DLR/NASA flight experiment confirms

Biofuels reduce soot emissions from aircraft

15 March 2017

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Abgasmessungen im Formationsflug
    Exhaust measurements in formation flight

    Behind the DC-8, the scientists on board the DLR Falcon measured the exhaust gas composition.

  • Roll%2dout
    Rollout

    In the morning, the DLR Falcon is towed onto the apron at the Armstrong Flight Research Center in Palmdale, California, before a research flight. The Falcon was housed in the same hangar as the SOFIA airborne observatory during the research mission with NASA.

  • Group picture with the research aircraft
    Group picture with the research aircraft

    Group picture with research aircraft. Scientists, technicians and pilots from NASA, DLR and the NRC in front of the research aircraft involved in the trials.

  • Messungen im Abgas eines Triebwerks
    Measurements in the exhaust gas plume of an engine

    The DLR Falcon flies with its measuring inlets in the upper part of an engine exhaust gas plume.

  • Blick in die Kabine der DLR%2dFalcon
    Inside the cabin of the DLR Falcon

    DLR researchers focus on measurements of the biofuel exhaust emissions of soot and sulphur particles, as well as the size and shape of the ice crystals in the condensation trails.

  • Biofuel reduces soot particle emissions during cruising
  • Reducing the emissions of soot particles reduces the climatic impact of contrails
  • Results of joint DLR / NASA research flights, which were conducted in California in May 2014, published in the scientific journal Nature

A fuel blend with 50 percent biofuel reduces soot particle emissions of the aircraft by 50 to 70 percent compared to conventional fuel, according to a study published in the scientific journal Nature. The findings are based on an international flight experiment between NASA, the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and the National Research Council (NRC) of Canada. The results provide important information on how the use of biofuels in aviation can contribute to making air transport more environmentally friendly – not only by reducing emissions in the vicinity of airports, but also at cruise conditions.

Impact of contrail cirrus clouds on climate

Aircraft engines emit soot particles. These serve as condensation nuclei for small droplets and ice crystals, driving the formation of contrails. The ice crystals of the contrails can remain for several hours in cold and humid conditions at altitudes of between 8 to 12 kilometres, and form high clouds known as contrail cirrus. "Contrail cirrus clouds have a similar impact on the climate than all aviation carbon dioxide emissions that have accumulated over more than 100 years in the atmosphere," says the co-author of the Nature publication Hans Schlager from the DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics. "The soot emissions largely determine the number of ice crystals in contrails. The possibility of reducing the engine exhaust soot emissions by more than half using biofuels paves the way for reducing the climatic impact of contrails," continues Schlager.

Measurements in the exhaust plume

In May 2014, the DLR research aircraft Falcon took to the air, equipped with state-of-the-art instrumentation and operated by a crew of specialists from the DLR Institute of Atmospheric Physics and DLR Flight Operations in the United States. They followed the NASA DC-8 research aircraft at close distances ranging from 30 to 150 metres to measure exhaust composition from each of the inboard engines. The DC-8's CFM56 engines were alternately powered by normal Jet A1 fuel and a 1:1 blend of Jet A1 fuel with the biofuel of hydroprocessed esters and fatty acids (HEFA). HEFA is produced from Camelina plant oil.

Previous measurements had only provided information on soot formation using biofuels on the ground, whereas different environmental conditions prevail in flight. "This is the first time we have quantified the amount of soot particles emitted by jet engines while burning biofuel-blended fuel in flight," said Rich Moore, NASA scientist and lead author of the Nature article. The tests were conducted as part of the Alternative Fuel Effects on Contrails and Cruise Emissions Study (ACCESS) at NASA Armstrong Flight Research Center in Palmdale, California. DLR was invited to participate in the research project by NASA. The DLR Falcon 20E, together with NASA’s Falcon HU-25C measuring aircraft and the T-33 of the Canadian NRC, measured the emissions of the preceding DC-8.

Experienced crew and proven measuring equipment

More than a dozen instruments mounted on the trailing aircraft characterised the exhaust particles and gases emitted by the engines of the preceding DC-8. "Measurements in the wake of aircraft require highly experienced crewmembers and proven measuring equipment, which DLR has built up over many years," says Schlager. "Since 2000, the DLR Falcon has been used in numerous measurement campaigns to investigate the emissions and contrails of commercial airliners."

Successful cooperation

DLR and NASA have been cooperating in the field of atmospheric research for 18 years. In aeronautics research, both partners are particularly involved in joint research projects in the areas of air traffic management, as well as low-noise and low-emission flying. The joint research flights in May 2014 were a highlight of this longstanding cooperation. In the future, close cooperation is also planned in the investigation of biofuel emissions. In early 2018, NASA will participate with the DC-8 in a series of research flights in Germany conducted as part of DLR's own project, ECLIF (Emission and Climate Impact of alternative Fuel). Here, the researchers want to more closely investigate how the composition of different alternative fuels influences the emissions and the climate-relevant properties of contrails.

Last modified:
06/06/2017 14:03:55

Contacts

 

Falk Dambowsky
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Editor Aeronautics

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959
Dr. Hans Schlager
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Atmospheric Physics

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2510

Fax: +49 8153 28-1841
J. D. Harrington
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

Tel.: +1 202 358-5241

DLR/NASA-Flugexperiment bestätigt

Weniger Rußemissionen durch Biotreibstoffe in der Luftfahrt

Mittwoch, 15. März 2017

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Abgasmessungen im Formationsflug
    Abgasmessungen im Formationsflug

    Hinter der DC-8 messen die Wissenschaftler an Bord der DLR-Falcon die Abgas-Zusammensetzung.

  • Roll%2dout
    Roll-out

    Am Morgen wird die DLR-Falcon vor einem Forschungsflug auf das Vorfeld des Armstrong Flight Research Center am Standort Palmdale/Kalifornien gezogen. Die Falcon ist für eine gemeinsame Forschungsmission mit der NASA im selben Hangar wie das fliegende Stratosphärenobservatorium Sofia untergebracht.

  • Gruppenbild mit Forschungsflugzeugen
    Gruppenbild mit Forschungsflugzeugen

    Gruppenbild mit Forschungsflugzeugen: Wissenschaftler, Techniker und Piloten der NASA, des DLR und des NRC vor den beteiligten Forschungsflugzeugen.

  • Messungen im Abgas eines Triebwerks
    Messungen im Abgas eines Triebwerks

    Die DLR-Falcon fliegt mit den Messeinlässen am oberen Rumpf in das Abgas ein.

  • Blick in die Kabine der DLR%2dFalcon
    Blick in die Kabine der DLR-Falcon

    Die DLR-Forscher konzentrieren sich bei Ihren Messungen der Biotreibstoffabgase auf die Emissionen von Rußpartikeln-und Schwefelverbindungen, sowie die Größe und Form der Eiskristalle in den Kondensstreifen.

  • Biotreibstoff reduziert Rußpartikelemissionen im Reiseflug
  • Weniger Rußpartikel reduzieren Klimawirkung von Kondensstreifen
  • Ergebnisse gemeinsamer DLR/NASA-Forschungsflüge, die im Mai 2014 in Kalifornien stattfanden, im Fachjournal NATURE veröffentlicht

Eine Beimischung von 50 Prozent Biotreibstoff reduziert im Reiseflug die Rußpartikelemissionen eines Flugzeugtriebwerks um 50 bis 70 Prozent gegenüber der Verbrennung von reinem Kerosin. Dies zeigt eine nun im Fachjournal NATURE erschienene Studie, die auf gemeinsamen Forschungsflügen der NASA, des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und des kanadischen National Research Council (NRC) beruht. Die Ergebnisse liefern weltweit erstmals wichtige Anhaltspunkte darüber, wie Biotreibstoffe in der Luftfahrt nicht nur die Emissionen im Umfeld von Flughäfen mindern, sondern auch im Reiseflug zu einer klimafreundlichen Entwicklung des Luftverkehrs beitragen können.

Klimafaktor Kondensstreifen-Zirren

Flugzeugtriebwerke stoßen Rußpartikel aus. Diese wirken als Kondensationskeime für kleine Eiskristalle, die als Kondensstreifen sichtbar werden. Die Eiskristalle der Kondensstreifen können bei feucht-kalten Bedingungen in Höhen von etwa 8 bis 12 Kilometern mehrere Stunden bestehen und hohe Wolken sogenannte Kondensstreifen-Zirren bilden. "Kondensstreifen-Zirren haben heute eine ähnlich große Klimawirkung wie alle über mehr als 100 Jahre in der Atmosphäre gesammelten Kohlendioxid-Emissionen des Luftverkehrs zusammen", sagt der Co-Autor des NATURE-Artikels Dr. Hans Schlager vom DLR-Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre. "Die Rußemissionen bestimmen weitgehend die Anzahl der Eiskristalle in Kondensstreifen. Mit der Möglichkeit anhand von Biotreibstoffen die Rußemissionen in Triebwerksabgasen um mehr als die Hälfte zu verringern, öffnet sich ein Weg die Klimawirkung von Kondensstreifen zu reduzieren", so Schlager weiter.

Auf 30 Meter im Abgasstrahl heran

Das DLR-Forschungsflugzeug Falcon flog im Mai 2014, ausgestattet mit modernster Instrumentierung und besetzt mit einer Crew von Spezialisten des DLR-Instituts für Physik der Atmosphäre und des DLR-Forschungsflugbetriebs in die USA. Dort führten die Forscher Messungen im Abgasstrahl im Abstand von 30 bis 150 Metern zum NASA-Forschungsflugzeugs DC-8 durch. Die CFM56-Triebwerke der DC-8 wurden dabei zum Vergleich abwechselnd mit regulärem Jet A1-Flugtreibstoff und einer 1:1-Mischung aus Jet A1 und dem Biotreibstoff HEFA (Hydroprocessed Esters and Fatty Acids) betrieben. HEFA wird aus dem Öl von Leindotter-Pflanzen gewonnen.

Zuvor durchgeführte Messungen hatten nur Aufschluss über die Rußentstehung bei Biotreibstoffen am Boden geliefert, wobei im Flug andere Umgebungsbedingungen herrschen. "Es ist das erste Mal, dass wir im Flug die Anzahl emittierter Rußpartikel eines Triebwerks, das beigemischten Biotreibstoff verbrennt, gemessen haben", sagt Dr. Rich Moore, NASA-Wissenschaftler und Hauptautor des NATURE-Artikels. Die vom Armstrong Flight Research Center der NASA am Standort Palmdale/Kalifornien ausgehende Flugversuchskampagne war Teil des Forschungsprojekts ACCESS (Alternative Fuel Effects on Contrails and Cruise Emissions Study) an dem sich das DLR auf Einladung der NASA beteiligte. Zusammen mit der Falcon 20E des DLR führten noch die Messflugzeuge Falcon HU-25C der NASA und T-33 des kanadischen NRC Messungen im Abgas der vorausfliegenden DC-8 durch.

Erfahrene Crew und erprobte Messausrüstung

Mehr als ein Dutzend Instrumente in den Verfolgerflugzeugen zeichneten die emittierten Rußpartikel und Gase der vorausfliegenden DC-8 auf. "Messungen im Nachlauf von Flugzeugen erfordern viel Erfahrung der Crew und eine erprobte Messausrüstung, die das DLR sich über mittlerweile viele Jahre aufgebaut hat", erklärt DLR-Missionsleiter Schlager. "Seit dem Jahr 2000 wurde die DLR-Falcon bereits in verschiedenen Messkampagnen eingesetzt, um die Emissionen und Kondensstreifen von Verkehrsflugzeugen zu untersuchen."

Bewährte Zusammenarbeit

Bereits seit 18 Jahren arbeiten DLR und NASA im Bereich der Atmosphärenforschung zusammen. In der Luftfahrtforschung engagieren sich beide Partner insgesamt besonders bei gemeinsamen Forschungsprojekten in den Bereichen Luftverkehrsmanagement sowie lärm- und emissionsarmes Fliegen. Ein Highlight der Zusammenarbeit waren die gemeinsamen Forschungsflüge im Mai 2014. Auch zukünftig ist eine enge Kooperation bei der Erforschung von Biotreibstoff-Emissionen geplant. Die NASA wird sich im Rahmen des DLR-eigenen Projekts ECLIF (Emissions and Climate Impact of alternative Fuel) bei Forschungsflügen Anfang 2018 in Deutschland mit der DC-8 beteiligen. Hier wollen die Forscher genauer untersuchen, wie sich die Zusammensetzung verschiedener alternartiver Treibstoffe auf die Emissionen und klimarelevanten optischen Eigenschaften von Kondensstreifen auswirken.

Zuletzt geändert am:
16.03.2017 09:31:59 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Falk Dambowsky
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Media Relations

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Dr. Hans Schlager
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Physik der Atmosphäre

Tel.: +49 8153 28-2510

Fax: +49 8153 28-1841
J. D. Harrington
National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA)

Tel.: +1 202 358-5241