News Archive Energy 2008

DLR participates in N.ERGHY, the new European research association on hydrogen and fuel cells

17 April 2008

 DLR’s HYDROSOL project in Almería
zum Bild DLR’s HYDROSOL project in Almería

The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) participates enthusiastically in the newly founded association N.ERGHY (New European Research Grouping on Fuel Cells and Hydrogen). N.ERGHY has recently been founded in Brussels, and together with the European Commission and an industry grouping forms part of the "Joint Technology Initiative for Hydrogen and Fuel Cells" (JTI), which has its aim the rapid development and deployment of hydrogen production and hydrogen application technologies.

For the next five years, the JTI has a budget of 940 million euro at its disposal, with the industry and the European Commission each providing half of the total sum. The establishment of the JTI entails that the research themes hydrogen and fuel cells within the EU's research framework programme are organised exclusively through the JTI. N.ERGHY's essential tasks include defining themes from the research and development areas to be elaborated and worked on. So far, 42 European research institutions and universities have joined N.ERGHY.

One of the main aims of hydrogen research is to develop, within the next ten years, the required technologies and to make them marketable, and then to gradually develop a viable hydrogen economy in Europe - the scenarios used have time horizons of up to 2050. DLR is already working intensively on research and development concerning fuel cells and hydrogen. In late March, a 100-kilowatt reactor for producing hydrogen through water splitting using solar energy was inaugurated at the Plataforma Solar de Almería (Spain) as part of the HYDROSOL project.

As N.ERGHY Executive Board member, Dr Christian Sattler of the DLR Institute of Technical Thermodynamics is responsible for the fields of hydrogen production and hydrogen storage. Moreover, the DLR's Programme Directorate Energy undertakes the N.ERGHY secretariat and makes additional staff resources available for this purpose.


Related Contacts
Hans-Leo Richter
German Aerospace Center

Corporate Communications, Editor, Aeronautics Research

Tel: +49 2203 601-2425

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249

E-Mail: Hans-Leo.Richter@dlr.de
Dr.rer.nat. Christian Sattler
German Aerospace Center

Institute of Solar Research
, Solar Chemical Engineering
Tel: +49 2203 601-2868

Fax: +49 2203 601-4141

E-Mail: Christian.Sattler@dlr.de
URL for this article
http://www.dlr.de/en/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-80/7422_read-12262/
Related Links
http://www.dlr.de/tt/en/

News-Archiv Energie 2008

DLR beteiligt sich an neuer Europäischen Forschungsgesellschaft für Wasserstoff und Brennstoffzellen N.ERGHY

17. April 2008

 HYDROSOL-Projekt des DLR in Almería
zum Bild HYDROSOL-Projekt des DLR in Almería

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) beteiligt sich mit großem Engagement an der neu gegründeten Gesellschaft N.ERGHY (New European Research Grouping on Fuel Cells and HYdrogen). N.ERGHY wurde unlängst in Brüssel gegründet und ist neben der Europäischen Kommission und einem Industrieverbund Bestandteil der "Joint Technology Initiative for Hydrogen and Fuel Cells" (JTI), die die schnelle Entwicklung und Einführung von Technologien zur Wasserstofferzeugung und -nutzung zum Ziel hat.

Für die nächsten fünf Jahre steht der JTI ein Budget von 940 Millionen Euro zur Verfügung, das jeweils zur Hälfte von der Industrie und der Europäischen Kommission bereitgestellt wird. Durch die Einführung der JTI werden die Themen Wasserstoff und Brennstoffzellen im Forschungsrahmenprogramm der EU ausschließlich über die JTI organisiert. Zu den wesentlichen Aufgaben von N.ERGHY zählt die Definition von Themen aus den Bereichen Forschung und Entwicklung zur weiteren Ausschreibung und Bearbeitung. Bislang beteiligen sich an N.ERGHY 42 europäische Forschungseinrichtungen und Universitäten.

Eines der Hauptziele der Wasserstoff-Forschung ist es, innerhalb des nächsten Jahrzehnts die notwendigen Technologien zu entwickeln und zur Marktreife zu bringen, um dann sukzessive eine funktionsfähige Wasserstoffwirtschaft in Europa aufzubauen – in Szenarien werden hier Zeiträume bis 2050 thematisiert. Das DLR beschäftigt sich bereits intensiv mit der Forschung und Entwicklung auf den Gebieten Brennstoffzellen und Wasserstoff. Im Projekt HYDROSOL wurde erst Ende März auf der Plataforma Solar de Almería (Spanien) ein 100 Kilowatt-Reaktor zur Wasserstofferzeugung durch Wasserspaltung mittels Solarenergie eingeweiht.

Als Vorstandsmitglied von N.ERGHY verantwortet Dr. Christian Sattler vom DLR-Institut für Technische Thermodynamik den Bereich Wasserstoffproduktion und -speicherung. Zudem übernimmt die Programmdirektion Energie des DLR das Sekretariat von N.ERGHY und stellt hierfür zusätzliche Personalkapazitäten bereit.


Kontakt
Dr. Dietmar Heyland
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Technology Marketing

Tel: +49 2203 601-2769

E-Mail: dietmar.heyland@dlr.de
Dr.rer.nat. Christian Sattler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Solarforschung
, Solare Verfahrenstechnik
Tel: +49 2203 601-2868

Fax: +49 2203 601-4141

E-Mail: Christian.Sattler@dlr.de
URL dieses Artikels
http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-80/7422_read-12262/
Links zu diesem Artikel
http://www.dlr.de/tt
Texte zu diesem Artikel
DLR nimmt Solarversuchseinrichtung im spanischen Almeria in Betrieb (http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-1/86_read-12058/usetemplate-print/)
DLR-Projekt HYDROSOL mit Descartes Preis ausgezeichnet (http://www.dlr.de/desktopdefault.aspx/tabid-13/135_read-7971/usetemplate-print/)