All set for space! – the MASCOT asteroid lander

Mascot

27 November 2014

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Video: Asteroidenlander Mascot

    Animation –MASCOT asteroid lander

    The German Aerospace Center (DLR) MASCOT asteroid lander will launch in December 2014 on board the Japanese Hayabusa 2 spacecraft, with asteroid 1999 JU3 as its destination.

  • Hochintegrierter Asteroidenlander MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout)
    Mobile asteroid surface scout (MASCOT)

    MASCOT is a highly-integrated asteroid lander whose development was co-ordinated by DLR scientists collaborating with the French space agency CNES and the Japanese space authority JAXA.

  • Mascot
    Giving MASCOT the finishing touches

    Engineers at the German Aerospace Center (DLR) assemble the MASCOT asteroid lander for the Japanese Hayabusa 2 spacecraft.

  • Mascot
    Names and best wishes for MASCOT

    3500 space fans sent their names and good wishes to the DLR MASCOT asteroid lander, destined for asteroid 1999 JU3. Two small foils with the names and messages are attached to MASCOT.

  • Mascot
    MASCOT teamwork

    A team at the German Aerospace Center (DLR) developed, built and tested the MASCOT asteroid lander, which will travel to asteroid 1999 JU3 on board the Japanese Hayabusa 2 spacecraft.

  • Mascot
    Landing craft MASCOT

    The Japanese space agency JAXA will send in 2014 the German landing craft Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout (MASCOT) to asteroid 1999 JU 3 on board the Japanese orbiter Hayabusa 2. A stable, yet extremely light cover will protect the shoe box-sized lander as it falls to the asteroid's surface. The four instruments designed to conduct in situ measurements on the asteroid are located inside the DLR landing craft: the French infrared spectrometer that will analyse the surface composition and a magnetometer from TU Braunschweig to investigate the magnetic field.

  • Hayabusa2
    Ready to go – Hayabusa 2 and MASCOT

    The German Aerospace Center (DLR) will journey to asteroid 1999 JU3 on board the Japanese Hayabusa 2 spacecraft. Originally scheduled for launch at 05:24 CET on 30 November 2014, the MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout) asteroid lander will now set off from Tanegashima Space Center on board the Japanese orbiter Hayabusa 2 no earlier than 1 December.

  • Hayabusa 2
    Reconnaissance mission to an asteroid

    The Japanese Hayabusa 2 spacecraft will launch in 2014 to visit the asteroid 1999 JU 3. On board will be the German Aerospace Center (DLR) developed MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout), which will land on the asteroid and perform measurements with its four instruments.

Latest: the launch of Hayabusa 2 and MASCOT has been delayed until 1 December 2014 at the earliest, due to predicted adverse weather conditions at the launch site. This page will be updated when a new launch time is announced by JAXA.

Originally scheduled for launch at 05:24 CET on 30 November 2014, the MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout) asteroid lander will now set off from Tanegashima Space Center on board the Japanese Space Agency (JAXA) orbiter Hayabusa 2 no earlier than 1 December, destined for asteroid 1999 JU3. The voyage will last roughly four years. Once there, MASCOT, the lander developed by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR), will be deployed onto the surface of the asteroid with its four instruments. Weighing just 10 kilograms, the lander will use an eccentric arm installed in its interior to 'hop' almost 70 metres across 1999 JU3 – delivering the first measurements from different locations on an asteroid’s surface.

Meanwhile, the Hayabusa 2 spacecraft will remain in orbit, and will acquire surface samples that it will then bring back to Earth. The mission will be conducted as a cooperation between the Japanese and French space agencies. "Following in the footsteps of Philae's unique comet landing earlier this year, this venture represents the next stage in an exciting journey into space – and is a perfect example of how international cooperation is set to continue," said Hansjörg Dittus, DLR Executive Board Member for Space Research and Technology.

Livestream: Start launch at Tanegashima Space Center in Japan

Broadcast live streaming video on Ustream
The live broadcast will start just before the launch

 

Tested by dropping and shaking

Several falls through the weightless environment of a drop tower, severe vibration tests on a shaker table and simulations of the harsh conditions of space in a thermal vacuum chamber – the MASCOT asteroid lander was asked to withstand all of these challenges in preparation for its journey. "Although MASCOT has to be light, it also needs to be extremely stable," explains DLR Project Manager Tra-Mi Ho from the DLR Institute of Space Systems. "This posed as much of a challenge as the integration of four instruments in a very confined space." The MASCOT lander measures just 30 by 30 by 20 centimetres – roughly the size of a shoebox. The DLR Institute of Planetary Research has contributed a radiometer (MARA) that, among other things, will measure temperatures on the surface of the asteroid. The Institute has also provided the MASCAM camera, which will acquire its first images as the lander descends towards the asteroid surface and, once there, is designed to analyse the fine structure of the surface. TU Braunschweig will use a magnetometer (MasMag) to research magnetisation of the rock, and the French Space Agency, CNES, will deploy the MicrOmega spectrometer to analyse the minerals and rocks on 1999 JU3.

Looking back into the past

Before MASCOT touches down, the Japanese Hayabusa 2 orbiter is initially scheduled to circle and map the asteroid. Once deposited on the surface, MASCOT will act as a scout for its mother craft, which will ingest particles swirled up from the asteroid’s surface and bring them back to Earth. "Among other things, the data that our lander will acquire can also be used to supplement the information acquired by the orbiter and the laboratory analyses back on Earth," emphasises Tra-Mi Ho. MASCOT will descend to the surface of the asteroid – which measures just one kilometre across and whose gravitational acceleration is 60,000 times weaker than that here on Earth – from a height of approximately 100 metres. Mascot will conduct its measurements over two full asteroid days and nights – a period lasting up to 16 Earth hours.

The scientists are primarily interested in investigating the origins of the Solar System. This celestial body, practically unchanged for 4.5 billion years, will allow the planetary researchers to look back into the past. "Our target asteroid, 1999 JU3, belongs to one of the most common classes of near-Earth asteroids," says Ralf Jaumann from the DLR Institute of Planetary Research, scientific spokesperson for the lander experiments. "Telescope measurements conducted here on Earth suggest that it may contain water." This could indicate that asteroids colliding with Earth might have been one of the original sources of water on the planet.

Contact with DLR control centre

Several institutes within DLR are cooperating with the Institute of Space Systems and the Institute of Planetary Research to enable the landing on asteroid 1999 JU3; among them, the DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems was responsible for the landing craft's stable structure. The Robotics and Mechatronics Center at DLR developed the eccentric arm that will allow MASCOT to 'hop' across the asteroid. Just like the Philae comet lander, which is part of ESA's Rosetta Mission, MASCOT will be monitored and controlled at the DLR Microgravity User Support Center (MUSC) in Cologne. "We are planning to switch MASCOT on for the first time after launch on 12 December and check that it is in a 'good state of health'," says Christian Krause, a member of the the DLR mission control team.

Last modified:
15/05/2018 14:28:24

Contacts

 

Manuela Braun
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space research and technology, Communication

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr Tra-Mi Ho
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Space Systems

Tel.: +49 421 24420-1171
Prof.Dr. Ralf Jaumann
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Planetary Research, Planetary Geology

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402
Christian Krause
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Microgravity User Support Center (MUSC), Space Operations and Astronaut Training

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3048

Startbereit für den Flug ins All: Asteroidenlander Mascot

Mascot

Donnerstag, 27. November 2014

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Video: Asteroidenlander Mascot

    Animation: Asteroidenlander Mascot

    Der Asteroidenlander Mascot des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) startet im November 2014 zum Asteroiden 1999 JU 3 an Bord der japanischen Hayabusa-2-Sonde.

  • Asteroidenlander MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout)
    Asteroidenlander MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout)

    MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout) ist ein hochintegrierter Asteroidenlander, federführend entwickelt von DLR-Wissenschaftlern in Kooperation mit der französischen Raumfahrtagentur CNES und der japanischen Raumfahrtbehörde JAXA.

  • Mascot
    Letzte Handgriffe an Mascot

    Die Ingenieure des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) bauen den Asteroidenlander Mascot an der japanischen Sonde Hayabusa2 ein.

  • Mascot
    Namen und Wünsche für Mascot

    Rund 3500 Weltraum-Fans senden ihre Namen und gute Wünsche mit dem Asteroidenlander Mascot des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) zum Asteroiden 1999 JU3. Dafür wurden zwei kleinen Folien mit Namen und Botschaften an Mascot befestigt.

  • Mascot
    Teamarbeit für Mascot

    Das Team des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) entwickelte, baute und testete den Asteroidenlander Mascot, der unter der Leitung des DLR an Bord der japanischen Hayabusa2-Sonde zum Asteroiden 1999 JU3 fliegt.

  • Asteroidenlander Mascot
    Asteroidenlander MASCOT

    Der Asteroidenlander MASCOT fliegt mit der japanischen Raumsonde Hayabusa2 zum Asteroiden Ryugu. Dort wird er mit einem Auslösemechanismus aus der Sonde "gedrückt" und landet auf dem Asteroiden. Die vier Instrumente an Bord - ein Spektrometer der französischen Raumfahrtagentur CNES, ein Magnetometer der TU Brauchschweig sowie eine Kamera und ein Radiometer des DLR - führen dann Messungen durch. Dabei hüpft der Lander von Messstelle zu Messstelle.

  • Hayabusa2
    Startklar: Hayabusa2 und Mascot

    Der Asteroidenlander Mascot des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) fliegt mit der japanischen Hayabusa2-Sonde zum Asteroiden 1999 JU3. Der Start erfolgt voraussichtlich am 30. November 2014 um 5.24 Uhr mitteleuropäischer Zeit vom japanischen Tanegashima Space Center.

  • Hayabusa 2
    Erkundungsflug zum Asteroiden

    Die japanische Raumsonde Hayabusa2 wird 2014 zum Asteroiden 1999 JU 3 starten. Mit an Bord ist der vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) entwickelte Lander MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout), der auf dem Asteroiden aufsetzen und mit vier Instrumenten Messungen durchführen wird.

+++ Der Starttermin der Hayabusa2-Sonde wurde auf den 3. Dezember 2014 um 5.22 Uhr mitteleuropäischer Zeit verlegt. Der Termin musste aufgrund schlechter Wetterbedingungen verschoben werden. +++

Am 30. November 2014 um 5.24 Uhr mitteleuropäischer Zeit wird es soweit sein: Der Asteroidenlander Mascot (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout) startet an Bord der japanischen Hayabusa2-Sonde vom Tanegashima Space Centre zum Asteroiden 1999 JU 3. Rund vier Jahre wird die Reise dauern, bis die Sonde der japanischen Raumfahrtagentur JAXA an ihrem Ziel ankommt. Dann soll der Lander Mascot des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) mit seinen vier Instrumenten auf der Asteroidenoberfläche abgesetzt werden. Der zehn Kilogramm leichte Lander wird auf 1999 JU3 mit Hilfe eines Schwungarms in seinem Inneren bis zu 70 Meter weit hüpfen - und so erstmals Messungen an verschiedenen Orten auf einer Asteroidenoberfläche durchführen. Die Hayabusa2-Sonde soll im Flug währenddessen Bodenproben aufnehmen und anschließend zur Erde zurückbringen. Die Mission erfolgt in einer Kooperation mit der japanischen und der französischen Raumfahrtagentur. "Nach der einzigartigen Kometenlandung von Philae in diesem Jahr ist dies die nächste Etappe einer aufregenden Reise ins All - und ein gutes Beispiel für die Fortführung internationaler Kooperationen", sagt Prof. Hansjörg Dittus, DLR-Raumfahrt-Vorstand.

Livestream: Raketenstart vom Tanegashima Space Centre in Japan


Broadcast live streaming video on Ustream
Die Liveübertragung startet am 3. Dezember 2014 um 4:25 Uhr mitteleuropäischer Zeit und geht voraussichtlich bis 5:40 Uhr.

Fallen und Schütteln als Härtetest

Mehrere Stürze durch die Schwerelosigkeit eines Fallturms, heftige Vibrationstests auf dem Schütteltisch und Weltraumbedingungen in der Thermalvakuumkammer - alles das hat Asteroidenlander Mascot als Vorbereitung für seine Reise durchs All überstehen müssen. "Mascot musste leicht, aber gleichzeitig auch sehr stabil sein", erläutert DLR-Projektleiterin Dr. Tra-Mi Ho vom DLR-Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme. "Das war eine ebenso große Herausforderung wie die Integration von vier Instrumenten auf wirklich kleinem Raum". Gerade einmal 30 mal 30 mal 20 Zentimeter- vergleichbar mit einem Schuhkarton - ist Landegerät Mascot klein. Das DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung steuert ein Radiometer (MARA) bei, das unter anderem die Temperatur auf der Asteroidenoberfläche messen wird, sowie die Kamera MASCAM, die bereits beim Abstieg auf den Asteroiden erste Aufnahmen erstellen wird und vor Ort die Feinstruktur des Bodens untersuchen soll. Die TU Braunschweig wird mit einem Magnetometer (MasMag) die Magnetisierung des Gesteins erforschen, die französische Raumfahrtagentur CNES analysiert mit dem Spektrometer MicrOmega die Minerale und Gesteine von 1999 JU3.

Blick in die Vergangenheit

Bevor Mascot ausgesetzt wird, soll aber zunächst die japanische Hayabusa2-Sonde um den Asteroiden kreisen und ihn kartographieren. Auf der Oberfläche selbst wird Mascot dann wiederum ein Späher für die Muttersonde Hayabusa2 sein, die aufwirbelnde Asteroidenpartikel einsaugen und zur Erde bringen soll. "Die Daten, die unser Lander misst, werden unter anderem auch die Informationen der Sonde und der Labor-Analysen auf der Erde ergänzen", betont Projektleiterin Dr. Tra-Mi Ho. Aus einer Höhe von etwa 100 Metern wird Mascot auf den Asteroiden fallen, der einen Durchmesser von gerade einmal einem Kilometer und ein 60.000stel der Erdanziehungskraft hat. Zwei komplette Asteroidentage und -nächte und somit bis zu 16 Stunden wird Mascot seine Messungen durchführen.

Die Wissenschaftler wollen vor allem den Ursprüngen unseres Sonnensystems auf die Spur kommen: Der seit etwa 4,5 Milliarden Jahren kaum veränderte Himmelskörper ermöglicht den Planetenforschern dabei den Blick in die Vergangenheit. "Unser Zielasteroid 1999 JU 3 gehört zu einer häufig vorkommenden Klasse von erdnahen Asteroiden", sagt der wissenschaftliche Sprecher für die Experimente auf dem Lander, Prof. Ralf Jaumann vom DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung. "Teleskopmessungen von der Erde aus lassen vermuten, dass er eventuell Wasser enthält." Damit besteht die Möglichkeit, dass Asteroiden einst mit Einschlägen auf der Erde auch Wasser zu unserem Planeten gebracht haben könnten.

Kontakt aus dem DLR-Kontrollraum

Um die Landung auf Asteroid 1999 JU3 zu ermöglichen, arbeiteten mehrerer DLR-Institute mit dem Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme und dem Institut für Planetenforschung zusammen: So war das DLR-Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik für die stabile Struktur des Landers zuständig. Das DLR-Institut für Robotik und Mechatronik entwickelte den Schwungarm, der Mascot auf dem Asteroiden hüpfen lässt. Überwacht und betrieben wird Asteroidenlander Mascot - ebenso wie Kometenlander Philae bei der Rosetta-Mission - aus dem DLR-Kontrollzentrum des Nutzerzentrums für Weltraumexperimente (MUSC) in Köln. "Wir werden Mascot voraussichtlich am 12. Dezember 2014 zum ersten Mal nach dem Start einschalten und seinen "Gesundheitszustand" überprüfen", sagt Christian Krause aus dem Kontrollraum-Team des DLR.

Mit durch das All fliegen auch rund 3500 Namen und Botschaften, die auf zwei kleinen Folien eingetragen und an Asteroidenlander Mascot befestigt wurden. Im Juli 2014 hatte das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) die Weltraum-Fans aufgefordert, ihre Grüße mit auf die Reise zu schicken. Innerhalb von wenigen Tagen trugen sich Tausende mit Namen und Wünschen ein. "Mach Deine Sache ordentlich!" und "Alles Gute auf Deiner langen Reise!" wünschten die virtuellen Mitreisenden.

 

Zuletzt geändert am:
02.12.2014 14:20:20 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Media Relations, Raumfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Tra-Mi Ho
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme

Tel.: +49 421 24420-1171
Prof. Dr. Ralf Jaumann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung, Planetengeologie

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402
Christian Krause
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Nutzerzentrum für Weltraumexperimente (MUSC), Raumflugbetrieb und Astronautentraining

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3048