A model for energy providers in India – the DLR test and qualification laboratory for solar power plants

Wie gut reflektiert ein Solarspiegel die Strahlung der Sonne?

25 January 2016

Show Info
Hide Info
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Solarspiegel in der Qualitätsprüfung
    Solar mirror during quality testing

    How well does a solar mirror reflect sunlight? Among other things, the test methods developed at DLR are used to examine mirrors from a variety of manufacturers.

The German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) is supporting the Indian power provider NTPC in its project to establish a research centre to test and develop solar power plants and their components. DLR researchers are supplying systems, measurement equipment and expertise, and are helping to select suitable power plant locations. The recently launched project will run for three years and is supported by the Kreditanstalt Development Bank (KfW) with funds provided by the German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety.

This new centre will allow India’s national energy provider NTPC to build on the expertise in its own research department. The DLR test and qualification centre in Cologne, QUARZ , is the role model for the Indian research facility. Industrial providers commission QUARZ to test components for solar power plants, including parabolic mirrors and absorber tubes. DLR developed the internationally recognised measurement procedures used in the facility, and also defined the quality standards. “Our experience puts us in a perfect position to assist our Indian partner in establishing its own assessment expertise. Test and quality standards enable faster development of components used in solar power plants, which means the power plants themselves will ultimately be able to deliver more electricity,” says Björn Schiricke from the DLR Institute Solar of Research.

Huge demand for energy

India’s demand for energy and electricity is growing rapidly, in line with its expanding economy and population. Two thirds of the electricity used in India is derived from fossil energy sources, making the energy sector a major burden for the environment and the climate. The Indian government has launched an ambitious solar plan to deliver greater energy reliability and to foster carbon-neutral growth. The plan calls for the installation of 100,000 megawatts of solar power by 2022. “By building this research centre for solar power plants, DLR is contributing to the transfer of knowledge and expertise from Germany to an important partner country in our development cooperation. As well as increasing local expertise, the laboratory will also promote the domestic market for solar power. This will help India to cover its growing demand for energy while simultaneously curbing the rise in carbon dioxide emissions in the long term,” says Oliver Jünger, a Senior Project Manager at KfW.

Measurement equipment and training

DLR will deliver test facilities designed for its proprietary measurement procedures over the course of the project. They include systems to measure mirror form and reflectance, and to perform photogrammetry and collector qualification. The project will also include DLR-developed software that enables optimisation of power plant output. In India, seminars will be held to train local solar researchers in the use of these measurement procedures. The hope is that this technical equipment, software and knowledge transfer will form the basis for future research cooperation.

Ideal location for solar power plants

In addition, DLR will support NTPC by providing an analysis tool to examine all of India and identify the best locations for solar power plants. “Although India is situated geographically in the Earth’s equatorial Sun belt, the country nevertheless presents extremely heterogeneous and complex irradiation potential. Among other factors, the Asian Brown Cloud – a large, man-made layer of smog – prevents large amounts of the Sun’s radiation from reaching the Earth at times,” explains Christoph Schillings, in charge of systems analysis and technology assessment at the DLR Institut of Engineering Thermodynamics, describing the situation in India. Besides solar radiation, other factors that influence the search for suitable regions include land use, nature reserves, connections to the power grid and proximity to urban conurbations.

Commitment to India

KfW finances and supports projects in developing and emerging countries – from their design to implementation and monitoring – on behalf of the German Federal Government. The goal of KfW is to help its partner countries fight poverty, maintain peace, protect both the environment and the climate and to shape globalisation in a proper way.

The German Federal Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation, Building and Nuclear Safety (Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit; BMUB) launched the ‘International Climate Initiative’ (Internationale Klimaschutzinitiative; IKI) to provide targeted support to climate and biodiversity projects in developing and emerging countries and in transitional countries.

Last modified:
26/01/2016 17:08:10



Dorothee Bürkle
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3492

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr.-Ing. Björn Schiricke
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Solar Research

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4507

Vorbild für Energieversorger in Indien: DLR-Test- und Qualifizierungslabor für Solarkraftwerke

Wie gut reflektiert ein Solarspiegel die Strahlung der Sonne?

Montag, 25. Januar 2016

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Solarspiegel in der Qualitätsprüfung
    Solarspiegel in der Qualitätsprüfung

    Wie gut reflektiert ein Solarspiegel die Strahlung der Sonne? Mit im DLR entwickelten Testmethoden werden unter anderem Spiegel unterschiedlicher Hersteller geprüft

Das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) unterstützt den indischen Energieversorger NTPC beim Aufbau eines Forschungszentrums in dem Solarkraftwerke und ihre Bauteile getestet und weiterentwickelt werden. DLR-Forscher stellen Anlagen, Messgeräte sowie Know-how zur Verfügung und unterstützen bei der Auswahl der geeigneten Standorte für die Kraftwerke. Das nun gestartete Projekt hat eine Laufzeit von drei Jahren und wird über die Kreditanstalt für Wiederaufbau (KfW) mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Umwelt gefördert.

Mit dem neuen Zentrum baut der staatliche indische Energieversorger NTPC die Kompetenzen seiner eigenen Forschungsabteilung aus. Vorbild für das indische Forschungszentrum ist das DLR-Test- und Qualifizierungszentrum QUARZ am DLR-Standort Köln. Dort werden Bauteile für Solarkraftwerke wie zum Beispiel Parabolspiegel und Absorberrohre im Auftrag von industriellen Anbietern geprüft. Das DLR hat dafür international anerkannte Messverfahren entwickelt und Qualitätsstandards festgelegt. "Mit unseren Erfahrungen können wir den indischen Partner ideal unterstützen, eigene Bewertungskompetenz aufzubauen. Durch Test- und Qualitätsstandards können Komponenten für Solarkraftwerke schneller weiterentwickelt werden, die Kraftwerke können am Ende mehr Strom liefern", beschreibt der Leiter des DLR-Test- und Qualifizierungszentrums QUARZ und Leiter des Projektes Dr. Björn Schiricke vom DLR-Institut für Solarforschung.

Riesige Energienachfrage

Indiens Bedarf an Energie und Elektrizität steigt durch seine wachsende Wirtschaft und Bevölkerung rapide. Zwei Drittel des Stroms in Indien stammen aus fossilen Energieträgern, damit ist der Energiesektor eine große Belastung für Umwelt und Klima. Für mehr Energiesicherheit, aber auch um ein klimaschonendes Wachstum zu erreichen hat die indische Regierung einen ehrgeizigen Solarplan erstellt. Bis 2022 sollen 100.000 Megawatt Solarenergie installiert werden. "Mit der Errichtung eines Forschungszentrums für Solarkraftwerke unterstützt das DLR den Transfer von Wissen aus Deutschland in ein wichtiges Partnerland der deutschen Entwicklungszusammenarbeit. Neben dem Aufbau von Qualifikationen wird durch das Labor die Solarenergie in dem Land gefördert. Damit wird Indien unterstützt, seinen wachsenden Energiebedarf zu decken und gleichzeitig den Anstieg des CO2-Ausstoßes langfristig zu reduzieren", sagt Oliver Jünger, Senior Projektmanager der KfW Entwicklungsbank.

Messgeräte und Schulungen

Konkret wird das DLR im Laufe des Projektes Testanlagen für die beim DLR entwickelten Messverfahren liefern. Dazu gehören Anlagen zur Spiegelform- und Reflexionsgradmessung, Fotogrammetrie und Kollektor-Qualifizierung. Zum Einsatz kommt auch eine im DLR entwickelte Software, mit der Kraftwerke in ihrer Gesamtheit optimiert werden und damit mehr Strom produzieren können. In Schulungen werden die Solarforscher in Indien mit den Messverfahren vertraut gemacht. Die technische Ausstattung, die Software und der Wissensaustausch sollen die Basis für zukünftige Forschungskooperationen bilden.

Beste Standorte für Solarkraftwerke

Zudem wird das DLR den Partner NTPC mit einem Analysetool unterstützen, das flächendeckend in Indien nach den besten Regionen für Solarkraftwerke sucht. "Obwohl Indien im geografischen Sonnengürtel der Erde liegt, hat das Land sehr heterogene und auch komplexe Strahlungspotenziale. Unter anderem sorgt die "Asien Brown Cloud", eine ausgedehnte, von Menschen gemachte Smogschicht, dafür, dass zeitweise viel weniger Sonnenstrahlung am Boden ankommt", beschreibt Dr. Christoph Schillings, Leiter der Systemanalyse und Technikbewertung beim DLR-Institut für Technische Thermodynamik, die Situation in Indien. Neben der Sonneneinstrahlung spielen bei der Suche nach geeigneten Regionen auch die Landnutzung, Schutzgebiet, die Anbindung ans Stromnetz und die Nähe zu Ballungsräumen eine wichtige Rolle.

Engagement in Indien

Die KfW Entwicklungsbank finanziert und begleitet im Auftrag der Bundesregierung Programme und Projekte in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern – von der Konzeption über die Umsetzung bis zur Erfolgskontrolle. Ziel der KfW ist es, die Partnerländer dabei zu unterstützen, Armut zu bekämpfen, Frieden zu sichern, Umwelt und Klima zu schützen und die Globalisierung gerecht zu gestalten.

Das Bundesministerium für Umwelt, Naturschutz, Bau und Reaktorsicherheit (BMUB) finanziert aus dem Förderprogramm "Internationale Klimaschutzinitiative (IKI)" gezielt Klima- und Biodiversitätsprojekte in Entwicklungs- und Schwellenländern sowie in den Transformationsstaaten.

Zuletzt geändert am:
25.01.2016 12:35:16 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Dorothee Bürkle
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Teamleitung Media Relation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3492

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr.-Ing. Björn Schiricke
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Solarforschung

Tel.: +49 2203 601-4507