Research into the digitalisation of aeronautics

DLR opens two new institutes in Hamburg

10 November 2017

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Die Stele der neuen Institute
    DLR opens two new institutes in Hamburg

    During the opening of the two new insitutes, from left to right: Björn Nagel, Head of DLR Institute of Maintenance Repair and Overhaul, Pascale Ehrenfreund, Chair of the DLR Executive Board, Hans-Peter Monner, Head of DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems, Rolf Henke, DLR Executive Board Member responsible for aeronautics research, Rolf Henke, DLR Executive Board Member responsible for aeronautics research, and Dirk Wiese, Parliamentary State Secretary at the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy.

  • Virtual Reality Lab
    Virtual Reality Lab

    The virtual reality lab at the Tech Center of the Hamburg Center of Applied Aeronautical Research (ZAL) allows up to 30 users to view and discuss the development of a virtual model at the same time.

  • Prof. Ehrenfreund bei der Eröffnung
    Pascale Ehrenfreund, Chair of the DLR Executive Board

    Pascale Ehrenfreund, Chair of the DLR Executive Board, at the opening of the two new DLR institutes in Hamburg.

  • Digitalisierung in der Luftfahrtforschung
    Digitalisation of aeronautics

    The digitalisation of aeronautics offers new opportunities for efficiency improvements in the aviation system as a whole, such that efficiency becomes a more central consideration right from the outset, in the design of more efficient aircraft.

  • Flugzeug
    Digitalisation and virtualisation in aviation

    The new DLR Institute of Software Methods for Product Virtualisation in Dresden will pool the skills required to undertake the first complete virtual aircraft flight in the long term.

  • Two new DLR Institutes established in Hamburg: Institute of Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul and Institute of System Architectures in Aeronautics
  • Close cooperation with application-oriented industry partners under the same roof: the Hamburg Center of Applied Aeronautical Research (ZAL)
  • Focus: Aviation, aeronautics, digitalisation

The aviation of the future is faced with the huge challenge of significantly reducing its emissions. The digitalisation of aeronautics offers new opportunities for efficiency improvements in the aviation system as a whole, such that efficiency becomes a more central consideration right from the outset, in the design of more efficient aircraft. Moreover, in the operational phase, digitalisation can revolutionise cost-effective and customised maintenance. With the Institute of System Architectures in Aeronautics and the Institute of Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul, the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) will be pooling and expanding research into the digitalisation of aeronautics – from the initial digital aircraft design through to simulated decommissioning. Pascale Ehrenfreund, Chair of the DLR Executive Board, and Rolf Henke, DLR Executive Board Member responsible for aeronautics research, together with Dirk Wiese, Parliamentary State Secretary at the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy, and Olaf Scholz, First Mayor and President of the Senate of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg, have inaugurated the two DLR Institutes at Hamburg's Center of Applied Aeronautical Research (ZAL).

"We are delighted that we are now represented in Hamburg – one of the biggest hubs of civil aviation in the world – with two newly established DLR institutes, and to closely cooperate in the ZAL with our industry partners, in the field of application-oriented research," said Pascale Ehrenfreund on the occasion of the opening. Rolf Henke stressed that "the two new DLR Institutes in Hamburg are central to the digitalisation of aeronautics, as they will make it possible to map the complexities of aircraft right along the ‘digital thread’ – from design, through production and operation, right up to decommissioning."

Digital design and digital twinning

The main research focus at the Institute of System Architectures in Aeronautics is the area of digital design and how it connects with digital production, in order to be able to perfect the design and manufacturing of aircraft with the help of digitalised processes (digital aircraft). Researchers are also looking into the interplay between different system levels, since the complex aviation system is made up of many different areas that must be perfectly aligned with one another – from the air transport system as a whole down to the individual aircraft and the manufacturing of all its separate components.

The Institute of Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul deals with aircraft operation, notably the further development of maintenance processes and technologies, and lifecycle management (digital twinning). This will initially cover the entire maintenance process, from inspection and monitoring of a structure through to determining what measures to take and, finally, the implementation of those measures. The focus will be on innovative technologies such as augmented reality and 3D printing.

The work of both Hamburg institutes will be complemented with ideas and developments in the areas of high-performance computing, simulation environments and software methods developed by the Institute of Software Methods for Product Virtualization in Dresden. The Institute of Test and Simulation for Gas Turbines, recently established in Augsburg, completes the portfolio with the 'virtual engine' – the most complex component of an aircraft – which in turn relies on software methods from Dresden, and will be integrated into the work of the Institutes of System Architectures in Aeronautics and Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul.

"By supporting research institutions such as the DLR institutes of Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul and of System Architectures in Aeronautics, we are providing our economy with an efficient research infrastructure," says Dirk Wiese, Parliamentary State Secretary at the German Federal Ministry for Economic Affairs and Energy. "In this way, we want to create a high-tech focus for digitalisation here in Hamburg – a topic that is increasingly penetrating all sectors of the economy. Not only do we not want to be left behind, but we want Germany to play a leading role in digitalisation. I am sure that the two DLR institutes will make a major contribution to this."

On the occasion of the opening ceremony, Hamburg's First Mayor Olaf Scholz said: " We are pleased that DLR decided to establish a branch in Hamburg. The close cooperation between science and industry is going to give rise to innovations that will be trend-setting for the entire industry. The ZAL is a place of innovative ideas that result in new products for the aviation industry."

Activities of the new institutes

The Institute of System Architectures in Aeronautics will initially have three departmens, which is intended to be staffed by approximately 80 employees in the coming years. The Aircraft Design and System Integration Department will be studying development processes for virtual products in the overall aviation system. Good opportunities for innovative and potentially revolutionary solutions are offered by digital consistency, and the consequent potential for dissolving the boundaries between individual systems. The Automation, Energy and Safety Department builds on this work, studying the integration of new technologies which promise significant improvements. A common factor in these technologies is that they require extensive changes in the way that the individual systems in aviation, the so-called system architecture, will interact. The Cabin and Payload Systems Department will focus on systemic issues relating to the fuselage – a key industrial area in Germany, and Hamburg in particular. The synergy between these three departments will lead to research into aircraft incorporating intelligent technologies, driven by the demands of future passengers, that can be manufactured efficiently in the factories of the future, while at the same time achieving both maximum ecological compatibility and maximum safety in future operation.

The Institute of Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul is also intended to have three departments employing around 80 staff members. The Process Optimisation and Digitalisation Department will study how the condition of an aircraft can be continuously and comprehensively represented, tracked and predicted in a digital twin. In addition, maintenance processes will be optimised so that they can interact effectively with this digital twin. The Maintenance and Repair Technologies Department will primarily study how these optimised processes can be smoothly incorporated into a modular process chain with information-sharing, and how a digital twin can be configured as a process interface. It will also study how additive manufacturing methods for repair and retrofitting can in the future be integrated into aircraft maintenance. The research work of the Product Lifecycle Management Department will focus on consistency in the approach to aircraft lifecycle management. In particular, the long-term economic and ecological consequences of new maintenance concepts, measures and technologies, and of product modifications and retrofits, are to be monitored and predicted by means of digital twinning.

Location in the ZAL

A very close working relationship with the relevant industries and SMEs is essential for industry-orientated research. For this reason, the Institute is based at the Center of Applied Aeronautical Research (ZAL) in Hamburg. Here, DLR is able to carry out research in collaboration with numerous industrial partners in the aviation sector, including Airbus and Lufthansa Technik, but also suppliers and start-ups, in the same building and with joint use of large-scale test aircraft. Careful matching of the research skills that need to be built up in order for research results to be put to the best possible use by our industry partners has already begun. Beyond the regional network, the aim is to conduct research in partnership with a range of German and international companies.

The new Hamburg institutes will receive an annual funding of 10 million euro from the German government and the City of Hamburg, 90 percent of it provided by the Federal Government. In addition, the City of Hamburg is making two million euro available during the establishment phase for investment measures.

Overall research objective is the Virtual Product

DLR research into the digitalisation of aeronautics is committed to the ‘Virtual Product’ overall research objective. Under this umbrella, there are three major strands of digitalisation: the 'digital aircraft', representing a numerical description of all properties of a particular model of aircraft, covering design, testing, manufacture and certification; the 'digital twin', representing a highly accurate digital description of an individual aircraft on the basis of which operational aspects, maintenance and servicing can be carried out and scheduled; and the 'digital thread', which provides for consistent provision of all data and processes relating to an aircraft over its entire lifecycle.

DLR is establishing a total of seven new research institutes in the areas of system architecture, maintenance, virtual engines, software, data science, maritime security and energy systems analysis.

Last modified:
10/11/2017 16:19:22

Contacts

 

Andreas Schütz
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Head of Media Relations department, DLR spokesperson

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2474

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Falk Dambowsky
German Aerospace Centre (DLR)

Media Relations, Aeronautics

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959
Björn Nagel
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Maintenance, Repair and Overhaul

Tel.: +49 531 295-3803
Dr Hans Peter Monner
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Composite Structures and Adaptive Systems

Tel.: +49 531 295-2314

Fax: +49 531 295-2876

Forschung für die Digitalisierung der Luftfahrt

DLR eröffnet zwei neue Institute in Hamburg

Freitag, 10. November 2017

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Die Stele der neuen Institute
    Die Stele der neuen Institute

    Von links nach rechts: Björn Nagel, Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund, Prof. Hans-Peter Monner, Olaf Scholz, Prof. Rolf Henke und Dirk Wiese neben der Stele der neuen Institute.

  • Virtual Reality Lab
    Virtual Reality Lab

    Das Virtual Reality Lab im ZAL Tech Center ermöglicht bis zu 30 Betrachtern gleichzeitig virtuelle Modelle in der Entwicklung zu diskutieren.

  • Prof. Ehrenfreund bei der Eröffnung
    Prof. Ehrenfreund bei der Eröffnung

    Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund bei der Eröffnung der beiden neuen DLR-Institute in Hamburg.

  • Digitalisierung in der Luftfahrtforschung
    Digitalisierung in der Luftfahrtforschung

    Die Digitalisierung der Luftfahrt eröffnet neue Wege, schon in der Designphase effizienterer Flugzeuge das Gesamtsystem Luftfahrt zusätzlich effizienzsteigernd mitzudenken und später im Betrieb die passgenaue und kosteneffektive Wartung zu revolutionieren.

  • Flugzeug
    Digitalisierung und Virtualisierung in der Luftfahrt

    Ein langfristiges Ziel bei der Digitalisierung der Luftfahrt ist der virtuelle Erstflug neuer Flugzeuge.

  • DLR-Institute für Instandhaltung und Modifikation sowie für Systemarchitekturen in der Luftfahrt eingerichtet
  • Enge Zusammenarbeit mit Industriepartnern in der anwendungsorientierten Forschung unter dem gemeinsamen Dach des ZAL
  • Schwerpunkt(e): Luftfahrt, Digitalisierung

Die Luftfahrt der Zukunft steht vor der großen Herausforderung, ihre Emissionen deutlich zu senken. Die Digitalisierung der Luftfahrt eröffnet dafür neue Wege, schon in der Designphase effizienterer Flugzeuge das Gesamtsystem Luftfahrt zusätzlich effizienzsteigernd mitzudenken und später im Betrieb die passgenaue und kosteneffektive Wartung zu revolutionieren. Mit dem Institut für Systemarchitekturen in der Luftfahrt und dem Institut für Instandhaltung und Modifikation bündelt und erweitert das Deutsche Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) nun die Forschungsaktivitäten zur Digitalisierung der Luftfahrt, die  vom ersten digitalen Flugzeugentwurf bis zur simulierten Außerdienststellung reicht. Die DLR-Vorstandsvorsitzende Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund und der DLR-Luftfahrtvorstand Prof. Rolf Henke eröffneten jetzt in Hamburg gemeinsam mit Dirk Wiese, Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär im Bundesministerium für Wirtschaft und Energie, und Olaf Scholz, Erster Bürgermeister und Präsident des Senats der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg, beide DLR-Institute im Zentrum für angewandte Luftfahrtforschung (ZAL).

"Wir freuen uns nun auch in Hamburg an einem der weltweit größten Standorte der zivilen Luftfahrt mit zwei neugegründeten DLR-Instituten vertreten zu sein und im ZAL eng mit unseren Industriepartnern in der anwendungsorientierten Forschung zusammenzuarbeiten", sagt Prof. Pascale Ehrenfreund anlässlich der Eröffnung. "Die beiden neuen Hamburger DLR-Institute sind tragende Pfeiler unter dem 'Dach der Digitalisierung der Luftfahrt' , denn sie werden es ermöglichen, die Komplexität von Luftfahrzeugen über den gesamten 'digitalen Faden', vom Entwurf, über Produktion und Betrieb bis hin zur Ausserbetriebsetzung abzubilden", betont Prof. Rolf Henke.

Digitaler Entwurf und digitaler Zwilling

Das Institut für Systemarchitekturen in der Luftfahrt untersucht dabei schwerpunktmäßig die Themen digitaler Entwurf und dessen Verbindung zur digitalen Produktion, um Luftfahrzeuge mithilfe digitalisierter Prozesse ideal auslegen und fertigen zu können ('Digitales Flugzeug'). Dabei rücken die Wechselwirkungen zwischen einzelnen Systemebenen in den Fokus der Forschung. Denn das komplexe System Luftfahrt besteht aus vielen Bereichen, die perfekt aufeinander abgestimmt sein müssen - vom Lufttransportsystem als Ganzes über das einzelne Flugzeug bis hin zur Produktion seiner Einzelteile.

Das Institut für Instandhaltung und Modifikation befasst sich mit dem Betrieb von Luftfahrzeugen, darunter vor allem mit der Weiterentwicklung von Instandhaltungsprozessen und –technologien sowie dem Lebenszyklusmanagement ('Digitaler Zwilling'). Dabei wird es erstmals den ganzen Wartungsprozess von der Untersuchung und dem Monitoring einer Struktur, über die Ableitung der Maßnahme bis hin zu deren Durchführung abdecken, wobei innovative Technologien wie Augmented Reality und 3D-Druck-Verfahren in den Fokus rücken.

Ergänzt wird die Arbeit beider Hamburger Institute durch Konzepte und Entwicklungen in den Bereichen Hochleistungsrechnen, Simulationsumgebungen und Softwaremethoden des Instituts für Softwaremethoden zur Produkt-Virtualisierung in Dresden. Das Institut für Test und Simulation für Gasturbinen, welches in Augsburg neu gegründet wurde, ergänzt das Portfolio um das 'Virtuelle Triebwerk', die komplexeste Komponente im Flugzeug, die sich ihrerseits auf die Softwaremethoden aus Dresden stützt und bei den Instituten für Systemarchitekturen sowie Instandhaltung und Modifikation integriert wird.

"Indem wir Forschungseinrichtungen wie die beiden DLR-Institute für Instandhaltung und Modifikation sowie für Systemarchitekturen in der Luftfahrt institutionell unterstützen, stellen wir unserer Wirtschaft eine leistungsfähige Forschungsinfrastruktur zur Verfügung", sagt Dirk Wiese, Parlamentarischer Staatssekretär bei der Bundesministerin für Wirtschaft und Energie. "Wir wollen damit hier in Hamburg einen High-Tech-Schwerpunkt für Digitalisierung schaffen - ein Thema, das immer mehr in alle Wirtschaftsbereiche vordringt. Wir wollen dabei nicht nur nicht den Anschluss verlieren, sondern wir wollen, dass Deutschland bei der Digitalisierung eine führende Rolle spielt. Ich bin mir sicher, dass die beiden DLR-Institute hierzu große Beiträge liefern können."

Hamburgs Erster Bürgermeister Olaf Scholz sagt anlässlich der Eröffnung: "Wir freuen uns über die Entscheidung des DLR, Hamburg zu einem seiner Sitzländer zu machen. Aus der engen Kooperation von Wissenschaft und Wirtschaft entstehen Innovationen, die zukunftsweisend für die gesamte Branche sein werden. Das ZAL ist ein Ort für innovative Ideen, aus denen am Ende neue Produkte für die Luftfahrtindustrie entstehen."

Arbeitsbereiche der neuen Institute im Detail

Das Institut für Systemarchitekturen in der Luftfahrt wird zunächst über drei Abteilungen verfügen, für die in den nächsten Jahren insgesamt rund 80 Mitarbeiter geplant sind: Die Abteilung für Flugzeugentwurf und Systemintegration erforscht Entwicklungsprozesse für virtuelle Produkte im Gesamtsystem Luftfahrt. Die digitale Durchgängigkeit und daraus folgend die Möglichkeit, die Grenzen zwischen den Teilsystemen aufzulösen, bergen dabei das Potenzial für innovative und potentiell revolutionäre Lösungen. Die Abteilung Automatisierung, Energie und Sicherheit untersucht darauf aufbauend die Integration von neuen Technologien, welche signifikante Verbesserungen versprechen. Diesen Technologien ist gemein, dass sie umfassende Änderungen in den Wechselwirkungen der Teilsysteme der Luftfahrt, der so genannten Systemarchitektur, erfordern. Die Abteilung Kabine und Nutzlastsysteme legt ihren Fokus auf systemische Fragestellungen rund um den Flugzeugrumpf und damit auf eine Kernkompetenz der Industrie in Deutschland und Hamburg. Im Zusammenspiel der drei Abteilungen sollen Flugzeuge mit intelligenten Technologien erforscht werden, die durch die Anforderungen künftiger Passagiere getrieben sind, sich in zukünftigen Fabriken effizient produzieren lassen und gleichzeitig Maxima sowohl hinsichtlich der ökologischen Kompatibilität als auch hinsichtlich der Sicherheit im zukünftigen Betrieb erreichen.

Beim Institut für Instandhaltung und Modifikation sind ebenso rund 80 Mitarbeiter verteilt auf drei Abteilungen geplant. Die Abteilung für Prozessoptimierung und Digitalisierung erforscht, wie der Zustand eines Flugzeuges in einem digitalen Zwilling kontinuierlich und vollständig abgebildet, nachvollzogen und vorhergesagt werden kann. Zudem werden Wartungsprozesse so optimiert, dass sie effektiv mit einem solchen digitalen Zwilling interagieren können. Die Abteilung für Wartungs- und Reparaturtechnologien legt den Forschungsschwerpunkt darauf, wie derart optimierte Prozesse zu einer modularen Prozesskette mit reibungslosem Ablauf und Informationsaustausch verknüpft werden können und wie ein digitaler Zwilling als Prozessschnittstelle zu gestalten ist. Zudem wird erforscht, wie Verfahren der additiven Fertigung für Reparatur und Retrofit zukünftig in die Flugzeugwartung integriert werden können. Der Fokus der Forschungsarbeiten der Abteilung  Produktlebenszyklus-Management liegt auf der durchgängigen Betrachtung des Flugzeuglebenszyklus. Dabei sollen vor allem langfristige ökonomische und ökologische Folgen neuer Instandhaltungskonzepte, -maßnahmen und –technologien sowie von Produktmodifikationen und –retrofits unter Anwendung des digitalen Zwillings bestimmt, überwacht und vorhergesagt werden. 

Ansiedlung im ZAL

Für die industrienahe Forschung ist eine sehr enge Zusammenarbeit mit den relevanten Unternehmen aus Industrie und Mittelstand erforderlich. Aus diesem Grund ist das Institut im Zentrum für Angewandte Luftfahrtforschung in Hamburg (ZAL) beheimatet. Das DLR hat hier die Möglichkeit, gemeinsam mit einer Vielzahl von Industriepartnern aus dem Luftfahrtbereich, darunter sowohl Airbus und Lufthansa Technik als auch Zulieferer und Start-Ups, im selben Gebäude und an gemeinschaftlich genutzten Großversuchsträgern zu forschen. Eine enge Abstimmung der aufzubauenden Forschungskompetenz für eine bestmögliche Verwertbarkeit der Forschungsergebnisse bei den Industriepartnern hat bereits begonnen. Über die regionale Vernetzung hinaus wird partnerschaftliche Forschung mit einer Vielzahl deutscher und internationaler Unternehmen angestrebt.

Die neuen Hamburger Institute werden jährlich mit zehn Millionen Euro durch den Bund und die Stadt Hamburg finanziert, der Bund trägt dabei 90 Prozent. Die Stadt Hamburg stellt darüber hinaus in der Aufbauphase zwei Millionen Euro für Investitionsmaßnahmen bereit.

Gesamtforschungsziel Virtuelles Produkt

Die DLR-Forschung zur Digitalisierung der Luftfahrt ist dem Gesamtforschungsziel des 'Virtuellen Produkts' verpflichtet. Darunter fügen sich drei wesentliche Digitalisierungsstränge zusammen: Das 'Digitale Flugzeug', das eine numerische Beschreibung aller Eigenschaften eines Flugzeugmusters über Entwurf, Erprobung, Herstellung und Zertifizierung darstellt. Der 'Digitale Zwilling', der eine hochgenaue digitale Beschreibung eines individuellen Flugzeugs darstellt, anhand der operationelle Aspekte, Wartung und Instandhaltung nachvollzogen und geplant werden. Und der 'Digitale Faden', der die  Durchgängigkeit aller Daten und Prozesse eines Flugzeugs über den gesamten Lebenszyklus ermöglicht.

Insgesamt gründet das DLR sieben neue Forschungsinstitute zu den Themen Systemarchitekturen, Instandhaltung, Virtuelles Triebwerk, Software, Data Science, maritime Sicherheit und Energiesystemanalyse.

 

Zuletzt geändert am:
10.11.2017 14:37:31 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Andreas Schütz
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Leitung Media Relations, Pressesprecher

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2474

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Falk Dambowsky
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Media Relations

Tel.: +49 2203 601-3959

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Björn Nagel
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Systemarchitekturen in der Luftfahrt

Tel.: +49 531 295-3803
Prof. Hans Peter Monner
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Instandhaltung und Modifikation

Tel.: +49 531 295-2314

Fax: +49 531 295-2876