Digital pilot in the cockpit – the A-PiMod project receives the German Mobility Award

29 June 2017

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Das Generische Experimentalcockpit (GECO)
    The Generic Experimental Cockpit (GECO)

    The A-PiMod project was tested in the GECO at the DLR Institute of Flight Guidance.

  • Die Preisträger
    The award winners

    The winners of the German Mobility Award 2017. Among them, Helge Lenz and Andreas Hasselberg from the DLR A-PiMod project (second and third from the right).

  • A%2dPiMod im GECO
    A-PiMod in the GECO

    The A-PiMod acts as a ‘third pilot’, and offers its human colleagues a variety of suggested courses of action on screen.

  • A%2dPiMod: Förderung durch die EU
    A-PiMod – funded by the EU

    The European Union provided 4.5 million euro in funding for the A-PiMod project.

  • A-PiMod – a digital 'third person' in the cockpit supports pilots and recommends courses of action.
  • The project was honoured with the German Mobility Award on 28 June 2017.
  • Focus: Aviation, Digitalisation

The idea behind the A-PiMod project is to install a digital pilot in the cockpit to provide its human colleagues with in-flight advice. The research was conducted by the Institute of Flight Guidance at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR), in cooperation with seven partners from science and industry. A-PiMod was honoured with the German Mobility Award as a lighthouse project for smart mobility on 28 June 2017 in Berlin.

Computerised crew member

At present, cockpit operations cannot take place without automated procedures. However, this is usually done for technical reasons, and the state of the pilots is seldom taken into account. This creates a complex interface between the pilot and the automated systems. Analyses of accidents indicate that problems with this human/machine interface contribute to a significant proportion of serious incidents. The newly developed cockpit architecture A-PiMod (Applying Pilot Models for Safer Aircraft), a 'cockpit of the future', improves human/machine cooperation. "To do this, A-PiMod monitors the aircraft and its environmental conditions, as well as the state of the pilots," explains Andreas Hasselberg from the DLR Institute of Flight Guidance. "The system uses the pilots' eye movements, gestures and operations to draw conclusions about their current intentions, situational awareness and work-related stress." A-PiMod uses this data to provide the pilots with the best possible support in any given situation. “The system addresses the pilots proactively, makes suggestions and adapts to them and their situation. It is quite similar to a good human team member – a bit like a third pilot," Hasselberg adds.

The European Union contributed around 4.5 million euro to research on the A-PiMod project, which was carried out from September 2013 to August 2016. In addition to DLR, the research partners were Honeywell, Brno University of Technology, OFFIS e.V., Symbio Concepts and Projects, the Netherlands Aerospace Centre (NLR), KITE Solutions and Trinity College Dublin.

A-PiMod receives German Mobility Award

The project was recently honoured by the 'Germany – Land of Ideas' initiative and the German Federal Ministry of Transport and Digital Infrastructure (BMVI) as one of 10 outstanding digital innovations for safe mobility. The German member of parliament Dorothee Bär, Parliamentary State Secretary at the BMVI, and Ute Weiland, Managing Director of the 'Germany – Land of Ideas' initiative, presented the awards at the BMVI building in Berlin. Overall, 170 projects were submitted for consideration.

With the German Mobility Award, the 'Germany – Land of Ideas' initiative and BMVI intend to raise public awareness of smart mobility solutions and digital innovation. The following members of the 'Digital Networks and Mobility' platform at the Digital Summit support the German Mobility Award: Continental Automotive GmbH, Deutsche Bahn AG, Deutsche Telekom AG, Ericsson GmbH, Esri Deutschland GmbH, Huawei Technologies Deutschland GmbH and the Association of German Transport Companies (Verband Deutscher Verkehrsunternehmen; VDV).

Last modified:
06/07/2017 10:07:04

Contacts

 

Jasmin Begli
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications, Braunschweig

Tel.: +49 531 295-2108

Fax: +49 531 295-12100
Dr Andreas Hasselberg
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Flight Guidance

Tel.: +49 531 295-2427

Fax: +49 531 295-2550

Mehr über das DLR

Digitaler Pilot im Cockpit: Projekt A-PiMod mit dem Deutschen Mobilitätspreis ausgezeichnet

Donnerstag, 29. Juni 2017

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Das Generische Experimentalcockpit (GECO)
    Das Generische Experimentalcockpit (GECO)

    Das Projekt A-PiMod wurde im GECO des DLR-Instituts für Flugführung getestet.

  • Die Preisträger
    Die Preisträger

    Die Preisträger des Deutschen Mobilitätspreises 2017. Darunter Helge Lenz und Dr. Andreas Hasselberg mit dem Projekt A-PiMod vom DLR (zweiter und dritter von rechts).

  • A%2dPiMod im GECO
    A-PiMod im GECO

    A-PiMod bietet dem Piloten über den Bildschirm als "dritter Mann" verschiedene Entscheidungshilfen an.

  • A%2dPiMod: Förderung durch die EU
    A-PiMod: Förderung durch die EU

    Das Projekt A-PiMod wurde von der Europäischen Union mit 4,5 Millionen Euro gefördert.

  • A-PiMod: ein digitalisierter "dritter Mann" im Cockpit unterstützt die realen Piloten und gibt ihnen Handlungsempfehlungen.
  • Das Projekt wurde am 28. Juni 2017 mit dem Deutschen Mobilitätspreis ausgezeichnet.
  • Schwerpunkt(e): Luftfahrt, Digitalisierung

Einen digitalisierten Piloten im Cockpit mitfliegen lassen, der die realen Piloten im Flug berät - das ist die Idee des Projekts A-PiMod, das das Institut für Flugführung am Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) gemeinsam mit sieben weiteren Partnern aus Wissenschaft und Industrie erforscht hat. Am 28. Juni 2017 wurde A-PiMod in Berlin mit dem Deutschen Mobilitätspreis als Leuchtturmprojekt für intelligente Mobilität ausgezeichnet.

Crew-Mitglied aus dem Computer

Automatisierung im Cockpit ist heutzutage nicht mehr wegzudenken. Sie erfolgt aber meist aus technischen Gründen, der Zustand der Piloten wird dabei selten berücksichtigt. Hier entsteht eine komplexe Schnittstelle zwischen dem Piloten und der Automatisierung. Unfalluntersuchungen zeigen, dass Probleme an der Mensch-Maschine-Schnittstelle zu einem erheblichen Teil zu diesen Unfällen beitragen. Die neu entwickelte Cockpit-Architektur A-PiMod (Applying Pilot Models for Safer Aircraft), ein "Cockpit der Zukunft", verbessert die Kooperation zwischen Mensch und Maschine. "Dies geschieht, indem A-PiMod nicht nur den Flugzeugzustand und die Umgebungsbedingungen überwacht, sondern auch den Zustand der Piloten einbezieht", erklärt Dr. Andreas Hasselberg vom DLR-Institut für Flugführung. "Basierend auf den Blickbewegungen, Gesten und Eingaben der Piloten zieht das System Rückschlüsse auf ihre aktuellen Absichten, ihr Situationsbewusstsein sowie ihre Arbeitsbelastung." Diese Daten nutzt A-PiMod dazu, die Piloten situationsabhängig bestmöglich bei ihrer Arbeit zu unterstützen. "Das System geht auf die Piloten ein, macht ihnen Vorschläge und passt sich ihnen und der Situation an. Ähnlich einem guten menschlichen Teammitglied - quasi einem dritten Piloten", so Hasselberg weiter.

Die Forschungsarbeiten im Projekt A-PiMod wurden von der Europäischen Union mit etwa 4,5 Millionen Euro gefördert und fanden im Zeitraum von September 2013 bis August 2016 statt. Neben dem DLR waren Honeywell, die Technische Universität Brünn, OFFIS e.V., Symbio Concepts & Projects, das Netherland Aerospace Centre (NLR), KITE Solutions und das Trinity College Dublin Forschungspartner.

A-PiMod erhält Deutschen Mobilitätspreis

Das Projekt wurde nun von der Initiative "Deutschland - Land der Ideen" und dem Bundesministerium für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur als eines von zehn herausragenden digitalen Innovationen für eine sichere Mobilität ausgezeichnet. Die Abgeordnete Dorothee Bär, Parlamentarische Staatssekretärin beim Bundesminister für Verkehr und digitale Infrastruktur (BMVI), und Ute Weiland, Geschäftsführerin der Initiative "Deutschland - Land der Ideen", überreichten die Preise, für die 170 Bewerbungen eingingen, im Bundesverkehrsministerium in Berlin.

Mit dem Deutschen Mobilitätspreis machen die Initiative "Deutschland - Land der Ideen" und das BMVI intelligente Mobilitätslösungen und digitale Innovationen öffentlich sichtbar. Folgende Mitglieder der Plattform „Digitale Netze und Mobilität“ des Digital-Gipfels unterstützen den Deutschen Mobilitätspreis: Continental Automotive GmbH, Deutsche Bahn AG, Deutsche Telekom AG, Ericsson GmbH, Esri Deutschland GmbH, Huawei Technologies Deutschland GmbH und der Verband Deutscher Verkehrsunternehmen e.V.

Zuletzt geändert am:
29.06.2017 12:59:34 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Jasmin Begli
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Kommunikation, Braunschweig

Tel.: +49 531 295-2108

Fax: +49 531 295-2102
Dr. Andreas Hasselberg
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Flugführung

Tel.: +49 531 295-2427

Fax: +49 531 295-2550