MASCOT en route to Asteroid 1999 JU3

Mascot

03 December 2014

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Mascot
    MASCOT launches from the Tanegashima Space Center

    On 3 December 2014 at 05:22 CEST, an H IIA launch vehicle lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center and the Japanese Hayabusa 2 spacecraft and its MASCOT lander, developed by DLR, began their journey to Asteroid 1999 JU3.

  • Mascot
    MASCOT – measurements on the surface of an asteroid

    In 2019, the DLR asteroid lander MASCOT will descend to the surface of Asteroid 1999 JU3 and perform measurements with four instruments. Using an internal swing arm, the lander will be able to move across the surface by ‘hopping’. MASCOT is travelling to its destination on board the Japanese Hayabusa 2 spacecraft.

  • Hayabusa 2
    Reconnaissance mission to an asteroid

    The Japanese Hayabusa 2 spacecraft will launch in 2014 to visit the asteroid 1999 JU 3. On board will be the German Aerospace Center (DLR) developed MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout), which will land on the asteroid and perform measurements with its four instruments.

  • Hochintegrierter Asteroidenlander MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout)
    Mobile asteroid surface scout (MASCOT)

    MASCOT is a highly-integrated asteroid lander whose development was co-ordinated by DLR scientists collaborating with the French space agency CNES and the Japanese space authority JAXA.

  • Mascot
    Giving MASCOT the finishing touches

    Engineers at the German Aerospace Center (DLR) assemble the MASCOT asteroid lander for the Japanese Hayabusa 2 spacecraft.

  • MASCOT %2d Vorbereitungen auf den Flug
    MASCOT – preparations for flight

    The MASCOT asteroid lander, developed by the German Aerospace Center (DLR), is scheduled to launch in December 2014 on board the Japanese Hayabusa 2 spacecraft.

  • MASCOT
    MASCOT asteroid lander in microgravity

    DLR researchers use parabolic flights to test the MASCOT asteroid lander's functions in microgravity. MASCOT is due to separate from the Japanese Hayabusa-2 spacecraft above asteroid 1999 JU 3 and fall to the surface.

  • Video: Asteroidenlander Mascot

    Animation –MASCOT asteroid lander

    The German Aerospace Center (DLR) MASCOT asteroid lander will launch in December 2014 on board the Japanese Hayabusa 2 spacecraft, with asteroid 1999 JU3 as its destination.

Philae landed on a comet just three weeks ago; now, another German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) lander mission has been launched – the Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout (MASCOT) is already on its way to Asteroid 1999 JU3. On 3 December 2014 at 05:22 CEST, an H IIA launch vehicle lifted off from the Tanegashima Space Center and the Hayabusa 2 spacecraft and its MASCOT lander began their journey through space. It will take them roughly four years to reach their target. Once there, Hayabusa 2, a project of the Japanese Space Agency (Japan Aerospace Exploration Agency; JAXA), will 'vacuum up' surface material from orbit above the asteroid and return it to Earth. MASCOT, on other hand, will descend to the surface of Asteroid 1999 JU3, move around by 'hopping' and perform measurements at several locations on an asteroid for the first time in the history of spaceflight. The lander, developed and constructed at DLR, together with its four instruments, will be monitored and controlled from the 'MASCOT Control Center' at DLR Cologne during the journey and work on the asteroid.

Hayabusa 2 and MASCOT will arrive at Asteroid 1999 JU3, which has a diameter of approximately one kilometre, in the summer of 2018. On the way there, they will perform a swing-by around Earth in winter 2015 to increase their velocity. Upon arrival, the spacecraft will first map the surface of 1999 JU3 before approaching the asteroid to take samples early in 2019. Then, MASCOT will free fall onto the asteroid from a height of 100 metres. "The biggest challenges are the separation from the mother spacecraft and the subsequent landing," says Project Leader Tra-Mi Ho from the DLR Institute of Space Systems. "Nobody knows the exact gravitational pull of the asteroid." 1999 JU3 is particularly rich in carbon and thus belongs to a frequently occurring class of asteroids, but there is a great deal that scientists do not yet know about it.

Four instruments

In 2019, the asteroid researchers will have up to 16 hours to gather data that they have never previously been able to acquire. The lander battery, a contribution from the French Space Agency (Centre National d'Etudes Spatiales; CNES), will be empty after two asteroid days and nights; this will signal the end of the lander mission, because it has no solar panels to recharge the battery. MASCOT could not weigh more than 10 kilograms – this was one of the requirements stipulated by the Hayabusa 2 team when DLR began the development of an asteroid lander to be carried on board. Not an easy task – the Philae lander, developed by a DLR-led consortium, weighs 100 kilograms; MASCOT had to just weigh one tenth of this. DLR engineers incorporated a total of four instruments into a very stable yet lightweight structure. A radiometer and a camera from DLR, as well as a spectrometer from the Institut d'Astrophysique Spatiale (IAS) and a magnetometer from the Technical University of Braunschweig will allow the mineralogical and geological composition of the asteroid surface to be examined and the surface temperature and magnetic field of the asteroid to be determined.

Up to 70-metre 'hops' on the asteroid

The first landing on an asteroid, which was not originally planned, occurred in 2001 with NASA's Near Earth Asteroid Rendezvous – Shoemaker (NEAR Shoemaker) mission. The spacecraft examined the asteroid Eros for over a year from orbit and was then steered in the direction of the asteroid surface. NEAR Shoemaker landed surprisingly undamaged and remained there for 16 days, from 12 to 28 February 2001. MASCOT, on the other hand, is designed and equipped for landing on an asteroid. The shoebox-sized lander will use sensors to determine whether it has landed on its top or bottom. If necessary, the lander can use an internal swing arm to 'bounce' into the correct orientation and begin its measurements. Once all four instruments have been used, MASCOT will automatically re-enable the swing arm and jump up to 70 metres to its next task. In addition to the instruments, the lander is equipped with a thermal control system to compensate for the varying temperatures on the asteroid and an onboard computer that sends the data obtained to the DLR control centre via Hayabusa 2.

Research in both field and laboratory

The first JAXA Hayabusa mission was a success; in 2010, the Hayabusa 1 spacecraft used a capsule to deliver asteroid material in its original, unmodified form to Earth for the first time. At that time, the DLR Institute of Planetary Research also examined the rare particles. With the Hayabusa 2 mission, material will again be returned to Earth, but also be analysed locally by MASCOT. "Our data will be used, among other things, as a reference for the studies in terrestrial laboratories," says Tra-Mi Ho. In addition, the lander will act as a scout and explore where the Japanese probe is to collect the asteroid material from. "Spacecraft and lander together will greatly increase our knowledge of asteroids."

DLR participation in the Hayabusa 2 mission

The DLR Institute of Space Systems developed the lander and tested it under space conditions during parabolic flights, in a drop tower, on a shaker and in a thermal vacuum chamber. The DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems was responsible for the stable structure of the lander. The DLR Institute of Robotics and Mechatronics developed the swing arm that MASCOT will use to 'hop' on the asteroid. The DLR Institute of Planetary Research managed the development of the MASCAM camera and the MARA radiometer. The asteroid lander is being monitored and controlled from the Microgravity User Support Center (MUSC) in Cologne.

Last modified:
03/12/2014 14:04:00

Contacts

 

Manuela Braun
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Editor, Human Space Flight, Space Science, Engineering

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr Tra-Mi Ho
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Space Systems

Tel.: +49 421 24420-1171

Mascot: Auf dem Weg zum Asteroiden 1999 JU3

Mascot

Mittwoch, 3. Dezember 2014

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Mascot
    Mascot: Start vom Tanegashima Space Center

    Am 3. Dezember 2014 startete um 5.22 Uhr mitteleuropäischer Zeit die japanische Hayabusa2-Sonde mit dem Asteroidenlander Mascot des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) an Bord zu seinem Ziel, dem Asteroiden 1999 JU3.

  • Mascot
    Mascot - Messungen auf der Asteroidenoberfläche

    Der Asteroidenlander Mascot des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) wird 2019 auf dem Asteroiden 1999 JU3 aufsetzen und mit vier Instrumenten Messungen durchführen. Mit einem Schwungarm im Inneren kann er sich dabei hüpfend fortbewegen. Mascot fliegt an Bord der japanischen Hayabusa2-Sonde zu seinem Ziel.

  • Hayabusa 2
    Erkundungsflug zum Asteroiden

    Die japanische Raumsonde Hayabusa2 wird 2014 zum Asteroiden 1999 JU 3 starten. Mit an Bord ist der vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) entwickelte Lander MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout), der auf dem Asteroiden aufsetzen und mit vier Instrumenten Messungen durchführen wird.

  • Asteroidenlander MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout)
    Asteroidenlander MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout)

    MASCOT (Mobile Asteroid Surface Scout) ist ein hochintegrierter Asteroidenlander, federführend entwickelt von DLR-Wissenschaftlern in Kooperation mit der französischen Raumfahrtagentur CNES und der japanischen Raumfahrtbehörde JAXA.

  • Mascot
    Letzte Handgriffe an Mascot

    Die Ingenieure des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) bauen den Asteroidenlander Mascot an der japanischen Sonde Hayabusa2 ein.

  • MASCOT %2d Vorbereitungen auf den Flug
    MASCOT - Vorbereitungen auf den Flug

    Der vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt entwickelte Asteroidenlander MASCOT wird voraussichtlich im Dezember 2014 an Bord der japanischen Raumsonde Hayabusa 2 ins Weltall starten.

  • MASCOT
    Asteroidenlander MASCOT in der Schwerelosigkeit

    Auf Parabelflügen testeten Wissenschaftler des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) die Funktionsweise des Asteroidenlanders MASCOT in der Schwerelosigkeit. MASCOT soll sich über dem Asteroiden 1999 JU 3 von der japanischen Raumsonde separieren und auf den Asteroiden hinuntersinken.

  • Video: Asteroidenlander Mascot

    Animation: Asteroidenlander Mascot

    Der Asteroidenlander Mascot des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) startet im November 2014 zum Asteroiden 1999 JU 3 an Bord der japanischen Hayabusa-2-Sonde.

Die Kometenlandung von Philae liegt gerade einmal drei Wochen zurück - nun hat eine weitere Landemission des Deutschen  Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) ihren Anfang genommen: Der Asteroidenlander Mascot des DLR ist unterwegs zum Asteroiden 1999 JU3. Am 3. Dezember 2014 um 5.22 Uhr mitteleuropäischer Zeit hob die Rakete mit der japanischen Hayabusa2-Sonde und dem Lander Mascot vom Tanegashima Space Center ab und begann ihre Reise durchs All. Allerdings wird es noch vier Jahre dauern, bis das Ziel erreicht ist. Dort soll die japanische Hayabusa2-Sonde im dichten Flug über dem Asteroiden Material von seiner Oberfläche "einsaugen" und zur Erde zurückbringen. Mascot hingegen wird auf Asteroid 1999 JU3 aufsetzen, sich hüpfend fortbewegen und erstmals in der Raumfahrtgeschichte an mehreren Orten Messungen auf einem Asteroiden durchführen. Überwacht und betrieben wird der im DLR entwickelte und gebaute Lander sowie seine vier Instrumente während seiner Reise und seiner Arbeit auf dem Asteroiden aus dem "Mascot Control Center" des DLR in Köln.

Gerade einmal einen Kilometer Durchmesser hat der Asteroid, den die Hayabusa2-Sonde im Sommer 2018 erreichen wird. Zuvor wird sie im Winter 2015 noch einmal kräftig Schwung an der Erde holen. Nach der Ankunft wird sie 1999 JU3 zunächst kartieren, bevor sich die japanische Sonde dann Anfang 2019 seiner Oberfläche annähert, um Materialproben zu nehmen. Lander Mascot wird dann aus einer Höhe von 100 Metern im freien Fall auf den Asteroiden sinken. "Die größten Herausforderungen werden die Trennung von der Muttersonde und die anschließende Landung sein", sagt Projektleiterin Dr. Tra-Mi Ho vom DLR-Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme. "Niemand kennt die genaue Anziehungskraft des Asteroiden." 1999 JU3 ist besonders kohlenstoffhaltig und gehört somit zu einer häufig vorkommenden Asteroidenklasse - doch besonders viel wissen die Wissenschaftler bisher noch nicht über ihr Untersuchungsobjekt.

Vier Instrumente im Einsatz

2019 werden die Asteroidenforscher insgesamt bis zu 16 Stunden lang Daten erhalten, die sie so bisher noch nie messen konnten. Ist die Batterie, ein Beitrag der französische Raumfahrtagentur CNES, des Landers nach zwei Asteroidentagen und -nächten erschöpft, endet auch seine Mission, denn er hat keine Solarpaneele zum Aufladen. Gerade einmal zehn Kilogramm durfte Mascot wiegen - das war eine der Rahmenbedingungen, als das japanische Hayabusa2-Team das DLR für die Entwicklung eines Asteroidenlanders mit ins Boot holte. Keine leichte Aufgabe - ein Lander wie Philae, den das DLR mit einem Konsortium entwickelte, wiegt 100 Kilogramm, Mascot sollte gerade einmal ein Zehntel wiegen. Insgesamt vier Instrumente brachten die Ingenieure des DLR dennoch in einer sehr stabilen und zugleich leichten Struktur unter. Mit einem Radiometer und einer Kamera des DLR sowie einem Spektrometer des Institut d’Astrophysique Spatiale und einem Magnetometer der TU Braunschweig sollen die mineralogische und geologische Zusammensetzung der Asteroidenoberfläche untersucht und Oberflächentemperatur sowie Magnetfeld des Asteroiden ermittelt werden.

Bis zu 70 Meter weite Sprünge auf dem Asteroiden

Die erste Landung auf einem Asteroiden - wenn auch nicht von Anfang an so geplant - erfolgte 2001 mit der NASA-Sonde NEAR Shoemaker. Die Sonde untersuchte den Asteroiden EROS über ein Jahr lang aus dem Orbit und wurde anschließend von den Ingenieuren in Richtung Asteroidenoberfläche gesteuert. Die Raumsonde landete überraschenderweise unbeschädigt und blieb für 16 Tage vom 12. bis zum 28. Februar 2001 in Betrieb. Mascot hingegen ist für die Landung auf dem Asteroiden konstruiert und ausgerüstet. Mit Sensoren wird das kleine, schuhkartongroße Landepaket sich orientieren und feststellen, ob es auf seiner Ober- oder Unterseite gelandet ist. Dann kann der Lander mit einem Schwungarm im Inneren gegebenenfalls in die richtige Position "hüpfen", sich so ausrichten und mit Messungen beginnen. Sind alle vier Instrumente zum Einsatz gekommen, aktiviert Mascot automatisch erneut den Schwungarm und springt bis zu 70 Meter weit zu seinem nächsten Einsatzort. Mit an Bord hat er neben den Instrumenten ein Thermalsystem, um die Temperaturen auf dem Asteroiden auszugleichen, und einen Bordcomputer, der die gewonnenen Daten über die Muttersonde Hayabusa2 ins DLR-Kontrollzentrum sendet.

Forschung vor Ort und im Labor

Bereits die erste Hayabusa-Mission der japanischen Raumfahrtagentur JAXA war ein Erfolg: 2010 brachte die japanische Hayabusa1-Sonde in einer Kapsel zum ersten Mal Asteroidenmaterial in seiner ursprünglichen, unveränderten Form zur Erde. Damals untersuchte auch das DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung die seltenen Partikel. Mit der Hayabusa2-Mission soll nun erneut Material zur Erde gebracht werden, aber auch mit Mascot direkt vor Ort gemessen werden. "Unsere Daten werden unter anderem auch als Referenz für die Untersuchungen in den irdischen Laboren dienen", sagt DLR-Projektleiterin Dr. Tra-Mi Ho. Außerdem wird der Lander als Späher erkunden, wo die japanische Sonde das Asteroidenmaterial einsammeln soll. "Sonde und Lander werden unser Wissen über Asteroiden auf jeden Fall vervielfachen."

Die DLR-Beteiligung an der Hayabusa2-Mission

Das DLR-Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme entwickelte den Lander und testete ihn unter Weltraumbedingungen bei Parabelflügen, im Fallturm, auf dem Schütteltisch sowie in der Thermalvakuum-Kammer. Das DLR-Institut für Faserverbundleichtbau und Adaptronik war für die stabile Struktur des Landers zuständig. Das DLR Robotik und Mechatronik Zentrum entwickelte den Schwungarm, der Mascot auf dem Asteroiden hüpfen lässt. Das DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung steuerte die Kamera MASCAM und das Radiometer MARA bei. Überwacht und betrieben wird Asteroidenlander Mascot aus dem DLR-Kontrollzentrum des Nutzerzentrums für Weltraumexperimente (MUSC) in Köln.
 

Zuletzt geändert am:
09.12.2014 16:15:36 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Raumfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Tra-Mi Ho
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Raumfahrtsysteme

Tel.: +49 421 24420-1171