DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Imprint   Deutsch
  You are here: Home:News Archives:Space
News Archive Space 2008

DLR and Kayser-Threde sign contract for German Earth Observation satellite EnMAP

11 November 2008

 Dr Ludwig Baumgarten (DLR) and Jürgen Breitkopf (Kayser-Threde GmbH)
zum Bild Dr Ludwig Baumgarten (DLR) and Jürgen Breitkopf (Kayser-Threde GmbH)

On 11 November 2008, the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and Kayser-Threde GmbH signed a contract for the development and construction of the EnMAP satellite (Environmental Mapping and Analysis Programme) in Bonn. EnMAP is a hyperspectral Earth observation satellite. Hyperspectral instruments record solar radiation reflected from the Earth, from visible light to near infrared. This enables us to obtain accurate information about the condition of the Earth’s surface and how it is changing. The mission, which will be launched in 2012, is scheduled to last for five years.

Hyperspectral sensors provide information on soil, plants and bodies of water

 EnMAP model
zum Bild EnMAP model

Conventional multispectral sensors record radiation reflected from the Earth in a small number of very broad channels. They provide reliable data and information, for example on land cover and its geographical distribution. These methods of measurement are adequate for qualitative research, for example regarding types of vegetation. But for quantitative information, for example relating to the supply of nutrients for crops or the quality of water in lakes, high-resolution spectral data is required.

The EnMAP satellite is equipped with a so-called hyperspectral instrument, a spectrometer that will map the Earth’s surface in over 200 narrow colour channels at the same time. This will give us detailed information on vegetation, land usage, rock surfaces and bodies of water. The data will tell us about the mineral composition of rocks, the level of damage to plant life caused by air pollutants or the level of soil pollution.

The satellite will be sent into an orbit approximately 650 kilometres above the surface of the Earth. From this orbit, it will be able to fly over every point on Earth twice in four days. This makes EnMAP ideal for documenting changes over time and across different areas, such as processes of erosion or vegetation periods. Spectroscopic Earth observation can provide us with information about the distribution and status of ecosystems in many different natural environments, whether it be coastal areas, landscapes altered by human activity, steppes, deserts or forests.

 EnMAP logo
zum Bild EnMAP logo

In the EnMAP mission, a high-quality hyperspectral sensor will be used in conjunction with a satellite. The data gathered by the satellite are expected to open up new possibilities for its use. This data may also help to answer current questions relating to the environment, agriculture, land usage, water management and geology on a global scale.

DLR’s Space Agency is in charge of the overall EnMAP mission, which will cost about 90 million euros in total. Kayser-Threde GmbH has now been entrusted with the development, construction and launch of the satellite and the hyperspectral instrument. The project scientist for the mission is Professor Dr Herrmann Kaufmann of the Research Centre for Geosciences in Potsdam. The construction of the ground segment has been assigned to DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen. This includes satellite control as well as data reception, archiving and processing.


Contact
Dr. Niklas Reinke
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications

Tel.: +49 228 447-394

Fax: +49 228 447-386


Christian Chlebek
German Aerospace Center

Space Administration
, Earth Observation
Tel.: +49 228 447-593

Fax: +49 228 447-747


Last update: 21/11/2008 13:39:06
All topics: News Archives

DLR Logo
  Home|Textversion|Impressum   English
  Sie sind hier: Home:News-Archive:Raumfahrt
News-Archiv Weltraum 2008

DLR und Kayser-Threde unterzeichnen Vertrag für deutschen Erdbeobachtungssatelliten EnMAP

11. November 2008

 Dr. Ludwig Baumgarten (DLR) und Jürgen Breitkopf (Kayser Threde GMBH)
zum Bild Dr. Ludwig Baumgarten (DLR) und Jürgen Breitkopf (Kayser Threde GMBH)

Am 11. November 2008 haben das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und die Kayser-Threde GmbH den Vertrag für die Entwicklung und den Bau des Satelliten EnMAP (Environmental Mapping and Analysis Programme) in Bonn unterzeichnet. EnMAP ist ein Hyperspektralsatellit zur Erdbeobachtung. Hyperspektralinstrumente registrieren die von der Erde reflektierte Sonnenstrahlung vom sichtbaren Licht bis hin zum nahen Infrarot. Daraus lassen sich präzise Aussagen über Zustand und Veränderungen der Erdoberfläche ableiten. Die Mission wird im Jahr 2012 starten und ist auf fünf Jahre ausgelegt.

Hyperspektralsensoren ermitteln Zustand von Boden, Pflanzen und Gewässern

 EnMAP-Modell
zum Bild EnMAP-Modell

Herkömmliche multispektrale Sensoren nehmen die von der Erde reflektierte Strahlung in wenigen, spektral sehr breiten Kanälen auf. Sie liefern zuverlässige Daten und Informationen, wie etwa über die Landbedeckung und deren räumliche Verteilung. Für qualitative Aussagen, beispielsweise über die Art der Vegetation, reichen diese Messmethoden aus. Für quantitative Informationen hingegen, wie die Nährstoffversorgung von Ackerpflanzen oder die Wasserqualität von Seen, werden spektral hochaufgelöste Daten benötigt.

Der Satellit EnMAP trägt ein so genanntes Hyperspektralinstrument, ein Spektrometer, welches die Erdoberfläche simultan in mehr als 200 spektral schmalen Farbkanälen abbildet. Damit werden detaillierte Informationen über Vegetation, Landnutzung, Gesteinsoberflächen und Gewässer gewonnen. Die Daten geben Auskunft über die mineralogische Zusammensetzung der Gesteine, die Schädigung von Pflanzen durch Luftschadstoffe oder den Grad der Bodenverschmutzung.

Der Satellit wird auf eine Umlaufbahn in etwa 650 Kilometern Höhe gebracht. Auf dieser kann er jeden Punkt der Erde innerhalb von vier Tagen zweimal überfliegen. Daher eignet sich EnMAP sehr gut für die Dokumentation räumlich-zeitlicher Veränderungen, wie etwa Erosionsvorgänge oder Vegetationsperioden. Die spektroskopische Erdbeobachtung liefert Erkenntnisse, wie sich die Ökosysteme von vielen unterschiedlichen Naturräumen ausbreiten und wie sie beschaffen sind: von Küstenzonen und vom Menschen geprägten Kulturlandschaften über Steppen und Wüsten bis hin zu Waldgebieten.

 Logo EnMAP
zum Bild Logo EnMAP

Mit EnMAP wird ein qualitativ hochwertiger Hyperspektralsensor satellitengestützt arbeiten. Die durch den Satelliten gewonnenen Daten sollen neue Nutzungsmöglichkeiten eröffnen. Außerdem sollen sie dazu beitragen, aktuelle Fragen aus den Bereichen Umwelt, Landwirtschaft, Landnutzung, Wasserwirtschaft und Geologie in einem globalen Maßstab beantworten zu können.

Die etwa 90 Millionen Euro teure Mission EnMAP wird geleitet von der DLR Raumfahrt-Agentur. Die Firma Kayser-Threde GmbH wird heute mit der Entwicklung, dem Bau und Start des Satelliten einschließlich des Hyperspektralinstruments beauftragt. Projektwissenschaftler für die Mission ist Professor Dr. Herrmann Kaufmann, GeoForschungsZentrum Potsdam. Der Aufbau des Bodensegments liegt in den Händen des DLR in Oberpfaffenhofen. Hierzu gehören die Steuerung des Satelliten, der Datenempfang, die Archivierung und Verarbeitung der Daten.


Kontakt
Dr. Niklas Reinke
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 228 447-394

Mobil: +49 174 1955114

Fax: +49 228 447-386


Christian Chlebek
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement
, Erdbeobachtung
Tel.: +49 228 447-593

Fax: +49 228 447-747


Zuletzt geändert am: 21.11.2008 15:19:13 Uhr