beam is repeatedly swung from short to long range, so that, first of all, a small area measuring 25 × 3 kilometres is illuminated at close range. Then, more distant areas - offset by 25 kilometres – are illuminated, until four partial strips of the image have been scanned. The process is then repeated. Finally, a montage is produced from the individual scenes. The cost of the larger scene is a reduction in resolution from three metres to sixteen metres, but this causes no restrictions for numerous applications. Such a recording mode is made possible by the electronically steered phased-array antenna, which facilitates the rapid and inertia-free movement of the radar beam.

The image of Mexico City was created by means of a refined scanning method known as Terrain Observation by Progressive Scans (TOPS) mode, which avoids the weakness of the classic ScanSAR – the varying illumination of individual surface patches. The result is an image without any variations in brightness. Numerous applications, especially in oceanography, will profit from this enhancement, including the improved recognition of ships, for example, and the detection of wave patterns and oil slicks at sea. With TerraSAR-X, the TOPS procedure could be demonstrated for the first time from space. Investigations into further refinements of the procedure are being conducted at DLR's Microwaves and Radar Institute as part of a study for the European Space Agency (ESA). Its aim is to implement the standard TOPS mode in ESA's Sentinel-1 satellite, which is planned for launch in 2012.

The TerraSAR-X mission

TerraSAR-X is the first German satellite that has been manufactured under what is known as a Public-Private Partnership between DLR and Astrium GmbH in Friedrichshafen. The satellite travels around Earth in a polar orbit and records unique, high-quality X-band radar data about the entire planet using its active antenna. TerraSAR-X works regardless of weather conditions, cloud cover or the absence of daylight and is able to provide radar data with a resolution down to one metre.

DLR is responsible for using TerraSAR-X data for scientific purposes. It is also responsible for planning and implementing the mission as well as controlling the satellite. Astrium built the satellite and shares the costs of developing and using it. Infoterra GmbH, a subsidiary company founded specifically for this purpose by Astrium, is responsible for marketing the data commercially.


Contact
Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Dr.-Ing. Pau Prats
German Aerospace Center

Microwaves and Radar Institute
, SAR Technology
Tel.: +49 8153 28-2684

Fax: +49 8153 28-1449


Christian Minet
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Remote Sensing Technology Institute
, SAR Signal Processing
Tel.: +49 8153 28-3323

Fax: +49 8153 28-1420


Last update: 25/05/2010 15:32:11
All topics: News Archives

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Webnews
News-Archiv 2010

TerraSAR-X-Bild des Monats: Mexico City

21. Mai 2010

Mexico City gehört zu den bevölkerungsreichsten Metropolen der Welt. Knapp ist dabei vor allem das Wasser - und so wird das Grundwasser immer mehr angezapft. Der Radarsatellit TerraSAR-X des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) hat mit einem Abstand von vier Monaten die Stadt aus dem Weltall aufgezeichnet. Die Aufnahme zeigt: Allein innerhalb dieser Zeit senkte sich der Boden unter anderem durch Grundwasserentnahme stellenweise um zehn Zentimeter.

Dunkelrot eingefärbt sind die Bereiche der mexikanischen Hauptstadt, in denen TerraSAR-X die größten Veränderungen der Bodenhöhe verzeichnete. Die grünen Einfärbungen zeigen Gebiete, in denen bei der Überlagerung der beiden Radar-Aufnahmen vom 20. September 2009 und dem 30. Januar 2010 keine Veränderung festgestellt wurde. "Besonders auffällig für den Kurzbesucher wird die Absenkung im Zentrum der Stadt, wo zwei der Wahrzeichen, das Opernhaus Bellas Artes und die Kathedrale am Hauptplatz, sich massiv senken", sagt Michael Schmidt, Koordinator bei Conobio, der Nationalen Kommission für die Erforschung und Nutzung der Biodiversität, in Mexico City. "Bei der Frontalansicht auf die Kathedrale fällt sofort deren Neigung ins Auge."

 TerraSAR-X-Bild des Monats: Mexico City
zum Bild TerraSAR-X-Bild des Monats: Mexico City

Auf feinkörnigen Sedimenten gebaut

Auslöser für die extreme Absenkung ist unter anderem die Grundwasserentnahme. Die Stadt steht auf feinkörnigen Sedimenten eines ehemaligen Sees - wird über einen Brunnen Wasser aus dem Erdreich entnommen, verringert sich das Volumen des Untergrunds. "Selbst wenn man mit dem Pumpen aufhören würde, würden die verfestigten Sedimentschichten zwar wieder Feuchtigkeit aufnehmen, sie würden aber nicht mehr ihre ursprüngliche Dicke erreichen", sagt Diplomgeologe Christian Minet vom DLR-Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung. Stattdessen hätten sich in der mexikanischen Hauptstadt steile und tiefe Grundwassertrichter gebildet - mit der Folge, dass verschiedene Stadtbezirke sich absenken. Für die Kathedrale beispielsweise bedeutet dies: Vorne, über den feinkörnigen Seesedimenten, sackt das Gebäude ab, der hintere Teil hingegen steht auf Teilen eines ehemaligen Aztekentempels.

 Kathedrale in Mexico City
zum Bild Kathedrale in Mexico City

Doch den fast 17,6 Millionen Einwohnern in der so genannten metropolitanischen Zone stehen nicht viele Alternativen zur Verfügung. Die Stadt liegt in einem Hochtal auf 2300 Metern Höhe und ist umringt von Bergen wie dem Popocatepetl. So müsste das Wasser über die hohe Vulkankette in den Talkessel gepumpt werden. Zu 70 Prozent versorgen sich die Hauptstadtbewohner mit Wasser aus dem Untergrund. Zu spüren bekommt die Wasserknappheit aber nicht jeder: "Die reichen Stadtviertel werden vorrangig beliefert, so dass Viertel mit Botschaften, Firmen und gehobene Wohnlagen kaum Wassermangel verspüren", sagt Michael Schmidt. "Die obere Mittelschicht und Oberschicht bekommen den Wassermangel oft nur indirekt zu spüren, wenn nämlich ihr Dienstpersonal nicht erscheint, weil sie am Morgen kein Wasser haben, um sich zu waschen." So gebe es Stadtviertel, die im Durchschnitt nur noch an vier Tagen in der Woche mit Wasser versorgt seien.

Radaraufnahme im "Weitwinkelmodus"

Vor allem bei bebauten Gebieten kann der TerraSAR-X-Satellit gute Messergebnisse erzielen. Die nicht eingefärbten Bereiche auf der Radar-Aufnahme sind beispielsweise Grünflächen, die sich über die Zeit durch Bewuchs oder Bewegung verändern. Zur Erzeugung des vorliegenden Bildes wurde das Radarinstrument von TerraSAR-X in einem speziellen "Weitwinkelmodus", dem "ScanSAR-Modus", betrieben, in dem man einen Geländestreifen von 100 Kilometern Breite am Stück abbilden kann. Da das Radar normalerweise nur in der Lage ist, einen wesentlich kleineren Teilbereich von etwa 30 Kilometern "auszuleuchten", muss ein besonderer Trick angewendet werden, um die größere Streifenbreite zu erlangen. Hierzu wird der Radarstrahl wiederholt vom Nah- zum Fernbereich geschwenkt, so dass zunächst ein kleiner Fleck der Größe 25 mal 3 Kilometer im Nahbereich beleuchtet wird. Anschließend wird Fleck nach Fleck in 25 Kilometer versetzt dazu ausgeleuchtet, bis vier Teilstreifen des Bildes "abgescannt" wurden. Dann beginnt der Vorgang von vorne. Schließlich ergibt sich in Summe ein "Fleckenteppich" aus beleuchteten Einzelszenen. Der Preis der größeren Szene ist eine von drei Meter auf 16 Meter reduzierte Auflösung, die aber für viele Anwendungen keine Einschränkung darstellt. Möglich ist dieser Aufnahmemodus durch die elektronisch gesteuerte Phased Array Antenne, die das schnelle und trägheitslose Schwenken des Radarstrahls ermöglicht.

Das Bild von Mexico City wurde mit einer verfeinerten Schwenkmethode erzeugt, die als TOPS-Mode (Terrain Observation by Progressive Scans) bekannt ist und Schwächen des klassischen ScanSAR, einer ungleichmäßigen Ausleuchtung der einzelnen Teilflächen, vermeidet. Das Resultat ist ein Bild ohne Helligkeitsschwankungen. Viele Anwendungen, vor allem in der Ozeanografie, werden von dieser Verbesserung profitieren - dazu gehören zum Beispiel eine verbesserte Schiffserkennung und die Detektion von Wellenmustern und Ölteppichen auf den Ozeanen. Mit TerraSAR-X konnte das TOPS-Verfahren zum ersten Mal aus dem Weltraum demonstriert werden. Die Untersuchungen zur weiteren Verfeinerung des Verfahrens werden am Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme des DLR im Rahmen einer Studie für die europäische Weltraumorganisation ESA durchgeführt. Ziel ist die standardmäßige Implementierung des TOPS-Mode in den Sentinel-1-Satelliten der ESA, der 2012 starten wird.

Die Mission TerraSAR-X

TerraSAR-X ist der erste deutsche Satellit, der im Rahmen einer so genannten Public Private Partnership (PPP) zwischen dem Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und der EADS Astrium GmbH realisiert wurde. Der Satellit umkreist die Erde auf einem polaren Orbit. Dabei nimmt er mit seiner aktiven Antenne neue und hochwertige X-Band-Radardaten der gesamten Erde auf. TerraSAR-X arbeitet unabhängig von Wetterbedingungen, Wolkenbedeckung und Tageslicht und ist in der Lage, Radardaten mit einer Auflösung von bis zu einem Meter zu liefern.
Das DLR ist verantwortlich für die wissenschaftliche Nutzung der TerraSAR-X-Daten. Das DLR ist weiterhin verantwortlich für die Planung und Durchführung der Mission sowie für die Steuerung des Satelliten. Astrium hat den Satelliten gebaut und ist an den Kosten für die Entwicklung und Nutzung beteiligt. Die Infoterra GmbH, ein eigens zu diesem Zwecke gegründetes Tochterunternehmen von Astrium, ist verantwortlich für die kommerzielle Vermarktung der TerraSAR-X-Daten.


Kontakt
Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Weltraum

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Dr.-Ing. Pau Prats
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Hochfrequenztechnik und Radarsysteme
, SAR Technologie
Tel.: +49 8153 28-2684

Fax: +49 8153 28-1449


Christian Minet
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung
, SAR-Signalverarbeitung
Tel.: +49 8153 28-3323

Fax: +49 8153 28-1420


Zuletzt geändert am: 25.05.2010 14:33:37 Uhr