DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:Icelandic volcano
Background information

Deployed around the world - flying for research



 Aircraft for research
zum Bild Aircraft for research

Flight Operations of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) in Braunschweig and Oberfaffenhofen (where the Flight Operations management is based) operates Europe's largest civilian research fleet of aeroplanes and helicopters. DLR Flight Operations (DLR Flugbetriebe) is responsible for providing and deploying these aircraft. These highly modified aircraft can either be the object for aeronautics research themselves, or they can be used as research platforms on which scientific equipment can be installed for observing Earth and the sea surface, or for atmospheric research.

About 60 employees are responsible for the aeroplanes and helicopters: technicians, engineers and pilots. DLR's 13 pilots are highly specialised, several of them hold a test pilot license. In regular flight simulator training sessions in the US and in Germany, they are trained in extraordinary flight situations and flight states. The special challenges of flying on scientific missions - for instance in the Eurocopter BO 105 with swinging external loads, or flying through strong turbulence, such as wake vortices, in the Falcon 20E - make such training indispensable.

Up to 30 scientific missions per year are entered into each aircraft's flight logs. This amounts to up to 250 flight hours in the service of science. Each of these assignments, however, requires detailed and technologically intensive preparation. This includes the often extensive modifications made to the aircraft, sometimes even at the aerospace engineering level. The requisite development and certification procedure can be handled internally by DLR. Development and airworthiness engineers at DLR's flight facilities and research institutes are entrusted with these tasks. Depending on the specific scientific task at hand, it can take several months to complete such a certification procedure. Relatively small modifications can be certified by DLR itself, while larger modifications - including structural changes to the aircraft - are implemented in cooperation with the Luftfahrt-Bundesamt (German Federal Office of Aviation; LBA).

 New research plane ATRA in a maintenance hangar
zum Bild New research plane ATRA in a maintenance hangar

The DLR research fleet is deployed over water, icy surfaces and land across the globe, from Greenland and Spitsbergen all the way down to Antarctica, and from the US via Europe and Russia to Japan.

These institutions provide scientific services, both for DLR research programmes and for other national and international institutions, for public authorities and industrial clients. The German Federal Office of Aviation (LBA) has accredited DLR Flight Operations as aerospace engineering facility capable of independently carrying out maintenance work on its aircraft. In cooperation with DLR's own Design Organisation (Entwicklungsbetrieb), DLR Flight Operations is able to practically completely independently perform the certification procedure for modifications to aircraft for the integration and alteration of scientific components.



Contact
Dr.rer.nat. Monika Krautstrunk
German Aerospace Center

Flight Operations
, Flight Facility Oberpfaffenhofen
Tel.: +49 8153 28-2981, -2986

Fax: +49 8153 28-1347


Richard Kösters
German Aerospace Center

Flight Operations
, Flight Facility Braunschweig
Tel.: +49 531 295-2240

Fax: +49 531 295-2220


Last update: 30/09/2009 09:18:30

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:Vulkanasche-Wolke
Hintergrund-Informationen

Weltweit im Einsatz – Fliegen für die Forschung



 Flugzeuge für die Wissenschaft
zum Bild Flugzeuge für die Wissenschaft

Die Flugbetriebe des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt DLR in Braunschweig und Oberpfaffenhofen (Sitz der Leitung) betreiben die größte zivile Flotte von Forschungsflugzeugen und -hubschraubern in Europa. Sie sind verantwortlich für deren Bereitstellung und Einsatz. So sind diese hoch modifizierten Fluggeräte selbst Gegenstand der Luftfahrtforschung oder werden als Plattformen zur Installation und den Betrieb von wissenschaftlichen Geräten für die Beobachtung der Erde und der Meeresoberflächen, sowie für die Atmosphärenforschung eingesetzt.

Rund 60 Mitarbeiter sind für die Flugzeuge und Hubschrauber verantwortlich, Techniker, Ingenieure, Piloten. Die 13 Piloten des DLR verfügen über eine hohe Spezialisierung, bis hin zur Testpilotenlizenz. So werden in regelmäßigen Simulatortrainings in den USA und in Deutschland besondere Flugsituationen und Flugzustände trainiert. Die Notwendigkeit dafür ergibt sich aus den besonderen Anforderungen der zu fliegenden wissenschaftlichen Aufträge – so zum Beispiel bei der BO105 mit pendelnden Außenlasten oder dem Durchfliegen von starken Turbulenzen, wie Wirbelschleppen, mit der Falcon20E.

Pro Jahr stehen bis zu 30 wissenschaftliche Missionen in den Flugbüchern jedes Fluggerätes. Dabei werden bis zu 250 Flugstunden im Dienste der Wissenschaft absolviert. Jeder dieser Einsätze bedingt jedoch eine detaillierte und technisch aufwendige Vorbereitung. Dazu gehört auch die teilweise umfangreiche Umrüstung der Maschinen, bis hin zu Luftfahrtechnischen Änderungen. Der dafür notwendige Entwicklungs- und Zulassungsprozess kann vom DLR selbst sichergestellt werden. In den Flugbetrieben und Forschungsinstituten des DLR sind dafür Entwicklungs- und Musterprüfingenieure zuständig. Je nach wissenschaftlicher Aufgabenstellung kann solch ein Prozess bis zur Zulassung mehrere Monate dauern. Kleinere Änderungen können vom DLR selbst zugelassen werden, größere Modifikationen, bis hin zu Strukturänderungen am Flugzeug, werden gemeinsam mit Luftfahrtbundesamt LBA umgesetzt.

 Neues Forschungsmitglied ATRA im Wartungshangar
zum Bild Neues Forschungsmitglied ATRA im Wartungshangar

Die Einsatzgebiete der Forschungsflotte des DLR über Wasser-, Eis und Landflächen reichen von Grönland und Spitzbergen bis in die Antarktis, von den USA über Europa und Russland bis nach Japan.

Diese Einrichtungen liefern wissenschaftliche Dienstleistungen sowohl für Forschungsprogramme des DLR, als auch für andere nationale und internationale Institutionen, für Behörden und industrielle Kunden. Das Luftfahrtbundesamt (LBA) hat die DLR Flugbetriebe als Luftfahrttechnischer Betrieb zur selbständigen Durchführung von Wartungsarbeiten an seinen Flugzeugen anerkannt. Sie können in Zusammenarbeit mit dem DLR eigenen Entwicklungsbetrieb die Zulassung von Modifikationen für wissenschaftliche Ein- und Umbauten in die Flugzeuge weitestgehend selbständig abwickeln.


Kontakt
Dr. rer. nat. Monika Krautstrunk
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Flugexperimente
, Forschungsflugabteilung Oberpfaffenhofen
Tel.: +49 8153 28-2986

Fax: +49 8153 28-1347


Richard Kösters
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Flugbetriebe
, Flugabteilung Braunschweig
Tel.: +49 531 295-2240

Fax: +49 531 295-2220


Zuletzt geändert am: 30.09.2009 09:18:02 Uhr