Parabolic flights

Tenth plasma crystal experiment series on board the ISS

21 January 2009

Additional research to be conducted during parabolic flights

 Electrically charged plasma in an experiment chamber in weightlessness
zum Bild Electrically charged plasma in an experiment chamber in weightlessness

This February, additional experiments using the PK-3 Plus lab facility will be conducted during the 13th parabolic flight campaign of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt) in Bordeaux. Ever since the plasma crystal phenomenon was discovered in the mid-1990s, DLR's Space Agency (Raumfahrt-Agentur) has been supporting the scientists at MPE using funds made available by the German Federal Ministry of Economics and Technology (Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Technologie; BMWi).

German researchers took the initiative for the first experiment on board the space station

Experimental proof of the formation of plasma crystals was obtained for the first time at MPE, in 1994. Since 1996, the Garching-based researchers have been conducting further experiments in this field under conditions of weightlessness on board sounding rockets and parabolic flights. Almost simultaneously, the Moscow-based Joint Institute for High Temperatures (JIHT) of the Russian Academy Sciences started to plan similar experiments for the MIR station that were carried out between 1998 and 1999. In 1998, the two institutes decided on a future collaboration, with the German side committing to developing the experimental facilities and the Russian side to taking care of transporting them to the space station and operating them. The experiments in space are planned and evaluated jointly by the two institutes.

 Electrically charged plasma in an experiment chamber under gravity conditions
zum Bild Electrically charged plasma in an experiment chamber under gravity conditions

The PKE experiment facility, developed at MPE under the direction of Professor Dr Gregor E. Morfill, became operational in March 2001, marking the start of scientific research activities on board ISS. In the meantime, ‘PK-3 Plus’ has now been taken into use on the space station as the second-generation complex plasma experiment facility. During the ‘Astrolab Mission’, from July to December 2006, Germany’s long-duration astronaut Thomas Reiter also conducted plasma crystal experiments in space. The scientific results obtained under conditions of weightlessness have so far led to more than 40 publications in international journals alone.

Parabolic flights to prepare for service in space

During February’s parabolic flight, the scientists will have a high-resolution, high-tech camera at their disposal, allowing them to investigate the plasmas in even more detail. During the weightlessness phases, which last for about 20 seconds each, short-duration experiments are carried out, for instance involving the collision and interpenetration of two particle clouds. Even though physical processes take place at a much slower rate in complex plasmas than in real crystals, some of these processes are still so fast that they cannot be registered in detail using conventional video cameras. Using the high-tech camera, the researchers will be able to observe their experiments using up to 1 000 images per second. Later, the same method will also be used on board the space station.

 The PK-4 experiment facility during a test flight in weightlessness
zum Bild The PK-4 experiment facility during a test flight in weightlessness

During the same parabolic flight, the next-generation experiment facility ‘PK-4’ will also be deployed. The device, which has been built by the European Space Agency, ESA, needs to undergo trials before it is taken to the space station. It will then be integrated into the Columbus module of the ISS, where it is expected to be in service from 2010 onwards. The PK-4 plasma chamber is especially well suited to investigating the flow characteristics of liquid plasmas. The next-generation experiment that will succeed PK-4 is already on the horizon as well: DLR is currently funding the development of a completely new kind of plasma experiment chamber that will give a substantial boost to the scientific potential of the experiments.

In the meantime, JIHT has shown interest in extending the PK-3 Plus experiment on board ISS beyond its initially agreed end date of December 2009. However, this would involve relocating the experiment facility to the small Russian experiment module MIM. MIM will be taken to the ISS this autumn, where it will be docked to the transfer compartment between the Russian modules ‘Zarya’ and ‘Zvezda’, which currently accommodates PK-3 Plus.

Complex plasmas - an ideal model for basic research in physics

 Cosmonaut Valery Tokarev with the PK-3 Plus experiment on board the ISS
zum Bild Cosmonaut Valery Tokarev with the PK-3 Plus experiment on board the ISS

A plasma is an ionised gas. Apart from ions - electrically charged atoms or molecules - it consists of free electrons and a neutral gas component. It is considered to be the fourth state of matter, distinct from gaseous, liquid and solid matter. Over 99 percent of the observable matter in the universe exists in the plasma state.

Complex plasmas are categorised as soft matter, a group that also includes colloids and foams. They are formed when plasmas also contain dust particles. In nature, they appear as interstellar molecular clouds, planetary ring systems or the tails of comets, for instance. In a laboratory, complex plasmas are formed by injecting microparticles. In the case of the PK-3 Plus experiment facility, these consists of plastic spheres with a diameter of just a few microns. In the plasma, they are all electrically charged with same charge sign. By trying to create as large a distance as possible between each other, they organise themselves structurally, ultimately leading to their periodic arrangement in a crystal structure.

In a laboratory on Earth, the plasma particles are deposited in a strictly two-dimensional layer due to the effects of gravity. A weightless environment is therefore ideal for plasma crystal research. By modifying the experimental parameters and the influence of external forces, the plasma structure can be manipulated. This makes it possible to produce structural analogues of gases and liquids, to simulate phase transitions such as melting or freezing, or to study interface phenomena and wave propagation. In addition to purely basic research, practical applications of plasmas also present themselves. Plasma medicine, for instance, is based on using the bactericidal effect of plasmas for the treatment of chronic wounds.


Related Contacts
Michael Müller
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications

Tel: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386

E-Mail: M.Mueller@dlr.de
Maria Roth
German Aerospace Center

Space-Agency

Tel: +49 228 447-324

Fax: +49 228 447-735

E-Mail: Maria.Roth@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-734/1210_read-15321/
Related Links
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx
http://www.mpe.mpg.de/theory/plasma-crystal/index_e.html
Related News
Thomas Reiter carries out PK-3 Plus experiment on complex plasmas (http://www.dlr.de/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1/86_read-4445/usetemplate-print/)

Parabelflug

Jubiläum für Plasmakristall-Versuche auf der ISS

21. Januar 2009

Forschung auch auf Parabelflügen

 Elektrisch geladenes Plasma in Experimentkammer unter Schwerelosigkeit
zum Bild Elektrisch geladenes Plasma in Experimentkammer unter Schwerelosigkeit

Bereits zum zehnten Mal wird auf der Internationalen Raumstation ISS eine Experimentserie zu komplexen Plasmen mit der Anlage "PK-3 Plus" (Plamakristall-Experiment) durchgeführt. Forscher des Max-Planck-Instituts für extraterrestrische Physik (MPE) in Garching wollen mit dem Versuch ihre Erkenntnisse über die Physik staubhaltiger ionisierter Gase, so genannter komplexer Plasmen, weiter vertiefen. Untersucht werden unter anderem deren Flüssigkeitseigenschaften. Im Februar dieses Jahres werden ergänzende Experimente mit der Laboranlage PK-3 Plus im Rahmen der 13. Parabelflugkampagne des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Bordeaux stattfinden. Seit Entdeckung des Phänomens der Plasmakristalle Mitte der neunziger Jahre fördert die Raumfahrt-Agentur des DLR die Wissenschaftler des MPE mit Geldern des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Technologie (BMWi).

Deutsche Forscher initiierten erstes Experiment auf der Raumstation

Die Bildung von Plasmakristallen wurde 1994 am MPE erstmals experimentell nachgewiesen. Seit 1996 führen die Garchinger hierzu Experimente unter Schwerelosigkeit auf ballistischen Raketen und auf Parabelflügen durch. Fast zur gleichen Zeit begann das Moskauer Joint Institute for High Temperatures (JIHT) der Russischen Akademie der Wissenschaften mit der Planung ähnlicher Experimente für die MIR-Station, von denen zwei 1998 und 1999 durchgeführt wurden. 1998 beschlossen beide Institute künftig zusammenzuarbeiten, wobei die deutsche Seite für die Anlagenentwicklung, die russische Seite für den Transport zur Raumstation und den Betrieb zuständig wurde. Die Weltraum-Experimente werden gemeinsam von beiden Instituten geplant und ausgewertet.

 Elektrisch geladenes Plasma in Experimentkammer unter Schwerkraft
zum Bild Elektrisch geladenes Plasma in Experimentkammer unter Schwerkraft

Mit der vom MPE unter Leitung von Professor Dr. Gregor E. Morfill entwickelten PKE-Anlage begann im März 2001 die wissenschaftliche Nutzung der ISS. Mit "PK-3 Plus" ist dort inzwischen die zweite Gerätegeneration im Einsatz. Im Rahmen der "Astrolab-Mission" von Juli bis Dezember 2006 führte auch Deutschlands Langzeit-Astronaut Thomas Reiter Plasmakristall-Experimente im All durch. Aus den in Schwerelosigkeit gewonnenen wissenschaftlichen Daten sind bis dato mehr als 40 Veröffentlichungen allein in internationalen Fachjournalen entstanden.

Parabelflüge bereiten Aufenthalt im All vor

Bei dem Parabelflug im Februar steht den Wissenschaftlern eine hochauflösende Hightech-Kamera zur Verfügung, um die Plasmen noch detaillierter untersuchen zu können. Während der circa 20-sekündigen Schwerelosigkeitsphasen werden Kurzzeitexperimente wie das Aufeinandertreffen und Durchströmen zweier Teilchenwolken durchgeführt. Obwohl die physikalischen Vorgänge in komplexen Plasmen sehr viel langsamer als in echten Kristallen ablaufen, sind einige von ihnen so schnell, dass sie mit herkömmlichen Videokameras nicht mehr im Detail erfasst werden können. Jetzt werden die Forscher ihre Experimente mit bis zu 1000 Bildern pro Sekunde während des freien Falls verfolgen. Dieses Verfahren soll später auch auf der Raumstation angewandt werden.

 Die PK-4-Anlage während eines Testflugs in Schwerelosigkeit
zum Bild Die PK-4-Anlage während eines Testflugs in Schwerelosigkeit

Während desselben Parabelflugs kommt mit "PK-4" auch die nächste Anlagengeneration zum Einsatz. Vor ihrem Flug zur Raumstation muss das von der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA konstruierte Gerät noch Eignungstests bestehen. Voraussichtlich ab 2010 soll es im Columbus-Modul der ISS seinen Dienst tun. Die PK-4-Plasmakammer ist besonders geeignet zur Untersuchung der Strömungseigenschaften flüssiger Plasmen. Auch die übernächste Generation ist schon in Sicht: Mit Förderung des DLR werden derzeit völlig neuartige Plasma-Experimentkammern entwickelt, die das wissenschaftliche Potenzial erheblich erweitern werden.

Das JIHT hat unterdessen Interesse an der Fortführung des PK-3 Plus-Experiments auf der ISS über das ursprünglich vereinbarte Ende im Dezember 2009 hinaus signalisiert. Allerdings muss dann die Anlage in das kleine russische Experimentmodul MIM umziehen. Dieses wird im Herbst zur ISS gebracht und an den bisherigen Standort von PK-3 Plus, das Transfer-Compartment zwischen den russischen Stationsteilen "Sarja" und "Swesda", angedockt.

Komplexe Plasmen - Ideales Modell für physikalische Grundlagenforschung

 Kosmonaut Valery Tokarev mit PK-3 Plus auf der ISS
zum Bild Kosmonaut Valery Tokarev mit PK-3 Plus auf der ISS

Ein Plasma ist ein ionisiertes Gas. Neben Ionen, also elektrisch geladenen Atomen oder Molekülen, besteht es aus freien Elektronen und einer Neutralgaskomponente. Es wird als vierter Aggregatzustand neben fester, flüssiger und gasförmiger Materie bezeichnet. Mehr als 99 Prozent der sichtbaren Materie im Universum befindet sich im Plasmazustand.

Komplexe Plasmen sind der Gruppe der weichen Materie zugeordnet, zu der auch Kolloide und Schäume gehören. Sie entstehen, wenn zusätzlich Staubpartikel enthalten sind. In der Natur kommen sie zum Beispiel als interstellare Molekülwolken, planetare Ringsysteme oder Kometenschweife vor. Im Labor entstehen komplexe Plasmen durch die Zugabe von Mikropartikeln, in der Experimentieranlage PK-3 Plus durch Plastikkugeln von wenigen Mikrometern Durchmesser. Sie werden im Plasma elektrisch mit gleichem Vorzeichen aufgeladen. Ihr Bestreben, einen möglichst großen Abstand voneinander einzunehmen, führt zu ihrer strukturellen Selbstorganisation bis hin zu der periodischen Ordnung einer Kristallstruktur.

Da sich im Labor auf der Erde die Plasmapartikel durch Einwirkung der Schwerkraft in einer lediglich zweidimensionalen Schicht ablagern, ist ein schwereloses Umfeld für die Untersuchungen ideal. Durch Änderung der Experimentparameter sowie die Wirkung externer Kräfte kann die Plasmastruktur manipuliert werden. So lassen sich Strukturanalogien zu Gasen und Flüssigkeiten herstellen, Phasenübergänge wie Schmelzen oder Erstarren simulieren oder Grenzflächenphänomene und die Ausbreitung von Wellen studieren. Über die reine Grundlagenforschung hinaus ergeben sich für Plasmen auch praktische Anwendungen, etwa in der Plasmamedizin. Hier geht es um die Bakterien abtötende Wirkung von Plasmen zur Behandlung chronischer Wunden.


Kontakt
Michael Müller
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386

E-Mail: M.Mueller@dlr.de
Maria Roth
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement

Tel: +49 228 447-324

Fax: +49 228 447-735

E-Mail: Maria.Roth@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-734/1210_read-15321/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/rd/
http://www.mpe.mpg.de/theory/plasma-crystal/index.html
http://www.wissenslogs.de/wblogs/blog/zundspannung/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Thomas Reiter führt PK-3 Plus-Experiment zu komplexen Plasmen durch (http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1/86_read-4445/usetemplate-print/)