myCopter points the way towards Personal Aerial Vehicles

20 November 2014

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Probeflug mit dem neuen Lenkrad für Hubschrauber
    Testing the new helicopter steering wheel

    The new steering wheel control for helicopters makes flying much easier. It can be used not only to fly a PAV, but also to improve other aircraft.

  • Der Skyrider, eine Designstudie für den Individualverkehr der Zukunft
    The Skyrider, a design study for the personal transport of the future

    With special aircraft, known as Personal Aerial Vehicles (PAV), it will be possible for anyone to carry out daily journeys through the air in the future.

  • Bianca Schuchardt mit Lenkradsteuerung im DLR%2dHubschraubersimulator
    Bianca Schuchardt with the steering wheel system in the helicopter simulator

    With the myCopter steering wheel system, rotorcraft can be controlled almost like a modern-day car.

  • Simulatorzentrum AVES (Air Vehicle Simulator)
    Simulator center AVES (Air Vehicle Simulator)

    The simulation center is home to a moving and a stationary simulator with an interchangeable cockpit.

  • myCopter%2dLenkrad im Simulatortest
    myCopter steering wheel in the simulator test

    The cyclic stick – responsible for movements about the longitudinal axis (roll) and the transverse axis (pitch) – is missing from the myCopter steering wheel system. One stick remains, exclusively responsible for altitude. Alternatively, this aspect could be controlled using a paddle fitted to the steering wheel. Just as with the accelerator and brake in a car, the pedals control speed and can even cause the vehicle to hover. An eight-way switch on the myCopter steering wheel controls reverse and lateral flight. The steering wheel has already completed its maiden flight in the virtual environment of the Air Vehicle Simulator (AVES) operated by DLR in Braunschweig.

  • Im Cockpit des DLR%2dForschungshubschraubers EC%2d135 ACT/FHS
    In the cockpit of the DLR research helicopter EC-135 ACT / FHS

    Bianca Gursky and test pilot Uwe Göhmann discuss the cockpit of the helicopter research ACT / FHS the first flight test with the myCopter- steering wheel. His baptism of fire in the simulator has already passed it. Now Uwe Göhmann want to use the helicopter to fly with the steering wheel through the air.

  • DLR%2dForschungshubschrauber EC%2d135 ACT/FHS
    DLR research helicopter EC-135 ACT / FHS

    The ACT/FHS 'Flying Helicopter Simulator' of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is based on a standard Eurocopter EC 135 type helicopter, which has been extensively modified for use as a research and test aircraft.

Road congestion is a fact of everyday life for many people. A possible solution for the future is expanding personal transport to include aviation. High above the roads, the routes become much more flexible, and travellers can reach their destinations faster. Researchers at the of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) Braunschweig site recently presented the results of the EU research project myCopter. The DLR-developed myCopter steering wheel system, which allows users to operate tomorrow's aerial vehicles almost like cars, is the highlight of the development. Numerous other questions such as collision prevention, swarm flight or pilot training were analysed within the framework of the project, conducted under the auspices of the Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics. The project also sought to learn more about the opportunities and challenges of an accessible personal air transport system, as well as take into consideration the expectations of the potential users. With an initial investigation of the possible social impact of the project, myCopter provides additional pioneering work in the field of future personal air transport systems.

Intuitive control system

The researchers focused on fundamental technologies and concepts. In future, the plan is that special aircraft, known as Personal Aerial Vehicles (PAVs), will enable people to go where they need to go by air. But for this to happen, the pilots will need a more efficient and intuitively designed control system. One of the greatest challenges is engineering a control system that enables anyone to fly future PAVs. At the moment, the control systems found in modern helicopters are complex and using them requires a great deal of training,” says Stefan Levedag, Head of the DLR Institute of Flight Systems. “But we have now managed to develop a steering wheel based control system – with automatic control technology behind it – that makes flying far simpler. The range of possible applications extends way beyond PAVs, bringing clear benefits to other airborne vehicles as well.” Special control technology assists pilots while manoeuvring the aircraft.

Drivers are perfectly familiar with how to steer a car. The plan is to use this wealth of experience to create a more intuitive system for aircraft control with the aim of substantially simplifying the training required for future PAV pilots. "Personal Aerial Vehicles have the potential for playing an important role in future transport systems," emphasises Heinrich H. Bülthoff, the Project Manager from the Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics. "myCopter has made a substantial contribution to developing crucial technologies that will be needed in future to make the dream of PAVs come true."

Steering wheel in the helicopter simulator

'Take four and make three' was the underlying concept behind the new steering wheel for helicopters. "Until now, helicopter pilots have been required to monitor all four control axes," explains Bianca Schuchardt from the DLR Institute of Flight Systems. "This takes absolute concentration, especially when hovering, as a pilot must operate both sticks and pedals at the same time to maintain a stable position in the air." The cyclic stick – responsible for movements about the longitudinal axis (roll) and the transverse axis (pitch) – is missing from the myCopter steering wheel system. "Instead, the pilot simply turns the steering wheel as required to fly the helicopter in the intended direction," Schuchardt continues. One stick remains, exclusively responsible for altitude. Alternatively, this aspect could be controlled using a paddle fitted to the steering wheel. Just as with the accelerator and brake in a car, the pedals control speed and can even cause the vehicle to hover. An eight-way switch on the myCopter steering wheel controls reverse and lateral flight. The steering wheel has already completed its maiden flight in the virtual environment of the Air Vehicle Simulator (AVES) operated by DLR in Braunschweig. The next stage will involve actual flight-testing of the system using the DLR ACT/FHS research helicopter, which is based on a Eurocopter EC 135.

Out of the tailback and into swarm flight

"The key to simplifying helicopter flight for everyday purposes and – in addition to the controls themselves – to introduce suitable sensors and screen content that make piloting the aircraft as intuitive as possible for the user," says Bülthoff, who conducts research into these questions at the Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics. Other project partners are involved in questions of how the numerous individual pilots could be coordinated and what specific PAV training they would require. The aerodynamic PAV model and the curriculum for training future pilots was also a topic at the University of Liverpool. Meanwhile, students at École Polytechnique Féderale de Lausanne (EFPL) used unmanned aerial vehicles to conduct research into collision prevention, swarm flight and automatic landing site detection, while the Swiss Federal Institute of Technology in Zurich (Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich; ETH Zurich) investigated control strategies for personal aircraft and also used unmanned aerial vehicles to test take-off, landing and navigation. The Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT) analysed the socio-technological aspects of the project and how the introduction of PAVs would affect society.

Flight path shown on cockpit display

DLR has also used its EC 135 ACT/FHS research helicopter to conduct demonstrations of selected technologies developed within the framework of the project. "We are supporting the development of aerodynamic models and producing a 'Highway-In-The-Sky display' for PAVs – a kind of intuitive navigational tool for the pilots," explains Schuchardt. A tunnel display in the cockpit shows lines indicating the optimal flight path to the pilot.

The myCopter project – Enabling Technologies for Personal Aerial Transportation Systems – is scheduled to last four years, running from the start of 2011 to the end of 2014. It receives funding from the European Commission within the 7th Research Framework Programme. Partners include the Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics (project management), the University of Liverpool, EFPL, ETH Zurich, KIT and DLR.

Last modified:
21/11/2014 10:22:04

Contacts

 

Falk Dambowsky
German Aerospace Centre (DLR)

Media Relations, Aeronautics

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959
Prof. Dr. Stefan Levedag
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Flight Systems

Tel.: +49 531 295-2600
Bianca Schuchardt
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Flight Systems

Tel.: +49 531 295-2429
Prof. Dr. Heinrich H. Bülthoff
Max Planck Institute for Biological Cybernetics

Tel.: +49 7071 601-601

Projekt myCopter zeigt Wege zum individuellen Luftverkehr

Projekt myCopter zeigt Wege zum individuellen Luftverkehr

Donnerstag, 20. November 2014

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Probeflug mit dem neuen Lenkrad für Hubschrauber
    Probeflug mit dem neuen Lenkrad für Hubschrauber

    Die neue Lenkradsteuerung für Hubschrauber vereinfacht das Fliegen deutlich. Sie kann nicht nur für ein PAV genutzt werden, sondern auch andere Luftfahrzeuge verbessern.

  • Der Skyrider, eine Designstudie für den Individualverkehr der Zukunft
    Der Skyrider, eine Designstudie für den Individualverkehr der Zukunft

    Mit speziellen Fluggeräten, sogenannten Personal Aerial Vehicles (PAV), soll es in ferner Zukunft jedermann möglich sein, seine täglichen Wege durch die Luft zurückzulegen.

  • Bianca Schuchardt mit Lenkradsteuerung im DLR%2dHubschraubersimulator
    Bianca Schuchardt mit Lenkradsteuerung im DLR-Hubschraubersimulator

    Mit der myCopter-Lenkradsteuerung lassen sich Drehflügler nahezu wie ein heutiger PKW steuern.

  • Simulatorzentrum AVES (Air Vehicle Simulator)
    Simulatorzentrum AVES (Air Vehicle Simulator)

    Das Simulatorzentrum beheimatet einen bewegten und einen feststehenden Simulator, deren Cockpits ausgetauscht werden können.

  • myCopter%2dLenkrad im Simulatortest
    myCopter-Lenkrad im Simulatortest

    Mit dem myCopter-Lenkrad fällt das zyklische Steuer weg, das für die Bewegung um die Längsachse (Rollen) und um die Querachse (Nicken) verantwortlich ist. Stattdessen kann der Pilot mit der entsprechenden Drehbewegung des Lenkrads den Hubschrauber in die gewünschte Richtung fliegen. Ein Hebel verbleibt ausschließlich für die Flughöhe. Alternativ kann diese auch über Schaltwippen am Lenkrad kontrolliert werden. Die Pedale kontrollieren wie beim Auto mit Gas und Bremse die Geschwindigkeit bis hin zum Verweilen im Schwebeflug. Zudem ermöglicht ein Acht-Wege-Schalter am myCopter-Lenkrad den Rückwärtsflug sowie den Seitwärtsflug. Im AVES-Simulatorzentrum des DLR in Braunschweig hat das Lenkrad bereits seinen virtuellen Erstflug im Hubschrauber gemeistert.

  • Im Cockpit des DLR%2dForschungshubschraubers EC%2d135 ACT/FHS
    Im Cockpit des DLR-Forschungshubschraubers EC-135 ACT/FHS

    Bianca Gursky und Testpilot Uwe Göhmann besprechen im Cockpit des Forschungshubschraubers ACT/FHS den ersten Flugversuch mit dem myCopter-Lenkrad. Seine Feuertaufe im Simulator hat es bereits bestanden. Nun soll Uwe Göhmann den Hubschrauber mit dem Lenkrad durch die Luft fliegen.

  • DLR%2dForschungshubschrauber EC%2d135 ACT/FHS
    DLR-Forschungshubschrauber EC-135 ACT/FHS

    Der "Fliegende Hubschrauber-Simulator" ACT/FHS des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) basiert auf einem Serienhubschrauber des Typs Eurocopter EC 135, der für die Verwendung als Forschungs- und Versuchsgerät erheblich modifiziert wurde.

Stau auf den Straßen ist Alltag für viele. Ein zukünftiger Ausweg: Den Individualverkehr auf die Luft ausdehnen. Hoch über den Straßen sind die Wege flexibel und Reisende kommen schneller ans Ziel. Am Standort Braunschweig des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) haben Wissenschaftler nun die Ergebnisse des EU-Forschungsprojekts myCopter vorgestellt. Ein Highlight ist die im DLR entwickelte myCopter-Lenkradsteuerung, mit der sich Drehflügler von morgen nahezu wie ein heutiger PKW steuern lassen. Zahlreiche weitere Fragen wie Kollisionsvermeidung, Schwarmflug oder Pilotenausbildung wurden im Rahmen des vom Max-Planck-Institut für biologische Kybernetik geleiteten Projekts untersucht, um mehr über die Möglichkeiten und Herausforderungen des individuellen Luftverkehrs für jedermann zu lernen. Dabei galt es auch die Erwartungen potentieller Nutzer zu betrachten. Mit einer ersten Untersuchung möglicher gesellschaftlicher Auswirkungen leistet das myCopter-Projekt zusätzliche Pionierarbeit auf dem Gebiet des zukünftigen Individualverkehrs.

Steuerung soll intuitiver werden

Im Fokus der Forscher standen grundlegende Technologien und Konzepte. Mit speziellen Fluggeräten, sogenannten Personal Aerial Vehicles (PAV), soll es in ferner Zukunft jedermann möglich sein, seine täglichen Wege durch die Luft zurückzulegen. Dafür muss die Steuerung für die Piloten effizienter und intuitiver gestaltet werden. "Die Handhabung zukünftiger PAVs für jedermann möglich zu machen, ist eine große Herausforderung, denn das Hubschrauberfliegen mit der heutigen komplexen Steuerung erfordert nach wie vor viel Training", sagt Prof. Stefan Levedag, Leiter des DLR-Instituts für Flugsystemtechnik. „Nun ist es uns gelungen, eine Lenkradsteuerung mit dahinterliegender automatischer Steuerungstechnik zu entwickeln, die das Fliegen deutlich vereinfacht. Wir können das nicht nur für ein PAV nutzen, sondern auch andere Luftfahrzeuge damit verbessern." Eine spezielle Regelungstechnik unterstützt den Piloten bei der Steuerung des Fluggerätes.

Das Erfahrungswissen des Autofahrers soll genutzt werden, um die Steuerung von Fluggeräten intuitiver zu gestalten. Das Ziel ist, die Ausbildung zukünftiger PAV-Piloten deutlich zu vereinfachen. „Der individuelle Luftverkehr hat das Potential eine wichtige Rolle im zukünftigen Verkehrssystem einzunehmen, unterstreicht Projektleiter Prof. Dr. Heinrich H. Bülthoff vom Max-Planck-Institut für biologische Kybernetik. "myCopter hat dazu beigetragen, entscheidende Technologien zu entwickeln, um PAVs in der Zukunft Wirklichkeit werden zu lassen."

Lenkrad im Hubschraubersimulator

"Aus vier mach drei" lautet die Idee des neuen Lenkrads für Hubschrauber. "Bisher muss ein Hubschrauberpilot alle vier Steuerachsen gleichzeitig im Blick behalten", erklärt Bianca Schuchardt vom DLR-Institut für Flugsystemtechnik. "Besonders im Schwebeflug erfordert das höchste Konzentration, wenn der Pilot beide Hebel und Pedale gleichzeitig bedienen muss, um stabil in der Luft zu bleiben." Mit dem myCopter-Lenkrad fällt das zyklische Steuer weg, das für die Bewegung um die Längsachse (Rollen) und um die Querachse (Nicken) verantwortlich ist. "Stattdessen kann der Pilot mit der entsprechenden Drehbewegung des Lenkrads den Hubschrauber in die gewünschte Richtung fliegen", so Schuchardt weiter. Ein Hebel verbleibt ausschließlich für die Flughöhe. Alternativ kann diese auch über Schaltwippen am Lenkrad kontrolliert werden. Die Pedale kontrollieren wie beim Auto mit Gas und Bremse die Geschwindigkeit bis hin zum Verweilen im Schwebeflug. Zudem ermöglicht ein Acht-Wege-Schalter am myCopter-Lenkrad den Rückwärtsflug sowie den Seitwärtsflug. Im AVES-Simulatorzentrum des DLR in Braunschweig hat das Lenkrad bereits seinen virtuellen Erstflug im Hubschrauber gemeistert. Im nächsten Schritt wird es auf dem DLR-Forschungshubschrauber EC135 ACT/FHS im realen Flug getestet.

Vom Stau in den Schwarmflug

"Entscheidend ist es, das Hubschrauberfliegen für den Alltag umfassend zu vereinfachen und neben der Steuerung mit passenden Sensoren und Bildschirminhalten möglichst intuitiv für jedermann zu gestalten", sagt Projektleiter Bülthoff, der am Max-Planck-Institut für biologische Kybernetik zu diesen Fragen forschte. Weitere Projektpartner beschäftigten sich mit Fragen etwa nach der Koordinierung der zahlreichen Privatflieger oder nach der konkreten Ausbildung zukünftiger PAV-Piloten. Das flugdynamische Modell der PAVs und die Struktur des Trainings für die zukünftigen Privatpiloten war Thema der University of Liverpool. Wissenschaftler der École Polytechnique Féderale de Lausanne indessen erforschten mit Hilfe unbemannter Fluggeräte die Themen Kollisionsvermeidung, Schwarmflug sowie automatische Landeplatzerkennung, während sich die Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich mit Kontrollstrategien für einzelne Fluggeräte und ebenfalls mit Starts, Landungen und der Navigation bei unbemannten Fluggeräten befasste. Das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie untersuchte die soziotechnologischen Aspekte des Projekts und damit, welchen Einfluss die Einführung von PAVs auf unsere Gesellschaft hätte.

Flugweg im Tunneldisplay

Das DLR führt zudem Demonstrationen von ausgewählten, im Projekt entwickelten Technologien auf dem Forschungshubschrauber EC135 ACT/FHS durch. "Wir unterstützen die Entwicklung von flugdynamischen Modellen und entwickeln ein Highway-in-the-Sky-Display für individuelle Flugvehikel; eine Art intuitive Navigationshilfe für PAV-Piloten", erklärt Bianca Schuchardt. In einem Tunneldisplay werden dem Piloten visuelle Wegelinien eingeblendet, die den optimalen Flugweg vorgeben.

Das Projekt myCopter - Enabling Technologies for Personal Aerial Transportation Systems ist auf vier Jahre im Zeitraum von Anfang 2011 bis Ende 2014 ausgelegt  und wird von der Europäischen Kommission im Rahmen des 7. Forschungsrahmenprogramms gefördert. Zu den Partnern gehören das Max-Planck-Institut für biologische Kybernetik (Projektleitung), die University of Liverpool, die École Polytechnique Féderale de Lausanne, die Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich, das Karlsruher Institut für Technologie und das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR).

Zuletzt geändert am:
24.11.2014 13:28:01 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Falk Dambowsky
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Luftfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof. Dr. Stefan Levedag
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Flugsystemtechnik

Tel.: +49 531 295-2600
Bianca Schuchardt
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Flugsystemtechnik

Tel.: +49 531 295-2429
Prof. Dr. Heinrich H. Bülthoff
Max-Planck-Institut für biologische Kybernetik

Tel.: +49 7071 601-601