BEXUS 24/25: German-Swedish programme for balloon experiments

Students research the stratosphere in the Arctic

18 October 2017

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • BEXUS 24
    Launch of BEXUS 24 on 18 October 2017

    The stratospheric research balloon BEXUS 24 was successfully launched from the Esrange Space Center in Kiruna, Sweden, on 18 October 2017 at 13:39 CEST. The gondola of the balloon housed four scientific experiments to be carried out under microgravity designed by student teams from Sweden, Italy and Spain.

  • Team HAMBURG bereitet sein Experiment vor
    BEXUS 25: Team HAMBURG preparing their experiment

    BEXUS 25: The goal of the student team HAMBURG (High Altitude Meteroids-dust-catching Balloon constrUcted by a Revolutionary Generation) from the Technical Univeristy of Hamburg-Harburg was to automatically collect iron-nickel containing micrometeorites.

  • Launch%2dFahrzeug "Hercules" beim Transport der Gondel von BEXUS 24
    Launch platform ‘Hercules’ transporting the BEXUS 24 gondola

    Precious cargo: The gondola of the BEXUS 24 research balloon houses four experiments from student teams from Italy, Spain and Sweden. One day before launch, the gondola is transported to the balloon using the ‘Hercules’ transport and launch platform.

  • Gruppenbild mit allen Teilnehmern der BEXUS 24/25 Kampagne vor dem Launch%2dFahrzeug
    The launch platform ‘Hercules’ featuring all participants of the BEXUS 24/25 campaign

    Research is an international thing: Student teams from Germany, Sweden, Great Britain, Italy and Spain took part in the double BEXUS 24/25 research campaign. The photo shows this campaign's participants at the Esrange Space Center in Kiruna, Sweden. From here, the research balloons, made possible by DLR and the Swedish National Space Board, are launched towards the arctic sky.

  • Das Team Lotus_XD bei der Vorbereitung
    The Lotus_XD team preparing for launch

    The Lotus_XD team (Light power and Optical Transmission experiment of University Students - eXtra Data) from the Technical University of Dresden designed an experiment to test solar cells under reduced gravitational conditions to be launched on BEXUS 25. These types of solar cells could be used for the laser transfer of energy to rovers on the Moon or Mars.

  • The BEXUS 24 research balloon was launched from the Esrange Space Center in Sweden on 18 October.
  • On board the joint mission by DLR and the Swedish National Space Board were four science experiments designed by student teams from Spain, Italy and Sweden.
  • On Friday 20 October, the BEXUS 25 balloon followed with four more experiments built by student teams from Germany, Sweden and Great Britain – the scientific focus of these experiments is on subjects such as solar radiation.
  • Focus: Space, research under space conditions, junior research programme

The BEXUS 24 research balloon was launched from the Esrange Space Center in Sweden at 13:39 Central European Summer Time on Wednesday 18 October 2017. The balloon reached its maximum altitude of 24.6 kilometres at 15:25 at which point the gondola separated from the balloon (in a procedure called 'cut down'). The gondola landed back on Earth at 17:22 local time. On board the joint mission by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and the Swedish National Space Board (SNSB) were four science experiments designed by student teams from Spain, Italy and Sweden.

The BEXUS 25 balloon followed its predecessor on Friday 20 October with four more experiments on board, the focus here being on solar radiation, micrometeorites and other scientific topics. Two student teams from Germany and one team each from Sweden and Great Britain took part in this campaign. Michael Becker, head of the BEXUS programme at the DLR Space Administration, adds: "All the experiments were planned, put together, built and tested by the students themselves. In this way, the REXUS/BEXUS programme offers students a unique opportunity to carry out their own spaceflight project under real conditions."

BEXUS 24: On the hunt for cosmic radiation

The Spanish CADMUS (Cloud chamber for high Altitude Detection of Muons Under Special relativity effect) team from the Polytechnic University of Catalonia aimed to measure elementary particles (muons) that travel at almost the speed of light in the atmosphere. Muons are a major component of secondary cosmic radiation. Using a cloud chamber, they pick up muon traces and calculate, during the balloon’s ascent, the quantity of these particles detected at each altitude range. These data will be used to obtain the mean lifetime of a muon, which will then be compared to the value predicted by Albert Einstein’s special theory of relativity.. By making the decay visible, the half-life of elementary particles can be determined and information on the products of cosmic radiation and their composition at high altitudes can be acquired.

The NEMESYS (Neutron Effects on MEmory SYStems) team from the University of Rome Tor Vergata is looking into the effects of cosmic radiation on electronic storage systems. This experiment was designed to study how particle impacts affect a memory card – in other words, how the radiation environment influences the storage error rate (bit flips). The experiment included measurements of the altitude, position, temperature and the detection of impacts. Electronic storage systems are critical components in satellites, for example.

The Italian DREX (Deployable Reflector Experiment) team from the University of Padua tested the stability of a spring-based reflector antenna in the stratosphere. The advantage of the antenna is its very low weight and its ability to unfold a reflector in the lower layers of the atmosphere. Such an antenna could be used for future satellites and suborbital missions.

The students from EXIST (Examination of Infrasound in the Stratosphere and Troposphere), the team from the University of Luleå, studied infrasound in the stratosphere and troposphere in the Arctic region. The frequency of infrasound is between 16 to 20 Hertz and lies below the human hearing threshold. Infrasound occurs everywhere in nature, but is also generated artificially, for example through mining or by wind turbines. The EXIST team used special instruments on BEXUS 24 to record infrasound and analyse the infrasound spectrum in the arctic region, to subsequently determine the origin of the signals. Measuring infrasound can, for example, help in the prediction of extreme weather conditions and earthquakes.

BEXUS 25: Collecting micrometeorites in the stratosphere

The aim of the HAMBURG (High Altitude Meteoroids-dust-catching Balloon constrUcted by a Revolutionary Generation) student team from the Technical University of Hamburg-Harburg was the automated collection of micrometeorites that contain iron and nickel.

Micrometeorites are extraterrestrial particles with a size of less than 100 micrometres that can be scattered into the atmosphere by the wind. Micrometeorites that contain iron and nickel are ferromagnetic and so could be captured using strong magnets. During the BEXUS 25 flight these micrometeorites were captured at altitudes of five to 20 kilometres and 20 to 30 kilometres to determine their density distribution in the stratosphere. "In addition, we are analysing the composition of the micrometeorites in the laboratory. This information is used not only to determine the age, but also the origin of the micrometeorites, and enable a better understanding of the particles in the atmosphere. The biggest challenge here was to prevent contamination by Earth particles," explains team leader Ihsan Kaplan.

The LOTUS_XD (Light power and Optical Transmission experiment of University Students – eXtra Data) team from the Technical University of Dresden tested solar cells under space conditions. During the flight with the stratospheric balloon, they investigated how solar cells that are suitable for laser-based energy transfer from a satellite in orbit to an exploration vehicle on the surface of, for instance, the Moon or Mars behave as the temperature fluctuates. They did so by exposing the solar cells and associated electronics to temperatures as low as minus 60 degrees Celsius. "The experiment is expected to show that it is possible to use the energy from solar cells to freeze the electronics of an exploration vehicle or a satellite in space when it is not needed, and reactivate it again as necessary," explains team leader Jan Walter. "At the same time, the solar cells are expected to be available for transferring scientific data."

Team IRIS (Infra-Red albedo measurements In Stratosphere) focused on climate research. The Swedish team from the Technical University of Luleå used its experiment on board BEXUS 25 to study the behaviour of Earth's incident and reflected solar radiation, i.e. the level of Earth's reflectivity. The data gained will enable better error analysis of measurements by satellites, as the BEXUS measurements were carried out directly in the thin atmospheric layers. The results also support studies on the extent of ice melting in the polar regions, and hence the question of whether reduced reflection of solar radiation is contributing to global warming.

Also participating on board BEXUS 25 was a team from Great Britain. The SUNBYTE team from the University of Sheffield built an especially stable telescope to track the Sun automatically and then photograph the structure of the outermost layer of the Sun in the H-alpha spectral line. The experiment delivered images to the ground station during the flight itself.

BEXUS: a programme for junior researchers

The German-Swedish BEXUS programme (Balloon Experiments for University Students) allows students to gain practical experience in the preparation and implementation of space projects. The Calls for Proposals for the BEXUS 26/27 programme, which will be launched in the autumn of 2018, and the rocket equivalent, REXUS 25/26, foreseen for March 2018, are already open. Both programmes will again be organised by the DLR Space Administration in Bonn, the European Space Agency (ESA) and the Swedish National Space Board (SNSB).

Half of the balloon payload is being made available for experiments undertaken by students from German universities and higher education facilities. The Swedish National Space Board (SNSB) has also opened up their programmes to students from other ESA Member States. The German team of students receive technical and logistical support from the Centre of Applied Space Technology and Microgravity (ZARM) in Bremen. The flights will be carried out by EuroLaunch, a joint venture between DLR's Mobile Rocket Base (MoRaBa) and the Esrange Space Center of the Swedish Space Corporation (SSC).

Last modified:
23/10/2017 14:57:48

Contacts

 

Elisabeth Mittelbach
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Communications, Space Administration

Tel.: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Dr Michael Becker
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Space Administration, Microgravity Research and Life Science

Tel.: +49 228 447-109

Fax: +49 228 447-735

Mehr über das DLR

BEXUS 24/25: Deutsch-schwedisches Programm für Ballonexperimente

Studierende forschen in der Stratosphäre der Polarregion

Mittwoch, 18. Oktober 2017

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • BEXUS 24
    BEXUS 24 beim Start am 18. Oktober 2017

    Der Stratosphärenballon BEXUS 24 startete am 18. Oktober 2017 um 13.39 Uhr erfolgreich zu seinem Flug vom nordschwedischen Raumfahrtzentrum Esrange bei Kiruna. In der Gondel des Ballons waren vier Experimente zur Schwerelosigkeitsforschung von Studenten aus Deutschland, Schweden und Großbritannien untergebracht.

  • Team HAMBURG bereitet sein Experiment vor
    BEXUS 25: Team HAMBURG bei der Experimentvorbereitung

    BEXUS 25: Ziel des Studententeams HAMBURG (High Altitude Meteoroids-dust-catching Balloon constrUcted by a Revolutionary Generation) von der Technischen Universität Hamburg-Harburg war das automatisierte Einsammeln von Eisen-Nickel-haltigen Mikrometeoriten.

  • Launch%2dFahrzeug "Hercules" beim Transport der Gondel von BEXUS 24
    Launch-Fahrzeug "Hercules" beim Transport der Gondel von BEXUS 24

    Wertvolle Fracht: In der Gondel von BEXUS 24 befinden sich vier verschiedene Experimente von Studententeams aus Hamburg-Harburg, Dresden, Lulea (Schweden) und Sheffield (Vereinigtes Königreich). Die Gondel wird am Tag vor dem Start mit einem Launch-Fahrzeug zum Ballon gefahren.

  • Gruppenbild mit allen Teilnehmern der BEXUS 24/25 Kampagne vor dem Launch%2dFahrzeug
    Alle Teilnehmer der BEXUS 24/25 Kampagne vor dem Launch-Fahrzeug

    Forschung ist international: An der Doppelkampagne BEXUS 24/25 beteiligten sich Studententeams aus Deutschland, Schweden, England, Spanien und Italien. Das Foto zeigt alle Teilnehmer am Raumfahrtzentrum Esrange im nordschwedischen Kiruna. Von hier aus starten die Stratosphärenballone von DLR und der schwedischen Raumfahrtagentur in den arktischen Himmel.

  • Das Team Lotus_XD bei der Vorbereitung
    Das Team Lotus_XD bei der Vorbereitung

    Das Team LOTUS_XD (Transmission experiment of University Students - eXtra Data) der Technischen Universität Dresden testete an Bord von BEXUS 25 Solarzellen unter Weltraumbedingungen. Diese können zum Beispiel für die Energieübertragung von Fahrzeugen auf Mond oder Mars mittels Laser verwendet werden.

  • Schwerpunkt(e): Raumfahrt, Forschung unter Weltraumbedingungen, Nachwuchsförderung
  • Am Mittwoch, 18. Oktober 2017, startete um 13.39 Uhr Mitteleuropäischer Sommerzeit der Forschungsballon BEXUS 24 vom schwedischen Raumfahrtzentrum Esrange.
  • An Bord der gemeinsamen Mission des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und der Schwedischen Raumfahrtbehörde SNSB befanden sich vier wissenschaftliche Experimente von Studententeams aus Spanien, Italien und Schweden.
  • Am Freitag, 20. Oktober 2017, soll der Ballon BEXUS 25 mit vier weiteren Experimenten von Studententeams aus Deutschland, Schweden und Großbritannien folgen - hier liegt der wissenschaftliche Fokus unter anderem auf der Untersuchung von Weltraumstrahlung.

Der Stratosphärenballon BEXUS 24 ist am Mittwoch, 18. Oktober 2017, um 13.39 Uhr Mitteleuropäischer Sommerzeit vom schwedischen Raumfahrtzentrum Esrange gestartet. Die maximale Flughöhe erreichte der Forschungsballon um 15.25 Uhr mit 24,6 Kilometern Höhe. Das Trennen der Gondel vom Ballon ("Cut Down") und damit der Beginn der Landung erfolgte um 17.22 Uhr. An Bord der gemeinsamen Mission des Deutschen Zentrums für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) und der Schwedischen Raumfahrtbehörde SNSB befanden sich vier wissenschaftliche Experimente von Studententeams aus Spanien, Italien und Schweden. 

Am Freitag, 20. Oktober 2017, soll der Ballon BEXUS 25 mit vier weiteren Experimenten folgen - hier liegt der wissenschaftliche Fokus unter anderem auf der Untersuchung von Weltraumstrahlung. Bei BEXUS 25 sind zwei Studententeams aus Deutschland dabei sowie je ein Team aus Schweden und Großbritannien. Dr. Michael Becker, Leiter des BEXUS-Programms beim DLR Raumfahrtmanagement in Bonn: "Alle Experimente wurden von den Studenten selbst geplant, konstruiert, gebaut und getestet. Das REXUS/BEXUS-Programm bietet damit Studierenden die einzigartige Möglichkeit, ein eigenes Raumfahrtprojekt unter realen Bedingungen umzusetzen."

BEXUS 24: Weltraumstrahlung auf der Spur

Das spanische Team CADMUS  (Cloud chamber for high Altitude Detection of Muons Under Special relativity effect) der Polytechnischen Universität von Katalonien hatte das Ziel, Elementarteilchen (Myonen), die sich nahe der Lichtgeschwindigkeit fortbewegen, in der Atmosphäre zu messen. Myonen sind ein Hauptbestandteil der sekundären kosmischen Strahlung. Diese sollen mit einer so genannten Diffusions-Wolkenkammer sichtbar gemacht und damit unter anderem die Effekte von Einsteins spezieller Relativitätstheorie in Bezug auf Teilchen untersucht werden. Durch die Visualisierung des Zerfalls soll die Halbwertszeit der Elementarteilchen ermittelt und Informationen bezüglich der Produkte kosmischer Strahlung und ihrer Zusammensetzung in großen Höhen erlangt werden.

Den Folgen von Weltraumstrahlung für elektronische Speicher ist das Team NEMESYS (Neutron Effects on MEmory SYStems) der Universität Tor Vergata aus Rom auf der Spur. Das Studententeam untersuchte mit seinem Experiment die Effekte von Partikeleinschlägen auf einer Speicherplatine, also den Einfluss der Strahlungsumwelt auf die Fehlerrate im Speicher während der Messung von Umgebungsparametern wie Höhe, Position, Temperatur und der Detektion von "Einschlägen". Elektronische Speicher spielen zum Beispiel als Bauteile in Satelliten eine wichtige Rolle.

Das italienische Team DREX (Deployable Reflector Experiment) der Universität Padova testete die Stabilität einer federbasierten Reflektorantenne in der Stratosphäre. Der Vorteil der Antenne ist ihr sehr geringes Gewicht und die Fähigkeit, einen Reflektor in den unteren Schichten der Atmosphäre zu entfalten. Anwendung finden könnte eine solche Antenne bei zukünftigen Satelliten- und suborbitalen Missionen.

Die Studenten von EXIST (Examination of Infrasound in the Stratosphere and Troposphere) der schwedischen Universität Luleå untersuchten Infraschall in der Stratosphäre und Troposphäre. Die Frequenz von Infraschall liegt unterhalb der menschlichen Hörschwelle von etwa 16 bis 20 Hertz. Infraschall kommt überall in der Natur vor, wird aber auch künstlich erzeugt, beispielsweise im Bergbau oder von Windkraftanlagen. Mit speziellen Messinstrumenten nahm das EXIST-Team bei BEXUS 24 Infraschall auf und analysierte das Infraschall-Spektrum in der Polarregion, um anschließend den Ursprung der Signale zu bestimmen. Die Messung von Infraschall kann zum Beispiel bei der Vorhersage von extremen Wetterbedingungen und Erdbeben helfen.

BEXUS 25: Mikrometeoriten in der Stratosphäre "einsammeln"

Ziel des Studententeams HAMBURG  (High Altitude Meteoroids-dust-catching Balloon constrUcted by a Revolutionary Generation) von der Technischen Universität Hamburg-Harburg istr das automatisierte Einsammeln von Eisen-Nickel-haltigen Mikrometeoriten. Mikrometeoriten werden mit einer Größe von unter 100 Mikrometern von Winden in der Atmosphäre aufgetrieben.

Eisen-Nickel-haltige Mikrometeorite sind ferromagnetisch und sollen deshalb während des Flugs von BEXUS 25 in Atmosphärenschichten zwischen 5 und 20 sowie 20 und 30 Kilometern mit starken Magneten eingefangen werden, um ihre Dichteverteilung in der Stratosphäre zu ermitteln. "Außerdem möchten wir die Bestandteile der Mikrometeoriten im Labor analysieren. Diese Informationen dienen nicht nur der Bestimmung des Alters, sondern auch ihrer Herkunft, und erlauben ein besseres Verständnis dieser Partikel in der Atmosphäre. Die größte Herausforderung war dabei das Vermeiden der Kontamination mit Teilchen von der Erde", erklärt Teamleiter Ihsan Kaplan.

Das Team LOTUS_XD (Transmission experiment of University Students - eXtra Data) der Technischen Universität Dresden testet Solarzellen unter Weltraumbedingungen. Während des Fluges mit dem Stratosphärenballon soll untersucht werden, wie sich die Solarzellen - temperaturabhängig - verhalten, die für eine laserbasierte Energieübertragung von einem Satelliten im Orbit zu einem Explorationsfahrzeug geeignet sind. Dabei werden die Solarzellen und die dazugehörende Elektronik Temperaturen von bis zu minus 60 Grad Celsius ausgesetzt. "Das Experiment soll zeigen, dass es möglich ist, im Weltraum mithilfe der Energie von Solarzellen die Elektronik eines Fahrzeugs oder eines Satelliten einzufrieren, wenn diese nicht benötigt wird, und bei Bedarf wieder zu reaktiveren", erläutert Teamleiter Jan Walter den Hintergrund. "Gleichzeitig sollen die Solarzellen für die Übertragung wissenschaftlicher Daten genutzt werden können."

Um Klimaforschung dreht es sich beim Team IRIS (Infra-Red albedo measurements In Stratosphere). Das Schwedische Team der Technischen Universität Luleå untersucht mit seinem Experiment an Bord von BEXUS 25 das Verhältnis von eingehender und reflektierter Sonnenstrahlung der Erde, also das Maß des Rückstrahlungsvermögens. Die gewonnenen Daten sollen eine bessere Fehleranalyse von Messungen mit Satelliten ermögichen, da die BEXUS-Messungen direkt in den dünnen Atmosphärenschichten durchgeführt werden. Die Ergebnisse unterstützen zudem Untersuchungen zur Eisschmelze in den Polarregionen und damit die Frage, wie eine reduzierte Reflektion der Sonnenstrahlung zur Klimaerwärmung beiträgt.

Mit an Bord von BEXUS 25 ist außerdem das Experiment eines Studententeams aus Großbritannien: Die Mitglieder von SUNBYTE von der Universität Sheffield konstruierten ein besonders stabilisiertes Teleskop, um die Sonne automatisch zu "verfolgen" und anschließend in einem speziellen Spektralbereich des Sonnenlichts die Strukturen der obersten Sonnenschicht zu fotografieren. Bereits während des Flugs soll das Experiment Bilder zur Bodenstation senden.

BEXUS: ein Programm für den wissenschaftlichen Nachwuchs

Das deutsch-schwedische Programm BEXUS (Ballon-Experimente für Universitäts-Studenten) ermöglicht Studierenden, eigene praktische Erfahrungen bei der Vorbereitung und Durchführung von Raumfahrtprojekten zu gewinnen. Die Ausschreibungen des DLR Raumfahrtmanagements in Bonn sowie der Europäischen Weltraumorganisation ESA und des Swedish National Space Board SNSB für BEXUS 26/27 im Herbst 2018 und das Raketenprogrammt REXUS 25/26 im März 2018 laufen bereits.
Jeweils die Hälfte der Ballon-Nutzlasten steht für Experimente von Studierenden deutscher Universitäten und Hochschulen zur Verfügung. Die schwedische Raumfahrtagentur SNSB hat ihren Anteil auch für Studierende der übrigen ESA-Mitgliedsstaaten geöffnet. Die deutschen Studententeams erhalten technische und logistische Unterstützung vom Zentrum für Angewandte Raumfahrttechnik und Mikrogravitation (ZARM) in Bremen. Die Flüge werden von EuroLaunch, einem Joint Venture der Mobilen Raketenbasis des DLR (MoRaBa) und dem Esrange Space Center des schwedischen Raumfahrtunternehmens SSC, durchgeführt.

Zuletzt geändert am:
18.10.2017 18:33:16 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Elisabeth Mittelbach
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 228 447-385

Fax: +49 228 447-386
Dr. Michael Becker
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Raumfahrtmanagement, Forschung unter Weltraumbedingungen

Tel.: +49 228 447-109

Fax: +49 228 447-735