Video: Flying over the craters of dwarf planet Ceres

29 January 2016

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • dwarf planet Ceres

    Dwarf planet Ceres

    The flight emphasises the most prominent craters on Ceres and the mountain Ahuna Mons. The movie was created by using images acquired from Dawn's high-altitude mapping orbit (HAMO).

The dwarf planet Ceres would be quite an uncomfortable place if one were to actually stand on its surface – with a rather 'chilly' temperature of minus 60 degrees Celsius by day, which gets colder during the night. Hard, frozen ground and craters spanning kilometres – in all shapes and sizes. This is Ceres. In the vacuum, the visitor would be surrounded by silence – although, when out for a stroll, the crunching of the ground underneath would certainly be audible. So getting a closer look at Ceres from the Dawn spacecraft is much more comfortable. Planetary researchers at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) have created a film with camera data acquired by the Dawn orbiter while at a distance of 1450 kilometres from the dwarf planet’s surface. The film offers a several-minute flight over the varied crater world and its mountain Ahuna Mons. "The simulated overflight shows the wide range of crater shapes that we have encountered on Ceres. The viewer can observe the sheer walls of the crater Occator, which come close to the north face of the Eiger, but also Dantu and Yalode, where the craters are a lot flatter," explains Ralf Jaumann, planetary researcher at DLR and a scientist for the US Dawn mission.

A surface – young and old

Scientists from the DLR Institute for Planetary Research used 2350 images to generate a realistic view of the icy dwarf planet. As part of this, contrast-enhanced real colours show the variety of materials found on the surface. Regions containing clay appear brownish: "On Earth, we would be able to make, for example, brick or terracotta, from that." The blue areas represent a surface covered with younger, fresher material. There, surfaces with sinks, showing flow and fault structures, are depicted. The Haulani crater, for example, looks fairly recent – blue and brown regions merge there. "It could either be that material was melted there through impact or that material has penetrated through from below." Under the crust, which could be up to 100 kilometres thick, it could be much softer: "The salts that are probably present on Ceres destabilise the ice and create a tough mush in the interior."

Even the flanks of Ahuna Mons, a mountain approximately 6000  metres high, are covered with fresh material. "The material found here could be similar to that of the impact craters, where the interior of Ceres has made its way to the outside." However, the interpretation of the camera images is currently the subject of many discussions among the team of scientists in the Dawn mission. "We have many theories, but as yet no evidence," says Jaumann.

3D elevation model

With the Dawn spacecraft, planetary researchers have been able to investigate and explore two celestial bodies during one mission for the first time. Following a visit to the asteroid Vesta, the spacecraft is currently orbiting the dwarf planet Ceres. On 6 March 2015, Dawn reached its second, icy mission target, and has since been circling Ceres in ever-smaller orbits. In the meantime, from a distance of 385 kilometres above Ceres' surface, Dawn is sending images to Earth. "This data will also be used to compute a three dimensional elevation model of the surface," explains Jaumann. "Then, we will be able to fly over the different craters and regions in our films in even closer proximity."

The mission

The Dawn mission is managed by NASA's Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) in Pasadena, which is a division of the California Institute of Technology. The University of California, Los Angeles, is responsible for overall Dawn mission science. The Framing Camera system on the spacecraft was developed and built under the leadership of the Max Planck Institute for Solar System Research in Göttingen, Germany, in collaboration with the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin and the Institute of Computer and Communication Network Engineering in Braunschweig. The Framing Camera project is funded by the Max Planck Society, DLR, and NASA/JPL.

Last modified:
03/02/2016 12:57:51

Contacts

 

Manuela Braun
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Editor, Human Space Flight, Space Science, Engineering

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof.Dr. Ralf Jaumann
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Planetary Research, Planetary Geology

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402

Video: Fliegend über die Krater-Welten von Zwergplanet Ceres

Freitag, 29. Januar 2016

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Der Zwergplanet Ceres

    Der Zwergplanet Ceres

    Dieses Video zeigt einen simulierten Überflug über den Zwergplaneten Ceres. Die Bilder stammen aus dem "High Altitude Mapping Orbit" (HAMO).

Der Zwergplanet Ceres wäre ein ungemütlicher Platz, stünde man tatsächlich auf seiner Oberfläche: Etwa frostige minus 60 Grad Celsius am Tag, kältere Temperaturen in der Nacht, ein harter, gefrorener Boden und kilometergroße Krater in allen Formen hätte Ceres zu bieten. Im Vakuum würde Stille den Besucher umgeben – bei einem Spaziergang wäre noch nicht einmal das Knirschen des Bodens unter seinen Füßen zu hören. Wesentlich komfortabler ist die Sicht mit den Augen von Raumsonde Dawn. Die Planetenforscher des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) haben aus Kameradaten, die Dawn aus 1450 Kilometern Entfernung aufgenommen hat, einen Film erstellt, in dem der Zuschauer minutenlang über die abwechslungsreiche Krater-Welt und über den Berg Ahuna Mons des Zwergplaneten fliegt. "Der simulierte Überflug zeigt das breite Spektrum an Kraterformen, auf die wir bei Ceres gestoßen sind: Der Betrachter blickt auf die steilen Wände von  Krater Occator, die an die Eiger Nordwand herankommen, aber auch auf Dantu und Yalode, deren Krater deutlich flacher sind", erläutert Prof. Ralf Jaumann, Planetenforscher am DLR und Wissenschaftler der amerikanischen Dawn-Mission.

Eine Oberfläche von frisch bis alt

2350 Bilder verwendeten Wissenschaftler des DLR-Instituts für Planetenforschung, um die realistische Sicht auf den eisigen Zwergplaneten zu ermöglichen. Kontrastverstärkte Echtfarben zeigen dabei die unterschiedlichen Materialien der Oberfläche. Bräunlich erscheinen tonhaltige Regionen – "auf der Erde würden wir daraus so etwas wie Ziegel oder Terracotta fertigen können." Bläulich erscheinen die Regionen, in denen jüngeres, frischeres Material die Oberfläche bedeckt. Dort bilden sich ebene Flächen mit Senken mit Fließ- und Bruchstrukturen. Der Krater Haulani beispielsweise scheint ziemlich frisch zu sein – dort mischen sich bläuliche und bräunliche Regionen. "Entweder wurde dort Material durch den Einschlag aufgeschmolzen oder Material von unten ist nach oben gedrungen." Unter der eventuell bis zu 100 Kilometer dicken Kruste könnte es nämlich deutlich weicher werden: "Die  Salze, die es sehr wahrscheinlich auf Ceres gibt, destabilisieren das Eis, und dadurch entsteht eine Art zäher Brei im Inneren."

Auch die Flanken des Ahuna Mons, des 6000 Meter hohen Berges, sind mit frischem Material bedeckt. "Das könnte ähnliches Material wie bei den Einschlagskratern sein, das aus dem Inneren von Ceres nach oben  gelangt ist." Doch die Interpretation der Kamerabilder ist zurzeit noch etwas, was für viele Diskussionen im Wissenschaftler-Team der Dawn-Mission sorgt. "Wir haben viele Vermutungen, aber noch keine Beweise", sagt DLR-Planetenforscher Prof. Ralf Jaumann.

Höhenmodelle in drei Dimensionen

Mit der Raumsonde Dawn erkunden Planetenforscher erstmals zwei Himmelskörper mit einer Mission: Nach dem Besuch von Asteroid Vesta kreist die Sonde zurzeit um den Zwergplaneten Ceres. Am 6. März 2015 erreichte Dawn sein zweites, eisiges Missionsziel und kreist seitdem in immer niedrigeren Orbits um Ceres. Mittlerweile sendet Dawn Bilder aus nur noch 385 Kilometern Entfernung zur Erde. "Auch mit diesen Daten werden wir dreidimensionale Höhenmodelle der Oberfläche berechnen", erläutert Ralf Jaumann vom DLR. "Dann werden wir in unseren Filmen aus noch größerer Nähe über die unterschiedlichen Krater und Regionen fliegen."

Die Mission

Die Mission Dawn wird vom Jet Propulsion Laboratory (JPL) der amerikanischen Weltraumbehörde NASA geleitet. JPL ist eine Abteilung des California Institute of Technology in Pasadena. Die University of California in Los Angeles ist für den wissenschaftlichen Teil der Mission verantwortlich. Das Kamerasystem an Bord der Raumsonde wurde unter Leitung des Max-Planck-Instituts für Sonnensystemforschung in Göttingen in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Institut für Planetenforschung des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) in Berlin und dem Institut für Datentechnik und Kommunikationsnetze in Braunschweig entwickelt und gebaut. Das Kameraprojekt wird finanziell von der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft, dem DLR und NASA/JPL unterstützt.
 

Zuletzt geändert am:
03.02.2016 11:16:29 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Manuela Braun
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Redaktion Raumfahrt

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3882

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof. Dr. Ralf Jaumann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung, Planetengeologie

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402