DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:

TerraSAR-X image of the month: Ice flow like molten metal

23 December 2010

 The Nimrod Glacier flowing around an ice peak
zum Bild The Nimrod Glacier flowing around an ice peak

From over 500 kilometres up, as TerraSAR-X looks down on its icy surface, the Antarctic's Nimrod Glacier looks like molten metal. During its flight over the Antarctic, the German Aerospace Centre's (DLR) radar satellite is one of the few that can direct its view over this glacier in the Transantarctic Mountains. Researchers can use these images from space to determine the flow speed of the glacier.

Polar explorer Ernest Shackleton may not have completed his quest to be the first to stand on the geographic South Pole on his first Antarctic exploration (1907-1909), but his expedition was such a success that his ship, Nimrod, gave its name to the glacier. The glacier is 135 kilometres long (82.5°S, 160°E), working its way from the polar plateau through the Transantarctic Mountains, a range of mountains that runs across the entire continent of Antarctica at heights of up to 4500 metres. While it moves, it transports ice from eastern Antarctica to the Ross Ice Shelf. The glacier can move up to two metres per day. "The flow speed is an important indicator in understanding the dynamics of the polar ice sheets," says Dana Floricioiu from the DLR Remote Sensing Technology Institute. "The polar regions play an important role in the Earth system – changes influence climate models with a local impact on the properties of the polar oceans as well as a global impact on rising sea levels." This detailed image – acquired by the TerraSAR-X radar satellite and having a width of about 30 kilometres, shows the glacier flowing around the Kon-Tiki Nunatak, a rock protruding through the ice sheet. It is even possible to pick out the fissures in the glacier's main body.

The South Pole in view

DLR researcher Dana Floricioiu has made a collage out of 62 individual TerraSAR-X images like these, each covering an area spanning 30 kilometres. All together, they show the entire 300-kilometre-wide glacier region. The ice can be clearly seen flowing into the Ross Ice Shelf through a 20-km-wide fjord-like a funnel (bottom left of the image). The DLR scientists had the satellite look to the left to capture these images. "Radar satellites are typically designed so that their line-of-sight is to the right of their flight path. That's why they cannot observe regions with a latitude of more than 80° south over the Antarctic," explains Floricioiu. "But with TerraSAR-X, by rotating the satellite we can select the direction of the antenna beam so we can even capture areas close to the South Pole.” Because the radar satellite images the Earth's surface regardless of cloud cover or time of day, it can systematically observe the properties of land and oceanic ice even in remote regions, all year round. At a very high resolution of three metres, the researchers are able to observe and analyse in detail the complex in-depth structure of ice and snow-covered regions.

 Flowing movement of the Nimrod Glacier
zum Bild Flowing movement of the Nimrod Glacier

Contact
Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Dr.rer.nat. Dana Floricioiu
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Remote Sensing Technology Institute
, SAR Signal Processing
Tel.: +49 8153 28-1763

Fax: +49 8153 28-1420


Last update: 05/01/2011 09:52:53

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:

TerraSAR-X-Bild des Monats: Eis-Ströme wie aus Metall

23. Dezember 2010

 Der Nimrod-Gletscher umfließt einen Felsen
zum Bild Der Nimrod-Gletscher umfließt einen Felsen

Wie geschmolzenes Metall wirkt der Nimrod-Gletscher in der Antarktis, wenn TerraSAR-X aus mehr als 500 Kilometern Höhe auf die eisige Fläche schaut. Der Radarsatellit des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ist einer der wenigen, der bei seinem Überflug über die Antarktis seinen Blick auch auf die Gletscher im Transantarktischen Gebirge richten kann. Mit den Aufnahmen aus dem Weltall können Forscher Rückschlüsse auf die Fließgeschwindigkeit der Gletscher schließen.

Auch wenn Polarforscher Ernest Shackleton auf seiner ersten eigenen Forschungsreise in die Antarktis (1907-1909) sein Ziel, als erster am geographischen Südpol zu stehen, nicht erreichte - seine Reise war dennoch so erfolgreich, dass selbst sein Schiff "Nimrod" später zum Namensgeber für einen Gletscher wurde. 135 Kilometer lang ist der Gletscher (82,5 Grad Süd, 160 Grad Ost), der sich seinen Weg vom Polarplateau durch das Transantarktische Gebirge bahnt, einer Bergkette, die mit Höhen bis zu 4500 Metern über den gesamten Kontinent Antarktis verläuft. Dabei transportiert er Eis aus der Ostantarktis in das Ross-Schelfeis. Bis zu zwei Meter legt der Gletscher am Tag zurück. "Die Fließgeschwindigkeit ist eine wichtige Größe, um die Dynamik der polaren Eisschilde zu verstehen", sagt Dana Floricioiu vom DLR-Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung. "Die Polargebiete spielen eine wichtige Rolle im System Erde - Veränderungen wirken sich in Klimamodellen sowohl lokal auf Eigenschaften des polaren Ozeans als auch global auf die Höhe des Meeresspiegels aus." Das Detailbild des Radarsatelliten TerraSAR-X mit einer Breite von etwa 30 Kilometern zeigt den Gletscher, wie er den Kon-Tiki Nunatak, einen Fels über der Eisfläche, umspült. Dabei sind selbst die Spalten im Hauptrumpf des Gletschers zu sehen.

Den Südpol im Blick

Aus 62 solcher TerraSAR-X-Einzelbilder, die jeweils eine Breite von 30 Kilometern abdecken, hat DLR-Wissenschaftlerin Dana Floricioiu außerdem ein Mosaik zusammengesetzt, das das gesamte Gletschergebiet in einer Breite von 300 Kilometern zeigt. Gut zu erkennen ist, dass das Eis wie durch einen Trichter durch einen 20 Kilometer engen Fjord ins Ross-Schelfeis (unten links im Bild) strömt. Für diese Aufnahmen ließen die Wissenschaftler des DLR den Satelliten nach links blicken. "Üblicherweise sind Radarsatelliten so konzipiert, das ihre Blickrichtung rechts von der Flugbahn liegt. Über der Antarktis sind deshalb Gebiete südlich von 80 Grad Breite nicht zu beobachten", erklärt DLR-Forscherin Floricioiu. "Mit TerraSAR-X hingegen können wir die Aufnahmerichtung durch Drehung des Satelliten auswählen und so selbst auch Gebiete nahe des Südpols ins Blickfeld nehmen." Da der Radarsatellit unabhängig von Bewölkung und Tageszeit auf die Erde blickt, können so die Eigenschaften von Land- und Meereis auch in entlegenen Gebieten systematisch zu jeder Jahreszeit verfolgt werden. Bei einer sehr hohen Auflösung von drei Metern beobachten und analysieren die Forscher detailliert so die komplexe Feinstruktur von eis- und schneebedeckten Gebieten.

 Fließbewegung des Nimrod-Gletschers
zum Bild Fließbewegung des Nimrod-Gletschers

 


Kontakt
Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Weltraum

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249


Dr.rer.nat. Dana Floricioiu
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR)

Institut für Methodik der Fernerkundung
, SAR-Signalverarbeitung
Tel.: +49 8153 28-1763

Fax: +49 8153 28-1420


Zuletzt geändert am: 05.01.2011 09:49:24 Uhr