Mars Express mission

Ismenia Patera – impact crater or supervolcano?

Ismenia Patera-Krater auf dem Mars

12 April 2018

Autoplay
Show Info
Hide Info
Information
Close
Fullscreen
Normal
back
next
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tip:
Use <Escape>, to leave fullscreen.
  • Der direkte Blick auf die Senke Ismenia Patera auf dem Mars
    Colour overhead view of Ismenia Patera

    This overhead view of the Ismenia Patera depression clearly reveals its varied features, such as flow traces, meteorite impacts and the fissuring of the deposits inside the crater. There are various opinions regarding the formation of Ismenia Patera – this circular structure is either an impact crater or a supervolcano. This coloured view was produced using data from the nadir channel, which is oriented perpendicular to the Martian surface, and the colour channels of the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) operated by DLR.

  • Perspektivische Ansicht der Senke Ismenia Patera auf dem Mars
    Perspective view of the Ismenia Patera depression on Mars

    This perspective oblique view was computed from data acquired by the stereo channels of the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) operated by DLR. Digital terrain models are derived from this image data, which allow the computation of perspective views of the Martian landscape. In this view, the numerous gullies on the crater rim and the rugged crater floor can be seen clearly.

  • Topographische Übersichtskarte der Region Arabia Terra
    Topographic overview map of the Arabia Terra region

    The Ismenia Patera depression is located in the Arabia Terra region, at the transition between the southern highlands and northern lowlands on Mars. The images described in the article are taken from the smaller rectangle inside the larger, marked image strip of the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) operated by DLR.

  • 3D%2dAnsicht von Ismenia Patera
    3D-view of Ismenia Patera

    Data from the nadir channel, oriented perpendicular to the Martian surface, and one of the four oblique-view stereo channels of the DLR-operated HRSC camera system on the ESA Mars Express spacecraft can be used to generate anaglyph images. These provide a realistic, three-dimensional view of the landscape, when wearing red and blue or red and green glasses. This spatial view clearly reveals the morphology of the 75-kilometre-diameter crater with its interior hills and boulders.

  • Falschfarbendarstellung der Topographie von Ismenia Patera
    Colour-coded view of the topography of Ismenia Patera

    The nadir channel, oriented perpendicular to the Martian surface, and the stereo channels of the HRSC camera allow digital terrain models of the Martian surface to be derived with an accuracy of up to 10 metres per pixel. These colour-coded representations clearly portray the absolute altitudes above a reference level, the areoid (the equivalent of sea level on Mars; derived from the Greek word for Mars, Ares). These altitude values can be determined using the colour scale in the top right-hand corner of the image.

  • The crater Ismenia Patera is 75 kilometers wide and lies at the transition between the southern highlands and the northern lowlands on Mars
  • Future missions investigating the Martian subsoil with new measurement methods, such as NASA's Insight mission, can provide more insight here
  • Focus: Space, planetary research

Images from the High Resolution Stereo Camera (HRSC) operated by the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) on board ESA's Mars Express spacecraft show the collapsed depression Ismenia Patera. There are two hypotheses regarding the formation of this geological structure – it is either an impact crater or the caldera of a Martian supervolcano.

Ismenia Patera (Latin: patera – shallow bowl) is located in the Arabia Terra region, at the transition between the Martian southern highlands and northern lowlands. Inside the 75-kilometre-wide crater, hills and several hundred-metre-high mesas are arranged in a circle around the centre (Images 1, 4 and 5). On closer inspection, small gullies running into the crater are visible in some places on the rim of Ismenia Patera, which have been formed by water or ice flowing into the crater (Image 2). The floor of the crater is covered by deposits, the surfaces of which display traces of previous ice flow. These patterns were probably produced by rock glaciers – ice flows whose surfaces transport large quantities of boulders and debris. Similar phenomena are present on Earth in the Alpine and Polar regions, where glacial ice is completely covered by debris that has slid onto the ice from the surrounding mountain slopes. This ice-debris mass moves slowly downslope, leaving behind such flow structures.

Conspicuous groups of small impact craters, for example in the centre of Ismenia Patera, were probably caused by another meteorite impact in the immediate vicinity, which ejected large boulders towards the centre of the crater, producing small craters.

There are various opinions regarding the formation of the crater. According to one hypothesis, it was formed by a meteorite impact and subsequently filled with material deposits and, at times, with ice. Eventually, the crater surface collapsed as the underground ice melted and the water evaporated, leaving behind a rugged, hilly landscape. Another hypothesis suggests that Ismenia Patera is a volcanic caldera – a volcanic crater created by the emptying of the magma chamber following a large eruption. Volcanoes that produce a large amount of material during a single eruption are called supervolcanoes. Apart from Ismenia Patera, there are two other supervolcano candidates in Arabia Terra, namely Siloe Patera and Eden Patera. On Earth, volcanic structures such as the Phlegraean Fields near Naples, the Yellowstone area and Lake Taupo in New Zealand are considered to be supervolcanoes. On Mars, however, volcanic eruptions are no longer expected.

The theory of supervolcanoes in the ancient volcanic province in Arabia Terra is still a controversial topic for Mars researchers. In favour of the volcanic crater theory is the fact that the 'paterae' are irregularly-shaped collapse features with low topographic relief – partly without ejecta deposits elevated crater rim – which would be typical of impact craters. On the other hand, such an irregular shape may also be created by superimposed and subsequently altered impact craters. Future measurement methods for examining the Martian subsoil, to provide evidence for the existence of magma chambers below the paterae, for example, could shed light on this matter. These include seismic experiments, such as those on board NASA's InSight lander scheduled for launch on 5 May 2018, as well as orbiting radar experiments.

  • Image processing

    The image data was acquired by HRSC on 1 January 2018, during Mars Express orbit 17,723. The image resolution is 17 metres per pixel. The centre of the imaged area is at approximately two degrees east and 39 degrees north. The colour overhead view (Image 1) was created using data acquired by the nadir channel, which is directed perpendicular to the Martian surface, and the colour channels. The oblique perspective view (Image 2) was computed from data acquired by the stereo channels of HRSC. The anaglyph (Figure 4), which creates a three-dimensional impression of the landscape when viewed through red-blue or red-green glasses, was derived from data supplied by the nadir channel and one stereo channel. The colour-coded topographic view (Image 5) is based on a digital terrain model (DTM) of the region, from which the topography of the landscape can be derived. The reference body for the HRSC DTM is an equipotential surface for Mars (areoid). Staff at the Department of Planetary Science and Remote Sensing at the Free University of Berlin produced the image products shown here. The systematic processing of the data takes place at the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin-Adlershof.

  • The HRSC experiment

    The High Resolution Stereo Camera was developed at the German Aerospace Center (Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt; DLR) and built in collaboration with partners in industry (EADS Astrium, Lewicki Microelectronic GmbH and Jena-Optronik GmbH). The science team, which is headed by principal investigator (PI) Ralf Jaumann, consists of over 51 co-investigators from 35 institutions and 11 countries. The camera is operated by the DLR Institute of Planetary Research in Berlin-Adlershof.

     

Last modified:
12/04/2018 11:19:10

Contacts

 

Elke Heinemann
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Corporate Communications

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof.Dr. Ralf Jaumann
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

Institute of Planetary Research, Planetary Geology

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402
Dr Daniela Tirsch
German Aerospace Center (DLR)

DLR Institute of Planetary Research

Tel.: +49 30 67055-488

Fax: +49 30 67055-402
Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) - German Aerospace Center

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402

Mission Mars Express

Ismenia Patera - Einschlagskrater oder Supervulkan?

Ismenia Patera-Krater auf dem Mars

Donnerstag, 12. April 2018

Autoplay
Info an
Info aus
Informationen
Schließen
Vollbild
Normal
zurück
vor
{{index}}/{{count}}
Tipp:
<Escape>, um fullscreen zu beenden.
  • Der direkte Blick auf die Senke Ismenia Patera auf dem Mars
    Farbansicht von Ismenia Patera

    Der direkte Blick auf die Senke Ismenia Patera lässt gut ihre vielfältige Gestaltung erkennen: Spuren von Fließbewegungen, Meteoriteneinschläge sowie die Zerklüftung der Ablagerungen im Kraterinneren. Zur Entstehung von Ismenia Patera gibt es unterschiedliche Ansichten - entweder handelt es sich bei dieser kreisförmigen Struktur um einen Einschlagskrater oder um einen Supervulkan. Diese Farbansicht wurde aus dem senkrecht auf die Marsoberfläche gerichteten Nadirkanal und den Farbkanälen der vom DLR betriebenen, hochauflösenden Stereokamera (HRSC) an Bord der Raumsonde Mars Express erstellt.

  • Perspektivische Ansicht der Senke Ismenia Patera auf dem Mars
    Perspektivische Ansicht der Senke Ismenia Patera auf dem Mars

    Diese perspektivische Schrägansicht wurde aus den Stereokanälen der hochauflösenden Stereokamera (HRSC) berechnet, die vom DLR betrieben wird. Aus diesen Bilddaten werden digitale Geländemodelle abgeleitet, die die Berechnung von perspektivischen Ansichten der Marslandschaft ermöglichen. In dieser Ansicht kann man gut die zahlreichen Rinnen am Kraterrand sowie den zerklüfteten Kraterboden erkennen.

  • Topographische Übersichtskarte der Region Arabia Terra
    Topographische Übersichtskarte der Region Arabia Terra

    Die Senke Ismenia Patera befindet sich in der Region Arabia Terra, am Übergang vom südlichen Hochland zum nördlichen Tiefland auf dem Mars. Die im Artikel beschriebenen Aufnahmen entstammen dem kleineren Rechteck innerhalb des größeren, markierten Bildstreifens der hochauflösenden Stereokamera (HRSC), die vom DLR betrieben wird.

  • 3D%2dAnsicht von Ismenia Patera
    3D-Ansicht von Ismenia Patera

    Aus dem senkrecht auf die Marsoberfläche gerichteten Nadirkanal des vom DLR betriebenen Kamerasystems HRSC auf der ESA-Sonde Mars Express und einem der vier schrägblickenden Stereokanäle lassen sich sogenannte Anaglyphenbilder erzeugen. Sie ermöglichen bei der Verwendung einer Rot-Blau- oder Rot-Grün-Brille einen realistischen, dreidimensionalen Blick auf die Landschaft. Die räumliche Betrachtung lässt hervorragend die Morphologie des 75 Kilometer durchmessenden Kraters mit Hügeln und Gesteinsblöcken in seinem Inneren erkennen.

  • Falschfarbendarstellung der Topographie von Ismenia Patera
    Falschfarbendarstellung der Topographie von Ismenia Patera

    Aus dem senkrecht auf die Marsoberfläche gerichteten Nadirkanal und den Stereokanälen der Kamera HRSC lassen sich digitale Geländemodelle der Marsoberfläche in einer Genauigkeit von bis zu zehn Metern pro Bildpunkt (Pixel) ableiten. In diesen farbkodierten Darstellungen lassen sich gut die absoluten Höhen über einem Bezugsniveau, dem Areoiden (Fläche gleicher Anziehungskraft auf dem Mars; vom griechischen Wort für den Mars, Ares, abgeleitet) darstellen. Anhand der Farbskala oben rechts im Bild können diese Höhenwerte abgelesen werden.

  • Der Krater Ismenia Patera ist 75 Kilometer breit und liegt am Übergang vom südlichen Hochland zum nördlichen Tiefland auf dem Mars.
  • Zukünftige Missionen, die den Marsuntergrund mit neuen Messmethoden untersuchen, wie beispielsweise die NASA-Mission Insight, können hier weitere Erkenntnisse liefern.
  • Schwerpunkt(e): Raumfahrt, Planetenforschung

Bilder der vom Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) betriebenen, hochauflösenden Stereokamera HRSC an Bord der ESA-Raumsonde Mars Express zeigen die kollabierte Senke Ismenia Patera. Zur Entstehung dieser geologischen Struktur gibt es zwei Hypothesen: Entweder handelt es sich um einen Einschlagskrater oder um die Caldera (Spanisch für Kessel) eines Supervulkans auf dem Mars.  

Ismenia Patera (Latein: patera - flache Schale) befindet sich in der Region Arabia Terra, am Übergang vom südlichen Hochland zum nördlichen Tiefland auf dem Mars. Im Inneren des 75 Kilometer breiten Kraters sind Hügel und mehrere hundert Meter hohe Tafelberge ringförmig um das Zentrum angeordnet (Bilder 1, 4 und 5). Bei näherer Betrachtung lassen sich am Rand von Ismenia Patera an einigen Stellen in den Krater hineinverlaufende kleine Rinnen erkennen, die durch hineinrinnendes Wasser oder Eis entstanden sind (Bild 2). Der Boden des Kraters ist bedeckt von Ablagerungen, deren Oberflächen Spuren von ehemals "fließendem" Eis zeigen. Wahrscheinlich wurden diese Muster durch Blockgletscher erzeugt. Das sind Eisströme, auf deren Oberfläche viel Schutt und Geröll transportiert wird. Auf der Erde gibt es in alpinen und polaren Regionen vergleichbare Phänomene: Das Eis eines Gletschers ist dabei vollständig von Geröll bedeckt, das von den umliegenden Berghängen auf das Eis gerutscht ist. Diese Eis-Geröllmasse bewegt sich langsam hangabwärts und hinterlässt diese Fließstrukturen.

Auffällige Gruppen kleiner Einschlagskrater, zum Beispiel im Zentrum von Ismenia Patera, wurden vermutlich durch einen Meteoriteneinschlag in der näheren Umgebung verursacht, der größere Gesteinsbrocken in Richtung des Kraterzentrums schleuderte, die wieder kleine Krater erzeugten.

Zur Entstehung des Kraters gibt es unterschiedliche Ansichten: Nach einer Hypothese wurde er durch einen Meteoriteneinschlag gebildet und später mit Ablagerungen und zeitweise auch mit Eis gefüllt. Schließlich kollabierte die Krateroberfläche, weil das im Untergrund vorhandene Eis schmolz und das Wasser verdampfte, und hinterließ eine zerklüftete, hügelige Landschaft. Eine andere Hypothese besagt, dass Ismenia Patera eine vulkanische Caldera ist, also ein Vulkankrater, der nach einem großen Ausbruch über einer entleerten Magmakammer entstand. Vulkane, die mit einem einzigen Ausbruch eine riesige Menge von Material fördern, werden als Supervulkane bezeichnet. Abgesehen von Ismenia Patera gibt es in Arabia Terra mit Siloe Patera und Eden Patera zwei weitere Kandidaten für Supervulkane. Auf der Erde gelten vulkanische Strukturen wie die Phlegräischen Felder bei Neapel, das Yellowstone-Gebiet oder der Taupo-See in Neuseeland als Supervulkane - mit durchaus großem Gefahrenpotenzial. Auf dem Mars hingegen ist heutzutage nicht mehr mit Vulkanausbrüchen zu rechnen.

Unter Marswissenschaftlern wird die Theorie der Supervulkane und der Existenz einer alten Vulkanprovinz in Arabia Terra noch kontrovers diskutiert. Für die Vulkankratertheorie spricht, dass die "Paterae" unregelmäßig geformte Kollapsstrukturen mit niedrigem Relief sind, zum Teil ohne erkennbares Auswurfmaterial und ohne hochstehenden Kraterrand, wie es für Einschlagskrater typisch wäre. Andererseits kann solch eine unregelmäßige Form auch durch sich überlagernde oder anderweitig veränderte Einschlagskrater entstehen. Zukünftige Messmethoden zur Untersuchung des Marsuntergrunds, um beispielsweise Hinweise auf die Existenz von Magmakammern unterhalb der Paterae zu liefern, könnten hier aufschlussreich sein. Hierzu zählen seismische Experimente, wie sie die am 5. Mai startende Landesonde InSight der NASA mitführen wird, oder aber auch Radarexperimente aus der Umlaufbahn.

  • Bildverarbeitung

    Die Aufnahmen mit der HRSC (High Resolution Stereo Camera) entstanden am 1. Januar 2018 während Orbit 17.723 von Mars Express. Die Bildauflösung beträgt 17 Meter pro Bildpunkt (Pixel). Die Bildmitte liegt bei etwa 2 Grad östlicher Länge und 39 Grad nördlicher Breite. Die Farbaufsicht (Bild 1) wurde aus dem senkrecht auf die Marsoberfläche gerichteten Nadirkanal und den Farbkanälen der HRSC erstellt, die perspektivische Schrägansicht (Bild 2) wurde aus den Stereokanälen der HRSC berechnet. Das Anaglyphenbild (Bild 4), das bei Betrachtung mit einer Rot-Blau- oder Rot-Grün-Brille einen dreidimensionalen Eindruck der Landschaft vermittelt, wurde aus dem Nadirkanal und einem Stereokanal abgeleitet. Die in Regenbogenfarben kodierte Aufsicht (Bild 5)  beruht auf einem digitalen Geländemodell (DTM) der Region, von dem sich die Topographie der Landschaft ableiten lässt. Der Referenzkörper für das HRSC-DTM ist eine Äquipotentialfläche des Mars (Areoid). Mitarbeiter der Fachrichtung Planetologie und Fernerkundung der Freien Universität Berlin erstellten die hier gezeigten Bildprodukte. Die systematische Prozessierung der Daten erfolgt am DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung in Berlin-Adlershof.

  • Das HRSC-Experiment auf Mars Express

    Die High Resolution Stereo Camera wurde am Deutschen Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR) entwickelt und in Kooperation mit industriellen Partnern gebaut (EADS Astrium, Lewicki Microelectronic GmbH und Jena-Optronik GmbH). Das Wissenschaftsteam unter Leitung des Principal Investigators (PI) Prof. Dr. Ralf Jaumann besteht aus 51 Co-Investigatoren, die aus 35 Institutionen und 11 Nationen stammen. Die Kamera wird vom DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung in Berlin-Adlershof betrieben.

     

Zuletzt geändert am:
16.04.2018 11:20:35 Uhr

Kontakte

 

Elke Heinemann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Politikbeziehungen und Kommunikation

Tel.: +49 2203 601-2867

Fax: +49 2203 601-3249
Prof. Dr. Ralf Jaumann
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

Institut für Planetenforschung, Planetengeologie

Tel.: +49 30 67055-400

Fax: +49 30 67055-402
Dr. Daniela Tirsch
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-488

Fax: +49 30 67055-402
Ulrich Köhler
Deutsches Zentrum für Luft- und Raumfahrt (DLR)

DLR-Institut für Planetenforschung

Tel.: +49 30 67055-215

Fax: +49 30 67055-402