The joint DLR/NASA observatory will use three instruments to investigate the southern skies

Kia ora SOFIA – Airborne observatory welcomed in New Zealand

23 June 2017

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • SOFIALandungNZ2017_sn.jpg
    SOFIA landing at the airport of Christchurch

    SOFIA, the DLR/NASA Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy, landed at the airport of Christchurch, New Zealand, on 23 June 2017 at 01:05 Central European Summer Time (11:05 local time). SOFIA will investigate the southern skies during its 25 observation flights from 26 June to 10 August 2017.

  • Forecast01_sn.jpg
    The FORCAST instrument mounted on the SOFIA telescope

    The first observation flights in SOFIA’s 2015 New Zealand campaign will be carried out using the US Faint Object Infrared Camera for the SOFIA Telescope (FORCAST).

  • FIFILSMaskottchen_sn.jpg
    Also on board is the mascot of FIFI-LS

    The instrument FIFI-LS (Field Imaging Far-Infrared Line Spectrometer) is mounted on the SOFIA telescope. ‘Fifi' Dachshund mascot sits on the instrument and keeps company during the measurement flights.

  • The airborne observatory SOFIA will use three instruments to investigate the southern skies during its 25 observation flights from 26 June to 10 August 2017.
  • This is SOFIA’s fourth stationing in New Zealand.
  • Focus: Space, Aviation

Kia ora is how the Māori, New Zealand's indigenous people, traditionally welcome their guests – even when said guest is a flying observatory. At 01:05 Central European Summer Time (11:05 local time) on 23 June 2017, SOFIA was greeted with Kia ora when it touched 'down under' at Christchurch Airport. The Stratospheric Observatory for Infrared Astronomy (SOFIA) – a joint project of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) – will conduct 25 observation flights over several weeks until 10 August 2017 to take a close look at the southern skies. The first scientific flight of this year's campaign – its fourth in New Zealand – will take place on 26 June.

Long winter nights, crystal-clear insights

SOFIA took off from its home base in Palmdale, California, on 21 June 2017, landing in Christchurch after a refuelling stop in Hawaii. The airborne observatory takes advantage of the long winter nights in New Zealand, as the concentration of water vapour in the atmosphere at this time of year is far lower than in the northern hemisphere, which is currently experiencing summer. “This provides ideal conditions for crystal-clear observations. After all, even the tiniest quantities of water vapour in the air can absorb cosmic infrared radiation, making it undetectable by our spectrometer," explains Heinz Hammes, German Project Manager for SOFIA.

Flying above New Zealand at an altitude of 13 kilometres, where the amount of infrared-absorbing water vapour is substantially lower than on the ground, SOFIA will observe and analyse prominent star forming regions in the Small and Large Magellanic Clouds: "These regions have already been thoroughly scanned with optical instruments in the visible range, but more research in the infrared range is needed. This campaign is a follow-up from the last observation campaign in June 2016 to learn more about these regions," says Hammes. The SOFIA telescope will also be directed at the centre of the Milky Way – which is better visible from the southern hemisphere and for longer periods of time – to observe the motion of matter.

Three instruments for different observations

Various instruments can be fitted to the 2.7-metre diameter reflector telescope, allowing SOFIA to conduct its wide range of observations. "This year's New Zealand campaign, like in previous years, will feature three instruments. These will allow scientists to investigate star forming regions across the various stages of their development," explains Hammes. This campaign will include the German-built far-infrared spectrometers GREAT (German REceiver for Astronomy at Terahertz Frequencies) and FIFI-LS (Field-Imaging Far-Infrared Line Spectrometer), as well as the US-American instrument FORCAST (Faint Object InfraRedCAmera for the SOFIA Telescope). With these spectrometers it is possible to closely examine the overall dynamics of star formation and take spectral 'fingerprints' of atoms and molecules to determine gas densities and temperatures, as well as the velocity of the clouds.

Exploring uncharted territory in spectroscopy with GREAT

The GREAT spectrometer was originally equipped with one detector to, among other things, find out more about the chemical composition of star forming regions. This campaign will use two significantly improved versions of the instrument: upGREAT is equipped with 21 detectors spread over two arrays (14 +7), which for the first time will permit simultaneous, parallel observations at two different frequencies. 4GREAT extends the spectroscopic range as far down as 490 GHz (which is particularly interesting for the spectral lines of water and ammonia), and has four individual detectors that enable simultaneous observations in four different frequency ranges.

"These upgrades increase the performance and observation efficiency of our instrument by more than a factor of 10, opening up new, unexplored frequency ranges," explains Rolf Güsten, Principal Investigator for GREAT, 4GREAT and upGREAT at the Max Planck Institute for Radio Astronomy in Bonn. "This year's investigations will range from mapping atomic oxygen in the Magellanic Clouds and in the galactic centre, to studies of the chemistry of protoplanetary disks and planetary nebulae, and even the search for hitherto undetected molecules in space," adds Güsten.

FIFI-LS acquires data on star formation

It is the second time that FIFI-LS will be used to investigate the sky from the southern hemisphere. This instrument, equipped with two detector arrays, can measure substantially more wavelengths than GREAT and is able to produce large-scale maps of expansive molecular clouds faster. In particular, FIFI-LS will again observe the elements oxygen, nitrogen and carbon in the star forming regions and in the interstellar medium. This time it will turn its attention to the Milky Way, as well as the Large Magellanic Cloud region and other distant galaxies. "For the first time, we will be able to produce a precise and detailed inventory of the matter around the galactic centre," explains Alfred Krabbe, Principal Investigator for the FIFI-LS instrument and Director of the German SOFIA Institute (DSI) at the University of Stuttgart. "In addition, we want to understand the motion of matter in the vicinity of the black hole at the centre of the Milky Way – and this is only possible by deploying SOFIA from New Zealand."

Campaign concludes with the FORCAST instrument

Earmarked for six flights during the deployment, FORCAST will conduct measurements at shorter wavelengths than FIFI-LS and GREAT, mainly to observe debris discs around newly formed stars, but also the dust spewed into space by old stars and supernovae. SOFIA is scheduled to fly back to Palmdale on 13 August for maintenance on the aircraft and telescope. Another 32 scientific flights will then be carried out from California from early September to mid-November 2017.

  • SOFIA

    The Stratospheric Observatory For Infrared Astronomy (SOFIA), is a joint project of the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and the National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). The German contribution to the project is managed by the DLR Space Administration, using funds provided by the Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy (Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie), the State of Baden-Württemberg and the University of Stuttgart. Development of the German instruments is financed with funds from the Max Planck Society (Max-Planck-Gesellschaft; MPG), the German Research Foundation and DLR. The scientific operations are coordinated by the German SOFIA Institute (Deutsche SOFIA Institut; DSI) at the University of Stuttgart on the German side, and by the Universities Space Research Association (USRA) on the American side.

Last modified:
23/06/2017 13:30:35

Contacts

 

Martin Fleischmann
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Administration

Tel.: +49 228 447-120

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Heinz-Theo Hammes
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Administration, Space Science

Tel.: +49 228 447-377

Fax: +49 228 447-745

Mehr über das DLR

Stratosphären-Observatorium von DLR und NASA erforscht mit drei Instrumenten den Südhimmel

Kia Ora SOFIA: fliegende Sternwarte wieder in Neuseeland zu Gast

Freitag, 23. Juni 2017

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • SOFIALandungNZ2017_sn.jpg
    Landung von SOFIA am Flughafen Christchurch

    Am 23. Juni 2017 um 1:05 Uhr mitteleuropäischer Sommerzeit (11:05 Uhr Ortszeit) landetet die fliegende Sternwarte SOFIA am Flughafen von Christchurch, Neuseeland. Von dort aus wird sie bis zum 10. August den Südhimmel erforschen.

  • Forecast01_sn.jpg
    Das Instrument FORCAST wurde ans Teleskop montiert

    Die ersten Beobachtungsflüge der diesjährigen Neuseeland-Kampagne werden mit dem U.S.-amerikanischen Instrument FORCAST durchgeführt.

  • FIFILSMaskottchen_sn.jpg
    Mit an Bord ist das Maskottchen von FIFI-LS

    Das Instrument FIFI-LS (Field-Imaging Far-Infrared Line Spectrometer) ist am Teleskop von SOFIA montiert. Auf dem Instrument sitzt "Fifi" der Maskottchen-Dackel und begleitet die Messflüge.

  • Die fliegende Sternwarte SOFIA nimmt vom 26. Juni bis zum 10. August 2017 in 25 Beobachtungsflügen den Südhimmel mit drei Instrumenten ins Visier.
  • SOFIA ist bereits zum vierten Mal in Neuseeland stationiert.
  • Schwerpunkte: Raumfahrt, Luftfahrt

Kia Ora - so begrüßen die Māori, das indigene Volk Neuseelands, traditionell ihre Gäste. Am 23. Juni 2017 um 1.05 Uhr mitteleuropäischer Sommerzeit (11.05 Uhr Ortszeit) war es wieder einmal Zeit für diese Grußformel, denn ein ganz besonderer Ankömmling ist am "anderen Ende der Welt" auf dem Flughafen Christchurch gelandet: Die fliegende Sternwarte SOFIA des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und der US-amerikanischen Raumfahrtbehörde NASA wird zum vierten Mal über mehrere Wochen - bis zum 10. August 2017 - in 25 Beobachtungsflügen den Südhimmel ins Visier nehmen. Bereits am 26. Juni wird das Stratosphären-Observatorium für Infrarot-Astronomie - kurz SOFIA - zum ersten Wissenschaftsflug der diesjährigen Kampagne starten.

Lange Winternächte liefern ungetrübte Einblicke

SOFIA ist am 21. Juni 2017 von ihrer Heimatbasis in Palmdale in Kalifornien gestartet und nach einem Zwischenstopp zum Auftanken auf Hawaii in Christchurch gelandet. Die fliegende Sternwarte nutzt die langen Winternächte in Neuseeland, da hier während dieser Zeit die Wasserdampfkonzentration in der irdischen Atmosphäre sehr viel geringer als in unserem Sommer auf der Nordhalbkugel ist. "Das sind ideale Voraussetzungen für ungetrübte Beobachtungen. Denn schon kleinste Mengen an Wasserdampf in der Luft können die Infrarotstrahlung aus dem All "verschlucken", sodass diese nicht mehr von den Spektrometern gemessen werden kann", erklärt DLR-Projektleiter Heinz Hammes.

In einer Flughöhe von rund 13 Kilometern fliegt SOFIA weitestgehend über dem Wasserdampf und kann so von Neuseeland aus prominente Sternentstehungsgebiete wie die Große und die Kleine Magellansche Wolke ungetrübt betrachten und untersuchen: "Diese Regionen kennen wir zwar schon von optischen Beobachtungen. Im Infrarotbereich sind sie bisher allerdings kaum erforscht. Hier knüpfen wir nahtlos an die letzte Beobachtungskampagne vom Juni 2016 an, um noch mehr über diese Gebiete zu erfahren", so Hammes. Um Materiebewegungen zu untersuchen, wird das SOFIA-Teleskop auch auf das Zentrum der Milchstraße gerichtet, das von der südlichen Hemisphäre wesentlich besser und länger als vom Nordhimmel aus zugänglich ist.

Drei Instrumente für unterschiedliche Beobachtungen

Damit SOFIA ihre vielfältigen Beobachtungen machen kann, werden an das 2,7 Meter durchmessende Spiegelteleskop verschiedene Instrumente angeschlossen. "In diesem Jahr kommen in Neuseeland wieder drei Beobachtungsinstrumente zum Einsatz. Mit ihnen können die Wissenschaftler Sternentstehungsgebiete in den verschiedensten Stadien ihrer Entwicklung untersuchen", erklärt Hammes. So kommen während dieser Kampagne die in Deutschland gebauten Ferninfrarotspektrometer GREAT (German Receiver for Astronomy at Terahertz Frequencies) und FIFI-LS (Field-Imaging Far-Infrared Line Spectrometer) sowie das US-amerikanische Instrument FORCAST (Faint Object InfraRedCAmera for the SOFIA Telescope) zum Einsatz. Mit ihnen lässt sich die Gesamtdynamik der Sternentstehung im Detail untersuchen und spektrale "Fingerabdrücke" von Atomen und Molekülen nehmen, um Gasdichten, Temperaturen und Geschwindigkeiten der Wolken zu bestimmen.

Mit GREAT spektroskopisches Neuland erkunden

Ursprünglich betrieb das Spektrometer GREAT einen Detektor, um damit beispielsweise mehr über die chemische Zusammensetzung von Sternentstehungsgebieten zu erfahren. Bei dieser Kampagne kommen nun zwei wesentlich verbesserte Versionen des Instruments zum Einsatz: upGREAT besitzt 21 Detektoren, die auf zwei sogenannten Arrays (14+7) angeordnet sind und nun zum ersten Mal die gleichzeitige Beobachtung bei zwei unterschiedlichen Frequenzen parallel ausführen. Mit 4GREAT werden die spektroskopischen Möglichkeiten dann noch bis hinunter zu 490 GHz erweitert (besonders interessant für Spektrallinien von Wasser und Ammoniak) und mit vier Einzeldetektoren Beobachtungen in vier unterschiedlichen Frequenzbereichen gleichzeitig durchgeführt.

"Mit diesen Erweiterungen erhöht sich die Leistungsfähigkeit und die Beobachtungseffizienz unseres Instruments um mehr als das Zehnfache und neue bislang unerforschte Frequenzbereiche werden erschlossen ", erläutert Dr. Rolf Güsten, der Leiter des GREAT-, 4GRAT- und upGREAT-Instruments vom Max-Planck Institut für Radioastronomie (MPIfR) in Bonn. "In diesem Jahr reichen die Untersuchungen von Kartierung des atomaren Sauerstoffs in den Magellanschen Wolken und im Galaktischen Zentrum zu Studien der Chemie protoplanetarer Scheiben und Planetarischer Nebel, bis hin zur Suche nach im Weltall bislang nicht nachgewiesener Moleküle", ergänzt Dr. Güsten.

FIFI-LS misst Daten zur Sternentstehung

Bereits zum zweiten Mal erkundet FIFI-LS die Südhemisphäre. Dieses Instrument mit zwei Detektorarrays misst bei deutlich mehr Wellenlängen als GREAT und kann schneller großflächige Kartierungen ausgedehnter Molekülwolken vornehmen. FIFI-LS wird wieder insbesondere die Elemente Sauerstoff, Stickstoff und Kohlenstoff in Sternentstehungsgebieten und im interstellaren Medium - dem Raum zwischen den Sternen - beobachten. Diesmal gerät sowohl unsere Milchstraße als auch ein riesiges Sternentstehungsgebiet der Großen Magellanschen Wolke sowie andere entferntere Galaxien ins Visier. "Damit können wir auch erstmals eine detailgetreue Inventur der Materie in der Umgebung des galaktischen Zentrums durchführen", erläutert Prof. Alfred Krabbe, Leiter des FIFI-LS-Instruments und des Deutschen SOFIA Instituts (DSI) an der Universität Stuttgart. "Außerdem wollen wir die Materiebewegungen in der Umgebung des Schwarzen Lochs im Zentrum unserer Milchstraße verstehen. Das geht nur mit SOFIA von Neuseeland aus."

Kampagnen-Abschluss mit Instrument FORCAST

Bei seinen sechs Einsätzen misst FORCAST bei kürzeren Wellenlängen als FIFI-LS und GREAT und beobachtet insbesondere Staubscheiben um neu entstandene Sterne, aber auch die von alten Sternen und Supernovae ins Weltall zurückgeschleuderten Staubmassen. Am 13. August soll SOFIA wieder nach Palmdale zurückfliegen. Nach einer Wartung des Flugzeugs und des Teleskops sollen dann ab Anfang September bis Mitte November 2017 weitere 32 Wissenschaftsflüge von Kalifornien aus durchgeführt werden.

  • SOFIA

    SOFIA, das "Stratosphären-Observatorium für Infrarot-Astronomie" ist ein Gemeinschaftsprojekt des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt e.V. (DLR) und der National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA). Es wird vom DLR Raumfahrtmanagement mit Mitteln des Bundesministeriums für Wirtschaft und Energie (BMWi), des Landes Baden-Württemberg und der Universität Stuttgart durchgeführt. Die Entwicklung der deutschen Instrumente ist finanziert mit Mitteln der Max-Planck-Gesellschaft (MPG), der Deutschen Forschungsgemeinschaft (DFG) und des DLR. Der wissenschaftliche Betrieb wird auf deutscher Seite vom Deutschen SOFIA-Institut (DSI) der Universität Stuttgart koordiniert, auf amerikanischer Seite von der Universities Space Research Association (USRA).

Zuletzt geändert am:
23.06.2017 11:06:58 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Martin Fleischmann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 228 447-120

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Heinz-Theo Hammes
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Extraterrestrik

Tel.: +49 228 447-377

Fax: +49 228 447-745