Video – autonomous landing at full speed

18 January 2016

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.

An unmanned, electric, autonomous aircraft travelling at 75 kilometres per hour lands gently on the roof of a moving car. For the first time, researchers at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) have successfully demonstrated a technique developed for this purpose. The system is designed for civil applications in the fields of remote sensing and communication, and could be applied to ultralight solar-powered aircraft that complement conventional satellite systems while flying in the stratosphere. In the event of a disaster, this could support crisis management through live situation reports, replace failed communications networks or provide data on climate change. Eliminating the landing gear significantly increases the payload capability of a solar-powered aircraft. This in turn creates more space for scientific instruments. The system also simplifies landings in adverse weather conditions including crosswinds or wind gusts.

Weight reduction

Ultralight solar-powered aircraft can fly at altitudes in excess of 20 kilometres and stay airborne for several weeks; weight is crucial for long-duration flights. By omitting the landing gear, the weight of an Unmanned Aerial Vehicle (UAV) can be significantly reduced; this allows increased payload, greater range and enhanced performance. Reinforcements to the aircraft structure that would usually be necessary can also be eliminated, contributing to a further reduction in weight.

Autonomous landing

Combining technologies from the fields of robotics and UAVs, researchers from the DLR Institute of Robotics and Mechatronics have developed a system that enables a fixed-wing aircraft to land autonomously on a moving ground vehicle. This system has now been successfully tested using a three-metre, 20 kilogram, electrically powered fixed-wing UAV during flight trials at Mindelheim-Mattsies airfield in Bavaria. To accomplish this, the researchers fitted a special platform equipped with a number of optical markers to the roof of a car. The aircraft is able to navigate to a position – accurate to within 50 centimetres – above the four-metre-long by five-metre-wide mobile platform. An optical multi-marker tracking system recognises the landing platform and performs a highly accurate calculation of its position relative to the ground vehicle. The landing is then carried out under computer control.

The major advantage of this system is that the movement of the UAV and the ground vehicle are synchronised in real time using the developed algorithms. With both vehicles moving at the same velocity, the landing resembles a vertical helicopter landing when seen from the ground vehicle. Thereby, the horizontal velocity components are close to zero, making the landing phase simpler and safer. In the experiments performed to date, flight operations safety rules required a driver to be present in the car. The driver received calculated control commands via a graphical display, which instructed faster or slower driving. In the future, in practical applications, a robotic vehicle without a driver could be used.

The work was partly funded by the EU project 'EC-SAFEMOBIL' and complemented the group’s activities in the field of stratospheric flight research. For example, last year an unmanned glider was successfully launched from a high altitude balloon at 20 kilometres in the scope of the High Altitude Balloon Launched Experimental Glider (HABLEG) project. 

Last modified:
01/03/2016 10:45:04

Contacts

 

Fabian Locher
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Editor Aeronautics

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Tin Muskardin
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Robotics and Mechatronics

Tel.: +49 8153 28-4061
Dr Konstantin Kondak
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Robotics and Mechatronics

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1127

Mehr über das DLR

Video: Autonomes Landen bei vollem Tempo

Montag, 18. Januar 2016

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.

Ein unbemanntes, elektrisches, autonomes Luftfahrzeug landet mit 75 Kilometer pro Stunde sanft auf dem Dach eines fahrenden Autos: Wissenschaftler des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) konnten erstmals die dafür entwickelte Technik erfolgreich vorführen. Das System ist für zivile Anwendungen in den Bereichen Fernerkundung und Kommunikation konzipiert: Es könnte auf ultraleichte Solarflugzeuge angewendet werden, welche klassische Satellitensysteme in der Stratosphäre ergänzen. Diese könnten beispielsweise in Katastrophenfällen das Krisenmanagement durch Live-Lagebilder unterstützen, ausgefallene Kommunikationsnetze ersetzen oder auch Daten zum Klimaschutz liefern. Durch das Weglassen der Landevorrichtung kann die verfügbare Nutzlast dieser Solarflugzeuge erheblich vergrößert werden. Das schafft wiederum mehr Platz für wissenschaftliche Instrumente. Gleichzeitig wird das Landen mit Seitenwind deutlich vereinfacht, wodurch auch Landungen bei schlechtem Wetter möglich werden.

Gewichtsreduzierung

Ultraleichte Solarflugzeuge können in mehr als 20 Kilometer Höhe fliegen und das über mehrere Wochen. Um länger in der Luft bleiben zu können, ist für die Fluggeräte der Faktor Gewicht von entscheidender Bedeutung. Durch das Weglassen des Landefahrwerks, kann das Eigengewicht dieser UAVs (Unmanned Aerial Vehicles) erheblich reduziert werden. Das ermöglicht mehr Ladekapazität, eine höhere Reichweite und bessere Leistung. Normalerweise notwendige Versteifungen in der Struktur des Fluggeräts könnten so ebenfalls eingespart werden, was das Gewicht weiter verringert.

Autonomes Landen

Wissenschaftler vom DLR-Institut für Robotik und Mechatronik haben durch die Kombination von Technologien aus den Bereichen Robotik und UAV ein System entwickelt, welches das automatische Landen eines sogenannten "Starrflüglers" (Fixed-wing Aircraft) auf einem fahrenden Bodenfahrzeug möglich macht. In Flugversuchen auf einem Flugplatz im schwäbischen Mindelheim-Mattsies wurde dieses System nun mit einem gut drei Meter großen, 20 Kilogramm schweren, elektrischen Starrflügel-UAV erfolgreich getestet. Dazu wurde ein Netz auf das Dach eines PKWs gespannt und mit mehreren optischen Markern versehen. Bis auf einen halben Meter genau, kann sich das Fluggerät über der vier Meter langen und fünf Meter breiten mobilen Landeplattform positionieren. Befindet es sich darüber, erkennt das optische Multi-Marker Tracking-System die Landevorrichtung und bestimmt die relative Position zum Bodenfahrzeug mit hoher Genauigkeit. Die Landung wird dann computergesteuert durchgeführt.

Der große Vorteil: Die Bewegung des UAVs und des Fahrzeugs werden mit Hilfe der entwickelten Algorithmen auf einander angepasst. Indem sich das Auto inklusive Landevorrichtung und der "Starrflügler" gleich schnell bewegen, gleicht das Landen eher einem Absetzen. Das macht die Landephase einfacher und sicherer. Bei den durchgeführten Versuchen war aus flugbetrieblichen Sicherheitsanforderungen noch ein Fahrer im Auto. Dieser erhielt die berechneten Steuerkommandos über eine graphische Anzeige, die ihm vorgab, ob er schneller oder langsamer fahren musste. Für eine spätere Anwendung in der Praxis, kann ein robotisches Fahrzeug ohne Fahrer verwendet werden.

Die Arbeiten wurden durch das EU-Projekt "EC-Safemobil" unterstützt und ergänzen die Aktivitäten der Flugrobotik-Gruppe im Bereich der Höhenplattformen. Im Rahmen des Projekts HABLEG ist es DLR-Wissenschaftlern bereits gelungen, einen unbemannten Gleiter von einem Höhenforschungsballon in 20 Kilometern Höhe zu starten.
 

Zuletzt geändert am:
19.01.2016 10:08:38 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Fabian Locher
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Luftfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Tin Muskardin
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Robotik und Mechatronik

Tel.: +49 8153 28-4061
Dr. Konstantin Kondak
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Robotik und Mechatronik

Tel.: +49 8153 28-1127