News Archive Space 2008

DLR communicates with TerraSAR-X Earth Observation satellite via laser beam

10 November 2008

 TerraSAR-X transmits data via laser beam
zum Bild TerraSAR-X transmits data via laser beam

For the first time, researchers at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) have succeeded in establishing communications between their optic ground station and the TerraSAR-X Earth Observation satellite. The station was able to track the satellite and receive signals from the Tesat laser terminal on the TerraSAR-X satellite. The use of laser beams would enable data transfer from Earth Observation satellites down to the surface of the Earth at speeds many times higher than those achieved at present - which would mean a big step forward in remote sensing of the Earth.

Transfer rates increased twentyfold

Near-Earth satellites can communicate with the ground station for about eight minutes during each pass. About two quadrillion bits can be transferred during these eight minutes, the equivalent amount of data on 70 DVDs. Data rates of 5.6 gigabits per second can be achieved over intersatellite links between so-called laser communication terminals (LCTs). This amounts to a twentyfold increase over the transfer rate achieved by state-of-the art satellites using the microwave technology in common use today. The higher transfer rates are made possible by the substantially higher frequency of the laser light, allowing more information to be transmitted per unit of time. Moreover, only a small amount of radiant energy is needed to transmit data over long distances.

 Optical ground station in Oberpfaffenhofen
zum Bild Optical ground station in Oberpfaffenhofen

This mode of data transfer does require very accurate alignment of the transmitter and the receiver, however, as the satellite moves across the sky at high speed and the laser beam received by the ground station only has a divergence of less than one thousandth of a degree. This means that the footprint of the laser beam has a diameter of just a few metres, even though the satellite is at a distance of 500 to 2 000 kilometres. In addition to this, the transmission is influenced by the weather and by atmospheric conditions. For this reason, scientists at the DLR Institute of Communications and Navigation investigated the propagation of light through the atmosphere between the satellite and the ground station. The results of this research are required for the design of future systems for data transfer from space to the surface of the Earth.

The 'LCT' on board TerraSAR-X was financed by the DLR Space Agency and built by the Tesat-Spacecom company. Using two laser communication terminals, laser communication was already established successfully between TerraSAR-X and the US satellite NFIRE (Near Field Infrared Experiment) over a distance of 5 000 kilometres in spring 2008.

 Laser signals from space
zum Bild Laser signals from space

The successful experiment marks the next phase in the evolution of this technology, which had already been demonstrated before in the German-Japanese KIODO project (KIrari’s Optical Downlink to Oberpfaffenhofen). In the context of this project, a laser beam transmitted by the Japanese 'OICETS' satellite (Optical Interorbit Communications Engineering Test Satellite) was 'captured' successfully using the optical ground station in Oberpfaffenhofen in June 2006. A data rate of 50 megabits per second was achieved over this downlink.

More of these experiments are planned for the future: in the context of an international measurement campaign, TerraSAR-X will communicate with ground stations in Tenerife, Oberpfaffenhofen and Tokyo. The European Space Agency ESA, the Japanese research institution NICT (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology) and the Tesat-Spacecom company will be DLR’s partners in this measurement campaign.

 


Related Contacts
Andreas Schütz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Spokesman

Tel: +49 2203 601-2474

Mobile: +49 171 3126466

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249

E-Mail: andreas.schuetz@dlr.de
Dr.-Ing. Dirk Giggenbach
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Communications and Navigation
, Satellite Networks
Tel: +49 8153 28-2821

Fax: +49 8153 28-2844

E-Mail: Dirk.Giggenbach@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-78/7420_read-14120/
Related Links
http://www.dlr.de/kn/en/
http://www.tesat.de/shared/Navig_engl/start.html
Related News
DLR extends its research in the field of optical communications from space (http://www.dlr.de/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-24/82_read-3696/usetemplate-print/)

News-Archiv Weltraum 2008

DLR kontaktiert Erderkundungssatelliten TerraSAR-X per Laserstrahl

10. November 2008

 TerraSAR-X sendet Daten per Laserstrahl
zum Bild TerraSAR-X sendet Daten per Laserstrahl

Erstmals ist es Forschern des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Oberpfaffenhofen gelungen, mit ihrer optischen Bodenstation den Erderkundungssatelliten TerraSAR-X über einen Laserstrahl zu kontaktieren. Dabei verfolgte die Station den Satelliten und empfing Signale des Tesat-Laserterminals vom TerraSAR-X-Satelliten. Per Laserstrahl könnten Daten von Erdbeobachtungssatelliten zum Boden in Zukunft um ein Vielfaches schneller übermittelt werden als heute - eine große Verbesserung für die Fernerkundung der Erde.

Zwanzig Mal schnellere Übertragungsraten

Erdnahe Satelliten können mit der Bodenstation bei jedem Überflug rund acht Minuten in Verbindung treten. Über Intersatelliten-Links zwischen Laserübertragungsstationen, so genannten Laser Communication Terminals (LCT), können Datenraten von 5,6 Gigabit pro Sekunde erreicht werden, also etwa zwanzig Mal schneller als die Übertragungsrate der modernsten Satelliten mit der zurzeit üblichen Mikrowellentechnik. Der Grund für die höheren Übertragungsraten ist die wesentlich höhere Frequenz des Lichtes, das damit mehr Informationen pro Zeiteinheit transportieren kann. Außerdem genügt eine geringe Strahlungsenergie um Daten über lange Strecken zu übertragen.

 Optische Bodenstation in Oberpfaffenhofen
zum Bild Optische Bodenstation in Oberpfaffenhofen

Allerdings stellt diese Art der Datenübertragung eine große Herausforderung an die Ausrichtung von Sender und Empfänger dar, weil sich der Satellit mit hoher Geschwindigkeit am Himmel bewegt und der Laserstrahl, der von der Bodenstation empfangen wird, lediglich einen Öffnungswinkel von weniger als einem Tausendstel Grad hat. Dies entspricht einem Strahldurchmesser am Boden von nur wenigen Metern, obwohl die Entfernung zum Satelliten 500 bis 2000 Kilometer beträgt. Außerdem hängt die Übertragung vom Wetter und den Bedingungen in der Atmosphäre ab. Aus diesem Grund haben die Wissenschaftler des DLR-Instituts für Kommunikation und Navigation bei dem jetzt erfolgten Test die Ausbreitung des Lichtes vom Satelliten durch die Atmosphäre zur Bodenstation untersucht. Diese Ergebnisse sind eine Voraussetzung für die Auslegung zukünftiger Systeme zur Datenübertragung aus dem Weltraum zur Erdoberfläche.

Mit dem durch die DLR Raumfahrt-Agentur finanzierten und von der Firma Tesat-Spacecom gebauten "LCT" auf TerraSAR-X gelang im Frühjahr 2008 mit zwei Laser-Übertragungsstationen bereits die Datenkommunikation per Laserstrahl zwischen TerraSAR-X und dem amerikanischen Satelliten NFIRE (Near Field Infrared Experiment) über eine Entfernung von 5000 Kilometern

 Lasersignale aus dem All
zum Bild Lasersignale aus dem All

Das erfolgreiche Experiment liegt in einer Entwicklungslinie mit der Technologie, wie sie im deutsch-japanischen Projekt KIODO (KIrari’s Optical Downlink to Oberpfaffenhofen) demonstriert werden konnte. Im Juni 2006 war es innerhalb dieses Projekts gelungen, in Oberpfaffenhofen den Laserstrahl des japanischen Satelliten "OICETS" (Optical Interorbit Communications Engineering Test Satellite) mit der optischen Bodenstation in Oberpfaffenhofen "einzufangen" und über diese Verbindung Datenraten von 50 Megabit pro Sekunde zu empfangen.

Weitere dieser Experimente sind in Zukunft geplant. Dann wird TerraSAR-X im Rahmen einer internationalen Messkampagne mit Bodenstationen auf Teneriffa, in Oberpfaffenhofen und in Tokio Kontakt aufnehmen. Partner des DLR sind dabei die Europäische Weltraumorganisation ESA, die japanische Forschungseinrichtung NICT (National Institute of Information and Communications Technology) und die Firma Tesat-Spacecom.


Kontakt
Andreas Schütz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Pressesprecher

Tel: +49 2203 601-2474

Mobil: +49 171 3126466

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249

E-Mail: andreas.schuetz@dlr.de
Dr.-Ing. Dirk Giggenbach
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Kommunikation und Navigation
, Satellitennetze
Tel: +49 8153 28-2821

Fax: +49 8153 28-2844

E-Mail: Dirk.Giggenbach@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-78/7420_read-14120/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/kn
http://www.tesat.de
Texte zu diesem Artikel
Datenempfang per Laser erfolgreich getestet - DLR weitet seine Forschung auf dem Gebiet der optischen Freiraumkommunikation auf den Weltraum aus (http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-24/82_read-3696/usetemplate-print/)
LCT (http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-4161/3338_read-5031/usetemplate-print/)