DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Sites:Berlin
News Archive 2009

Building for living the Moon – Lunar Base Symposium in Kaiserslautern

12 May 2009

 Vision for a station on the Moon
zum Bild Vision for a station on the Moon

Scientists from various disciplines share their visions for a Moon base

At the Lunar Base Symposium held on 12 and 13 May 2009 in Kaiserslautern, Germany, scientists and engineers from space-travel related disciplines as well as civil engineers, process engineers and architects discussed how a permanent and habitable base on the Moon might look. The organisers of the symposium were the Technical University of Kaiserslautern (Technische Universität Kaiserslautern) and the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR). Around 40 years after the first time and 37 years after the last time astronauts landed on the Moon, this satellite of Earth has once again entered the spotlight of space research. The large space-faring nations are planning a manned return to the Moon and the construction of Moon bases.

Planets, comets and asteroids in our Solar System are currently being explored by various unmanned missions. Astronauts could follow these probes and robots, for example to our neighbouring planet, Mars. The starting point for these missions into space is to be the Moon. NASA is currently planning to return to the Moon with astronauts. Professor Dr Johann-Dietrich Wörner, Chairman of the Executive Board of the DLR, says about the importance of the Moon to space travel: "The Moon is, in the truest sense of the word, a nearby destination on which we can test how we as humans can expand our sphere in space beyond Earth and Earth's orbit. If astronauts are expected to return to the Moon and stay there for a longer period of time, the question at once arises of how a base on the Moon might look and by what means its construction could be realised technically."

 Exchange of ideas between a range of scientific disciplines
zum Bild Exchange of ideas between a range of scientific disciplines

Exchange of ideas for innovations on Earth

Complete solutions were not expected at the Lunar Base Symposium. Rather, the aim was to facilitate a professional and creative exchange between different scientific fields. Professor Wörner makes the assumption that: "Similar to what happened with the Apollo programme, a Moon base or a manned flight to Mars would lead to a huge wave of innovation on Earth. The exchange of ideas concerning building on the Moon is already providing impetus for innovations, for example in the area of materials research and folding lightweight structures."

Moon exploration: Knowing the most favourable location

If astronauts are to build a base station to accommodate humans on the Moon, they must know which location is the most favourable. One focus of the symposium was therefore the exploration of the Moon. A precondition for future landings on the Moon is having more exact information about the topography and the geology of the Moon. Only in this way can Moon researchers determine the location that provides the maximum level of safety for the astronauts and at the same time shows potential for the investigation of the Moon. In addition, the Moon researchers will explore the surface of the Moon with regard to existing resources and building materials so that the station is constructed as efficiently and durably as possible.

 Missions to explore the Moon's surface
zum Bild Missions to explore the Moon's surface

Missions to the Moon

Recently, China, India and Japan have sent exploratory satellites to the Moon. The USA's Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter will be launched this year. Unmanned landing missions are being planned for the near future by the countries mentioned above and also by Great Britain and the European Space Agency (ESA). These missions will explore the Moon, including in their tasks the gathering of data needed for the selection of a place for astronauts to stay on the Moon. An accurate topographical map of the Moon is required and its internal structure must be studied as well. The big question about the formation of the Moon and its early development is still interesting from a scientific point of view. In addition, the Moon's surface is a unique archive of the early development of the Solar System. This is a motivator for the current exploration missions of the space-faring nations of Japan, India, China and the USA.

Survival in a hostile environment

 View of the Earth across the surface of the Moon
zum Bild View of the Earth across the surface of the Moon

Another challenge when building a base on the Moon will be the creation and maintenance of a living space for the astronauts in the hostile environment there. The astronauts must, for example, be shielded from high-energy radiation arriving from space – from which we are protected on Earth by the Earth's magnetic field. The researchers also have their eye on the extremely fine and powdery moon dust that was found on the spacesuits of the Apollo astronauts. Aerospace doctors see a potential danger in the moon dust entering the lungs of the astronauts and leading to health problems. All of these conditions on the Moon's surface, many of which still have to be researched in detail, have an impact on the way that a Moon base will be built. A first step for a task that is as complex as building a Moon base is thus bringing together scientists and engineers from different disciplines, who are able to throw light on the topic from different angles and identify further research needs.


Contact
Dorothee Bürkle
German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Editor, Energy

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3492

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Dr. Roswitha Grümann
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Head of Department, European Space Politics and Special Affairs

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2354

Fax: +49 2203 601-3906


Last update: 20/05/2009 09:18:46

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Standorte:Berlin
News-Archiv 2009

Bauen für ein Leben auf dem Mond - Symposium Lunar Base in Kaiserslautern

12. Mai 2009

 Visionen für eine Station auf dem Mond
zum Bild Visionen für eine Station auf dem Mond

Wissenschaftler aus unterschiedlichen Disziplinen über ihre Visionen für eine Mondstation

Beim Symposium Lunar Base diskutieren am 12. und 13. Mai 2009 in Kaiserslautern Wissenschaftler und Ingenieure aus Raumfahrtdisziplinen aber auch Bauingenieure, Verfahrenstechniker und Architekten, wie eine permanente und bewohnbare Station auf dem Mond aussehen könnte. Organisatoren des Symposiums sind die TU Kaiserslautern und das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR). 40 Jahre nach der ersten und 37 Jahre nach der letzten Landung von Astronauten auf dem Mond, ist der Erdtrabant wieder in den Fokus der Weltraumforschung gerückt. Die großen Raumfahrtnationen planen die bemannte Rückkehr zum Mond und den Aufbau von Mondstationen.

Planeten, Kometen und Asteroiden in unserem Sonnensystem werden derzeit mit verschiedenen unbemannten Missionen erkundet. Diesen Sonden und Robotern könnten Astronauten folgen, zum Beispiel zu unserem Nachbarplaneten Mars. Als Ausgangspunkt für Missionen ins All gilt dabei der Mond. So plant die NASA derzeit die Rückkehr zum Mond mit Astronauten. Professor Dr. Johann-Dietrich Wörner, Vorstandsvorsitzender des DLR, sagt über die Bedeutung des Erdtrabanten für die Raumfahrt: "Der Mond ist im wahrsten Sinne des Wortes das nahe liegende Ziel, an dem wir erproben können, wie wir als Menschen unseren Wirkungskreis jenseits der Erde und der Erdumlaufbahn im Weltall erweitern können. Wenn tatsächlich Astronauten zum Mond zurückkehren und über einen längeren Zeitraum bleiben sollen, stellt sich sogleich die Frage, wie eine Station auf dem Mond aussehen könnte und mit welchen Mitteln ihr Aufbau technisch realisierbar wäre."

 Ideenaustausch unterschiedlicher Wissenschaftsdisziplinen
zum Bild Ideenaustausch unterschiedlicher Wissenschaftsdisziplinen

Ideenaustausch für Innovationen auf der Erde

Fertige Lösungen werden beim Symposium Lunar Base nicht erwartet. Es geht vielmehr um den fachlichen und kreativen Austausch der unterschiedlichen Wissenschaftsdisziplinen. Prof. Wörner geht davon aus: "Ähnlich wie beim Apollo-Programm würde eine Mondstation oder ein bemannter Flug zum Mars zu einem enormen Innovationsschub auf der Erde führen. Schon jetzt gibt der Ideenaustausch zum Bauen auf dem Mond Impulse für Innovationen zum Beispiel in der Materialforschung oder bei Falt-Leichtbaukonstruktionen."

Mondexploration: Wissen, wo der günstigste Ort ist

Wenn Astronauten eine Basisstation für den Aufenthalt von Menschen auf dem Mond aufbauen sollen, müssen sie wissen, wo der geeignete Ort dafür ist. Ein Schwerpunkt des Symposiums ist daher die Exploration des Mondes. Voraussetzungen für zukünftige Mondlandungen sind genauere Informationen über die Topographie und Geologie des Mondes. Nur so können die Mondforscher den Ort festlegen, der sowohl ein Maximum an Sicherheit für die Astronauten bietet, als auch vielversprechend für die Erforschung des Mondes ist. Außerdem erkunden die Mondforscher die Oberfläche des Erdtrabanten bezüglich vorhandener Ressourcen und Baustoffe, für einen möglichst effektiven und dauerhaften Bau einer Station.

 Missionen zur Erforschung der Mondoberfläche
zum Bild Missionen zur Erforschung der Mondoberfläche

Missionen zum Mond

Kürzlich haben China, Indien und Japan Erkundungssatelliten zum Mond geschickt. Der amerikanische Lunar Reconaissance Orbiter wird dieses Jahr starten. Unbemannte Landemissionen sind für die nahe Zukunft von den genannten Ländern aber auch von Großbritannien und der ESA geplant. Diese Missionen werden den Mond erkunden, auch im Hinblick auf einen neuerlichen Aufenthalt von Astronauten auf dem Mond. Benötigt wird eine genaue thematische Kartierung des Monds aber auch eine Erforschung seines inneren Aufbaus. Wissenschaftlich interessant ist nach wie vor die große Frage nach der Entstehung des Monds und seiner frühen Entwicklung. Außerdem ist die Mondoberfläche ist ein einzigartiges Archiv der frühen Entwicklung des Sonnensystems. Das ist eine Motivation für die derzeitigen Explorationsmissionen der Raumfahrtnationen Japan, Indien China und den USA.

Lebenserhaltung in lebensfeindlicher Umgebung

 Blick über die Mondoberfläche auf die Erde
zum Bild Blick über die Mondoberfläche auf die Erde

Ebenfalls eine Herausforderung beim Bau einer Station auf dem Mond wird die Erschaffung und Erhaltung von Lebensraum für die Astronauten in der lebensfeindlichen Umgebung sein. So müssen die Astronauten von der Weltraumstrahlung, der hochenergetischen Gammastrahlung, abgeschirmt werden. Auf der Erde schützen uns davor das Erdmagnetfeld und die Erdatmosphäre, in der die Gammastrahlen beim Eindringen zu Teilchen niedrigerer Energie zerstrahlen. Im Visier der Forscher ist auch der extrem feine und pulverige Mondstaub, der auf den Raumanzügen der Apolloastronauten gefunden wurde. Raumfahrtmediziner sehen die Gefahr, dass dieser Mondstaub in die Lungen der Astronauten eindringen und zu Gesundheitsproblemen führen könnte. All diese Bedingungen auf der Mondoberfläche, von denen es viele noch näher zu erforschen gilt, haben Auswirkungen auf die Bauweise einer Mondstation. Ein erster Schritt bei einer so komplexen Aufgabe wie dem Bau einer Mondstation, ist daher das Zusammenbringen von Wissenschaftlern und Ingenieuren verschiedener Disziplinen, die das Thema aus verschiedenen Blickwinkeln beleuchten und den weiteren Forschungsbedarf identifizieren.


Kontakt
Dorothee Bürkle
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Energie

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3492

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Dr. Roswitha Grümann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Leiterin, Europäische Raumfahrtpolitik und Sonderaufgaben

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2354

Fax: +49 2203 601-3906


Prof. Dr.-Ing. Jürgen Schnell
TU Kaiserslautern, Fachgebiet Massivbau und Baukonstruktion

Tel.: +49 631 205-2157

Fax: +49 631 205-3555


Zuletzt geändert am: 19.05.2009 10:22:18 Uhr