DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Sites:Berlin
News Archive 2009

NASA Orbiter mission to the Moon scheduled to launch on 18 June 2009

16 June 2009

DLR is supporting two groups of German researchers – to provide a data platform for future missions

 NASA Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter (LRO) over the lunar surface
zum Bild NASA Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter (LRO) over the lunar surface

Almost 40 years after the first manned Moon landing of Apollo 11 with Neil Armstrong and Edwin 'Buzz' Aldrin, the NASA motto has been: 'Back to the Moon'. No astronauts are going to be landing on this occasion of course. Instead, an unmanned probe carrying seven high-tech instruments will be orbiting Earth's satellite for at least one year at an altitude of 50 kilometres. The Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter (LRO) is scheduled to launch from the World Space Station at Cape Canaveral in Florida on Thursday, 18 June 2009 at 23:12 Central European Time (CET).

The 'launch window' during which the mission can get under way remains open until 21 June 2009. The transfer time to the Moon will last about four days. The aim of this mission is to research important details of the Moon to hitherto unachieved standards of measuring precision. The results will be of great value to science as well as to manned missions at a later date. On this Moon mission, the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is supporting two groups of German researchers, one from Berlin and one from Münster. The costs for this NASA mission run to about US$680 million (which equates to roughly €483 million). Germany will be contributing somewhere in the region of €600 000 to the venture.

Scientists from Berlin and Münster are involved on this US mission to the Moon

The Moon mission will launch on a powerful Atlas V rocket. The 'virtual crew' for this mission will include two scientists from Germany and their support staff. The German side will be led by the team of Prof. Jürgen Oberst, from the DLR Institute for Planetary Research in Berlin and the Technical University in Berlin. His research group will be placing their specialist knowledge in the field of geophysical and geodetic interpretation at the service of the mission, primarily for the data generated by LOLA, the Lunar Orbiter Laser Altimeter.

The scientists from Münster are eagerly awaiting the first results from the Moon mission, especially Prof. Harald Hiesinger from the Institute for Planetology at the Westphalian Wilhelms-Universität in Münster. He and his colleagues are delivering their expertise to the field of geological image data evaluation and age determination to the NASA team, specifically for the images to be recorded by the Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter Camera (or ELROC), on which Prof. Hiesinger is the only German scientist to be involved (as a 'Co-Investigator').

Lunar maps urgently need to be improved

It is fairly staggering to consider that, even 40 years after the Apollo era, mapping of the Moon should still be at a less advanced stage than that of the vastly more distant planet Mars. For future missions to the Moon, including manned ones – for example, in relation to research projects in the fields of physics and astronomy, or as a first stage for later missions to Mars – you need to have high-resolution images, precise to the nearest metre, and accurate maps of potential landing sites which should, if possible, also provide information about usable resources.

 The Moon is now the focal point of planetary research
zum Bild The Moon is now the focal point of planetary research

Of particular interest to lunar researchers are the virtually unknown areas at the north and south poles of the Moon, which are either at a high elevation where they are exposed to constant sunlight or which are in permanent darkness. Deep craters, into which virtually no light ever penetrates, may possibly contain small amounts of water ice. For future astronauts, water on the Moon would be a raw material of inestimable value, since they could then save at least some of the trouble and cost of taking water and fuel from the Earth.

One tenth of the Moon’s surface to a resolution of half a metre

There are also still some large areas on the far side of the Moon that have yet to be properly documented. This is because the Moon takes as long to rotate around its own axis as it does to complete one orbit of Earth, meaning that its far side cannot ever be observed from Earth. This NASA moon mission will therefore be recording at least ten percent of the surface of the Moon, especially in the two polar regions, to an image resolution standard of half a metre per pixel.

"During the preparations for the forthcoming NASA mission to the Moon, we have been involved in a selection of observation objectives", explains Prof. Oberst when outlining the role of his Berlin-based team. "Once the first measurements reach Earth, we will be assisting the science team with calibration of the cameras and the laser altimeter. We will also be collaborating on correction of the raw data". Prof. Oberst runs the Planetary Geodesy Department (measurement and mapping of planetary bodies) at the Berlin-based DLR Institute for Planetary Research (Institut für Planetenforschung). Among other things, this specialises in the evaluation of the stereo image data used to create digital terrain models.

Prof. Oberst and his team will also be striving to identify, and perform precision measurements of, the landing sites used by previous missions to the Moon. The laser reflectors and radio antennas left behind by the Apollo astronauts are important terrain marker points with precisely known coordinates and these effectively define the Moon coordinate system. The data from the LROC Moon camera and the LOLA Lunar Orbiter Laser Altimeter will deliver the basis for a revised coordinate system for the Moon. "With these new measurements of the Moon, we will be better able to calculate topographical lunar maps, free of distortion", states Prof. Oberst in excited anticipation of the first measurements from the lunar probe. These supply an important platform in the search for suitable landing sites for future lunar missions, especially with regard to water ice in craters at the polar regions.

 Logo of the LRO mission
zum Bild Logo of the LRO mission

The scientists from Münster are looking forward with great anticipation to results from the NASA mission to the Moon: "After more than five years of intensive preparation and planning, we are now ready for a new and exciting chapter in lunar research which will show the Moon in an entirely new light", states Prof. Hiesinger, the person in charge of geological planetology in Münster. "With this extremely high resolution, we will even be able to detect the small craters which have formed on the Moon's surface since the Apollo era. By comparing the Apollo images with the images from the new lunar camera, we will obtain a significantly better understanding of the current rate of meteor strikes", states Prof. Hiesinger with pleasure. "At the end of the day, these new data will enable us to produce high-precision estimates of the age of the Moon’s surface and to establish its mineralogical-geochemical composition – an essential prerequisite for our understanding of the geological and thermal development of the Moon. To a certain extent, we will be putting the Moon under the LROC magnifying glass and will definitely be teasing out new scientific insights, including the question of whether water ice can exist at the poles", adds Prof. Hiesinger.

Artificial impact on the Moon to provide information about the possibility of water ice existing there

Together with the lunar orbiter, an impact body known as the Lunar CRater Observation and Sensing Satellite (LCROSS) will also be setting out on this journey to the Moon. This impact body, weighing about one ton, is expected to separate from the lunar orbiter about four months after the launch date and then plummet down to the Moon's surface, first sending back images of the impact zone of the upper stage of the Atlas Centaur carrier rocket using its on-board cameras and other measuring equipment, before then hitting the Moon itself four minutes later and disintegrating. The aim of this manoeuvre is to induce an artificial impact, which will cause blast rock debris to be blown upwards from the surface of the Moon. This collision impact is expected to send up a cloud of rocky Moon minerals to an altitude of some five to ten kilometres and these may contain clues about the presence of water ice, which can be detected using spectroscopy. The ‘dust cloud’ from this collision impact will probably also be visible
from Earth and can be observed using ground-based telescopes.

The Moon is once again the crucible for planetary research

Fifty years after first being explored by probes, the Moon is regaining international stature as a research objective. Back in 1959, the former Soviet Union sent three spacecraft to the Moon. The Moon mission being planned by NASA will be in a synchronous lunar orbit with the Indian Moon mission Chandrayaan-1, which launched in October 2008. Last week, on 11 June 2009, and following successful completion of its mission, the Japanese probe Kaguya, launched in October 2007, was finally deliberately crashed into the southern Earth-facing side of the Moon. The Chinese Moon mission Chang'e-1 was also launched in October 2007 and disintegrated on the lunar surface on 1 March 2009.


Contact
Eduard Müller
German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Editor Printings

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2805

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Prof.Dr. Jürgen Oberst
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Planetary Research
, Planetary Geodesy
Tel.: +49 30 67055-336

Fax: +49 30 67055-402


Ulrich Köhler
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Planetary Research
, Planning and Common Management
Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402


Prof. Dr. Harald Hiesinger
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

Institut für Planetologie

Tel.: +49 251 83-39057

Fax: +49 251 83-36301


Last update: 25/06/2009 23:54:33

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Standorte:Berlin
News-Archiv 2009

NASA-Orbitermission zum Mond soll am 18. Juni 2009 starten

16. Juni 2009

DLR fördert zwei deutsche Forschergruppen – Datengrundlage für zukünftige Missionen

 NASA-Mondorbiter 'Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter' über der Mondoberfläche
zum Bild NASA-Mondorbiter "Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter" über der Mondoberfläche

Fast genau 40 Jahre nach der ersten bemannten Mondlandung von Apollo 11 mit Neil Armstrong und Edwin "Buzz" Aldrin heißt es für die NASA: "Back to the Moon". Zwar werden jetzt keine Astronauten landen – dafür wird aber eine unbemannte Sonde mit sieben High-Tech-Instrumenten den Erdtrabanten in 50 Kilometern Höhe mindestens ein Jahr lang umkreisen. Starten soll der Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter (LRO) vom Weltraumbahnhof Cape Canaveral in Florida am Donnerstag, den 18. Juni 2009 um 23.12 Uhr Mitteleuropäischer Zeit.

Das so genannte Startfenster, in dem die Mission starten kann, ist bis zum 21. Juni 2009 offen. Der Transfer zum Mond wird etwa vier Tage dauern. Ziel der Mission ist es, mit bisher unerreichter Messgenauigkeit wichtige Details des Mondes zu erforschen, die zum einen für die Wissenschaft, aber auch für spätere bemannte Missionen von großer Bedeutung sein werden. Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) fördert bei dieser Mondmission zwei deutsche Forschergruppen, eine aus Berlin und eine aus Münster. Die Kosten für die NASA-Mission belaufen sich auf rund 680 Millionen US-Dollar (entspricht etwa 483 Millionen Euro), Deutschland beteiligt sich daran mit rund 600.000 Euro.

Wissenschaftler aus Berlin und Münster an der US-Mondmission beteiligt

Gestartet wird die Mondmission mit einer schubstarken Atlas V-Rakete. Quasi "mit an Bord" sind zwei Wissenschaftler aus Deutschland und ihre Mitarbeiter. Auf deutscher Seite beteiligt ist erstens das Team von Prof. Jürgen Oberst vom DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung in Berlin beziehungsweise der Technischen Universität Berlin. Seine Forschungsgruppe stellt ihr Fachwissen auf dem Gebiet der geophysikalischen und geodätischen Interpretation in den Dienst der Mission, hauptsächlich für die Daten des Laser-Höhenmessers LOLA (Lunar Orbiter Laser Altimeter).

Auch die Wissenschaftler aus Münster erwarten gespannt die ersten Ergebnisse der Mondmission, insbesondere Prof. Harald Hiesinger vom Institut für Planetologie der Westfälischen Wilhelms-Universität Münster. Er und seine Kollegen bringen ihre Expertise auf dem Gebiet der geologischen Bilddatenauswertung und Altersbestimmung in das NASA-Team ein, und zwar für die Aufnahmen der Mondkamera LROC (Lunar Reconnaissance Orbiter Camera), an der Hiesinger als einziger deutscher Wissenschaftler (Co-Investigator) beteiligt ist.

Mondkarten müssen dringend verbessert werden

Es ist verblüffend, dass selbst 40 Jahre nach der Apollo-Ära die Kartierung des Mondes weit weniger fortgeschritten ist als die des deutlich weiter entfernten Planeten Mars. Für zukünftige, auch bemannte Missionen zum Mond – zum Beispiel hinsichtlich von Forschungsvorhaben in der Physik und in der Astronomie, oder als erste Basis späterer Missionen zum Mars – braucht man hoch auflösende, metergenaue Bilder und präzise Karten von potenziellen Landeplätzen, die nach Möglichkeit auch noch nutzbare Ressourcen bieten sollen.

 Der Mond im Blickpunkt der Planetenforschung
zum Bild Der Mond im Blickpunkt der Planetenforschung

Besonders interessant für die Mondforscher sind noch fast völlig unbekannte Gebiete am Nord- und Südpol des Mondes, die entweder hoch gelegen und deshalb ständigem Sonnenlicht ausgesetzt sind oder sich in permanenter Dunkelheit befinden. Tiefe Krater, in die nie ein Lichtstrahl dringt, können vielleicht kleine Mengen von Wasser-Eis enthalten. Für zukünftige Astronauten wäre Wasser auf dem Mond ein Rohstoff von unschätzbarem Wert; man könnte sich die mühevolle und kostspielige Mitnahme von Wasser und Treibstoffen von der Erde ganz oder teilweise ersparen.

Ein Zehntel der Mondoberfläche in einer Auflösung von einem halben Meter

Auch große Gebiete auf der Mondrückseite sind noch immer nicht gut dokumentiert – weil der Mond für eine Rotation um seine eigene Achse genau so lange braucht, wie für einen Umlauf um die Erde, kann sie von der Erde nie beobachtet werden. Die NASA-Mondmission wird nun mindestens zehn Prozent der Mondoberfläche – insbesondere an den beiden Polen – in einer Bildauflösung von einem halben Meter pro Bildpunkt (Pixel) erfassen.

"Während der Vorbereitungen zur kommenden NASA-Mondmission haben wir uns an der Auswahl der Beobachtungsziele beteiligt", erklärt Oberst die Rolle seiner Berliner Arbeitsgruppe. "Wenn dann die ersten Messungen auf der Erde eintreffen, unterstützen wir das Wissenschaftsteam bei der Eichung der Kameras und des Laser-Höhenmessgeräts. Außerdem werden wir an der Korrektur der Rohdaten mitwirken". Oberst leitet am Berliner DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung die Abteilung Planetengeodäsie (Vermessung und Kartierung planetarer Körper), die unter anderem auf die Auswertung von Stereobilddaten zur Erstellung von digitalen Geländemodellen spezialisiert ist.

Auch die Identifizierung und hochpräzise Vermessung der Landestellen ehemaliger Mondmissionen wird von Oberst und seinen Mitarbeitern angestrebt. Die von den Apollo-Astronauten zurückgelassenen Laser-Reflektoren und Radio-Antennen sind wichtige Geländepunkte mit genau bekannten Koordinaten, die praktisch das Mondkoordinatensystem definieren. Die Daten der Mondkamera LROC und des Laser-Höhenmessers LOLA liefern die Grundlagen für ein überarbeitetes Koordinatensystem des Mondes. "Mit den neuen Messungen vom Mond werden wir bessere topographische Mondkarten berechnen können, die frei von Verzerrungen sind", freut sich Oberst auf die ersten Messungen der Mondsonde. Diese liefern eine wichtige Grundlage für die Suche nach geeigneten Landestellen für zukünftige Mondmissionen und insbesondere nach Wasser-Eis in Kratern der Polgebiete.

 Logo der Mission LRO
zum Bild Logo der Mission LRO

Auch die Wissenschaftler aus Münster erwarten mit Spannung die Ergebnisse der NASA-Mondmission: "Nach mehr als fünf Jahren intensiver Vorbereitungs- und Planungszeit sind wir bereit für ein neues und spannendes Kapitel in der Mondforschung, das den Mond in einem völlig neuen Licht erscheinen lassen wird", sagt Hiesinger, der in Münster die geologische Planetologie leitet. "Mit der extrem hohen Auflösung werden wir selbst kleine Krater erkennen können, die sich seit der Apollo-Ära auf dem Mond gebildet haben. Aus dem Vergleich von Apollobildern mit den Bildern der neuen Mondkamera werden wir somit ein wesentlich verbessertes Verständnis der gegenwärtigen Einschlagsrate erhalten", freut sich Hiesinger. "Und schließlich werden uns die neuen Daten hochpräzise Altersbestimmungen der Mondoberfläche und deren mineralogisch-geochemische Zusammensetzung ermöglichen – eine unabdingbare Voraussetzung für unser Verständnis der geologischen und thermischen Entwicklung des Mondes. Wir werden also den Mond gewissermaßen unter der LROC-Lupe betrachten und ihm mit Sicherheit viele neue wissenschaftliche Erkenntnisse entlocken können, inklusive der Frage ob es Wasser-Eis an den Polen geben kann", ergänzt Hiesinger.

Künstlicher Einschlag auf dem Mond soll Auskunft über mögliches Wasser-Eis geben

Zusammen mit dem Mondorbiter wird noch ein Einschlagkörper, der "Lunar CRater Observation and Sensing Satellite" (LCROSS), die Reise zum Mond antreten. Der etwa eine Tonne schwere Einschlagkörper soll vier Monate nach dem Start von dem Mondorbiter abgetrennt werden, um dann im Sturzflug zuerst den Einschlag der Atlas-Centaur-Trägeroberstufe auf der Mondoberfläche mit Kameras und weiteren Messinstrumenten zu erfassen, bevor er selbst vier Minuten später auf dem Mond zerschellt. Ziel dieses Manövers ist die Herbeiführung eines künstlichen Einschlags, bei dem Gesteinsmaterial aus der Oberfläche des Mondes geschleudert werden soll. Dabei wird eine fünf bis zehn Kilometer große Wolke aus den gesteinsbildenden Mondmineralen erwartet, die vielleicht auch Hinweise auf Wasser-Eis enthält, das spektroskopisch erfasst werden kann. Die "Staubwolke" des Einschlags soll auch von der Erde aus mit Bodenteleskopen sichtbar sein und beobachtet werden.

Der Mond wieder im Brennpunkt der Planetenforschung

Der Mond gewinnt 50 Jahre nach seiner ersten Erkundung mittels Sonden international immer mehr an Bedeutung als Forschungsziel. Bereits im Jahr 1959 hatte die ehemalige Sowjetunion drei Raumschiffe zum Mond geschickt. Die geplante NASA-Mondmission wird sich zeitgleich mit der indischen Mondmission "Chandrayaan-1", die im Oktober 2008 gestartet ist, in einer Mondumlaufbahn befinden. Die japanische Sonde "Kaguya", gestartet im Oktober 2007, wurde erst vergangene Woche, am 11. Juni 2009, nach einer erfolgreichen Mission gezielt auf der südlichen Mondvorderseite zum Absturz gebracht. Die chinesische Mondmission "Chang’e-1" wurde ebenfalls im Oktober 2007 gestartet und zerschellte am 1. März 2009 auf der Mondoberfläche.


Kontakt
Eduard Müller
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Print

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2805

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Heiner Witte
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrt-Management, Extraterrestrik

Tel.: +49 228 447-344

Fax: +49 228 447-352


Prof.Dr. Jürgen Oberst
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung
, Planetengeodäsie
Tel.: +49 30 67055-336

Fax: +49 30 67055-402


Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung
, Institutsplanung und Zentrale Aufgaben
Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402


Prof. Dr. Harald Hiesinger
Westfälische Wilhelms-Universität Münster

Institut für Planetologie

Tel.: +49 251 83-39057

Fax: +49 251 83-36301


Zuletzt geändert am: 26.06.2009 14:36:52 Uhr