Parabolic flights

Tenth anniversary for DLR's parabolic flights

2 February 2009

 Medical research in weightless conditions
zum Bild Medical research in weightless conditions

Thirteenth flight campaign launched in Bordeaux

From 2-14 February 2009, the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is carrying out its thirteenth parabolic flight campaign using the Airbus A300 ZERO-G. The world's largest flying laboratory takes off from Bordeaux Airport for a total of four flights that enable research in weightless conditions. Scientists use these flights to conduct 16 experiments in Biology, Human Physiology, Physics, Materials Research and Technology.

Weightless for 40 minutes

During each of the three- to four-hour flights, the Airbus A300 ZERO-G, owned and operated by French company Novespace, flies 31 parabolas. During a parabolic manoeuvre, the aircraft first climbs steeply from horizontal flight at an angle of 52 degrees. The pilot then cuts the thrust of the turbines, causing the aircraft to follow a path that resembles an ideal ballistic curve. The aircraft, as well as its passengers and on-board experiments, will then be in free fall, creating conditions close to total weightlessness for approximately 22 seconds. During the thirteenth parabolic flight campaign, the researchers will have more than 40 minutes of weightlessness in total, divided over the four flight days. Some of the experiments on board the Airbus concern independent research projects, but others are meant to prepare experiments for the International Space Station ISS. In addition to this, medical research is carried out that aims to pave the way for human space travel, for instance to Mars.

The experiments of Professor Oliver Ullrich of the University of Magdeburg, for instance, are the first that have been designed to investigate the immune system of the brain in weightless conditions. During a longer stay in space, astronauts often experience problems with their immune system. An extremely finely regulated and controlled immunosurveillance, especially in the brain, is essential for survival, however. Until the ‘immune problem’ in space is resolved or can be treated with medication, long-haul space flights on missions far from Earth can hardly be justified, as the effects they have on the astronauts' brains and bodies are not yet known.

 The Airbus A300 ZERO-G climbing steeply
zum Bild The Airbus A300 ZERO-G climbing steeply

Another experiment investigates new technologies for future spaceflight missions. Marco Straubel and his research team from the Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems (Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik) at DLR Braunschweig are working on rollable, ultra-lightweight carbon-fibre booms. These components are, for instance, used for deployable solar collectors, and the aim is to bring them into space using as little storage space as possible. In addition to this, they are just as stable as metal booms while weighing much less, making their transportation more efficient.

1425 parabolas in ten years

The DLR Space Agency (DLR Raumfahrt-Agentur) has been conducting its parabolic flights for ten years. This thirteenth flight campaign will bring the total number of experiments that have been sent into free fall by the Airbus A300 ZERO-G to 227, with a combined weight of almost 33 tonnes. High-school students have participated in biological and medical experiments as well. The flight campaigns have even included two artistic experiments. In total, eight hours and 20 minutes of weightless conditions have been created in 1425 parabolas.

Everything started in 1999 with one campaign per year and each campaign consisting of three to four flight days. As scientists have become increasingly interested in research environments characterised by weightless conditions and by the transition between weightless conditions, normal gravity and double gravity, DLR now carries out two of these campaigns in most years. Weightless conditions only obtain for a short period during each parabola, but innovative measurement technology has made it possible to conduct a wider range of experiments on board parabolic flights than ten years ago. The next DLR parabolic flight campaign, the fourth one to use Cologne-Bonn Airport as its base, is scheduled to take place in September 2009.

 Flight manoeuvre during a parabolic flight
zum Bild Flight manoeuvre during a parabolic flight

Research in weightless conditions

The evolution of life and all biological, physical and chemical processes on Earth are always influenced by the Earth's gravitational pull. This raises many questions, such as: To what extent and in what way does gravity influence physical and biological processes? Could an adequate understanding of this influence enable us to improve technological processes or products? To what extent can basic research conducted on healthy human beings in weightless conditions contribute to improved medical treatment of patients on Earth? Research in weightlessness provides researchers with a unique opportunity to investigate processes and reactions without the distorting influence of gravity, which in turn could help them to observe fundamental phenomena. Parabolic flights thus provide a gateway to space for science and technology.


Related Contacts
Dr. Niklas Reinke
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Space Strategy and Program
Tel: +49 228 447-394

Fax: +49 228 447-386

E-Mail: Niklas.Reinke@dlr.de
Dr. Ulrike Friedrich
German Aerospace Center

Space Agency
, Microgravtiy Research
Tel: +49 228 447-323

Fax: +49 228 447-735

E-Mail: Ulrike.Friedrich@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-734/1210_read-15591/
Related Links
desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-734
http://www.dlr.de/rd/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2282/3421_read-5230/
Related News
DLR as an albatross - Biologist Dr Ulrike Friedrich manages parabolic flights on behalf of DLR (http://www.dlr.de/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1/86_read-15596/usetemplate-print/)

Parabelflug

Zehn Jahre DLR-Parabelflüge

2. Februar 2009

 Medizinische Forschung in Schwerelosigkeit
zum Bild Medizinische Forschung in Schwerelosigkeit

13. Kampagne startet in Bordeaux

Vom 2. bis zum 14. Februar 2009 veranstaltet das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) zum 13. Mal eine Parabelflug-Kampagne mit dem Airbus A300 ZERO-G. Vom Flughafen Bordeaux aus startet das größte fliegende Labor der Welt zu insgesamt vier Flügen für Forschung in Schwerelosigkeit. Diese nutzen die Wissenschaftler für ihre 16 Experimente in Biologie, Humanphysiologie, Physik, Materialforschung und Technologie.

Schwerelos für 40 Minuten

Bei den drei- bis vierstündigen Flügen fliegt der Airbus A300 ZERO-G der französischen Firma Novespace je 31 Parabeln. Dabei steigt das Flugzeug aus dem horizontalen Flug in einem Winkel von bis zu 52 Grad steil nach oben. Dann drosselt der Pilot die Schubkraft der Turbinen und fliegt dabei eine Bahn, die einer Wurf-Parabel entspricht. Der Airbus befindet sich dabei mit seinen Passagieren und Experimenten im freien Fall, wobei für etwa 22 Sekunden annähernde Schwerelosigkeit herrscht. Insgesamt stehen bei der 13. Parabelflug-Kampagne an vier Flugtagen mehr als 40 Minuten Schwerelosigkeit zur Verfügung. Neben eigenständiger Forschung werden auch Experimente für die Internationale Raumstation ISS vorbereitet. Medizinische Untersuchungen sollen zudem den Weg für Langzeitaufenthalte im All und damit beispielsweise für Reisen zum Mars ebnen.

So sind die Experimente von Prof. Oliver Ullrich von der Universität Magdeburg die ersten Untersuchungen in Schwerelosigkeit, die das Immunsystem des Gehirns zum Ziel haben. Bei längerem Aufenthalt im Weltraum bekommen Astronauten häufig Probleme mit der Immunabwehr. Gerade im Gehirn ist jedoch eine hochfein regulierte und kontrollierte Immunüberwachung überlebenswichtig. Solange das "Immunproblem" im Weltraum nicht gelöst ist oder mit Medikamenten behandelt werden kann, sind Langzeitflüge bei erdfernen Missionen kaum vertretbar. Denn die Folgen für Gehirn und Körper der Astronauten sind derzeit noch unbekannt.

 Der Airbus A300 ZERO-G im Steilflug
zum Bild Der Airbus A300 ZERO-G im Steilflug

Ein anderes Experiment widmet sich neuen Technologien für zukünftige Raumfahrt-Missionen. Das Team um Marco Straubel vom Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik des DLR Braunschweig beschäftigt sich mit aufrollbaren, ultraleichten Kohlenstofffaser-Masten. Diese Bauteile benötigt man beispielsweise für entfaltbare Sonnenkollektoren, und sie sollen möglichst platzsparend ins All gebracht werden. Dabei sind sie ebenso stabil wie Metallmasten, aber wesentlich leichter und damit günstiger beim Transport.

1425 Parabeln in zehn Jahren

Die DLR Raumfahrt-Agentur führt ihre Parabelflüge seit zehn Jahren durch. Mit der 13. Flugkampagne wird der Airbus A300 ZERO-G für das DLR 227 Experimente mit einem Gesamtgewicht von fast 33 Tonnen in den freien Fall gebracht haben. Auch Schüler waren an biologischen und medizinischen Experimenten beteiligt. Selbst zwei künstlerische Experimente waren mit an Bord. Bei 1425 Parabeln standen insgesamt acht Stunden und 20 Minuten Schwerelosigkeit zur Verfügung.

1999 begann alles zunächst mit einer Kampagne pro Jahr mit je drei bis vier Flugtagen. Da Wissenschaftler die Schwerelosigkeit sowie den Wechsel mit normaler und doppelter Schwerkraft immer häufiger als Forschungsumgebung nachfragen, startet das DLR inzwischen meist zweimal im Jahr. Zwar ist die Schwerelosigkeit pro Parabel stets nur kurz, doch ermöglichen Innovationen in der Messtechnik heute vielfältigere Experimente auf Parabelflügen als vor zehn Jahren. Der nächste DLR-Parabelflug findet im September 2009 statt, dann zum vierten Mal vom Flughafen Köln-Bonn aus.

 Das Flugmanöver während eines Parabelflugs
zum Bild Das Flugmanöver während eines Parabelflugs

Forschen in der Schwerelosigkeit

Die Evolution des Lebens und alle biologischen, physikalischen und chemischen Prozesse auf der Erde laufen immer unter Einwirkung der Erdschwerkraft ab. Daraus ergeben sich viele Fragen, beispielsweise: Welchen Einfluss hat die Schwerkraft auf physikalische und biologische Vorgänge? Kann man mit entsprechendem Wissen technologische Prozesse oder Produkte verbessern? Inwieweit können grundlegende Untersuchungen an gesunden Menschen in Schwerelosigkeit zur Behandlung von Patienten auf der Erde beitragen? Forschung in Schwerelosigkeit bietet eine einmalige Gelegenheit, Prozesse und Reaktionen ohne die Einwirkung der Schwerkraft zu untersuchen und dabei auf grundlegende Phänomene zu stoßen. Die Parabelflüge sind dabei wissenschaftlich und technologisch eine Brücke ins All.


Kontakt
Dr. Niklas Reinke
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Raumfahrt-Strategie und Programmatik
Tel: +49 228 447-394

Fax: +49 228 447-386

E-Mail: Niklas.Reinke@dlr.de
Dr. Ulrike Friedrich
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrt-Agentur
, Forschung unter Weltraumbedingungen
Tel: +49 228 447-323

Fax: +49 228 447-735

E-Mail: Ulrike.Friedrich@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-734/1210_read-15591/
Links zu diesem Artikel
desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-734
/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2285/3423_read-15448/
http://www.dlr.de/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2282/3421_read-5230/
/rd/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-2288/
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Der Albatros und das DLR - Biologin Dr. Ulrike Friedrich managt Parabelflüge für das DLR (http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1/86_read-15596/usetemplate-print/)